Roast Coaching discussion thread

Anything but the same old rhetoric, avoiding the real issues. These guys are like politicians.

At Melbourne, we need to get down on the floor and ask the right questions. We need an honest discussion about why we are here and how do we get out of here as fast as possible.

Whenever a coach speaks, my understanding about our club is not increased at all. I don't know what they are trying to achieve, if it's winning games and not getting pumped, they aren't doing a good job.

I guess I'm just sick of the excuses, it's like ground hog day.

I would have liked for example, when talking about H. Let's not sugar coat this shit; every payer should be "great" around the club, I mean how hard is that TO DO? Why not say, he has been very poor for a number of weeks and he is likely to get dropped. No, we have to say he offers "stuff" around the club. **** me, that is the weakest shit and I'm sick of it. Being good around the club should be less than the bare minimum.

The thing with Melbourne is, they keep trying the same shit expecting different results. Didn't some scientist say that is the definition of crazy?

Too many getting a pass for mine, not just coaches, players too. Jones has been shit for ages bar one or games. I really question his leadership, poster love to hang shit on B.Green for his jumper grabs and general front running, but Jones ain't much better. He was shit on Sunday, that's ok, but he was quiet as a mouse. Your the captain ffs, say something to your players.

iausdvivb rant aihfuaihv raev

Agree with the sentiment - us fans would like to know that butts are getting kicked and no one's hiding, especially after a loss like Sunday. But I don't think it's a realistic expectation. For a start, will players even want to play for a team that will publically lay into them for bad form?

Anything but the same old rhetoric, avoiding the real issues. These guys are like politicians.

At Melbourne, we need to get down on the floor and ask the right questions. We need an honest discussion about why we are here and how do we get out of here as fast as possible.

Whenever a coach speaks, my understanding about our club is not increased at all. I don't know what they are trying to achieve, if it's winning games and not getting pumped, they aren't doing a good job.

I guess I'm just sick of the excuses, it's like ground hog day.

I would have liked for example, when talking about H. Let's not sugar coat this shit; every payer should be "great" around the club, I mean how hard is that TO DO? Why not say, he has been very poor for a number of weeks and he is likely to get dropped. No, we have to say he offers "stuff" around the club. **** me, that is the weakest shit and I'm sick of it. Being good around the club should be less than the bare minimum.

The thing with Melbourne is, they keep trying the same shit expecting different results. Didn't some scientist say that is the definition of crazy?

Too many getting a pass for mine, not just coaches, players too. Jones has been shit for ages bar one or games. I really question his leadership, poster love to hang shit on B.Green for his jumper grabs and general front running, but Jones ain't much better. He was shit on Sunday, that's ok, but he was quiet as a mouse. Your the captain ffs, say something to your players.

iausdvivb rant aihfuaihv raev

So what you're saying is you want Neeld back?

Agree with the sentiment - us fans would like to know that butts are getting kicked and no one's hiding, especially after a loss like Sunday. But I don't think it's a realistic expectation. For a start, will players even want to play for a team that will publically lay into them for bad form?

No need to lay into them, just be pragmatic, be honest. Players need to stop being so soft. Nothing could embarrass them more than what they dished up on Sunday.

What's the point of laying it all bare though? Yes it gives some fans some comfort but then we look like a rabble, criticising each other etc.

Don't get me wrong, criticism is definitely warranted. But that happens behind closed doors. We have to put up a united front.

If we want a truth and reconciliation commission we need to go the whole hog, and I think that kind of thing is best in the off-season.

What's the point of laying it all bare though? Yes it gives some fans some comfort but then we look like a rabble, criticising each other etc.

Don't get me wrong, criticism is definitely warranted. But that happens behind closed doors. We have to put up a united front.

If we want a truth and reconciliation commission we need to go the whole hog, and I think that kind of thing is best in the off-season.

Spot on - who in their right mind would think the players would be happy with coaches spilling their guts to the press.

No need to lay into them, just be pragmatic, be honest. Players need to stop being so soft. Nothing could embarrass them more than what they dished up on Sunday.
I have zero doubt that this is exactly the way Roosy goes about his business behind closed doors. There wouldn't be a single player at Melbourne that doesn't know with crystal clarity where they stand, what they do well and most importantly where they need to improve in order for us to be a successful on-field unit. Take the VFL reports as an example. Pre-Roos they were all fluff and praise for high stat games. Nothing was ever said about players needing to prove x-facet of their game. The last two years we've heard it consistently. You can take it to the bank that these reports merely scratch the surface of the discussions between player and coach.
Have a read of the article with Chunk from earlier in the year when he was talking about the influence of Roos. He mentioned the difference between what he thought was a good game compared to Roosy's view. If everyone buys in and plays their role with 100% effort and desire then we will start to see more wins and less inconsistency from week to week.
Don't get caught up comparing wins and losses with Roos at the helm. The behaviours he is instilling in our football department will take time to take root but when they do we'll be a far superior club than we have been at any point in the past 50 years. By no means am I saying we should be happy with losses and accept them. What i'm saying is that I have complete faith that we are learning from them and everything possible is being done within the club to ensure they are turned around as soon as possible. Spraying a few blokes in the media or making an example out of a few when 20 blokes deserve to be dropped isn't going to achieve anything in the long term.

I cannot stand Finey.
He gives me the shits. Especially his show with Shaw on a Sunday morning, you can guarantee that the Melbourne game gets 2 minutes of the hour. FFS there was even a match where he said he didn't watch the game but still paid us out.
I do however love the text messages people send into him saying he is a flog

ROOSEY!!

http://www.melbournefc.com.au/news/2015-08-21/roos-open-to-remaining-a-demon

But so much is the 52-year-old's commitment to the Demons, he's for the first time left the door ajar to still play a role after he passes the baton to hand-picked lieutenant Simon Goodwin.

"I won't be coaching anywhere else," he said.

"I love the footy club, if Peter (Jackson) and Simon and Josh (Mahoney) wanted to chat to me at some point next year about some sort of role? Yeah I'd be more than willing to talk."

Came in here to post the same thing. Roos as director of coaching can only be a good thing. If he wants to split his time between Hawaii and Melbourne that's fine by me.
I reckon that's a lei down misere!

"I won't be coaching any where else"

<Paul Roos filter>

"I'm open to taking up a non-coaching role at another club if the price is right".

Good that he's willing to talk with the club about an on-going role post-2016, but I always take everything Paul Roos says with 5 bags of saxa. He's the greatest politician this country's never had.

Still love the bloke though and I hope he stays

I'd like the thread to have its original title reinstated please.
We've paid Roos SuperCoach money and what has he given us: exactly 11 wins over two seasons in completely unpredictable fashion. Yeah we're better than 2013 but maybe that's just ****ing Hogan and Brayshaw? Look at the Saints and Dogs. They are playing confident and aggressive football. We are paralysed by indecision. The AFL needs to step in and administer us. We seriously need priority picks. Getting pumped by 9 goals at half time by the side on the bottom of the ladder who are missing Judd, Gibbs, Henderson, Yarran, Casboult... We are a total disaster zone. I can't even watch it now, I've turned the game off. I'm scared to get a score update.
Back to Roos, he made big promises about playing guys who've performed in the reserves but has totally ignored that philosophy every week. Fitzpatrick can't buy a game, while Dawes just keeps building his CV as the worst player of the modern era. ****!!

Roos has seriously under-rated how hard it is to instill an attacking game style as well as the importance of it in relation to solid defence. In the modern game you need both, you can't just work on one aspect of the game at a time and expect to get on top of it before you look at the next aspect.

Having said that our players are not even remotely match fit which makes it wrong to just focus on Roos.

The game has past Roos same as Malthouse, Eade etc getting paid 1 million to stack the back line let Goodwin take control start looking forward

I'd like the thread to have its original title reinstated please.
We've paid Roos SuperCoach money and what has he given us: exactly 11 wins over two seasons in completely unpredictable fashion. Yeah we're better than 2013 but maybe that's just ******* Hogan and Brayshaw? Look at the Saints and Dogs. They are playing confident and aggressive football. We are paralysed by indecision. The AFL needs to step in and administer us. We seriously need priority picks. Getting pumped by 9 goals at half time by the side on the bottom of the ladder who are missing Judd, Gibbs, Henderson, Yarran, Casboult... We are a total disaster zone. I can't even watch it now, I've turned the game off. I'm scared to get a score update.
Back to Roos, he made big promises about playing guys who've performed in the reserves but has totally ignored that philosophy every week. Fitzpatrick can't buy a game, while Dawes just keeps building his CV as the worst player of the modern era. ****!!

I agree totally with the reward for performance, Roosey has most certainly not followed up on this statement and this must have a horrible effect on the players performing each week in the VFL with no chance of an AFL call up. You would think this would cause some sort of division and lack of confidence for the coach's when their actions do not reflect their words.

If Goodwin doesn't have an attacking game plan then there is no way I will be watching.

Having said that our players are not even remotely match fit which makes it wrong to just focus on Roos.
We faded out completely last season as well. Roos has had enough time to get this right.

I agree but in the case of match conditioning PJ has to look at the entire FD when it comes to end of year review.

I agree totally with the reward for performance, Roosey has most certainly not followed up on this statement and this must have a horrible effect on the players performing each week in the VFL with no chance of an AFL call up. You would think this would cause some sort of division and lack of confidence for the coach's when their actions do not reflect their words.
Yep, was thinking this exactly. Even the younger talented guys getting picked each week might start thinking things were a bit shit if they see hacks like Dawes and Labimbanba, and old favorites like Garland et al, getting picked week in week out, while other guys perform at Casey or are in and out every other week.

It's bullshit favoritism that really breeds disharmony in the team.