Game Day Collingwood v GWS Giants - Preliminary Finals — Sat 21 Sep, 4:35PM AEST, MCG

Who will Win?

• Collingwood by 30+ pts

Votes: 35 27.1%
  • Collingwood 10-30

Votes: 48 37.2%
  • Collingwood by <10

Votes: 9 7.0%
  • GWS Giants by <10

Votes: 12 9.3%
  • GWS Giants by 10-30

Votes: 14 10.9%
  • GWS Giants by 30+

Votes: 11 8.5%

Collingwood v GWS Giants - Preliminary Finals — Sat 21 Sep, 4:35PM AEST, MCG

Coll-vs-GWS.png

Thread Rule: No umpire complaining until after the match.

FREE for 14 days:
Stream the game LIVE to any device.

Tip the game now - win cash 'n' prizes

Tipping proudly sponsored by
The Golden Ticket - for Medallion Club tickets

finals-fixture-image-pf.jpg.png
Collingwood Magpies
Average Per Game
GWS Giants
231​
Kicks​
232.5​
173.2​
Handballs​
148.8​
404.2​
Disposals​
381.3​
105.7​
Marks​
103.4​
12.3​
Goals​
13​
10.8​
Behinds​
10.6​
23.1​
Scoring Shots​
23.6​
61.6​
Tackles​
63.2​
45.6​
Hitouts​
40.7​
19.6​
Frees For​
17.3​
16​
Frees Against​
21​
8.2​
Goal Assists​
9.2​
51.8​
Inside 50s​
52.1​
146.4​
Contested Possessions​
144.4​
253.9​
Uncontested Possessions​
233.6​
294.9​
Effective Disposals​
272.4​
73.00%​
Disposal Efficiency %​
$71.40​
54​
Clangers​
57.5​
12.3​
Contested Marks​
10.8​
12.6​
Marks Inside 50​
11.7​
36.4​
Clearances​
41.8​
10.8​
Centre Clearances​
12.5​
25.6​
Stoppage Clearances​
29.2​
37.8​
Rebound 50s​
40.2​
49.4​
One Percenters​
50.7​
5.8​
Bounces​
6.8​
1.33​
Kick to Handball Ratio​
1.56​
53.20%​
Conversion​
55.10%​
32.86​
Disposals Per Goal​
29.33​
17.5​
Disposals Per Scoring Shot​
16.16​
5415.9​
Metres Gained​
5745.1​
69.3​
Turnovers​
67.9​
71.8​
Intercepts​
70.3​
10.5​
Tackles Inside 50​
11​

Last 6 Matches

Date
Home v Away Teams
Result
Venue
Round 18, 20 Jul 2019​
GWS defeats Collingwood​
122-75​
Showground Stadium​
Semi Final, 15 Sep 2018​
Collingwood defeats GWS​
69-59​
MCG​
Round 2, 31 Mar 2018​
Collingwood defeated by GWS​
79-95​
MCG​
Round 8, 13 May 2017​
GWS defeats Collingwood​
102-99​
Showground Stadium​
Round 16, 9 Jul 2016​
GWS defeated by Collingwood​
93-125​
Showground Stadium​
Round 11, 14 Jun 2015​
Collingwood defeats GWS​
119-77​
MCG​

FB: John Noble, Jordan Roughead, Jeremy Howe
HB: Jack Crisp, Darcy Moore, Brayden Maynard
C: Tom Phillips, Scott Pendlebury, Steele Sidebottom
HF: Josh Thomas, Brody Mihocek, Will Hoskin-Elliott
FF: Jamie Elliott, Ben Reid, Jaidyn Stephenson
FOL: Brodie Grundy, Adam Treloar, Taylor Adams
I/C: James Aish, Callum L. Brown, Chris Mayne, Rupert Wills

EMG: Josh Daicos, Jack Madgen, Matthew Scharenberg, Travis Varcoe

IN: Ben Reid, James Aish
OUT: Jordan De Goey (Injured), Levi Greenwood (Injured)

MILESTONES: Ben Reid - Playing 150th game

GWS Giants
FB: Phil Davis, Heath Shaw, Sam Taylor
HB: Aidan Corr, Nick Haynes, Adam Kennedy
C: Tim Taranto, Josh Kelly, Jeremy Finlayson
HF: Lachlan Keeffe, Harry Himmelberg, Harry Perryman
FF: Adam Tomlinson, Jeremy Cameron, Matt de Boer
FOL: Shane Mumford, Daniel Lloyd, Jacob Hopper
I/C: Zac Williams, Brent Daniels, Sam J. Reid, Ian Hill

EMG: Isaac Cumming, Zac Langdon, Matt Buntine, Tommy Sheridan

IN: Ian Hill, Lachlan Keeffe
OUT: Lachie Whitfield (Injured), Toby Greene (Suspension)

UMPIRES: Matt Stevic (9), Andrew Stephens (12), Simon Meredith (21)

Thread Rule: No umpire complaining until after the match.

I think GWS have the talent to cause the upset, but their MCG record is too atrocious and the Pies have the experience. Add in the crowd will be 99% Collingwood and this would be the biggest Prelim upset since Carlton over Essendon in 99.

Odds-wise, Richmond-Magpies last year was a much bigger upset.

I actually think they are better then a good chance to cause an upset

No doubt they are a chance.

If you make it, who’d you prefer to play in the GF? I detect, your post is motivated by your preference to perhaps play the Giants.

Correct me if I’m wrong.

No doubt they are a chance.

If you make it, who’d you prefer to play in the GF? I detect, your post is motivated by your preference to perhaps play the Giants.

Correct me if I’m wrong.

Mate I dont care who we play in the GF. The fact of getting there after being there in 2017 is more then enough for me. I just believe after all there PF disappointments GWS have had they may finally click on the day.

I think this is going to be the blowout prelim.

Pies by 43, the enormous one sided crowd would be pretty intimidating, and I reckon all Collingwood need is to start well which they often do, and then momentum and the roll on will carry them through to win comfortably.

Giants can't win this in the first quarter, but they can lose it. They need to get to half time break even or ahead. I don't see them chasing Collingwood down as the game gets later.

Greene playing is huge too. If he plays, Giants will be pretty buoyed and that might help them hold the Collingwood onslaught early.

Prelim Game Day thread! Ow how I’ve been waiting for this! I can’t wait for Saturday! Should be a good game.

Toby missing puts them further behind the 8-ball. Brisbane had them covered in just about all the key stats but squandered their inside 50 opportunities.
They are very lucky to be in the Prelim.

Could repeat that luck and get in the GF.

Toby missing puts them further behind the 8-ball. Brisbane had them covered in just about all the key stats but squandered their inside 50 opportunities.
I think he’ll get off, which would be a huge boost for them. Who does de boer go to? I have a feeling it will be Adams.

I actually think they are better then a good chance to cause an upset
absolutely they are a chance, they have made it to a prelim for a reason and if we aren't on they can definitely beat us, I would think the same goes for your game as well.

finals footy is like that, you never know what will happen. I believe if we show up and play our brand we can beat them, fingers crossed.