Collin Sylvia = Trade Bait!

• Thread starter Thread starter Natanui

He had the chance on Monday to kick 5 goals and, in all honesty, he should have. The 2 he missed were very gettable.

I think he's worth persisting with. We have much more dead weight lying around ready to be cut and, with some good picks to replace them, we are looking in better shape. Plus something tells me clubs won't part easily with their picks this year with the Gold Coast getting in the thick of it in next years draft.

At 22 i think it is a terrible idea to trade him. Yes he has has up's and downs but hasn't he only had one full pre season under his belt? Had an injury plagued career. If he was 25 i would be very worried but not at 22. Most footballers hit there prime at 25 - 26 and we are willing to cut him at 22 when we still know he has a lot to offer the club. If we where to trade him i would only want a first rounder because he could be anything at 25 at another club. Look how long it took Luke Hodge to break out? I think if he get a bigger engine he will be right.

Its not the engine i'm worried about, its about the dude losing the keys.

I personally think he is a bit too big and heavy through his upper body for his size (height). they are too obsessed with building themselves up.

If he trimmed down a bit and was leaner it would improve his pace and agility.

Also would take a bit of pressure off his lower body carrying around a few less kilos. Could solve his injury problems and allow him to move up to a wing etc.

Haha! ;)
Dreaming matey hehe!
He plays like a tall guy Sylvia but he actually isn't. Just looked at his height and I am taller than him! :O Pity I can't kick a ball to save my life.

I think a 2nd round pick would be enough. Somewhere in the low 20s. I have a feeling that Collingwood will have a go at him in the trade period. Theyw will look to turn him into an inside midfielder as Collingwoods major weakness is in their clearences area.

Mate, I reckon Collingwoodwill have Daniel Harris playing that role next year.

On Sylvia: melbourne fans.

Tell me HONESTLY what kind iof deal you'd offer North for him. Just wondering.

He's such a difficult player to put a value on, from another club's point of view, he hasn't shown too much in his years at Melbourne. But from a Melb. standpoint, they know he has a lot of ability, if only they could harness and channel it.

Due to that, I think the valuations two clubs trying to deal for him have could be very different.

He's such a difficult player to put a value on, from another club's point of view, he hasn't shown too much in his years at Melbourne. But from a Melb. standpoint, they know he has a lot of ability, if only they could harness and channel it.

Due to that, I think the valuations two clubs trying to deal for him have could be very different.

Yeah, and I can't really see a gaping hole at North he'd fill. Just wondering anyway.

What would you want for him?

To be honest, I dunno.

There's not too many North players I'd trade that you be interested in.

There's only really Harris and Swallow (given that no-one in their right mind wants Brown or Sansbury) but I can't see you guys going crazy at that.

If North traded boots worn by Harris for Sylvia, I would send in some C4 with my membership renewal and blow the joint up. Fair dinkum, SLF.

May I ask is Harris really that good?

I've been waiting for him to step up and become elite (That's how highly I rated him a few years ago) but he is 26 this year and is only averaging 19 touches a game.

He embarrassed Hawthorn's midfield in the semi last year and for good measure did it again a few weeks ago, and they're supposed to have a great midfield aren't they? On top of that for the past 2 years he has been in the top 2 clearance mids in the competition. His form has been indifferent this year but when he's been on he's won us games. Thats a tinsy bit more than a Colin Sylvia.

To be honest I dont know North's list well enough, although at the moment I wouldnt think Sylvia would fetch any more than a second rounder, given that he has shown not much in five years.

As for Harris, can't see us ever thinking about him even though he is a good player (he is 24-25?) better off going into a more established team, rather than Melbourne where he would probably become our #1 on-baller. :o We've just got to keep picking up young guys if we're ever going to make a fist of it down the line

When he plays well, we win. Very important player.

This year has been really dissapointing, because his form fluctuation has been sharp and it's hurting the side. Against St Kilda he was disgraceful. The next week he had 28, about 600 tackles, a shitload of clearances and was outstanding. He looks stale and needing a change. These things are guesswork of course, but I wouldn't be surprised if he was at another footy club next year.

In only said it because I reckon Harro and Laidley have fallen out quite badly and that he will be traded/ask to be traded. Most likely to Collingwood.

To be honest, I dunno.

There's not too many North players I'd trade that you be interested in.

There's only really Harris and Swallow (given that no-one in their right mind wants Brown or Sansbury) but I can't see you guys going crazy at that.

Harris is 27 early next season, so while a good player wouldn't be on our radar. Swallow might be of interest to us, but he's quite similar to some of our other inside mids so i think Sylvia is more valuable to us.

North don't have any young tall forwards that they'd give up, so i'd suggest it would have to be for a draft picks.

Maybe Their 2nd round pick (27) & 3rd round (43) for Sylvia & our 3rd round (35).

So we trade Sylvia for a pick upgrade (35 to 27) and a 3rd rounder (43), not sure if that's worth it for us, but we know we probably won't get what we think he's worth. That would give us 4 picks in the top 30

To be honest I dont know North's list well enough, although at the moment I wouldnt think Sylvia would fetch any more than a second rounder, given that he has shown not much in five years.

As for Harris, can't see us ever thinking about him even though he is a good player (he is 24-25?) better off going into a more established team, rather than Melbourne where he would probably become our #1 on-baller. :o We've just got to keep picking up young guys if we're ever going to make a fist of it down the line
I wasn't of the impression intelligence and you would at some point go hand in hand but since I can see you are actually capable of constructing an intelligent response, I happen to agree with you. Melbourne have some pretty decent youngsters coming through who like North Melbourne, often fly under the radar. Trading any of them would be stupidity. I see Bailey in a similar light. If he's given the chance he will probably turn Melbourne into a decent side again.

I also agree with the trading of youngsters for a 25 year old. As good as Harris can be for us, he knows what his role is and at this point in time probably would be Melbourne's premier midfieder. But for Melbourne that would be defeating the purpose. They are building a nucleus for the next 5-8 years and trading a Sylvia or a Buckley/Jones (who we'd happily accept if on offer - either one will do, no pressure), and as they have found out thus far with Moloney, would be suicide.

Harris is 27 early next season, so while a good player wouldn't be on our radar. Swallow might be of interest to us, but he's quite similar to some of our other inside mids so i think Sylvia is more valuable to us.

North don't have any young tall forwards that they'd give up, so i'd suggest it would have to be for a draft picks.

Maybe Their 2nd round pick (27) & 3rd round (43) for Sylvia & our 3rd round (35).

So we trade Sylvia for a pick upgrade (35 to 27) and a 3rd rounder (43), not sure if that's worth it for us, but we know we probably won't get what we think he's worth. That would give us 4 picks in the top 30

So I think we are agreed that you wouldn't REALLY get what you think he's worth. Fair enough. I can't see the trade happening but with Donald McDonald shambling around Arden Street, anything could happen.

I wasn't of the impression intelligence and you would at some point go hand in hand but since I can see you are actually capable of constructing an intelligent response.

what can i say mark, the main board brings out the worst in me. ;)