Collingwood List Management Thread

Two dodgy knees 1-2 dodgy shoulders him and his twin brother can never get on the park. A lot of his limited games he hasnt even played very well at all, massivly overhyped from the grand final performance on riewoldt.

So we delist everyone who is injured now. That's good list/player management.
N. Brown will be a 10 year KPP for the Pies.
(I must admit that I LOL at first, until I realised you were serious).
Not going to happen.

At this stage (and I have no intel on the Pies at all) I suspect they will go with best available and have the minimum number of selections.

Sounds good. Don't know who'll go beyond LBrown. Davis maybe for personal reasons. Johnno probably another year to end of 2012. Dick may go again, but surely unlikely? Stubbsy an enigma. GWS maybe still circling someone? So who knows?

List chinks = small running back (cover for Davis and Johnno - though we do have Rounds, Cribbin, possibly Bolton developing). Ellis, or 'our own' Clarke back at some point?

Also a third tall forward, especially if Caffa can't do hit-up stuff anymore, like an Eddy, or Stewart the year after. There's also a few in the draft who may be available.

With Keeffe, Young, Sinclair, Rounds all needing additional AFL development games next year, plus Seedsman, Ugle and JThomas needing a sighter or two to assess their speed and skills at the top level (leg speed being the third list chink), not sure we need to take a third or fourth speculative draft pick (get Witts out of GWS harm's way as our third pick, and he's then third in line for a gig here or there upfront without needing anyone to have the dreaded long term injury). Ceglar's on the primary list. Witts seems to at least match his promise.

I've come to the conclusion that Blaze is either a troll, or simply has no idea.

Wants to de-list Seedsman, a first year player who has shown quite a bit of promise in the VFL, enough to be named as an emergency for the AFL side once this year. Why would you de-list a player in that situation? If Seedsman hasn't improved any further after his second or third year, then yes, he would be a definite candidate for de-listing, but not after he's had a good first year.

Also wants to de-list N Brown, who has had injury issues, but who has really come on as a KPD over his time at the Pies, enough to force Presti out of the second GF, and who the club sees as a 10+ year player. You don't just de-list those types of players. Who would cover his position if he was de-listed? Tarrant has 1, maybe 2 years left, unlikely to be any more than that. Keefe has shown improvement & promise, but his AFL games this year have also shown that he still has a long way to go. De-listing a required KPD is foolishness of the highest order.

I've come to the conclusion that Blaze is either a troll, or simply has no idea.

Wants to de-list Seedsman, a first year player who has shown quite a bit of promise in the VFL, enough to be named as an emergency for the AFL side once this year. Why would you de-list a player in that situation? If Seedsman hasn't improved any further after his second or third year, then yes, he would be a definite candidate for de-listing, but not after he's had a good first year.

Also wants to de-list N Brown, who has had injury issues, but who has really come on as a KPD over his time at the Pies, enough to force Presti out of the second GF, and who the club sees as a 10+ year player. You don't just de-list those types of players. Who would cover his position if he was de-listed? Tarrant has 1, maybe 2 years left, unlikely to be any more than that. Keefe has shown improvement & promise, but his AFL games this year have also shown that he still has a long way to go. De-listing a required KPD is foolishness of the highest order.

I quite like Blaze's posts, don't always agree but hey, this isn't 'Footballexpertsneedonlypostorelseyouwillbecalledatroll.com.au' by other non football experts, it's big footy man, it would be a very, very boring site if everyone agreed on everything.

True indeed. I'm merely expressing my opinion and I see that you disagree with it! ;)

no surprise to see you of all people backing him up after the week you've had.
Is troll really that big an insult? i reckon if you're writing your opinion like it's fact you've got it coming.
ie: "Time to drop dawes" Vs. "time to drop Dawes?"

back on topic. knight and snoop, the list is so healthy, it's so nice to paw over it and look for improvements. but i reckon the biggest danger in the short term is that Hine gets poached by some club throwing cash around. I bet he'd love a pick above 45 to work with.

Assuming we keep him, i think it would be nice to keep our pick this year, and allow wood, who has actually played 2 maybe 3 good games this year, to have another crack at the mantle, that is presuming of course that Jolly can't get up for a full season.
I'm not willing to write Jolly's body, or Woods ability off. Wood has still only played 50 or so games. Look to the early career of Mark Jamar and these types. I'm not saying he'll be that good, but i think there's certainly enough in him for another year. And Jolly is a war horse. Look at Big Brad Ottens, playing great finals footy and almost nothing else until this year. With Witts and Ceglar developing i actually think there's relative comfort there.

Surely there's a good kid at pick 25? just go best available and hope for a cheeky slider.

I also think we should expect a massive 2012 from 1 A.Didak. he had injury trouble and no pre season after his first all australian year and really struggled upon his return, but next year should get a full PS under his belt and come roaring back Leon style.

True indeed. I'm merely expressing my opinion and I see that you disagree with it! ;)

Think what you like, i just think we all should be allowed to voice our opinion without being called a troll/have no idea etc etc, fact is mate, if you or any of us did have an actual clue as to how the modern game is played we wouldn't be spilling our guts on BF.

no surprise to see you of all people backing him up after the week you've had.
Is troll really that big an insult? i reckon if you're writing your opinion like it's fact you've got it coming.
ie: "Time to drop dawes" Vs. "time to drop Dawes?"

back on topic. knight and snoop, the list is so healthy, it's so nice to paw over it and look for improvements. but i reckon the biggest danger in the short term is that Hine gets poached by some club throwing cash around. I bet he'd love a pick above 45 to work with.

Assuming we keep him, i think it would be nice to keep our pick this year, and allow wood, who has actually played 2 maybe 3 good games this year, to have another crack at the mantle, that is presuming of course that Jolly can't get up for a full season.
I'm not willing to write Jolly's body, or Woods ability off. Wood has still only played 50 or so games. Look to the early career of Mark Jamar and these types. I'm not saying he'll be that good, but i think there's certainly enough in him for another year. And Jolly is a war horse. Look at Big Brad Ottens, playing great finals footy and almost nothing else until this year. With Witts and Ceglar developing i actually think there's relative comfort there.

Surely there's a good kid at pick 25? just go best available and hope for a cheeky slider.

I also think we should expect a massive 2012 from 1 A.Didak. he had injury trouble and no pre season after his first all australian year and really struggled upon his return, but next year should get a full PS under his belt and come roaring back Leon style.

Time to drop Dawes was my opinion at the time, i thought i made a valid argument, you're right though, i should've used a different title but hey, we all make mistakes, you included.

You'd be zero chance of getting Brown through all the drafts to the rookies.
Zero.
'sif Richmond or St K wouldn't throw a pick at him? St K threw a pick @ Jesse Smith & he was far, far more buggered than Brown.

I cant add any value to this thread as i have zero knowledge of player management but feel compelled to make a comment nonetheless.

To the poster who is asking for Brown to be de-listed ; can you pls share the gear you are on? Thank you

You'd be zero chance of getting Brown through all the drafts to the rookies.
Zero.
'sif Richmond or St K wouldn't throw a pick at him? St K threw a pick @ Jesse Smith & he was far, far more buggered than Brown.

Brown is in zero danger of being delisted, no a snow flakes chance in hell, will be our FB for the next deacde.

If we don't think Wood can come in to take Leigh Brown's role in the ame team as Jolly to help him in the ruck, then would it be worth going after McIntosh? I understand he is coming back from an Achilles injury which is not great, bit who else is realistically available? What would North want and what would we be prepared to offer?

but i reckon the biggest danger in the short term is that Hine gets poached by some club throwing cash around.

i think that is true - with Mick going its a bit of an end of an era and some blokes may just think its time to go do something different. Re cash - Collingwood dont have a problem paying people so dont think it will be for money - it will be that Hine just wants a change but from what I hear Pert / Bucks / Hine / Walsh are v tight.

I don't know why people are getting all antsy about the fact that Leigh Brown is going, and thinking we need another ruckman / forward.

We WILL NOT trade for one. If we thought we couldn't solve for Brown's retirement from within, he would be playing again next year. Bucks obviously has it covered.

We have sacrificed our first round pick in a package for a ruckman 3 of the last 4 drafts - we won't be doing it again.

No McIntosh, no Daw, no White, etc.

I don't know why people are getting all antsy about the fact that Leigh Brown is going, and thinking we need another ruckman / forward.

We WILL NOT trade for one. If we thought we couldn't solve for Brown's retirement from within, he would be playing again next year. Bucks obviously has it covered.

We have sacrificed our first round pick in a package for a ruckman 3 of the last 4 drafts - we won't be doing it again.

No McIntosh, no Daw, no White, etc.

It seemed from all club sources that it was a fairly surprise retirement.

Seems pretty keen to hang up the boots and get into coach so I think the club will respect his wishes.

If the club thinks Jolly/Wood will work. It won't.
If the club thinks Jolly/Keeffe will work. It will take time, but there is the potential for it to work.

I don't think the club will be so closed minded and say "we won't trade into another ruckman" but they seem confident in Wood, or at least Mick does.

What we would we be willing to give for Jaeger O'Meara??

Not nearly enough unfortunately to get him.

I will be revisiting this quote next year.

I don't think it'll work either, the teams that play 2 genuine rucks now days have 2 dominant ruckmen, we don't, with 3 on the bench you just can't afford to play 2 dinosaurs who aren't great ruckmen IMO.

It seemed from all club sources that it was a fairly surprise retirement.

Seems pretty keen to hang up the boots and get into coach so I think the club will respect his wishes.

If the club thinks Jolly/Wood will work. It won't.
If the club thinks Jolly/Keeffe will work. It will take time, but there is the potential for it to work.

I don't think the club will be so closed minded and say "we won't trade into another ruckman" but they seem confident in Wood, or at least Mick does.

Not nearly enough unfortunately to get him.

Look, you might be right. But I haven't seen anything that suggests that Leigh Brown's retirement was a surprise to those in the club.

From Leigh's perspective, I can't reconcile the desire to (immediately) join a job in 2012 that:
- Would be just as open to him the following year and beyond
- Would be on less money
- Would mean he would be leaving behind an opportunity (hopefully) for a third successive premiership (a feat rarely acheived in AFL)
- Would mean he will not get to 250 games (a feat rarely achieved in AFL)
- He would probably be even more qualified for if he played another year under another coach (Bucks).

Especially if the club didn't feel it had any other options from within (i.e. no risk of not getting someone). The club would just plead with him to give it one more year.

It is all speculation, and I guess we will find out come trade time. But I for one strongly doubt we will trade for a ruckman-type.

I don't think it'll work either, the teams that play 2 genuine rucks now days have 2 dominant ruckmen, we don't, with 3 on the bench you just can't afford to play 2 dinosaurs who aren't great ruckmen IMO.

Jolly and Wood are actually great ruckman, one's injured the other lacks plums ATM. If it all clicks next year they can become a very formidable duo, don't be surprised to see Wood spend a lot of time up forward next year too.

I think it will be Wood that gets first crack as well.

The real smoky in this is Keefe. I know he hasn't shown much as a first ruck at VFL level, and he really only showed form as a forward in one game when played at AFL level, but if he can achieve some development in either position over summer, then he may he a chance. Admittedly pretty slim chance though.

Witts should have this role from 2013. Has showed remarkable improvement in his contested marking in a few VFL games this year (to the extent that MM said he was clearly BOG in one game where he took some big marks) and will demonstrate the greatest improvement trajectory over summer. His height makes him a danger in both positions, and will need to be matched up by a reasonably tall defender.

In the meantime (if Wood and Keefe don't work out) I could see Dawes doing the second ruckwork and Taz going forward (with Brown going to FB).

Not sure about you guys, but if the big Yank isn't fit for senior duties by next year is it really worth keeping him on the list?, heard some decent reports about him this year and he could possibly be more than just a ruckman (did ok down back at times), who knows, he might be the smoky with another PS under his belt.

Jolly and Wood are actually great ruckman, one's injured the other lacks plums ATM. If it all clicks next year they can become a very formidable duo, don't be surprised to see Wood spend a lot of time up forward next year too.
Yep agree with this, Why cant Jolly and Wood work? most teams play 2 rucks and Wood has improved around the ground towards the latter end of the year.

And as good as Brown has been in his role lets not sugarcoat the fact he can go missing for large chunks of the game.