Roast Coaching discussion thread

Not disagreeing with you, but I'm not sure how you can imply that those other teams are going about it the wrong way and us that right way (maybe) simply because it is taking us longer to come on. What exactly is it about not turning things around quickly that breeds sustained competitiveness?

Fair point - that's not what I was intending to imply.

More that where we finish in that throng of teams doesn't matter this year - we lost to the Saints without numerous best 22 players (when we never should have) and are one game behind them.

My beef is with people acting like it's the biggest gap in existence - this year has been incredibly even so far IMO.

What I wanted to imply was that why worry who is ahead now when we're all inconsistent and at different stages with our list - what will matter is who is ahead when our lists mature.

You even get the 1st placed team losing by 70+ points on the weekend.

Our senior core is still the problem, Roos has done a brilliant job of patching up the mistakes but we really need the kids to step up and take control

Jones and Vince have been outstanding, Dunn and Cross good as well as Garlett and Garland

Jamar, Dawes, Lumumba have been poor

Look at GC list, they have brilliant talent everywhere but they dont have the senior core and are on the bottom of the ladder
Until we get a core of players who play well week in week out we wont win games

We need Howe, Watts, Mcdonald, Toumpas, Tyson and everyone in that group to play well every week
Harsh to put Jamar in that group. He's done literally nothing wrong and has never been out of form. I really don't understand how he's a worse option in the ruck than Spencer, or up front than Dawes.

He wasn't doing anything around the ground

Fair point - that's not what I was intending to imply.

More that where we finish in that throng of teams doesn't matter this year - we lost to the Saints without numerous best 22 players (when we never should have) and are one game behind them.

My beef is with people acting like it's the biggest gap in existence - this year has been incredibly even so far IMO.

What I wanted to imply was that why worry who is ahead now when we're all inconsistent and at different stages with our list - what will matter is who is ahead when our lists mature.

You even get the 1st placed team losing by 70+ points on the weekend.
Most even season of football I've seen.

Every team has a bad game once in a while where they can't kick straight. It happens, it hurts, and you move on. Don't blame Roos for an aberration.

Also who knows how close we are to climbing the ladder
WC had a great forward line and a very good backline, yet with an average midfield couldnt even make the finals
All of a sudden there midfield improves and they are second on the ladder

All we need is Petracca, Trenners, Tyson to improve, Viney to improve and another pick or two and we could become a far better team, because our forward and backlines are solid ( backline obviously missing better distributors )

Yeah its still just more excuses, what ifs on this thread. Can someone answer this what if?
If we had turned up to play, and wanted to win against the bombers, we would have.
Why didn't we want to win?

Yeah its still just more excuses, what ifs on this thread. Can someone answer this what if?
If we had turned up to play, and wanted to win against the bombers, we would have.

Because future :rainbow: <-----MFC board logic

Your right , we didn't even try
We had 25 shots on goal , should have had 50

We didn't have any first year players playing

We certainly didn't have 19 inside 50 s in the last quarter an fail to take advantage of them due to baguley an Hurley

No we just didn't try

Tanking/Player revolt confirmed.

I've been thinking lately that we seem like the Swans of the early nineties, with our recent years. I'm not sure why i make this post, it's just on my mind and i felt like making it

Both had financial problems until the AFL stepped in. The AFL offered the swans money and management support, we were given a bail out and Peter Jackson was put in place

Our Era started in 07 and continued to 2013 give or take last year or 2010 and 2011. The Swans bad era started in 88 and continued to 94, winning wooden spoons consecutively in 92, 93 and 94.

Paul Roos recruitment does not seem that similar to Barassi's back then, both high profiles retired coaches, with good media skills tasked with helping to 'Save' the club. Barassi was in charge for two wooden spoon years and we finished second last, last year and seem likely for bottom four this year.

I also think that Barassi recruited well and Roos is doing the same for setting up the future even if he is not in it

Jones is the Paul Kelly of our footy club

Now i know how people will react to this, and they think this will be a post worthy of the rainbow connection thread. That i'm just a delusional optimist. But sooner or later our fortunes will turn and perhaps a decade on from now, we will be breaking our drought. No team can be crap forever. For a long time yes, but not forever

Now i know how people will react to this, and they think this will be a post worthy of the rainbow connection thread. That i'm just a delusional optimist.

I like the way you connect your rainbows. I hope the colours will turn out to be as resplendent as you describe.

Tell me you were drunk when you posted this.
Four stubbies in but no not drunk. I don't want Goodwin in, I just think Paul is vain and is engaging in some frantic expectation management to mitigate fallout from our upcoming loss to Brisvegas.
He's a good coach and his stability has been very good for us. Im just sick of us being shit.

Four stubbies in but no not drunk. I don't want Goodwin in, I just think Paul is vain and is engaging in some frantic expectation management to mitigate fallout from our upcoming loss to Brisvegas.
He's a good coach and his stability has been very good for us. Im just sick of us being shit.

Fair enough, we all have different ways of expressing frustration. I have people i target who cop the brunt of it as well.

Meh, gotta blame someone.

I was bored at work at was listening to some of the old MMM rubs from 2013 and stumbled across the day we hired Roosy and the first interview
After listening to Roosy again im even surer that we are on the right track

He said he was more than happy to take a few hits to his coaching reputation to make sure the list was full proof when he handed it over to the 2IC
Its not where the list is at round 16 2015, its where it is at Round 1 2017

I was bored at work at was listening to some of the old MMM rubs from 2013 and stumbled across the day we hired Roosy and the first interview
After listening to Roosy again im even surer that we are on the right track

He said he was more than happy to take a few hits to his coaching reputation to make sure the list was full proof when he handed it over to the 2IC
Its not where the list is at round 16 2015, its where it is at Round 1 2017
If our list is full proof at the end of his contract, we're going to be rocket fuel!