Roast Coaching discussion thread

We got to within 2 points with 7 minutes still on the clock, McDonalds kicking didnt cost us anything, it was the inability of our side to make use of our inside 50s

I'm not blaming him one bit - like I said, he nearly won the game for us and shouldnt have had to be thrown forward in the first place.

That said, missed shots are by definition are not making use of inside 50's. I dont get upset with the players for missed shots, but I do get upset with not working to get in front and create contests.

I'm not blaming him one bit - like I said, he nearly won the game for us and shouldnt have had to be thrown forward in the first place.

That said, missed shots are by definition are not making use of inside 50's. I dont get upset with the players for missed shots, but I do get upset with not working to get in front and create contests.

Yup, I was far more annoyed at the games of Hogan and Dawes than I was of Mcdonald
That said Jones, Vince, Lumumba, Garlett etc all missed gettable goals and all we need was one bloke to play like Daniher and we would have had it

Yup, I was far more annoyed at the games of Hogan and Dawes than I was of Mcdonald
That said Jones, Vince, Lumumba, Garlett etc all missed gettable goals and all we need was one bloke to play like Daniher and we would have had it

Those 4 guys were amongst our best players, but bad kicking is bad football I guess.

Vince's miss from about 20 out on the run was the worst for me. Should've nailed it easily and was during the part of the game where goals were very hard to come by.

Also when they had momentum they nailed everything in that 3rd, when we had momentum in the 2nd and the start of the first we kicked 3.13 or something crazy.. We kick the goals when we had momentum we win.. simple
We are talking ifs buts and maybes as to how we could have beaten Essendon's reserves. It's pathetic. We should have ****ing smashed them, not bemoaning how we would have just got over the line if we had of kicked straight.

Vince's miss from about 20 out on the run was the worst for me. Should've nailed it easily and was during the part of the game where goals were very hard to come by.
Yeah i reckon at that moment we needed it, would have stopped Essendon getting a run on and gave us confidence

We are talking ifs buts and maybes as to how we could have beaten Essendon's reserves. It's pathetic. We should have ******* smashed them, not bemoaning how we would have just got over the line if we had of kicked straight.

We had more I50s, we had 3 better quarters, we also had a fairly young side

We can sit here and sook or we can accept that when you kick 18 behinds your gonna lose to pretty much anyone

We had more I50s, we had 3 better quarters, we also had a fairly young side

We can sit here and sook or we can accept that when you kick 18 behinds your gonna lose to pretty much anyone
They had fifty more possessions than us. My point is we didn't exactly dominate the game.

So? Did you watch the game or just go the AFL.com statistics

No one is saying we dominated, but if it was a boxing match we would have got the points in 3 out of the 4 quarters
Point is we have played alot worse over the years, grab your tissues wipe your eyes and get over it

So? Did you watch the game or just go the AFL.com statistics

No one is saying we dominated, but if it was a boxing match we would have got the points in 3 out of the 4 quarters
Point is we have played alot worse over the years, grab your tissues wipe your eyes and get over it
Yes I did flog. I was actually at the ground watching the game. We would have got points in one round. The last quarter.

We were better in the 1st and 2nd too.

First marginally, 2nd was where we missed our chance to put them under heat.

I thought Essendon were on top in the first quarter, especially the first half of it.
I'm just frustrated that we didn't dominate them. The Saints beat them by a hundred points FFS. As Melbourne supporters we really have become accustomed to mediocrity. We have a collective form of Stockholm Syndrome.
Going to the game yesterday I looked at the statue of Norm Smith. It had his record inscribed, including coaching us to five flags in six years. Five flags... I'm seriously going to see if one of my mates can smoke the bad spirits out of that statue. Desperate times call for desperate measures.

I thought Essendon were on top in the first quarter, especially the first half of it.
I'm just frustrated that we didn't dominate them. The Saints beat them by a hundred points FFS. As Melbourne supporters we really have become accustomed to mediocrity. We have a collective form of Stockholm Syndrome.
Going to the game yesterday I looked at the statue of Norm Smith. It had his record inscribed, including coaching us to five flags in six years. Five flags... I'm seriously going to see if one of my mates can smoke the bad spirits out of that statue. Desperate times call for desperate measures.

Then they were beaten comfortably by a depleted Giants side, Essendon were never going to put out the lack of effort they did a second time in a row - in hindsight we played too many youngsters after Darwin.

We are talking ifs buts and maybes as to how we could have beaten Essendon's reserves. It's pathetic. We should have ******* smashed them, not bemoaning how we would have just got over the line if we had of kicked straight.
So let me guess this straight.
Your thinking is that we get Roos in to turn around a rabble of a club. We all know this is going to be a slow and tedious task, despite a few set backs we have made severe I rounds in 18 months....yet after a couple of games that we should have won we and have kicked ourselves out of the games you now want to get rid of him?
Yeah cool story bro, seems legit..............

essendon were very good in the first quarter, there tackling intensity was as good as we we have faced all year

Tiny temper needs to realize that just because we beat richmond who beat sydney doesn't make us a premiership contender

Each game is played week to week and we should have won that but didn't

I'm ****ing frustrated but look how long it took richmond to turn their ship around , they started with hardwick in 2009 or close to that , we effectively started last year

Had richmond sacked hardwick I reckon they would be worse off because he is now gettin the best out of them

So let me guess this straight.
Your thinking is that we get Roos in to turn around a rabble of a club. We all know this is going to be a slow and tedious task, despite a few set backs we have made severe I rounds in 18 months....yet after a couple of games that we should have won we and have kicked ourselves out of the games you now want to get rid of him?
Yeah cool story bro, seems legit..............

I don't think he was saying that. Just frustrated that we're still not getting the basics right, still not winning the games we should be winning, etc.

We all know we're vastly improved on a couple of years ago, but still along way from where we need to be. That's not Roos's fault, and I don't think anyone seriously wants him out, but fmd it's getting old.

Does anyone find it odd that we are clearly "better" than we were under Neeld, but we don't really win more games and our percentage is still extremely low? Is our optimism based in hope or real prospects? I don't know what to think about this club anymore. The scary part is how quickly I can get over a loss. I think whatever haunts the locker rooms at Melbourne also haunts the fanbase. The decline of Melbourne is one of the weirdest things to happen in sport.

To think we have Goodwin a born and bred South Australian, a Crow, who will take over the MFC. We should quit now and spare ourselves the humiliation and pain to come that will forever stain this great club. Or Brendan McCartney, I have never seen a more uninspiring text book coach.

I would take Carry Lyon as coach before these two.

To think we have Goodwin a born and bred South Australian, a Crow, who will take over the MFC. We should quit now and spare ourselves the humiliation and pain to come that will forever stain this great club. Or Brendan McCartney, I have never seen a more uninspiring text book coach.

You realise you are basing this on nothing right?

Does anyone find it odd that we are clearly "better" than we were under Neeld, but we don't really win more games and our percentage is still extremely low? Is our optimism based in hope or real prospects? I don't know what to think about this club anymore. The scary part is how quickly I can get over a loss. I think whatever haunts the locker rooms at Melbourne also haunts the fanbase. The decline of Melbourne is one of the weirdest things to happen in sport.

I dunno I think we are on the cusp of becoming better than a bottom 4 side, but for the first time in as long as I can remember there isnt teams at the bottom just tanking for picks, so every single game is hard

We go in into the season assuming we will beat Brisbane WB Stkilda GWS etc without thinking that they are improving as well, fact is our 4 wins this year have been better than our 4 wins last year

We also go into a game still relying on first and second year players to carry us across the line

As much as this team has potential there are still so so many first and second year players coming in and out of the side that we cant expect to just win games because its a new year

Also our players form fluctuating, We havent had an all australian for 5 years, Nathan Jones has been our only week in week out consistent player for a long time
Tyson couldnt back up his year, Mcdonald has had a poor month , Garland was poor last year, Jamar is out of the side now, Watts was ( hopefully ) inconsistent etc

There is still so many problems that need to be fixed before Roos is gone

Your right, you should always stick with club legends

James Hird, Justin Leppitsh, Michael Voss, Brett Ratten all took their sides to premiership glory

Those coaches who came from outside their traditional clubs like Sheedy, Matthews, Malthouse were all spuds