Coaching Staff Coaching Staff Changes - 2018

• Thread starter Thread starter grimlock

So what? What the hell has that got to do with his abilities as a coach?

Not picking on you specifically but it never ceases to amaze me the number of posters who assume that someone's abilities/style/attitude as a player match those as a coach. It also never ceases to amaze me the number of posters who state as a matter of fact that an assistant coach is/is likely to be great/crap/a great communicator/a terrible communicator/has a great or terrible 'football brain', without having a single solitary clue what the hell the guy is like.
Well the Eagles didn't do too bad this year.

I agree you never know but being a good to great player doesn't preclude coaching ability either.

He played and has coached beside some greats. Not of our system.

Reckon he will be a bit like Shaw. Have some outside ideas to blend into our system.

I sat next to Dean on a flight from Melbourne to Sydney circa 2011, couldn't have been more impressed to be honest, not up himself, has a brain, took shit from a swans supporter and gave a bit back, was generally interested to talk footy. Got respect big time in WA for his leadership and coaching, seems a great get to me.

Were you the Swans supporter giving him shit?

That would have been a long flight. :p

Were you the Swans supporter giving him shit?

That would have been a long flight. :p

I was indeed the supporter. I started the convo with, let me start by saying......

You're like that guy who deliberately spills your drink in a pub to start a fight, then ends up your best mate by then end of the night. :D:thumbsu:

Living in WA back then it was odd to meet a WCE that wasn't a full pr tosser, he's a good one. Me on the other hand......

For his sake I hope he's able to turn the Suns around & have some success. I'd hate to see him turn his back on a sure succession plan here at Sydney (plus all the development & faith we've put into him) only to go and ruin his career getting chewed up & spat out of what looks like a very poorly run Suns outfit.

I also hope he doesn't start poaching our talent on &/or off the field...

Also long as they don't beat the Swans =)

Well of course...

Think Tippet will go to GC? I'm way behind on footy (since I've been on fires for 2 months I had to not look at anything so games wouldn't be spoiled). Just watched the GF last night so I'm on an info overload.

Possibly but doubtful (just signed an extension didn't he?). I think at his age, with the fact we've got Sinkers/Naisy/Cameron (+Towers & Reid) as depth (potential backups) in that same area he may see a better opportunity up there to be the key #1 & veteren helping the struggling kids (i.e. paid more for that). But he's got 3 years left on his current contract I believe??

Possibly. I think at his age, with the fact we've got Sinkers/Naisy/Cameron (+Towers & Reid) as depth (potential backups) in that same area he may see a better opportunity up there to be the key #1 & veteren helping the struggling kids (i.e. paid more for that).

Can you explain "been on fires" to me? It's annoying me...

EDIT: Cool, thanks for the explanation in the other thread.

Yeah I replied to this one first...probably should've looked at that before I said the same thing. One thing that sucks about footy being in summer is sometimes I'm gone for weeks at a time and miss games/news because I don't want to have stuff spoiled. Anything we can get for Tippet would be a plus imo.

We'll have to pay out a fair bit of his contract is the only stumbling block...

With the 20% increase player payments it should help. Chiefs have to do it all the time (well not all the time..its bad management). We ate 9 million of Maclins contract just to get him out. Sometimes its better to bite the bullet. You can probably do it once every couple years or you really get into salary cap issues. Which I've come to learn is a fairly new thing in AFL. Refreshing compared to the NFL.

Was a quality player and always seemed like a quality bloke. I like that he comes from the Clarkson school of coaching (via Adam Simpson) for something different, as all our other coaches (other than Stevie) have learned under Roos-inspired coaches (Kirk under Lyon who learned from Roos; Horse under Roos; Shaw under Horse).

I think paying him out even if he retires is a goer. The bloke is simply bad for morale. His effort in the neafl GF was lacklustre.