Col Sylvia

Poor effort to knock down a power pole onto the middle of Queens Way and leave the scene.

Cctv confirmed he wasn't driving - but why would you leave your own car?..
Me thinks alcohol would have affected any decision-thinking.

Particularly given the fact he wasn't driving his own car suggests he may have been under the influence.

His mate is apparently facing a barrage of charges. Just what I've heard. I assume DUI is amongst those somewhere. Col wasn't in training for that Ben cousins triathlon was he???

Me thinks alcohol would have affected any decision-thinking.

Particularly given the fact he wasn't driving his own car suggests he may have been under the influence.

6:45am heading down King St.. I wonder if his friend charlie was with them as well tbh.

That's what Colin would have been worried about.

I'll say it's a non-issue.
When your are in AFL/sport/famous etc. everything becomes an issue

I do think it was silly not to wait - im giving him the benefit of the doubt and say he wasn't thinking due to being drunk enough not to drive.

Neeld will probably be hard on him during the pre season

6:45am heading down King St.. I wonder if his friend charlie was with them as well tbh.

That's what Colin would have been worried about.

No doubt- the mans a grade A moron. This is a do or die season for Colin on and off the field- can't see Neeld putting up with any crap from him.

This is great news for the Dees. Not really a serious issue but will be the little motivation that Sylvia needs to work his arse off this pre-season and become the A-Grader we know he can be. The timing of this couldn't be better.

Why did he need motivation other than to help his team reach their goals? I see what you're saying but seriously, if you need to get busted (again) doing something 'wrong' to get you up for a preseason than your mind is clearly not on the job in the first place.

Seems a non-issue; probably still had alcohol in his system from the night before (if he stayed at a friends house) or from the night he was finishing.

Drugs stay in a persons system for a while don't they? Two/three weeks IIRC.

If there are any suspicions he'll be tested for it, he can't get away with it just by leaving the scene of a car crash.

Not exactly an intellectual human, but he goes alright on the field so who cares. Let the barbarians whinge about it and let the club fine the buggery out of him and let's get on with the core business.

I Don't imagine there was drugs involved. They can still and probably will test all players in the international rules which at the time he was apart of and they stay in the system for a while (well over 24 hrs). IMO I reckon there was a sneaky lady friend involved, such a ladies man : )

No doubt- the mans a grade A moron. This is a do or die season for Colin on and off the field- can't see Neeld putting up with any crap from him.

Whether it be my team or yours, it's funny how all the bad luck stories just seem to keep happening to the same old people.
They just find themselves in the wrong place at the wrong time. Purely just bad luck. :confused:

I'd say bad judgement rather than bad luck.

Whether it be my team or yours, it's funny how all the bad luck stories just seem to keep happening to the same old people.
I must say the few times I've seen Gibbs, Murphy & co out I've been disgusted by their behaviour (eg, spitting on the floor inside at Fog bar, on two separate occasions)..

Sylvia should be able to have a bender until 6am on a weekday like the vast majority of us in our life times.. but should've left the car and got a cab (preferrably not abusing the driver Hurley style..)

I must say the few times I've seen Gibbs, Murphy & co out I've been disgusted by their behaviour (eg, spitting on the floor inside at Fog bar, on two separate occasions)..

Sylvia should be able to have a bender until 6am on a weekday like the vast majority of us in our life times.. but should've left the car and got a cab (preferrably not abusing the driver Hurley style..)

The fact that it was before IR training is the main issue, he isnt in the wrong otherwise

One former player once said of Colin that he was more interested in cars and girls than making the most of his abilities. Though to me this is a non issue.

Off season meh....perhaps he left the scene to grab a taxi and go home because he was tired after a long night...meh.

The only problem is that he was drinking the night before training for the IR series. Its not really a Melbourne problem, if it was our training then it would be a different story.

As for leaving the scene that was just stupid, but if the police have cleared him of any wrong doing then we should just leave it at that.

Basically this is just an insight to maybe why he hasn't reached his potential consistently. Games against Adelaide and Richmond this year amaze how good he could be but doesn't do it often enough.

Hopefully this will be the turning point. he will be 26 next year and he should realise his footy career is probably half over. How does he want to be remembered? A champion of the game, or just another average player?

The fact that it was before IR training is the main issue, he isnt in the wrong otherwise
But even then, I've certainly been up until 5 or 6am on the morning of my job.. albeit it was a tad naughty.. but still.. not that big a deal IMO

Shows you how much players value the IR too, despite what the AFL try to tell us.. especially in the wake of a proper international sporting event like the Rugby World Cup..

The guy is a dead set dill. Yes, he's a player in our team and we'll defend him from all the cretins who will have a go at him about this incident. But there's no denying he's been in bad situations before. These 'incident's' always seem to hang around the same people.

A great opportunity bestowed Col this week! Representing his country! Now, the International rules games might be a bit Mickey Mouse to most of us, but being picked to play for your country in any sport is quite an achievement and something he should have respected more than going out on an all night bender the night before a training session. What message does that send Frawley and Trengove who are also in the squad and will be our next generation of MFC leaders?

Col Sylvia should be a leader of our club! Age wise, he's in his prime, but battles for consistency and issues off field. He should be at minimun a vice captain and an A grade footballer for our club. But he's not. It's easy to say Mark Neeld will turn him in to one, but until Col wakes the F*ck up and realises his potential, he will always carry the 'potential' tag around his neck....

A great opportunity bestowed Col this week! Representing his country! Now, the International rules games might be a bit Mickey Mouse to most of us, but being picked to play for your country in any sport is quite an achievement and something he should have respected more than going out on an all night bender the night before a training session. What message does that send Frawley and Trengove who are also in the squad and will be our next generation of MFC leaders?

When Jake King gets picked to represent our country all pride in that jumper goes out the window.

Whole thing is a non event.

When Jake King gets picked to represent our country all pride in that jumper goes out the window.

Haha nearly spat my coffee, funny stuff

IT probably is a bit of a non-issue really, but the first real negative news to come out about one of our our players since Moloney. I'm confident the club will set him straight and get the best out of him next year.

It's a fair call, but I think that's an easy out for Colin here. I read that he rang Eade everyday about the series and how much he was looking forward to it! Surely it's time he smartened up and showed some leadership around our club. Like I said, he's in his prime right now, and should be a leader at our club. Mark Neeld has some work to do with this guy...