Melbourne - Lockyer24
North Melbourne - Axl the great
Port Adelaide - ketchup
Richmond - SCPaige
St Kilda - forward flanker
Sydney - Bay Pie
West Coast - Unknown Identity
Western Bulldogs - Jonno94

Please include - Height: Weight + 2 or 3 sentences explaining the choice (need /best available) and major attributes of the player: e.g.

# 1 - GWS
Lachie Whitfield - Dandenong Stingrays / 184cm / 74kg / ‘94

Clearly the best player in this draft and has been for some time to be honest. Is a midfielder but could easily see him playing anywhere on the park next year at senior level before settling there. Is just a player with enormous class and work rate (beep test over 16 when tested at TAC level). He simply works his opponents over and runs them into the ground. His execution is at the elite level and his work through traffic is as good as I have seen. Has Judd qualities and rate highly.
The names of selected players (in blue) will be hyperlinks. Click on the name and you will be taken directly to that player in the thread. Where a team has 2 selections together, the link will lead to the first named player, with the next profile also available in the same box.

I will PM people when their selection is coming up, though this may not always be possible.

Generally you will have about 4 hours to complete your selections, though this is flexible, particularly if the selections are moving quickly or the previous selection has been made late at night. If you wish, you can just supply the name then do the profile later, but please make sure you complete the profile ASAP. If the selection has to be made by me, I will insert the next available player from Nightmare's phantom draft.

For resources, see post 2

Round One
1. GWS - Tom Boyd
2. GWS - Mathew Scharenberg
3. St Kilda - Josh Kelly
4. Western Bulldogs - James Aish
5. Gold Coast - Kade Kolodjashnij
6. Collingwood - Nathan Freeman
7. Brisbane -Marcus Bontempelli
8. North Melbourne - Luke McDonald
9. Melbourne - Jack Billings
10. Collingwood - Cameron McCarthy
11. West Coast - Dominic Sheed
12. Richmond - Christian Salem
13. Carlton - Darcy Gardiner
14. GWS - Lewis Taylor
15. Sydney - Blake Acres
16. Geelong - Matt Crouch
17. Fremantle - Ben Lennon
18. St Kilda - Billy Hartung
19. St Kilda - Patrick Cripps
20. Gold Coast - Trent Dumont

Round Two
21. Port Adelaide - Luke Dunstan
22. Brisbane - James Battersby
23. Adelaide - Jonathon Marsh
24. Hawthorn - Mitch Honeychurch
25. Brisbane Lions - Zak Jones
26. Essendon - Mitchell Harvey
27. Gold Coast - Jay Kennedy Harris
28. Brisbane - Dayle Garlett
29. GWS - Rory Lobb
30. North Melbourne - Zac Merrett
31. West Coast - Jimmy Tsitas
32. Sydney - Michael Apeness
33. Brisbane - Darcy Cameron
34. Brisbane - Eli Templeton
35. Sydney - Isaiah Miller
36. Geelong - Daniel McStay
37. Fremantle - Mitch Thorp
38. Hawthorn - Cameron Conlon

Round Three
39. Carlton - Luke Reynolds
40. Melbourne - Jarred Jansen
41. Geelong - Tom Cutler
42. Western Bulldogs - James Sicily
43. West Coast - Charlie Cameron
44. Sydney Swans - George Hewitt
45. Port Adelaide - Darcy Hourigan
46. Adelaide
47. North Melbourne
48. GWS
49. West Coast
50. Richmond
51. Carlton
52. Port Adelaide
53. Sydney
54. Geelong
55. Essendon
56. Hawthorn

Round Four
57. Melbourne
58. Fremantle
59. Hawthorn
60. Western Bulldogs
61. Gold Coast
62. West Coast
63. Brisbane
64. Geelong
65. North Melbourne
66. Essendon
67. Collingwood
68. Richmond
69. Carlton
70. Port Adelaide
71. Sydney
72. Geelong
73. Fremantle
74. Hawthorn

Round Five
75. Geelong
76. GWS
77. North Melbourne
78. GWS
79. Gold Coast
80. West Coast
81. Brisbane
82. Adelaide
83. North Melbourne
84. Geelong
85. Collingwood
86. Richmond
87. Carlton
88. Port Adelaide
89. Sydney
90. Geelong
91. Fremantle
92. Hawthorn

RESOURCES

1. http://www.afl.com.au/2013-draft/draftees/

2. http://www.afl.com.au/news/2013-10-04/draft-combine-results
(For a description of the tests: http://www.topendsports.com/sport/afl/testing-draft- camp.htm)

3. http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/forums/phantom-drafts.284/ (Our own Knightmare and Snoop Dog are highly respected for their mock drafts)

4. http://www.afl.com.au/news/2013-10-09/phantom-draft

5. http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/threads/collingwood-almanac-2013.1013086/ This is a Knightmare thread with lot's of discussion and questions about draftees. The first page contains an analysis of our needs and sound drafting advice.

6. Go to the forum of the club you chose and in an appropriate draft thread, inform members that you are selecting draftees for their team and ask for suggestions. Usually, there are several posters very willing to help you out.

Snoop Dogs GWS selections:

GWS
#1 - Tom Boyd (Eastern Ranges / 199cm / 102kg)
Look I will kick this thing off and select Tom Boyd as the # 1 pick.
Clearly much hyped and already as imposing as Patton was at the same age. I think we have all seen him so I dont want to go into great deal about him but he literally ticks off every box you want in a Key fwd. Tall, strong in a contest (think j.Brown) a motor that could rival the likes of a Riewoldt and incredibly strong hands. To cap it all off his he is a beaut kick. He is a great kid that just loves playing footy and clubs would be desperate to have him in their mix. He doesnt have a weakness in my view.
One of the things that I think has largely gone unnoticed with Tom is his performance at the start of the year against the Collingwood VFL side. He dominated that day against much bigger and mature bodies and I know the AFL recruiters have been impressed by that. At the other end of the spectrum he had a game as a part of the AIS and he played on the much shorter Gardiner who gave him a bath so that will be a performance that many will see as the knock on him. My view is everyone has those days and its been one of his few down days.
The other thing I like about Tom is his agility. When compared to other young key talls at a similar age he stands well in this area and I think its a must for the modern day tall fwd.
GWS
#2 Mathew Scharenberg (Vic Metro/Sandringham Dragons 191cm 88kg)
Reason I took Matt was I think he is the 2nd best player in the draft. I suspect in the real go they will take Kelly but I prefer Scharenburg. I like my midfielders tall and strong and a bit worried Kelly may end up a bit like Scully and GWS dont need two of him. Scharenburg is a player have seen for a number of years now and he has great game sense, can play all over the park, is elite in traffic and at the contest and makes wonderful choices with his execution. His skills are very good and I really see him as a taller Luke Hodge type.

Pick 3 – Josh Kelly
Height: 183cm
Weight: 75kg
Position: Outside mid.

I view view Kelly as the clear best midfield prospect in this draft. A combination of high level footskills, decision making, elite endurance, pace and ability to find the pill will enable him to become a top quality AFL midfielder. He strikes me not only as a player who could have an immediate impact at AFL level but also has a lot of improvement in him over the next few years. In this years draft pool there aren't many players who you could say fit both these criteria and I don't believe there are any who are at Kelly's level. One criticism of his game is that his body size will preclude him from being a top inside player. This is not a huge concern for mine - his endurance, pace and skills will be enough to overcome any kind of perceived weakness that people view he has on the inside. Of this years top handful of players I view him as the player with the least risk for that reason as well as those outlined above, I'm very happy to see him get to pick 3.

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2013-10-20/josh-kelly - Here's the link to his AFL.com profile - the video is 6 minutes long and the first half contains footage of some other dude.

Other things to note are that:
- he won the 3k time trial at the combine
- 9th in the beep test with a 15 which is considered rare according to the website linked above.
- 5th in the repeat sprints.

So as you can see, the guy is fast and just keeps on running.

#4 Western Bulldogs - James Aish

Position: Midfielder
Height: 184cm
Weight: 75kg
Born: 8/11/95
Home club: Norwood

Will do write up later.

Achievements:
Dual All Australian
Dual Norwood Premiership Player

Had a serious toss up between Kolodjashnij, Billings and Bontempelli, in the end I went for...

#5 Gold Coast Suns: Kade Kolodjashnij

Height: 188cm
Weight: 76kg

My opinion: The Gold Coast have shown a history to pick up plenty of Tasmanian's and I see this trend continuing with KK, I think they love the no go home factor and the tassie kids seem to settle in well there.

The Pros to Kolodjashnij include excellent skills and passing ability, very smart player who can link up and provide drive for the Gold Coast going forward. Has line breaking speed and combines that with good marking ability. He can be a great weapon in the GC back half and will provide good run and carry with harbow, before eventually taking over the role in 2-3 years time. Very similar to Hawthorn's Grant Birchall and excellent get.

Billings was highly tempting but with Jack Martin joining the club already the defensive option seemed smarter

I know everyone is spruiking Bontempelli, and Dekka will probably take him, for mine I went in a different direction:
#6 Nathan Freeman 181cm 85kg Vic Metro/ Sandringham Dragons.

Blessed with freakish speed and silky smooth skills Freeman is one of the best midfielders in this draft. Creates space with his great lateral movement and ability to quickly turn on the afterburners. Genuinely loves the contest, is aggressive and is quite adept at winning his own footy. He is then damaging when using it. Very good around the stoppages with his clean hands and great peripheral vision, combined with his elite foot skills, should make him a very handy extractor at the next level. Kicks goals as well as he is able to split defences with his pace and long kicking ability.
No slouch on the defensive side of his game, his tackling and second efforts are quite good.

At the combine he was 10th overall in the 3km time trial and also the beep test. Clocked at 2.82 seconds over 20 metres.

first off sorry 4#Didak#4 for taking your selection :)

Brisbane Selection #7
Marcus Bontempelli
192cm 83kg

Bontempelli is one of the taller players who can play both tall forward and through the midfield as well as in the back line. Despite his tall body he is a very athletic player combining both agility and durability. If he is still available for the lions at pick 7 they will definitely pick him up as he may have close to the best potential out of the draftees as he still needs work on his inside game but once this comes he will be a very versatile player and a great pick up for the lions.

Ah, my mistake apologies KJ, I was still under the impression that this was selections only and the general discussion was in the other thread.

I hadn't seen or been informed otherwise.

So... do you guys still want two threads, want one shut, want them merged, left as is??

Sorry again, esp KJ :(

NORTH MELBOURNE SELECTION #8 FS. LUKE MCDONALD. OAKLEIGH CHARGERS.
HEIGHT 188CM.
WEIGHT 80KG.
Having hoped to secure father/son selection Luke McDonald much later North's hand was forced when West Coast intended to take him earlier if need be.

Profile Luke Mcdonald.

Elite kick of the footy and great disposal under pressure, played mostly as a HB in junior footy who runs and creates with polish and poise.

Very few perceived weak points in his game and seems to do most things at an above average level which really justifies his selection within the top 10.

Really like the look of Christian Salem, would be great pick up at #10.

Seems very versatile and can play multiple roles.

Hine pre-requesite?

Really like the look of Christiam Salem, would be great pick up at #10.

Seems very versatile and can play multiple roles.

Hine pre-requesite?
I rate Salem so high that I wouldn't be disappointed if we snaffled him at #6. In saying that, if Hine knows he'll be around at #10, leave him till #10.

If we get Aish and Salem, combine that with Pendlebury out of the middle, 95% of kicks will be hitting our forwards lace out.

I like to compare Salem to a mix between Pendlebury and Josh P. Kennedy. Has that "time and space" rarity that guys like Pendlebury have but has the strong contested bullocking body that JPK has. He's the kind of kid that if you had to have it in someone's arms during a contested situation with 30 seconds left and 5 points down in your forward 50, he's the bloke you want with the footy.

Snoop Dogs GWS selections:

GWS
#1 - Tom Boyd (Eastern Ranges / 199cm / 102kg)
Look I will kick this thing off and select Tom Boyd as the # 1 pick.
Clearly much hyped and already as imposing as Patton was at the same age. I think we have all seen him so I dont want to go into great deal about him but he literally ticks off every box you want in a Key fwd. Tall, strong in a contest (think j.Brown) a motor that could rival the likes of a Riewoldt and incredibly strong hands. To cap it all off his he is a beaut kick. He is a great kid that just loves playing footy and clubs would be desperate to have him in their mix. He doesnt have a weakness in my view.
One of the things that I think has largely gone unnoticed with Tom is his performance at the start of the year against the Collingwood VFL side. He dominated that day against much bigger and mature bodies and I know the AFL recruiters have been impressed by that. At the other end of the spectrum he had a game as a part of the AIS and he played on the much shorter Gardiner who gave him a bath so that will be a performance that many will see as the knock on him. My view is everyone has those days and its been one of his few down days.
The other thing I like about Tom is his agility. When compared to other young key talls at a similar age he stands well in this area and I think its a must for the modern day tall fwd.
GWS
#2 Mathew Scharenberg (Vic Metro/Sandringham Dragons 191cm 88kg)
Reason I took Matt was I think he is the 2nd best player in the draft. I suspect in the real go they will take Kelly but I prefer Scharenburg. I like my midfielders tall and strong and a bit worried Kelly may end up a bit like Scully and GWS dont need two of him. Scharenburg is a player have seen for a number of years now and he has great game sense, can play all over the park, is elite in traffic and at the contest and makes wonderful choices with his execution. His skills are very good and I really see him as a taller Luke Hodge type.
Sandringham will be bitterly disappointed they weren't able to play Scharenberg all year.

More so I think Vic Metro will be really pissed given Scharenberg elected to play with South Australia instead ;)

Can someone ping me when Richmond is up? I'm on my phone all weekend

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk - now Free

first off sorry 4#Didak#4 for taking your selection :)

Brisbane Selection #7
Marcus Bontempelli
192cm 83kg

Bontempelli is one of the taller players who can play both tall forward and through the midfield as well as in the back line. Despite his tall body he is a very athletic player combining both agility and durability. If he is still available for the lions at pick 7 they will definitely pick him up as he may have close to the best potential out of the draftees as he still needs work on his inside game but once this comes he will be a very versatile player and a great pick up for the lions.

Its Cox Plate Day people chillax.

As it turned out I did my dough so probably would have been better served staying home concentrating on this.

For the record I so would have smashed in Jack Billings at pick 7 way too tasty there.

I am going to hold Lockyer's turn over till 11.am tomorrow. It is Saturday night and people do have lives to live. This pick just screams 'Billings', but maybe Melbourne has special needs! Nightmare had him gone at 3, but he surely won't slip to Collingwood. Sorry 4#Didak#4 that I failed to remember the Cox Plate. SCPaige need not worry. Can't expect too much on a Saturday night. I can feel a Janis Ian song coming on.

Melbourne does have "Special Needs"

I am going to hold Lockyer's turn over till 11.am tomorrow. It is Saturday night and people do have lives to live. This pick just screams 'Billings', but maybe Melbourne has special needs! Nightmare had him gone at 3, but he surely won't slip to Collingwood. Sorry 4#Didak#4 that I failed to remember the Cox Plate. SCPaige need not worry. Can't expect too much on a Saturday night. I can feel a Janis Ian song coming on.

Yeah maybe the 4 hour rule can be excluded from Friday night through to Saturday night!
Draft Sunday 11am through till Friday 6pm. Just a thought.

(From Knightmare's PD)

#9 Melbourne -
Jack Billings (VIC – Fwd/Mid)
Height: 183cm, Weight: 78kg, DOB: 18/08/1995
Recruited from: Oakleigh Chargers
Style: Jimmy Bartel/Nick Dal Santo

I have just gone for best player available. Billings is a very high level footballer already who has been very impressive with his play at a national level, in the TAC and also in APS footy and he just seems a class above at any level he plays at. Jack stands out with his elite footskills and is very duel sided with his preferred left foot in particular excellent and can both finish around goal easily just knowing where the goals are but also has rare playmaking ability with the way he finds those inside 50 targets by foot with his vision and ability to put it to where the forwards want it real features of his game and what he does as well as any. Whenever he has ball in hand regardless of pressure he just uses it really well and looks really comfortable out there.

The other major feature of Jack’s game is his overhead marking ability. He’s not tall but for his height his marking is a real highlight marking it at the highest point, but has those genuine sticky hands where he just takes it every time and also has unbelievably strong 1v1 marking ability allowing him to be a big weapon when pushed forward. He’s also excellent at ground level and a superb finisher from anywhere in range and particularly from set shots where he is pretty much automatic. While he’s most dominant forward of centre he’s also excellent through the midfield so while he will most likely start in a forward half for a team he’ll be rotating through a midfield in no time at the next level.

He’s struggled this year with injury which is why we haven’t seen him at his best as often as we would like but having watched him for a number of years now he’s someone who can really take over games with his influence and consistently beat his direct opponent whether it be up forward or through the midfield.