collingwood and carlton the tradition lives forever

Oct 4, 2000
melb vic aust
Well i know this subject has been covered briefly in other posts on here but i thought
i would offer my two cents worth on the rivalry between these two melbourne clubs.
Dont get me wrong i hate carlton as much as i love collingwood but you have to hand it to collingwood and carlton we are by no doubt the lifeline of the AFL.A collingwood carlton led competition is a very frightful scenario and i say with a certain amount of sadness that it has been too long since this has occured.For those who have never witnessed such an event you have not witnessed the only true rivalry in the competition,sure every year the media and AFL in an attempt to sell a game and make it bigger than it actually should be will crap on about two other clubs being traditional rivals dont be sucked in there is only and that is collingwood and carlton.These two great old melbourne clubs are stacked to the rooftop with pride and tradition and have been at one another for the last ONE HUNDRED YEARS you will find respect between these two clubs and you will find a hatred that only these two clubs know about.As a beautiful one eyed and proud to be collingwood supporter,every year when the new fixture comes out the first thing i do and i know a lot of other collingwood people do is look to see when we play carlton and im sure the carlton people do likewise.And one thinks to himself that if we only win two games for the year please make it two wins against THEM.I allways look foward to match day at the pub prior to a collingwood and carlton match with all the shit stirring that goes on,and im sure that the present day supporter of both clubs are only too happy to keep this great rivalry thriving.
In closing i wanna say i hate you carlton with a passion and i would not piss on you if you were on fire,But i thank you for many great memories some sad and some good and what a sad competition it would be if there wasnt a collingwood or carlton.And to anyone on here who seems to think otherwise you are not football people.LET THE TRADITION LIVE ON
GO PIES AND TO CARLTON GO AND GET ROOTED!!!

I agree with you joffa. Even if the game itself isn't a very interesting one, it still has a great atmosphere.

I agree that the AFL tries to hype up matches such as Collingwood/Carlton v Essendon, Essendon v Richmond, Richmond v Carlton/Collingwood, just because those four teams have a huge supporter base.

For me personally, I don't think it compares to the Carlton v Collingwood matches.

Just my opinion though
smile.gif

meg

Originally posted by magpie_joffa:
i love collingwood but you have to hand it to collingwood and carlton we are by no doubt the lifeline of the AFL.
B]

Joffa,

News flash !!! The AFL is made up of 16 clubs to say that just two are its lifeline is absolute garbage. Surely, it must be the hangover talking from yesterday, cause you can't be serious...

Yes I hate Carlton with a passion too! As joffa said that is the 1st thing I look for in the draw and the 2nd being when Collingwood play Sydney in Sydney!

I know Dan Or Walshy are going to bring essendon into this topic! Coz they are obbessed and think everything has to be about Essendon!

So I will just sit back and watch!

Mags

Who cares about your stupid victorian suburban tradition its now the AFL which is a national comp. why don't you take your stupid tradition and join the VFL & by the way how much tradition do you & Carlton have didn't both your captains start their football careers with Port Adelaide in the SANFL does that mean Port has more tradition then Carlton & Collingwood.

well hell it must be xmas but for once i agree with joffa the carlton collingwood rivalry no matter where they are on the ladder is probaly the best in the comp.
as for the lifeline sorry but i have to disagree there the lifeline is called tv rights and the licence,s payed by west coast,freo and port that has helped more than anything too keep melb clubs afloat.
as for carbs comment what the hell does capts of coll and carl got to do with traditon atport adelaide? lol
on the subject of rivalry here,s my view of current rivalrys.
1/coll-carl
2/ess-carl
3/coll-rich
4/wsc-ess
5/bris-bulldogs
6/wsc-freo
7/bris-bulldogs
8/rich-carl
9/melb-coll
10/north-ess
cheers!

Originally posted by magpie24:
Thats all your going to have in a couple of years.So enjoy it

[/B]
And you will still be on the bottom of the ladder.

------------------
Trample the Weak,
Hurdle the Dead.

[This message has been edited by Carey_is_King (edited 26 December 2000).]

Originally posted by Mr Ripper:
Magpie24, that won't worry Carey_is_King; he'll have transformed into Whitnall_is_President or Lloyd_is_GrandPooBah before North finally go belly-up.

But I won't be living a lie, trying to tell myself that my club is still alive, but in a different city. That's pathetic.

------------------
Trample the Weak,
Hurdle the Dead.

No doubting the Coll-Carl rivalry, but as an Essendon fan, I must step in (big surprise)

In head-to-head meetings, Carlton are 15 wins ahead of Collingwood.

However, in Carl-Ess matches, Carlton only lead by 11.

essendon and Carlton have BOTH won 16 flags, while the Blues are 2 ahead of the Pies.

Carlton and Collingwood have met each other in 6 Grand Final (with the Blues. winning 5, making it a lopsided rivalry)

Essendon and Carlton have ALSO met in 6 Grand Finals, winning 3 each (including a recent Grand Final and TWO preliminary finals)

Now, considering that Carlton and Essendon have BOTH won 16 flags, and that Essendon is CLOSER than Collingwood in head-to-head wins agaisnt the Blues, in ADDITION to the fact that Essendon have met Carlton 6 times in Grand Finals (same as Coll-Carl), wouldn't this logically make the Essendon-Carlton rivalry the biggest in football.

If you ask a Carlton suporter which team they would most like to beat right now, they'd say Essendon. That's because Essendon have been so good recently, admittedly, but that is one of the things that make a rivalry.......success. And Collingwood has been lacking for a long time in that respect.

Why would a club with 14 premierships vs a club with 16 premierships prsent a bigger rivalry that two clubs who are both on 16 ???

Esspecially given that Carlton has won virtually EVERY important game when they play Collingwood in their history. Carlton have won the las 5 Grand Finals between the clubs, the 1992 Collingwood centenary match, and the Blues have also won 12 out of the last 14.

Nope, Essendon and Carlton is the leagues biggest rivalry.

There's no doubt about you Dons supporters. I reckon we could post something about the Sydney to Hobart yacht race rivalries and you would find a way to make it about Essendon. You are seriously self interested, did you know that ?
There is no doubt that the Carlton/Collingwood rivalry is, as the original post said, the longest and strongest in Australian sport.

------------------
Trample the Weak,
Hurdle the Dead.

Poor ol' misguided Carey_is_King (alias Judas) harumphed:
But I won't be living a lie, trying to tell myself that my club is still alive, but in a different city. That's pathetic.

That's one thing I'm not guilty of. I'm well aware the Roys aren't playing in the big league anymore; however, the supporters and the history of the club are well looked after by our friends in Brisbane IMO.

Now back to the point...

If you'd chosen to follow North post 1996, that's fairy nuff, but you, Carey_is_King, switched horses 3 years before the ship sank. Now that's "pathetic" in my book.

When I say Esendon-and Carlton is the biggest rivalry, I'm not just saying that because I am an Essendon supporter. It's no big secret that Carlton-Essendon is a huge rivalry.

Like I said, any Carlton supporter would want to beat Essendon more than Collingwood currently.

I can hear all the Magpie supporters saying,:"Yeah, but that's only because Essendon won the premiership, and have been succesful recently"

Well, if that's the reason, so be it. The really big rivalrys happen because both clubs are successful, and they are at each other year after year for a long period of time. Carlton despise ERssendon because Essendon have won 16 premierships (and are closest to Carlton in head-to-head matches)

Essendon-Carlton Grand Finals go back longer than Carlton-Collingwood. Essendon and Carlton first met in 1908. They then met in 1947, 49, 62, 68 and 1993

Carlton have met Collingwood in 1910,1915, 38,70,79,81.

It's not as if Carlton and Collingwood have been at it any longer than Essendon-Carlton.

In fact, Essendon-Carlton Grand Finals span from 1908 to 1993 (85 years). Carlton-Collingwood Grand Finals span from 1910 to 1981 (71 years)

The great part about Essendon-Carlton is that the two clubs have been so even. No club has really got the upper hand. 3 Grand Final wins each, a slight advantage to the Blues in head-to-head meetings, and 16 premierships each.

Meanwhile, the Carlton-Collingwood rivalry has the Blues 15 wins clear, 2 premierships clear, and 5-1 leaders in Grand Finals.

Ask most Blues supporters nowadays who they' would rather beat, and I think they will say Essendon. Essendon are closer to Carlton in every respect than what Collingwood are, so that is only natural.

The fact that I am an Essendon suppoerter is irrelevant. I hate Carlton. I'd state that the Essendon-Collingwod rivalry was number 1 if it deserved it, but it's probably at number 3.

My rivalry's rankings are :

1.) Ess-Carl
2.) Coll-Carl
3.) Ess-Coll
4.) Rich-Carl
5.) Melb-Coll
6.) Rich-Coll
7.) Adel-Port
8.) WCE-Freo
9.) Ess-Haw
10.) Ess-Roos
11.) Haw-Roos
12.) Ess-Rich

Ripper,

Not pathetic, and not band-wagon jumping, just realistic. Something Fitzroy supporters (and now Brisbane supporters) have had a lot of trouble with. The loser's mentality continues.

------------------
Trample the Weak,
Hurdle the Dead.

Carey_is_King reasoned:
Not pathetic, and not band-wagon jumping, just realistic.

*sigh*

And who will you throw your "realistic" support behind when North's place in the league is hanging by a thread?

Carey_is_King then continued the troll:
Something Fitzroy supporters (and now Brisbane supporters) have had a lot of trouble with. The loser's mentality continues.

I may have snapped at your first bait, but that one's as obvious as a dog's orchestras. Doesn't warrant a reply. Sorry.
rolleyes.gif

[This message has been edited by Mr Ripper (edited 27 December 2000).]

Originally posted by Mags:
Yes I hate Carlton with a passion too! As joffa said that is the 1st thing I look for in the draw and the 2nd being when Collingwood play Sydney in Sydney!

I know Dan Or Walshy are going to bring essendon into this topic! Coz they are obbessed and think everything has to be about Essendon!

So I will just sit back and watch!

Mags

thats a contridiction in terms isnt it??

Originally posted by carb70:
Who cares about your stupid victorian suburban tradition its now the AFL which is a national comp. why don't you take your stupid tradition and join the VFL & by the way how much tradition do you & Carlton have didn't both your captains start their football careers with Port Adelaide in the SANFL does that mean Port has more tradition then Carlton & Collingwood.

Excuse me? So Bradley and Buckley's careers in the AFL count towards Port Adelaide's tradition? It can certainly count for them that they breed two champion players, but the team and the jumpers they sweated and bleed for were Carlton and Collingwood. The history books will show that. Jesus, the Bendigo Pioneers and Murray Bushranger etc are starting to bring along some fine young footballers. These teams will never make the AFL but should we believe that if they nurture a host of players and a couple of captains to the elite level they would have a better tradition than the AFL clubs?

We are talking a history of matches played over 104 years, not two players who happen to captain the two sides. Stupid statement. I suggest you start again.

Originally posted by meg:
Dan24 - you're like a walking dictionary on football!

No Meg, this information is available from owning just a couple of good reference books. What I'm more interested in is the book Dan owns that distorts statistics every which way in order to back up each and every post he makes.
smile.gif

I appreciate your comments Dan. The old saying....figures don't lie and liars don't figure.

If we were following a clinical, statistics based game, your stats may be the deciding factor here. The funny thing is...footy is much more than that. It is highly emotional. Rivalries are built by passion and hatred over a long period of time. They stand the test of the generations. Sure, if you asked a young Blues fan now at this point of time, they may see Essendon as the greatest rival. But all things being equal, the Collingwood rivalry stands the test of time. The supporters have more energy between them. If the Pies rise up the ladder and become more competitive against us, rest assured even the younger supporters will feel the urgency in this rivalry. It's an intangible that can't be measured by statistics. It will take another 20 years or so of no simultaneous success by both clubs before the long memories of supporters starts to die out.

I'm one of the Blues supporters you refer to and I think the Collingwood/Carlton rivalry overall on a mental level is the greater. It is changeable but it hasn't happened just yet. You know, I think Adelaide could lose to one club in 10 consecutive GF's and their rivalry with Port would still inspire the most emotion. I happens and no amount of stats will change something like that.

This is not meant to diminish Essendon's status. It is not a competition. Four months of off season has softened by stance towards Essendon's supporters. There are some decent people out there who have educated me. No, at present my main motivation for beating Essendon is so we don't have to listen to you rolling out another list of stats and constant bragging.
biggrin.gif

------------------
mens sana in corpore sano - a sound mind in a sound body

Originally posted by The Old Dark Navy's:
You know, I think Adelaide could lose to one club in 10 consecutive GF's and their rivalry with Port would still inspire the most emotion. I happens and no amount of stats will change something like that.

I'm not sure that's the right analogy to use, ODN. The crows/port rivalry is strong is because there the "only" two teams from that city.

So, naturaly, that would be the biggest rivalry for each of those two clubs.

Originally posted by The Old Dark Navy's:
No Meg, this information is available from owning just a couple of good reference books. What I'm more interested in is the book Dan owns that distorts statistics every which way in order to back up each and every post he makes.
smile.gif

I appreciate your comments Dan. The old saying....figures don't lie and liars don't figure.

If we were following a clinical, statistics based game, your stats may be the deciding factor here. The funny thing is...footy is much more than that. It is highly emotional. Rivalries are built by passion and hatred over a long period of time. They stand the test of the generations. Sure, if you asked a young Blues fan now at this point of time, they may see Essendon as the greatest rival. But all things being equal, the Collingwood rivalry stands the test of time. The supporters have more energy between them. If the Pies rise up the ladder and become more competitive against us, rest assured even the younger supporters will feel the urgency in this rivalry. It's an intangible that can't be measured by statistics. It will take another 20 years or so of no simultaneous success by both clubs before the long memories of supporters starts to die out.

I'm one of the Blues supporters you refer to and I think the Collingwood/Carlton rivalry overall on a mental level is the greater. It is changeable but it hasn't happened just yet. You know, I think Adelaide could lose to one club in 10 consecutive GF's and their rivalry with Port would still inspire the most emotion. I happens and no amount of stats will change something like that.

This is not meant to diminish Essendon's status. It is not a competition. Four months of off season has softened by stance towards Essendon's supporters. There are some decent people out there who have educated me. No, at present my main motivation for beating Essendon is so we don't have to listen to you rolling out another list of stats and constant bragging.
biggrin.gif

Come on ODN, pull the other one. The only reason you think that Carlton/Collingwood rivalry is the biggest, is that it is "too easy" for the blues to beat the magpies.
rolleyes.gif

Gee ignorance is rife around here,i mean what football person would even challenge the rivalry staus between collingwood and carlton it is by no doubt the most proud and most fierce rivalry this competition will ever see and it is something to behold and cherish by all football followers.It is rivalry such as this that makes our game even greater.No one ever will replace the collingwood and carlton rivalry it is something that has taken place over one hundred years,it cannot be manufactured,it cannot be copied, it is proudly a collingwood carlton tradition.And to knock it is to knock the very core of our competition.

collingwood and carlton the tradition lives forever