Roast Coaching discussion thread

I actually don't think theres anything wrong with the game plan, apart from the fact it needs 22 players playing with energy and applying pressure all over the ground for it to work. That's on the players, not Roos. So sick of them just turning up when they feel like it.

It will offend too many posters who took it a little too seriously so it won't happen.

Back on topic, Despite 6 wins, possibly 7 wins, I genuinely think the only reason we shouldn't bring in Goodwin next year is if he personally feels he isn't ready.

For all the good things Roos has done I'm over him. He has over complicated what should be a very simple task of teaching footy.

Luke Beverage is no Einstien when you hear him talk but he has footy nous and keeps it simple. He isn't trying to be a messiah or pick up an entire club, he's just teaching them how to play logical, attacking football.

Roos will coach next year and unless Goodwin has more say it will be painful.

Im almost certain I heard Roos say he would hand over far more control to Goodwin, but your right I think now
The club cant seem to break out of this mould and I think a fresh style with Roos handling player management might be better for next year

It will offend too many posters who took it a little too seriously so it won't happen.

Back on topic, Despite 6 wins, possibly 7 wins, I genuinely think the only reason we shouldn't bring in Goodwin next year is if he personally feels he isn't ready.

For all the good things Roos has done I'm over him. He has over complicated what should be a very simple task of teaching footy.

Luke Beverage is no Einstien when you hear him talk but he has footy nous and keeps it simple. He isn't trying to be a messiah or pick up an entire club, he's just teaching them how to play logical, attacking football.

Malthouse and Roos. Here's a theory. Has the game evolved so much so fast that the old guard coaches have been left behind? Therefore would we be better off with Goodwin in ASAP?

You can't coach heart.
Quite true. If players won't put in then its on them.

You can coach enthusiasm though and it is a lot more contagious when you play and (importantly) train with an attacking brand of footy IMO.

Every week looks like a battle for our guys, even when we win.

In all honesty I think lack of heart and lack of enthusiasm both are a factor in some games but I seriously think our game style saps us.

I actually don't think theres anything wrong with the game plan, apart from the fact it needs 22 players playing with energy and applying pressure all over the ground for it to work. That's on the players, not Roos. So sick of them just turning up when they feel like it.

Doesn't he need to be motivating them as well though? I gave Roos a shit load of praise for how he got the players up after the Hawthorn and Saints losses, but I'll also criticise him for how we played today.

He absolutely does, but at the end of the day it's up to the players to take responsibility for their own performances, professional athletes should just be naturally competitive. I said in another thread, most athletes would hate to lose in a game of table tennis against a mate, let alone lose a game of football. They shouldn't need much motivation to go out there and want to ****ing win.

Meh personally i'm over the throw the coach out every time we lose and praise him every time we win, we have been a disgraceful team for about 8-9 years now and lets be honest without Roos we wouldn't have some of the players at the club that we do now.

We would be no better off under Goodwin, the reason we are so Sh*t is that we have some many players we have had to turn over and rather than just turn them over for the sake of it Roos has actually tried to replace them with good players.

Will we turn it around overnight? Nope but I can see us steadily improving and when Roos hand it all over to Goodwin I have a feeling we will be a much better team.

I would rather take our time at rebuilding than become another Port who flew up the ladder only to be found out this year, the Bulldogs may just be the next Port Adelaide, next year will give us that answer.

Meh personally i'm over the throw the coach out every time we lose and praise him every time we win, we have been a disgraceful team for about 8-9 years now and lets be honest without Roos we wouldn't have some of the players at the club that we do now.

We would be no better off under Goodwin, the reason we are so Sh*t is that we have some many players we have had to turn over and rather than just turn them over for the sake of it Roos has actually tried to replace them with good players.

Will we turn it around overnight? Nope but I can see us steadily improving and when Roos hand it all over to Goodwin I have a feeling we will be a much better team.

I would rather take our time at rebuilding than become another Port who flew up the ladder only to be found out this year, the Bulldogs may just be the next Port Adelaide, next year will give us that answer.

I'm not doubting we won't keep improving, our young talent is elite. Our problem is (And has been for years) our 23-29 players are just shit.

roosy looked a bit panicky in the box today I thought. Wouldn't be at all surprised if he thought it might be time for the boys to hear a new message, just to freshen them up if nothing else.
I agree with RandB, not a lot of joy or spontaneity in our game, for supporters or players. We do defence, or at least we did, but our offence is next to nonexistent.
What really worries me is that next year we pick up pick five, but probably lose Garland, Howe and Cross. How does that make us better. Meanwhile GC improve dramatically through a healthy list, same for Brisvegas, and Essendon and Carlton bounce with new coaches. I don't see the light boys...

I'm not doubting we won't keep improving, our young talent is elite. Our problem is (And has been for years) our 23-29 players are just shit.

Yeah but as I mentioned there is only so much he can do about that age group, cant delist them all and that age group is really what the past coaches have left us with.

roosy looked a bit panicky in the box today I thought. Wouldn't be at all surprised if he thought it might be time for the boys to hear a new message, just to freshen them up if nothing else.
I agree with RandB, not a lot of joy or spontaneity in our game, for supporters or players. We do defence, or at least we did, but our offence is next to nonexistent.
What really worries me is that next year we pick up pick five, but probably lose Garland, Howe and Cross. How does that make us better. Meanwhile GC improve dramatically through a healthy list, same for Brisvegas, and Essendon and Carlton bounce with new coaches. I don't see the light boys...

I'll delete my account if we finish below Essendon and Carlton next year. Brisbane are iffy but it isn't quite THAT bad.

Seriously mate? Pick 5, Petracca, Trengove, Kent, Salem, Frost ,Pederson

Plus hopefully a return to form for Tyson, and natural improvement in Harmes, ANB, Stretch, Brayshaw, McDonald, Hogan

I didn't see the game today (was interstate) but from the wash-up I will gladly eat my words if it appears Roosy isn't up to the job.

All I've seen is a scoreline so I've no idea what happened but my first thought is lack of effort, which is concerning if a coach of Roos' ilk can't get the players up and ready to at least scrap it out.

Seriously mate? Pick 5, Petracca, Trengove, Kent, Salem, Frost ,Pederson

Plus hopefully a return to form for Tyson, and natural improvement in Harmes, ANB, Stretch, Brayshaw, McDonald, Hogan
I'll give you Petracca, Salem and Kent. Pederson is better than Dawes but is far from a gun KPP. I can't see Trengove making it back and Frost is largely unproven. Our kids will get better with another season but so will 17 other clubs. You have to improve faster than the comp and I'm not feeling it.

Don't worry, I was only kidding.

The main criticism of the coaching group from me (and I'm generally a big supporter of what they're doing), is that we haven't seemed to coach the side to shut games down when a team gets a run-on.

Half way through the first quarter we should have had 18 men behind the ball, but we had a 7 man forward line until half way through the second ****ing quarter!!!

Bulldogs were absolutely on fire - I reckon anyone blaming Roos is off the mark, our leaders again did nothing today.

Roos has been brilliant for us and deserves to coach his final year.

Bulldogs were absolutely on fire - I reckon anyone blaming Roos is off the mark, our leaders again did nothing today.

All of our senior players were pantsed today.

Each and every one of them.

All of our senior players were pantsed today.

Each and every one of them.

Yep, during the madness as a dog was lining up a set shot, I witnessed Vince and Jones walk straight past each other without a word spoken. They made eye contact, but no words. I would have thought some communication may have been warranted.

This is the thing that stings the most - we were seriously lacking on field leadership today.

Hogan is in his first full season and shows more on field leadership than many of our established players. I think it's great to see Hogan acting as a general in the forward line but geez, when the heat was on in the midfield today we needed to see a lot more from our senior core.

Lol as if Goodwin could coach any better. Couldn't even help us over the line against essendon twice this year. And he was in charge of our woeful mids today. Piss him off back to Adelaide, would rather camporeale

Agree. Doggies were absolutely red hot today. I can't recall a side playing that well against us ever in the first half (& I was at 186 but admittedly was off my face & can't remember too much of that game) Even when we put a man behind the ball they were unstoppable. If we stuck half the side behind the ball there would be criticism of the negative way we played.

I'll give you Petracca, Salem and Kent. Pederson is better than Dawes but is far from a gun KPP. I can't see Trengove making it back and Frost is largely unproven. Our kids will get better with another season but so will 17 other clubs. You have to improve faster than the comp and I'm not feeling it.

You cant be glass half full on everyone else and be glass half empty on us

Im betting next year we will be a far different side to this year