Collingwood NAB Cup Player Review

• Thread starter Thread starter Snoop Dog

Agree he is worth Persisting with him ahead of guys like Sinclair

Agree shows a bit when he is not injured and that seems to be very little as he seems to be Permanently Injured:(

Well I was aware of him Pre-Draft as in my Mind I would of even used Pick 25 if we kept it on him. But for Pick 50 he is Fantastic Value. Yeah Frawley said he was 194cm but I guess it does not really matter as he can play tall.

Showed big time upside but still 2 years away at least I reckon

Seen him in the 2 VFL Games while he Moves well and Contests well but Looses his feet to Easily

Took some very strong contested marks in the Rain

Disagree with you here Snoop. I thought Ceglar looked better(At The Moment) then Witts in the Ruck as Ceglar Jumps while Witts barley jumps. Though Witts should be better by Next Year.

Ceglar looked around the Ground and Up Forward Especially in the 2nd Half on Saturday when he took that very Nice Mark and Lovely shot at Goal
100% agree with this, all of witts substanial height is lost in the ruck contests because he doesnt get off the ground, i think he is use to being so much taller than his opposition in past years that he is never needed to jump at the ball but was jumped over by senior opposition in the first game. love his aggression though around the ground.
ceglar on the other hand looked good although against another young ruck, when his body develops ie an extra 10-15kg he will definately be a future ruck. lovely kick for goal as well.
so to sum it up im happy with both and in 3-4 years time we will have a ruck combo of witts and ceglar :D

Cegalr looks the shit to me personally.

Ahead of where most young ruckmen are at a similar age. Looks capable, co-ordinated, wins the taps a lot and seems to put them to the right spot.

Can take a graba nd has one of the best shots on goal I've seen on a big man. That goal he kicked Saturday looked laser guided.

It's what the Hawks used to break down the press last season and they made top 4 in fact had us on toast till the very end of the prelim.

Remember trends in footy come about to beat the current tactic, so if all teams are going the press then the team that beats it will be the new king and people will copy that.

Maybe just maybe Buckley is working on the new style to beat the press or even a plan b for when our press is being beaten.

I think this is a very good point. The press is old news now, everyone is doing it. Melbourne were very impressive with this on Saturday. I think West Coast is now the best press side. I think our strategic advantage here has lessened considerably.

The next strategic development is how to beat the press. I am sure Buckley and all coaches have this as a priority.

There seems to be two main methods
1. move the ball quick, use the corridor where possible, and kick long over the press into space for forwards to run into or one one contests. Pretty much what Geelong has been doing. Adelaide under Sanderson is following suit. This is my preferred method as it keeps it simple and can really punish the opposition which makes them think twice about pressing up as much.

2. Retain the ball, using shorter accurate passes to guys who will be free as the press is not man on man. Switching the ball is a necessity. The key is foot skills. Hawthorn is the best at this, the Dogs seem to be following suit under McCartney so far. A side with good foot skills can succeed under this, but the room for error is minimal and one mistake can be a turnover. This is why the press succeeded in the first place - sides under pressure turn the ball over. However, if sides improve their skills and hit targets under pressure it takes the advantage of the press away and leaves a very open forward line once you are through.

We seem to be following the second method so far, understandably with Bucks focus on skills. My concern is we are not the most naturally skilled side by foot. You only need one or two links in the chain for this method to fail. A side like Hawthorn is brilliant by foot - their recruiting has been based around this attribute.

The press isn't that hard to beat if you have the right ball users on the half back line.

Buckley, Reid and Yagmoore are going to be crucial to our progress this year.

All 3 have booming left boots, and 2 of the 3 can hit a target. Buckley needs to be used as a brute force tactic to kick literally straight over it. If our forwards are positioned goal side of their oppopnents, then they can place a block on the defenders, which allows the mids, pockets and half forward to filter through and receive the 80m bomb that Buckley drops over the top and run into an open goal.

I could see something like that working consistently enough to force the oppositoiin to re-think their press, which brings each game back on our terms.

Possibly but I have seen a fair bit of him and only ever been at FB. I know the effort you were talking about but was the only one that I thought he butchered, otherwise I thought he generally used his body ok and moreover knew how to be a link in the chain and execute with good penetration. Look he is 2 years off but I have been impressed on his two goes in B&W for a kid his age.

Yeah it's unfair to ping him on one poor effort. Micro-analysing a player I was keen to see too much! Definitely agree that he looks the business. It's comforting to have a promising KPD coming through as depth.

I'm interested in your thoughts on Keeffe and his role moving forward. I'm a big wrap Keeffe and think he has unduly copped it in here. He has shown some really promising things for a player that is still very much developing. My biggest criticism is his consistency and tendency to get caught under the ball at times. But I also think he looks promising as a defender. Just not as much as Hartley.

This poses an interesting dilemma regarding what we do with his development. I'd be loath to move him away from the one area of the ground he looks really good. But you just wonder where he fits in.

I watched the game replay again.

Sharrod actually wasn't that bad. If you get a chance, re watch. He got in the middle and had some contested possessions and/or clearances. Yer, obviously not his best game but he definitely wasn't as bad as some are saying.

I'm interested in your thoughts on Keeffe and his role moving forward. I'm a big wrap Keeffe and think he has unduly copped it in here. He has shown some really promising things for a player that is still very much developing. My biggest criticism is his consistency and tendency to get caught under the ball at times. But I also think he looks promising as a defender. Just not as much as Hartley.

This poses an interesting dilemma regarding what we do with his development. I'd be loath to move him away from the one area of the ground he looks really good. But you just wonder where he fits in.

Mate I am a fan of Keefe and I dont want to tunnel a bloke on a couple of NAB Cup Games. I actually feel sorry for him bc I think the club has potentially messed him up a bit. I am a believer that if you get a kid with all the athletic credentials but hasnt played a lot of footy then keeping it simple should be the 'go'. Ie One role and make him darn good at it. Thats why I was encouraged when I watched him play key back in the VFL last year. I just thought he was looking just sensational. Good mark, read the play well, lovely kick and good closing speed. But then he gets a senior game and is thrown to CHF and FF. I just didnt know what they exepected given he hadnt been really coached there and nor had been playing there at VFL level. I think now they just have to slot him into a key back role and persist and ultimately i think it will pay off.

In saying all that. I wish they had first developed him as they have Shae M. Tall fwd who can play ruck. But alas......it may be to late.