Mega Thread Coaching Staff Pickups

• Thread starter Thread starter PerthBoy87

When was the last time Richmond had a premiership coach coaching them (I mean head coach)?

John Worsfold is arguably the best available coach for a team like ours. He is not shot, far from it. He was shot at West Coast because he was under consistent pressure as their supporters get way ahead of themselves. He got to two grand finals, and played in 7 finals series in 12 years. His game style is completely different to Hardwick's and may be well suited to a team like ours, and there is also a change in style occurring in the AFL that is moving away from tactical to zones to high intensity pressure.

I think the year off will have served him well, and I think he should be considered one of the best available.

and this would be less so at our club?

G'day everyone,

I caught up with my dad for lunch. He told me one of his mates (who is an Eagles supporter) told him there is a rumour going around that John Worsefold is linked to Richmond and has been seen hanging around the club. I haven't heard anything but maybe some of you have??

I for one don't think its true (don't shoot the messenger) but I just thought I'd say it. Mods if you don't think this thread is worth being here then you can delete the thread but as I said I just thought I'd put it on here (info above).

Cheers.
Sound like a mothers club gossip session to me

If people dont want to believe what I said (the content) I was told then fine, but don't think I just decided to put it on here to cause trouble or to cop smartarse comments etc. As I said in my first post - mods if you want to get rid of this post then do it and I won't mind. I just thought I'd tell you what I heard.

Whether the information I was told is true or not - well time will tell.

If people dont want to believe what I said (the content) I was told then fine, but don't think I just decided to put it on here to cause trouble or to cop smartarse comments etc. As I said in my first post - mods if you want to get rid of this post then do it and I won't mind. I just thought I'd tell you what I heard.

Thanks mate for your input.:thumbsu:

Tis cool PB

I first heard this rumour in 2008, after Trent Cotchin's first game against Geelong. The season after Judd left. Whether Worsfold has been or not I don't know, but the rumour has been hanging around Richmond for a while.

Worsfold was shot to pieces by the end of his stint at WCE. And i would not want him being coach of Richmond. Put a fork in him, he's done.
Maybe he'll be mentally refreshed with a year off, but agree, only want him if he's hungry.

He was rooted after WCE. One year off will not be enough from this type of work and environment. We get Woosh and it will be the biggest mistake since Walls.

I heard he left western Australia as his wife was having an affair he wanted out of there
I've always been of the opinion that it takes two to tango.

Those thinking Worsfold would be a good addition to our club may like to take a look at the list he had during his time at WCE.
They may also like to consider what those players got up to and how he was involved.
If they still think it's a good idea, do a bit of research regarding his off-field relationships.
I would hope the club would do their due diligence.

Personally, I would be looking elsewhere while keeping the following in mind:
We need uncompromising toughness and fight in our midfield ASAP.
Our forward line needs to be running like a well-oiled machine.
Our back six has been reasonably unsettled this year, so I'm willing to give them some time.

Nah keep it and keep up the info. :thumbsu:

Who gives a **** whether it happens or not. Keeps the board ticking over.

These are the only rumours Im putting out there now, and past. I said Judd was leaving WC no one believed me. This year is his last and he will retire at years end regardless of what the club offer. Brendon Gale has had lunch recently with a former coach, may be for the head job may be as a Rocket Eade type role. That is all.

West Coast were definately a better side under his tutelage.
Look at West Coast now.
On a level with our club onfield.
Well below us, I don't give a shit what the current win/ loss records are, they can't play any better than what they have and we have been well below our best. Massively overrated side the Eagles.

These are the only rumours Im putting out there now, and past. I said Judd was leaving WC no one believed me. This year is his last and he will retire at years end regardless of what the club offer. Brendon Gale has had lunch recently with a former coach, may be for the head job may be as a Rocket Eade type role. That is all.

Judd's last year you mean?

Can't we appoint him as an assistant now mid season like the saints did today with that sheila?

We really need an assistant right now...

Hey mate, dont stress. Just trying to lighten the mood, god knows we need it!

All good bud