Coaching

• Thread starter Thread starter Lach72

This coaching panel would fail to inspire anyone let alone the players, Harvey is out of his league, Wallis fair dinkum would have to be the worse player that ever donned a guernsey for Essendon, Scott a thug of the highest order when playing for the Lions and wtf is Bewick doing in the coaches box, last year he was the coach of the wooden spooners in the Wafl.

It is time to stop blaming coaches.

Pavlich Sandilands Mcpharlin Headland Tarrant Grover Mundy Haselby are all experienced players .What does Melbourne have ?// We are are crap.

Again. Who is Harvey going to play or put in certain roles on the field beside who he has? At the same time that he is 'blooding' youngsters he wants his senior players to put their hand up and fill a role when he needs it. Obviously they can't do it.

They seem to be able to do it in some games . So the should be able to do it in most .

Mundy should never be in the middle . Suban would be better in the middle because he is faster , attacks the ball and is aggressive . Even when Mundy "tries harder" he is still ineffective in tackling and attacking the ball. He should be forward or nowhere on the field . We actually do have players like walters , pearce, pratt etc who may be inexperienced but are yet to show they are wimps . To say we have to play people like dodd , mundy etc is absolute bullshit when most weeks they play crap. .Yeh we would miss there huge pack marks that they take and contests they win because of their height.
Like its better to have experienced players go out there and play crap instead of inexperienced players playing crap . At least they have potential.Its not like we only have 25 players in our squad . We just went down to the bottom side by 10 goals - Thank god for those experienced players we had to play!What calamity we would surely have suffered if they hadnt been there.

Not sure what you are talking about to be honest.

Mundy is one player that should be kept in the middle when we improve.

Also thought his attack on the footy was top class today. One particular effort stands out the most, beat two players on the wing only to watch Peake stuff it up again.

And who exactly was going to come in for 2-3 of our talls and win the game?

We might not havbe won and given the attitude probably not, but a forward line where everyone is slow and tall and it's wet is muppetry...unless you want to lose

Again. Who is Harvey going to play or put in certain roles on the field beside who he has? At the same time that he is 'blooding' youngsters he wants his senior players to put their hand up and fill a role when he needs it. Obviously they can't do it.

Pearce and Walters were both available

I hope that Pav is nowhere in the midfield next year, otherwise might as well trade him.

Im not worried about experimenting, its just we should be still trying to win. Tarrant was hardly effectual today, so why not send him to the forward line. Likewise with McPharlin after quarter time, send him back.

Tarrant smashed Miller

Heard a rumour that there was potentially some sort of legal action to get Harvey removed.

Now i class the source of this to be fairly unreliable;(my eagle supporting uncle who appears to really hate Harvey) but he reckons a lawyer friend of his was saying something about trying to get rid of harvey using some sort of legal route.

Has anyone heard anything like this??

I wsa thinking, if there is in fact any truth to it, it might be those same bunch of 37 plonkers that wrote that letter about Cuddles a few years back.

Heard a rumour that there was potentially some sort of legal action to get Harvey removed.

Now i class the source of this to be fairly unreliable;(my eagle supporting uncle who appears to really hate Harvey) but he reckons a lawyer friend of his was saying something about trying to get rid of harvey using some sort of legal route.

I wsa thinking, if there is in fact any truth to it, it might be those same bunch of 37 plonkers that wrote that letter about Cuddles a few years back.

Epic Lulz :thumbsu:

Not sure what you are talking about to be honest.

Mundy is one player that should be kept in the middle when we improve.

Also thought his attack on the footy was top class today. One particular effort stands out the most, beat two players on the wing only to watch Peake stuff it up again.

Oh, for ****'s sake, when are you going to get over your man-crush and smell the roses?

Mundy was even shitter than normal yesterday. Where was his fantastic disposal? He set the tone right away didn't he? First possession - use his supposed wondrous kicking skills to attack quickly? No, lets try a long distance looping handpass to a moving target with a wet ball for a turnover. He was seriously ridiculed by the commentary team for that clanger, and his lack of intensity in the contest later in the game.

If he is getting a game next year we are in serious shit and we can really begin to question the quality of the coaching staff. I hope and pray he is one of the 20%.

Mods why would you allow dribble like this to be posted?
Please send it to the crapper where it belongs.

Oh, for ****'s sake, when are you going to get over your man-crush and smell the roses?

Mundy was even shitter than normal yesterday. Where was his fantastic disposal? He set the tone right away didn't he? First possession - use his supposed wondrous kicking skills to attack quickly? No, lets try a long distance looping handpass to a moving target with a wet ball for a turnover. He was seriously ridiculed by the commentary team for that clanger, and his lack of intensity in the contest later in the game.

If he is getting a game next year we are in serious shit and we can really begin to question the quality of the coaching staff. I hope and pray he is one of the 20%.
He isn't in the 20%. He wasn't great yesterday, but he was still in our top 10 players.

Just wishful thinking that he could be in the 20%, but yes, there are plenty worse on our list. Top ten for the game though? No, not for me, and I'm surprised some are giving him votes. Only Ibbotson, Peake and Dodd were worse IMO. I'll watch the replay on Wednesday and see if I can see what some others seem to.

Harvey was coach of our backline which would have included Mundy and he clearly rates him. His assessment of players generally at the club would barely get a pass mark. Two year contracts to Murphy and Thornton, trying for another 2 year deal with J Carr, his stunning failure in his first year despite him clearly regarding the list as premiership contenders. He has generally failed to improve anyone significantly, with Tarrant the exception, but in doing that he has played absolute havoc with our forward and back lines (we began the year with MacPharlin regarded as the best swingman in the biz and will end it with him in limbo). And it is fine to talk about playing the kids, but kids often look exciting. And the general selections at draft time have longterm flaws, especially the non-selection of kpp's, but also a lack of true midfielders. I am a big fan of Hill, but Rich still looks the better fit for our side to me, and the selection of a small forward in preference to a midfielder or kpp is bemusing, regardless of the quality of the small forward.

Harvey is a good assistant coach but so far has really done zippo to indicate that he has the goods as a senior coach. He has selected game plans that are wrong for the players on the list, he has wasted pre-season games as a means of establishing game plan.

At this stage, the best that can be said for him is that he has taken the list and club into a period of transition from a failed era, of which he was a part, to something resembling a clean plate.

Just wishful thinking that he could be in the 20%, but yes, there are plenty worse on our list. Top ten for the game though? No, not for me, and I'm surprised some are giving him votes. Only Ibbotson, Peake and Dodd were worse IMO. I'll watch the replay on Wednesday and see if I can see what some others seem to.

Kepler and Grover were worse to name a couple. JVB, Hill and McPharlin might be a few more you could consider?

Yeah, it was a poor handball, but you focus on that one passage and use it as your sole reasoning to bag him. I doubt you'll acknowledge the sublime, and it was sublime, foot pass on the non preferred to hit Macpharlin lace out 35 in front. Put his foot on the gas, placed it to macpharlins advantage.

Then he hit DeBoer on the tit with a 50 metres pass, Deboer dropped it under no pressure.

You'll also fail to acknowledge his effort on the wing where he won the ball off of two melbourne players and slapped it to Peakes advantage, only to see Peake **** it up.

Nah, that'd be too hard. Mundy may have his downfalls but he is still our best ball user and he was one of our best yesterday. I also happen to think he has improved his attack on the ball and man of late.

But again, continue to lambast him. You poor man's Karl Langdon. :thumbsu:

Harvey was coach of our backline which would have included Mundy and he clearly rates him. His assessment of players generally at the club would barely get a pass mark. Two year contracts to Murphy and Thornton, trying for another 2 year deal with J Carr, his stunning failure in his first year despite him clearly regarding the list as premiership contenders. He has generally failed to improve anyone significantly, with Tarrant the exception, but in doing that he has played absolute havoc with our forward and back lines (we began the year with MacPharlin regarded as the best swingman in the biz and will end it with him in limbo). And it is fine to talk about playing the kids, but kids often look exciting. And the general selections at draft time have longterm flaws, especially the non-selection of kpp's, but also a lack of true midfielders. I am a big fan of Hill, but Rich still looks the better fit for our side to me, and the selection of a small forward in preference to a midfielder or kpp is bemusing, regardless of the quality of the small forward.

Harvey is a good assistant coach but so far has really done zippo to indicate that he has the goods as a senior coach. He has selected game plans that are wrong for the players on the list, he has wasted pre-season games as a means of establishing game plan.

At this stage, the best that can be said for him is that he has taken the list and club into a period of transition from a failed era, of which he was a part, to something resembling a clean plate.
I'm not making a judgement on him yet, I reckon by round 4 next year the jury will deliver its verdict on him, but let's just say currently I'm a tad worried.

I also thought Mundy was one of our best player yesterday, apart from that first handball his disposal was great. Additionally, the past couple of weeks it seems to me that he's improved with his intensity and 1%ers.

a lack of true midfielders. I am a big fan of Hill, but Rich still looks the better fit for our side to me
I'm not sure why. Because he immediately slots in? How does this help us long term? We've had plenty of young blokes who've had solid first few seasons only to come back to the pack quickly. Rich is good, but so is Hill, and I don't think our problem lies at the draft table.

The fundamental problem with Freo is that players have come and gone through our club with promising initial seasons and stagnating after that.

I know the argument is that all young kids look promising early, but just as many don't, and at some clubs, every promising kid seems to end up a reasonable player. Why is this such a rare occurrence at Freo?

It doesn't matter who the coach is, the list seems to have no development in it. We are constantly forced to rely on rookie draft players who have are given multiple cracks when our first line selections don't come on properly. These rookie picks generally come through as more mature players who've had a few years in the WAFL system.

Why is that? My bet is that the WAFL clubs who feed us are doing a better job of developing players than we do. Broughton's about the same age as Drum, except he's been trained and developed for a few years by Subi versus Drum who's been at Freo. Why is Broughton the more capable player at AFL level than a guy who has been in the professional system for three years? It can be argued that we possibly took Drum too early in the draft, but at the same time, he was probably always going to be taken in the national draft, versus Broughton who only got a look in at age 22 in the rookie draft.

It's not just Drum either - Murphy, Polak, etc all showed something initially and went nowhere. Why has Duffield ended up being at least as good as Murphy, Schammer, Mundy, Campbell, etc, if not better?

You are quite probably right that Harvey is not up to it, but the problems are much deeper than that. It is obviously a task too difficult for a rookie coach to assess, but it seems to me that the entire systems Fremantle have in place for running a professional club are wanting badly.

Kepler and Grover were worse to name a couple. JVB, Hill and McPharlin might be a few more you could consider?

McPharlin escaped only because of his first quarter, the others were pretty much on par.

Yeah, it was a poor handball, but you focus on that one passage and use it as your sole reasoning to bag him. I doubt you'll acknowledge the sublime, and it was sublime, foot pass on the non preferred to hit Macpharlin lace out 35 in front. Put his foot on the gas, placed it to macpharlins advantage.

Then he hit DeBoer on the tit with a 50 metres pass, Deboer dropped it under no pressure.

You'll also fail to acknowledge his effort on the wing where he won the ball off of two melbourne players and slapped it to Peakes advantage, only to see Peake **** it up.

Nah, that'd be too hard. Mundy may have his downfalls but he is still our best ball user and he was one of our best yesterday. I also happen to think he has improved his attack on the ball and man of late.

But again, continue to lambast him. You poor man's Karl Langdon. :thumbsu:

I don't focus on one passage, I'm just putting up an example. The fact that he turned the ball over on his very first possession just highlights it. There are plenty of reasons to bag Mundy if you look for them.

I did see the examples you put up, it was good work, and only what is expected of an AFL player. Why should it be acknowledged as anything special? You seem to think we should all be marvelling at how someone occasionally manages to successfully do what they're paid to do consistently.

Back on track, the guy who sits next to me told me about a speech Harvs gave to a South Fremantle function recently where he said that when he leaves Fremantle, either voluntarily or pushed, he won't coach anywhere else because he doesn't want to be a career coach. That disturbs me more than anything else Harvs has said or done so far.

I also thought Mundy was one of our best player yesterday, apart from that first handball his disposal was great. Additionally, the past couple of weeks it seems to me that he's improved with his intensity and 1%ers.
You don't watch the game very closely do you?

How were his 3 shots on goal. Great disposal - my arse!

McPharlin escaped only because of his first quarter, the others were pretty much on par.

I don't focus on one passage, I'm just putting up an example. The fact that he turned the ball over on his very first possession just highlights it. There are plenty of reasons to bag Mundy if you look for them.

I did see the examples you put up, it was good work, and only what is expected of an AFL player. Why should it be acknowledged as anything special? You seem to think we should all be marvelling at how someone occasionally manages to successfully do what they're paid to do consistently.

Back on track, the guy who sits next to me told me about a speech Harvs gave to a South Fremantle function recently where he said that when he leaves Fremantle, either voluntarily or pushed, he won't coach anywhere else because he doesn't want to be a career coach. That disturbs me more than anything else Harvs has said or done so far.

Paul Roos said from day 1 he wasn't a career coach...does that disturb you too?