Jul 26, 2001
Gold Coast
Gold Coast
Villa
Contract for Magin as GCFC continue to build for AFL in 2011
The Gold Coast Football Club has continued its build to AFL football in 2011 by signing the Sunshine Coast’s Alik Magin to a one year contract.

Magin, brother of Essendon Football Club’s Rhys Magin, has been an important part of the GCFC squad this year and has participated full time in the elite training program led by Coach Guy McKenna at Gold Coast Stadium, Carrara.

He joins eight other young Queensland players who have been contracted to GCFC and has played a key role in this year’s TAC Cup campaign with the club likely to play finals in September.

Magin, 18, is a clever half-forward who played with the Caloundra Panthers on the Sunshine Coast before joining GCFC late last year.

McKenna said Magin had shown the commitment and talent needed to earn himself a contract with the Club and had gained 8 kilos since he commenced training with GCFC.

“We challenged the squad at the start of the year and made it clear there were a limited number of contracts available. To Alik’s credit he has done the hard work. He has a great attitude and work ethic and the effort he has put in this year has been rewarded,” McKenna said.

“We are delighted he has agreed to join us and be part of the Gold Coast Football Club journey to AFL in 2011. He will be given every opportunity to develop into a first class player in our program.”

Good signing , keeping him away from this years draft.

He was my favourite non-Lions Brisbane Lions reserve (was then Suncoast) team player. Loved his game and he has great abilities. Good on ya Magin :thumbsu:. He looks like Daisy Thomas too lol.

Good news for footy development up here on the Sunshine Coast also. :thumbsu:

Did'nt know you were from that neck of the woods Stereo !

We have signed another player today , Marc Lock , the captain has signed on for next season.

GCFC Captain Locked In
Gold Coast Football Club has recruited another player from its TAC Cup squad with captain Marc Lock agreeing to a contract for next season.
Lock, 18, joins nine other young Queensland players who have been contracted to GCFC and has played a key role in this year’s TAC Cup campaign with the club likely to play finals in September.

He has participated full time in the elite training program led by Coach Guy McKenna at Gold Coast Stadium, Carrara as the club continues its build to AFL football in 2011.

Born in Adelaide Lock relocated to northern NSW as a boy and played with Coolangatta then the Southport Sharks before joining the GCFC squad this year. He has been a strong performer in the mid-field and consistently features as one of the best players on the ground.

McKenna said Lock was well respected amongst the group as captain and the contract gives him an opportunity to continue his hard work and potentially be on the GCFC list for 2011.

“To be voted Captain by his peers puts him in fairly high regard amongst the playing group,” McKenna said.

“His work ethic and natural leadership attributes on the field are the type of qualities we are looking for with such a young group of players.

“We are pleased he has agreed to join us and be part of the Gold Coast Football Club journey to AFL in 2011.”

So you have Magin, Lock, Dixon, Smith and Stanlake locked in for 2011. That is 5. Who are the other Queensland recruits. Obviously you have the Tassie boys Weller and Russell and also Karmichael Hunt from Rugby League. Is he one of the Queensland recruits or not. Just name me all your recruits and your Queesland recruits mainly.

Lock and Magin have only signed till 2010 , we have only 6 players on our AFL list atm.

It hasn't been released to the press but Trent McKenzie has also signed, think they might announce all the Vic signings at once like the Tassie guys.

From what i've seen I reckon Lock is a keeper for 2011. Who do you think will be signed next from the current squad? Thomas? Grayson? Liddy? Fowler is sure to attract some attention come draft time..

It hasn't been released to the press but Trent McKenzie has also signed, think they might announce all the Vic signings at once like the Tassie guys.

From what i've seen I reckon Lock is a keeper for 2011. Who do you think will be signed next from the current squad? Thomas? Grayson? Liddy? Fowler is sure to attract some attention come draft time..

Thanks for the heads up Bachar , McKenzie looks a quality player . From the current batch Fowler stands out , not sure what is happening there , thought Coast would offer him a 2 year deal like all clubs would , Liddy is a sure thing , Grayson has improved out of sight since the start of the season , Moss i think will be signed up , Thomas as well as being a little small has shown great skills . We have a group of 16yo that have been playing for us this year that have more than held there own in Sheeve , Crawford and Rutledge.

Will the GC sign Habberfield or Stanley?

There signed up next year , but for 2011 i 'm not sure , Haberfield has very good skills , but does'nt get his hands on it enough imo , as for Stanley , he has been very injury prone but when on the park , has the height and body shape to make it , will be keeping an eye on both players to see where they end up.

Ok thanks. Coastboy who did yougo for before GC?

Coast sign up Magin