Dumpster Fire Diver
- Reaction score
- AFL Club
- Melbourne
- Other Teams
- Carolina Panthers
- Banned
You can't coach heart.

PLUS Your club board comp is now up!
Fantasy Footy Notice Image Round 0
SuperCoach Rd 0 - The Throw Up SC Talk - Rate My Team - Injuries - SC Leagues ,//, AFL Fantasy Rd 0 AFF Talk - Preseason 2026 - Rate My Team
You can't coach heart.
It will offend too many posters who took it a little too seriously so it won't happen.
Back on topic, Despite 6 wins, possibly 7 wins, I genuinely think the only reason we shouldn't bring in Goodwin next year is if he personally feels he isn't ready.
For all the good things Roos has done I'm over him. He has over complicated what should be a very simple task of teaching footy.
Luke Beverage is no Einstien when you hear him talk but he has footy nous and keeps it simple. He isn't trying to be a messiah or pick up an entire club, he's just teaching them how to play logical, attacking football.
Roos will coach next year and unless Goodwin has more say it will be painful.
Malthouse and Roos. Here's a theory. Has the game evolved so much so fast that the old guard coaches have been left behind? Therefore would we be better off with Goodwin in ASAP?It will offend too many posters who took it a little too seriously so it won't happen.
Back on topic, Despite 6 wins, possibly 7 wins, I genuinely think the only reason we shouldn't bring in Goodwin next year is if he personally feels he isn't ready.
For all the good things Roos has done I'm over him. He has over complicated what should be a very simple task of teaching footy.
Luke Beverage is no Einstien when you hear him talk but he has footy nous and keeps it simple. He isn't trying to be a messiah or pick up an entire club, he's just teaching them how to play logical, attacking football.
Quite true. If players won't put in then its on them.You can't coach heart.
I actually don't think theres anything wrong with the game plan, apart from the fact it needs 22 players playing with energy and applying pressure all over the ground for it to work. That's on the players, not Roos. So sick of them just turning up when they feel like it.
He absolutely does, but at the end of the day it's up to the players to take responsibility for their own performances, professional athletes should just be naturally competitive. I said in another thread, most athletes would hate to lose in a game of table tennis against a mate, let alone lose a game of football. They shouldn't need much motivation to go out there and want to ****ing win.Doesn't he need to be motivating them as well though? I gave Roos a shit load of praise for how he got the players up after the Hawthorn and Saints losses, but I'll also criticise him for how we played today.
Meh personally i'm over the throw the coach out every time we lose and praise him every time we win, we have been a disgraceful team for about 8-9 years now and lets be honest without Roos we wouldn't have some of the players at the club that we do now.
We would be no better off under Goodwin, the reason we are so Sh*t is that we have some many players we have had to turn over and rather than just turn them over for the sake of it Roos has actually tried to replace them with good players.
Will we turn it around overnight? Nope but I can see us steadily improving and when Roos hand it all over to Goodwin I have a feeling we will be a much better team.
I would rather take our time at rebuilding than become another Port who flew up the ladder only to be found out this year, the Bulldogs may just be the next Port Adelaide, next year will give us that answer.
I'm not doubting we won't keep improving, our young talent is elite. Our problem is (And has been for years) our 23-29 players are just shit.
roosy looked a bit panicky in the box today I thought. Wouldn't be at all surprised if he thought it might be time for the boys to hear a new message, just to freshen them up if nothing else.
I agree with RandB, not a lot of joy or spontaneity in our game, for supporters or players. We do defence, or at least we did, but our offence is next to nonexistent.
What really worries me is that next year we pick up pick five, but probably lose Garland, Howe and Cross. How does that make us better. Meanwhile GC improve dramatically through a healthy list, same for Brisvegas, and Essendon and Carlton bounce with new coaches. I don't see the light boys...
roosy looked a bit panicky in the box today I thought. Wouldn't be at all surprised if he thought it might be time for the boys to hear a new message, just to freshen them up if nothing else.
I agree with RandB, not a lot of joy or spontaneity in our game, for supporters or players. We do defence, or at least we did, but our offence is next to nonexistent.
What really worries me is that next year we pick up pick five, but probably lose Garland, Howe and Cross. How does that make us better. Meanwhile GC improve dramatically through a healthy list, same for Brisvegas, and Essendon and Carlton bounce with new coaches. I don't see the light boys...
Well Essendon's seconds beat us three weeks back and god knows what happens next week.I'll delete my account if we finish below Essendon and Carlton next year. Brisbane are iffy but it isn't quite THAT bad.
I'll give you Petracca, Salem and Kent. Pederson is better than Dawes but is far from a gun KPP. I can't see Trengove making it back and Frost is largely unproven. Our kids will get better with another season but so will 17 other clubs. You have to improve faster than the comp and I'm not feeling it.Seriously mate? Pick 5, Petracca, Trengove, Kent, Salem, Frost ,Pederson
Plus hopefully a return to form for Tyson, and natural improvement in Harmes, ANB, Stretch, Brayshaw, McDonald, Hogan
It will offend too many posters who took it a little too seriously so it won't happen.
Bulldogs were absolutely on fire - I reckon anyone blaming Roos is off the mark, our leaders again did nothing today.
Roos has been brilliant for us and deserves to coach his final year.
All of our senior players were pantsed today.
Each and every one of them.
Bulldogs were absolutely on fire - I reckon anyone blaming Roos is off the mark, our leaders again did nothing today.
Agree. Doggies were absolutely red hot today. I can't recall a side playing that well against us ever in the first half (& I was at 186 but admittedly was off my face & can't remember too much of that game) Even when we put a man behind the ball they were unstoppable. If we stuck half the side behind the ball there would be criticism of the negative way we played.Bulldogs were absolutely on fire - I reckon anyone blaming Roos is off the mark, our leaders again did nothing today.
I'll give you Petracca, Salem and Kent. Pederson is better than Dawes but is far from a gun KPP. I can't see Trengove making it back and Frost is largely unproven. Our kids will get better with another season but so will 17 other clubs. You have to improve faster than the comp and I'm not feeling it.