Game Day Collingwood v GWS Giants - Preliminary Finals — Sat 21 Sep, 4:35PM AEST, MCG

Who will Win?

• Collingwood by 30+ pts

Votes: 35 27.1%
  • Collingwood 10-30

Votes: 48 37.2%
  • Collingwood by <10

Votes: 9 7.0%
  • GWS Giants by <10

Votes: 12 9.3%
  • GWS Giants by 10-30

Votes: 14 10.9%
  • GWS Giants by 30+

Votes: 11 8.5%

Jul 5, 2012
Kidding, right?
Less the rub of the green with the umpiring and more when and where it happened...overall I think this AFL finals series hasn't been umpired very well

Goal to Finlayson

Goal to Cameron (blocking happens all the time, this was a clear shepherd)

Even this 50m penalty

Massive dive from Grundy in that first one.

The Filth

Feb 18, 2009
It’s all about TV dollars, and if you look into it you’ll see that every GF the Swans played in breaks national ratings figures.

Don’t know if GWS can do the same, but there’s no way an all-Vic GF gets the same level of viewership in NSW/QLD.
Channel 7 have already paid the league the broadcast rights for the AFL - the exclusive rights for the AFL Grand Final are confined to the free-to-air channel, not Foxtel or cable broadcast right holders.
It could be a GWS v Gold Coast grand final for all the AFL cares, they won't receive any more or less monies no matter who plays.
The broadcast monies the AFL choose to distribute are equally allocated to each AFL club irrespective of a teams ratings.
Yes ratings figures received over a season do give negotiating power when tendering for the next tendering of broadcast rights.
The only one who has immediate concerns over participants of the GF and their ratings pull is Channel 7.

Sep 8, 2012
GWS
General General General , you are no Luke Hodge... General, I am very whiney I could be a female dog too, not sure, but I do not like, as you can tell ,the way manipulation and money has created and helped a plastic invention, that will play in a traditional grand final.

When the week would have been magnificent in Melbourne and I am going to Melbourne to try to enjoy the week and the GF, no I'm not going to the game brother, I am going home to my base where I came from.
The Giants making the GF has left me dead , because they mean nothing , they are a Mclachlan and Demetriou money invention like GC17, we have Swans with history and Lions with history in NSW & QLD, we did not need two new inventions. I've told you this before.

Now maybe they will survive, but they a "nothings" as far as I'm concerned because they add nothing to the AFL, but one a failure and one helped to where it got.
I know you'll have all the answers and retorts , but I'd rather have seen money by the millions thrown at Tasmania ,and at the NT.

THE AFL ONLY SAW DOLLAR SIGNS IN Gold Coast, God knows what they saw in Western Sydney, just population numbers I guess , who they thought would flood to the games , hah!
No mate when your guys go through your down times like all clubs have to, you 'll be at the game with about 7 of your mates, the rest will be at the soccer or Rugby or boccie.

I have seen our Australian Rules ruined by expansion by rule changing , bad umpiring , umpires running the game.

Lack of skill level in some! A player pool, that cannot fill 18 clubs with top elites! And if your creation wins next week , my sadness will be that you don't belong and you were a built entity forTV rights!
Now you reckon this post is heavy , try the one before this,heh heh. But mate, its only a game, or is it more than a game?. Let the games begin!
Haha

Lol

On SM-N960F using BigFooty.com mobile app

EasternTiger

Oct 15, 2007
Socialist Leper Colony
Bucks said this loss hurt more than last years GF choke. That's a lot of pain. I was surprised when he said he was so upset he didn't know what to say to his players straight after the game. Isn't that what he also said after last years GF?

All that runnin and jumpin and trainin for nothin. Another wasted year down the gurgler.

Never mind.

From a neutrals perspective it was a tremendous spectacle. At the end of the 3rd quarter there was a look of shell shock on the faces of the pies supporters. I thought someone must have put a photo of Dom Sheed up on the big screen for a giggle.

I thoroughly enjoyed myself and got my money's worth, even though I watched it on free to air and at a mates place (Rocked up empty handed and ate an entire block of his cracker barrel cheese.)

The Filth

Feb 18, 2009
All you have done is bitch and moan after your club choked after getting the final gift wrapped.

By the way not accuses. Just pointing out a fact.
Gift wrapped?
I have never stated that the Pies were certainties to beat GWS - quite the opposite.
As for choking, that only belies their effort to come back in the last quarter. Lesser sides would have thrown in the towel.
It was a tough hard fought game, you had a 5 goal spurt in the 3rd quarter when you had the momentum.
I merely pointed out that three of those goals would not have been possible if obvious free kicks were given.
Sorry.

Meanwhile you make unfounded and disgusting allegations that Collingwood is making payments outside the salary cap in brown paper bags.
I will bitch and moan all day about that. Thats really pathetic matey.

Sep 8, 2012
GWS
Great Win, the group of guys you assembled deserved the win my team were out played, Yep you are right we have a history something GWS don't, Sydney have history, Brisbane even have a history, West Coast supporters are crazy,Adelaide teams love the game and Fremantle still no wins but WA love footy, and if this was a Tassie team filling a boutique stadium with 24000 week in week out, it would be a great result, but GWS a team created to maybe give better TV deal, really no one cares they had to play crowd noise over a speaker at a home final.

salt-shaker.jpeg

On SM-N960F using BigFooty.com mobile app

Whats this with paper bags? I think you have the wrong club. Just a dumb, ignorant, irrelevant comment.
Spicers Paper are a sponsor but thats as close as the Pies have come to paper bags. (I've been a supporter over 50 years)
We work hard as a club to get sponsorships, memberships etc to earn our own money.

After paying the most into the equalisation fund last year, receiving the least money back from the fund, after paying an extra $1m of "wealth tax" to the AFL (along with the Hawks and the Eagles), after earning the 2nd highest revenue in the league (just behind WC) we earned an operating profit of $100,000 last year - the 3rd lowest in the league.
Love to know about these paper bags you stupidly go on about. Maybe we could get some of them back. (or some of yours - with all your blank signed AFL cheques).
Then again the AFL (who also run and admister your club - conflicted much?) would probably just take it off us again to pay for your $2.5m operating loss.
Funny how you can afford to pay your football department more than 12 other clubs but still be allowed to run at a loss. KOTD.

No wonder you can get QCs to appeal the thugs case at the tribunal - we pick up the tab for it. Probably paid for Toby's fine too.
Maybe that's the dodgy paper bag you're referring to - the one the Pies give to you so you can exist.

Bit of respect dog - don't bite the hand that feeds you and one of the Clubs doing the heavy lifting for the comp (like WC)
Did you say the same back in the late 80’s when your club was almost broke and relied on licensing fees from West Coast and Brisbane to survive?

Apr 12, 2012
GWS
Gift wrapped?
I have never stated that the Pies were certainties to beat GWS - quite the opposite.
As for choking, that only belies their effort to come back in the last quarter. Lesser sides would have thrown in the towel.
It was a tough hard fought game, you had a 5 goal spurt in the 3rd quarter when you had the momentum.
I merely pointed out that three of those goals would not have been possible if obvious free kicks were given.
Sorry.

The touched goal gave you that momentum in the final quarter.

And in the 1st quarter we were robbed of 3 goals from poor umpiring.

Going to complain at least see it was both ways.

Meanwhile you make unfounded and disgusting allegations that Collingwood is making payments outside the salary cap in brown paper bags.
I will bitch and moan all day about that. Thats really pathetic matey.

Not unfounded at all
Every man and his dog knows how Treloar ended up at the Pies. How's his media duties going?

Jun 11, 2007
Victoria
Bayern, Milan, Boston Celtics
Whilst i was keen on a Tigers v Pies GF, reminiscing on Anzac Day it was nice to see the Pies lose a Prelim with some questionable umpiring (though that touched goal....)
:p

On a serious note, Gonna be nice to see Sheeds get a chance to hand a premiership cup to a club he has an affinity with next week.

May 3, 2007
Parts Unknown
Man City, Valencia, Lazio, Panthers
They have to be based put of an RSL and train on different school ovals as well using bins as ice baths
I dont know how you pulled it off. But well done. The Win vs Brisbane at the Gabba took guts. But beating Collingwood at the MCG in a final will give The giants a massive psychological lift of confidence.

That took balls to hold the Magpies off at the mcg.

Massive cojones your players got in their budgie smugglers! :p

Jan 3, 2012
From the interview room
Chelsea FC, Victory, All Blecks,
Mighty display from GWS away from home without several stars.
How will the AFL explain that touch. What the fu** is the point of the review system if that sort of s**t nearly costs a team a grand final berth? Fix was in.

Did they review it at all, didn’t look like it , corruption again

The Filth

Feb 18, 2009
So you weren’t broke late 80’s early 90’s?
Yep, New Magpies 1986.
Ranald McDonald resigned as president over it. Macalister one of the other "New Magpies" took over
Not broke - A cash liquidity crisis primarily due to paying out transfer payments .
Players took a 20% paycut.
Pies had assets to cover the debts and were underwritten by the banks.
Sold some of the property near Vic Park.
I was at the Annual Meeting.
Back in the black the following year - won a flag 4 years later.
Sorry but your comment about Collingwods finances and reliance on licensing fees seems misinformed.