Roast Coaching: Chaplin

Hawthorn persisted with Schoenmakers for years and are now reaping the rewards. We need to do the same. Griffiths can also be swung forward. May be a better option than Vickery too.

True (shoey) but he didn't not like body contact similar to rance but was shown to be not strong enough( and still is) but with griff he just doesnt seem to like this body on body.

We've been killed by big forwards all year so far, even more so than last year. Chaplin has been decent but Rance seems to be well beaten most weeks. They need to sort out a better system or something down there.

I reckon half of those goals are bc it was in transition and rance was trying to be invlolved in the fwd thrusts. i would tell him no just stay on his man within a metre.

Chaplain would not have the fitness to run with cloke... Cloke is super fit and Chaplain didnt do a pre-season..... But we did move Chaplain on him just before he got hit in the head..... Personally I would have went the other way and played Grimes. Someone who can read the ball better.

Rance wore Cloke like a glove. The kicking to Cloke was A grade. Rance played the man it was a pretty good effot IMO... ...... What rance needed to do was to play the ball once it was in the Air and get his body at the fall of the ball instead of trying to cover Cloke. Cloke's reach got him every time.

The frustrating thing for mine was that Chaplin (when moved onto Cloke in the second) was doing a good job but after half time we reverted back to Rance. Rance was unlucky - Cloke is a huge unit and was getting good supply. The fault should lie with the team for not putting enough pressure on up the ground, Collingwood ran riot through the middle and steamrolled us.

Further to that, criticism for the coaches not playing a second defender or loose man in front specifically to limit Cloke's supply. Cloke is one of the best forwards in the game, given he was almost a lone target up forward, why would we just leave the match up as a one v one? Shut down Cloke and their forward structure is gone. We often see Jack needing to beat 2-3 defenders, why shouldn't we do the same against the dominant gorillas in the competition?

Chaplain would not have the fitness to run with cloke... Cloke is super fit and Chaplain didnt do a pre-season..... But we did move Chaplain on him just before he got hit in the head..... Personally I would have went the other way and played Grimes. Someone who can read the ball better.

Rance wore Cloke like a glove. The kicking to Cloke was A grade. Rance played the man it was a pretty good effot IMO... ...... What rance needed to do was to play the ball once it was in the Air and get his body at the fall of the ball instead of trying to cover Cloke. Cloke's reach got him every time.

Thing is though, this would only apply if Cloke did his usual CHF roaming game. Collingwood camped him in their forward fifty, and he was their go to man. That is Chaplin's go. Rance should only play on players who push up the ground. If they are camping in their forward line, Chaplin to go to them, regardless, because as we saw today, and last week, if Rance defends players who play like a true FF, he gets towelled up.

Can't wait to read Rayzorwire's thoughts on this and today in general. Seriously.

i haven't seen the game but sounded horrible on radio. From memory commentators said Chaplin moved himself onto Cloke after he booted his third in 3 min in Q3 (5 total). Not sure when the Knights hit came. I couldn't agree more with most on this thread. Moving Rance after Cloke had 5 was very reminiscent of Drew Petrie tearing us a new one in one quarter last year. It was a need I thought we addressed pretty well off-season but we didn't back it in yesterday. We hoped Cloke wouldn't grab game by scruff of the neck and our poor planning was exposed. Griffiths is a better option as is Grimes. Really need to bite the bullet and find a new role for Rance. I also believe (again just going off a radio commentary) that it exposed the below par defensive work of our mids that Cloke could get pretty good service.

Guys were was the support for Rance when the ball was coming in so quick the second man up.When Jack went for the ball he had Reid ,Brown and another pies player to contest with.

The problem was if you play on Trav you must play in front. If you sit behind him he will mark it every time. He's just too big. Chaplin should have been the match up from the start and told to hold front position, and Grimes should have been the loose defender instructed to just drift in and effect the spoil. Rance could then have followed Q-Stick around the ground.

Why didn't they try Mcguane on Cloke? Couldn't have been any worse than Rance. Dimma said they ran out of options.....I call b******* on that:thumbsdown:

Sorry for jumping in but I just had too

Chaplin is NOT a 1 on 1 defender
There is a reason at port we always played carlile and trengove

They would take the big key forwards and Chaplin plays loose and 3rd man up

I'm sorry you guys got him, he is a spud and is not your missing link
He fitness has never been his strong suit and his skills under even perceived pressure are bloody terrible

If he stayed at port he would have been delisted within 2 seasons
Choco loves him and your paying the price

The problem was if you play on Trav you must play in front. If you sit behind him he will mark it every time. He's just too big. Chaplin should have been the match up from the start and told to hold front position, and Grimes should have been the loose defender instructed to just drift in and effect the spoil. Rance could then have followed Q-Stick around the ground.

chaplin would have needed oxygen after a qtr or so if he played on cloke...get with the program...Rance was the match up, Cloke had a day out, Rance is having a bad run of form and thats it...now they need to fix what we can. Rances form. He is not playing like he was last year and whatever needs addressing should be addressed. The end..FFS, some people go on about shit here, like no other FB in history just had a bad day at the office..thats it...I will back Rance in a re-match any day of the week...he doesnt take to being torn a new one all to lightly....
If he played him next week he'd be beaten again. If you think otherwise, you are deluded. He is just too big and strong for Rance. FFS can't you see Rance just isn't the right match up? Yesterday was proof that I'm correct and you're not!

Sorry for jumping in but I just had too

Chaplin is NOT a 1 on 1 defender
There is a reason at port we always played carlile and trengove

They would take the big key forwards and Chaplin plays loose and 3rd man up

I'm sorry you guys got him, he is a spud and is not your missing link
He fitness has never been his strong suit and his skills under even perceived pressure are bloody terrible

If he stayed at port he would have been delisted within 2 seasons
Choco loves him and your paying the price

Piss off.

We shouldn't have picked him up?

He's not a 1v1 defender??

You do realize Chaplin did quite well for the short time he was on Cloke yeah?

He had 0 pre-season coming back from a knee, now piss off back to your own board.

We shouldn't have picked him up?

He's not a 1v1 defender??

You do realize Chaplin did quite well for the short time he was on Cloke yeah?

He had 0 pre-season coming back from a knee, now piss off back to your own board.

I stand by all of that
He is not a 1 on 1 defender

He was on cloke 2 mins before he took his 2nd head hit in 4 weeks and couldn't come back on

Looks like Tarzan, plays like Jane's baby sister

You're a flog and not worth my time.

I've had to go to the footy and watch him week after week turn the ball over and cost us games for the better part of a decade

Our whole supporter group are glad he is gone
I feel for Richmond

I thought Grimes should have been given a crack too. The only reason I could come up with as to why they didn't was they were worried about his hammy trying to go with Cloke. I was filthy a couple of times when other players simply didn't work hard enough to get back and help Rance out. Cloke is a beast and I rate him the best one-on-one player in the comp. You give a bloke that many one out opportunities, and he'll flog most defenders. This game was lost further up the field.

Chaplin is not capable of playing on Cloke.
Nor is Rance.
These players will continue to murder us because we have nobody to play on them.

I've had to go to the footy and watch him week after week turn the ball over and cost us games for the better part of a decade

Our whole supporter group are glad he is gone
I feel for Richmond

Well all we can do is judge him on what he has done for us. He's been very good for us so far this year. His reading of the play has been great and his kicking faultless.