Game Day Collingwood v GWS Giants - Preliminary Finals — Sat 21 Sep, 4:35PM AEST, MCG

Who will Win?

• Collingwood by 30+ pts

Votes: 35 27.1%
  • Collingwood 10-30

Votes: 48 37.2%
  • Collingwood by <10

Votes: 9 7.0%
  • GWS Giants by <10

Votes: 12 9.3%
  • GWS Giants by 10-30

Votes: 14 10.9%
  • GWS Giants by 30+

Votes: 11 8.5%

Yep, New Magpies 1986.
Ranald McDonald resigned as president over it. Macalister one of the other "New Magpies" took over
Cash liquidity crisis primarily due to paying out transfer payments .
Players took a 20% paycut.
Pies had assets to cover the debts and were underwritten by the banks.
Sold some of the property near Vic Park.
I was at the Annual Meeting.
Back in the black the following year - won a flag 4 years later.
Next unfounded allegation or ignorant comment?
Collingwood was one of the clubs that was still solvent although the league itself was about to be wound up before the west coast cash.

Don’t see the point in arguing back and forth over umpiring.
On balance, GWS held sway for longer, had us on the ropes in the third and we couldn’t quite peg them back.
Thought it was great we kept coming and didn’t just submit fwiw.
Better side on the day won and thankfully the ARC farce didn’t decide the game.

It's a known fact without West Coast licensing fees the VFL doesn't survive and become the juggernaut it is today, p**s off with your revisionist love of Victoria.
The VFL would have survived - it just would have been more like the SANFL and the WAFL are now and as you say not a juggernaut.
It would still have been the highest paid and most professional of the State Leagues but players wouldn't be anywhere near the money they are on now.

Anyway the VFL as it was didn't really survive - the VFL clubs along with the expansion teams became the AFL.
The VFL became a new state league incorporating the seconds of some of the Victorian AFL clubs and suburban clubs.

You're quoting me out of context.
In Collingwoods case it was still solvent enough to sort out and trade out its own financial problems in the 80's, irrespective of the licensing fees.
Anyway I'm not sure licensing fees were received in the same financial year as the Collingwood crisis.
The Eagles were formed at the end of 1986, and they entered the comp in 1987.
No need for abuse.

Collingwood was one of the clubs that was still solvent although the league itself was about to be wound up before the west coast cash.
Yeah. Sounds right.
The Pies didn't receive the licensing fees until the next financial year, after they had resolved their own cash crisis.
There was a strain on many of the Victorian Clubs at the time. That's why the VFL had already decided to implement a national competition.
Collingwood actually got into trouble by overextending itself in trying to buy players before West Coasts entry into the comp.
We had a lot of Port Adelaide about us before the cash crisis - Cahill as Coach, Mark Williams, Philips etc.
Anyway I had friends heavily involved at the club at the time.
It's amusing that now I am being accused of being a revisionist about my own club by others who probably weren't around at the time.

Absolutely.
Tigers have been the best team of the last 3 years and the best team since the bye round this year.

The way the game is now with equalisation, the draft etc you probably only have a window of 4 or 5 seasons to 'snag a flag'.
I was hopeful that the Pies could do it this year but cest la vie. Making a Prelim is a pass mark for a season I reckon - no shame in that.

It's funny I posted a few years ago when the Pies were struggling and rebuilding that I believed the Pies best chance would be in 2020.
Hopefully my prediction will be correct. We should still be there or thereabouts next year.
A GF loss and a Prelim loss - still a good effort, both losses could have gone either way too - proud of my team and the type of footy they play - hopefully we can win a flag with this group.
Need to trade out a highly rated mid and a pick or 2 to trade in a highly rated power forwsrd and a secondary forward.

The list is close but still unbalanced

Lots of respect for the pie supporters.

All the best for next year.

Yep, New Magpies 1986.
Ranald McDonald resigned as president over it. Macalister one of the other "New Magpies" took over
Not broke - A cash liquidity crisis primarily due to paying out transfer payments .
Players took a 20% paycut.
Pies had assets to cover the debts and were underwritten by the banks.
Sold some of the property near Vic Park.
I was at the Annual Meeting.
Back in the black the following year - won a flag 4 years later.
Sorry but your comment about Collingwods finances and reliance on licensing fees seems misinformed.
From your clubs website
McAlister’s legacy to Collingwood came in three parts – dragging the Magpies out of a debt of $3.5 million that took them to almost the point of bankruptcy in 1986;

Now when did West Coast and Brisbane come into the competition?

Josh Thomas' shot appeared to be clearly touched by defender Lachie Keeffe. It is understood the reviewers in the AFL's new ARC set-up followed the correct process and conducted a 'silent review' of the vision before the ball was bounced. However, they decided there was insufficient evidence to declare beyond reasonable doubt that the ball had been touched.
:rolleyes:

From your clubs website
McAlister’s legacy to Collingwood came in three parts – dragging the Magpies out of a debt of $3.5 million that took them to almost the point of bankruptcy in 1986;

Now when did West Coast and Brisbane come into the competition?
Read the other posts.
You have no idea.
Collingwood were never reliant on the formation of the AFL to remain solvent or profitable.
There were other weaker teams in the VFL that could not service their debts so yes the League did.
So please don't lecture me on my clubs own history.
Unlike GWS - Never under administration or run by the league to run its affairs whist running up losses.
(GWS will eventually be profitable - Sydney is a huge market)
Speak about somethimg you actually know about before you try and point score.

This bloke accuses my club of making payments outside the salary cap in paper bags. Complete fabrication.
All the while my club is being taxed extra earnings and receiving less monies for the AFL to prop up a side the AFL gave unfair advantages to to try and ensure success on the field. He's got a hide. A few facts don't go astray.
I agree with you wholeheartedly re Collingwood in the eighties, I think you’ve been fair in your replies, but I don’t I know about the AFL giving unfair advantage to GWS. The AFL isn’t going to create a brand in the largest growing municipalities in GWS and not look to provide serious start up investments and resources.

As I’ve said to others, the draft is not the answer. It’s helpful, but not the answer. Creation of strong club culture is paramount, as Richmond, Collingwood, Hawthorn, WC and Geelong have done for so long.

Watched the last 4 minutes and football lost today.

Giants as I said played that foul crap on the ground scrounging like rugby , no skill just totally swamp the ground get it down, and hold it in, Now I really hope this win in any way you can even if you scrounge around in packs is not footy.

But football, and Gil's little TV team gets a shot , I hope and pray that the Tigers annihilate them , next week, no umpires will make any difference next week because Richmond hunt an kill.

But I have to say commercialism won that game, and its any wonder we who come from traditional states hate these ring ins with bought players and advice from the CEO, PLAY RUGBY , HAVE THE UMPIRES MISS MORE THAN THEY SEE, AND WONDER HOW WHEN THE GAME IS PLAYED IN A ROLLING PACK.
VERY VERY DISAPPOINTED, IF IT HAD HAVE BEEN SYDNEY SWANS I WOULDN'T CARE MUCH ,AT LEAST THEY HAVE A PAST.
BUT HOW COLLINGWOOD CAME BACK I DON'T KNOW AND THE GIANTS TO WIN LIKE THAT IN A S**t MANNER SCROUNGING ON THE GROUND, WELL I NEVER SAW FINALS LIKE THAT IN THE PAST.
WHAT CRAP, AND TO THINK ITS ONE OF THESE BLEEDING NEW THINGS THAT DON'T BELONG THAT DID IT!
GILS COMMERCIALISATION OF AUSSIE FOOTBALL, AND MONEY BUYING SUCCESS , ALL I CAN HOPE FOR IS THAT THIS CRUD TEAM, GET WIPED OFF THE FACE OF THE MCG,
But who gives a toss now, the real weekend of the GF will be a crap week, and I'm going over, I was hoping for a real Melbourne grand final feeling, but no the paid for non club is in .
Well one of them has made it to the only game worth going to. A bleeding fake team, versus a real club, and s**t if the Giants win it , it'll be a dead season for me.
No one who is not Victorian or lived most of their life there, or is from a traditional FOOTY state has no idea of the week before, all footy states know it the SANFL and the WAFL Tassie, NT , and of course the home of our game VIC !

When they were stateS main competitions they all have the feeling that September feeling.

I felt it for many years, played amateur footy in it wonderful, it is dead today, (imagine a Collingwood v Richmond GF , )my September feeling just went out the door, can't help it . Thats me!

But the Giants are not an AFL team they are not a club and they were built as was GC17 for money , nothing more and nothing less TV rights!!!.

And we see manufactured teams being invented happening, the umpiring is abominable , (to every team even the fakes) the 50 m rule is an obscenity, and not needed , Free kicks rule the roost in the AFL and umpires run the show, its almost not worth following , because a blind man can see that one of these frauds has to have success, and Gil Mclachlan has no conception of football tribal and fanatic following, and we have two many clubs , and a nothing will play off in the best game of the year, which will be ruined by rules and umpires who miscall and misinterpret, like they did last year when a bloock was put on and the mark was paid. Bad luck Collinwood but if Brisbane had have beaten you, I would not worry at least they too, like Soth Melbourne have history , where as these GWS is just pure plastic.
Footy is definately losing something for me, didn't matter who played in the last day of September, even the Eagles or the Adelaide clubs THEY WERE REAL MADE FROM THEIR TRAD STATES , the Giants v Richmond means nothing if the giants win, If Richmond win , it is not a big day for real Australian Rules traditionalists.
My football is dead or dying right now, THAT GAME WAS TERRIBLE TO WATCH! AND I AM FURIOUS WITH COLLINGWOODS PISS WEAK ATTEMPT AND TO LET THOSE PLASTICS GET AHEAD!

GO AHEAD SAY WHAT YOU LIKE.

YOU KNOW ME I SAY THESE THINGS ABOUT THESE NEW MONEY CLUBS BUT I'M READY TO SAY IT, AND I NEVER CHANGE HOW I THINK, AND I SAY THE SAME THING AND HAVE FOR YEARS.

I HATE WHAT OUR GAME HAS BECOME , it is not football , after today I don't know what it is, and I don't even follow effing Collingwood.

NOW DO YOUR BEST BOYS & GIRLS!

A STRAY FROM SOMEWHERE ELSE THAT IS NOT AFL TERRITORY, THAT HAS BEEN BUILT BY GIL AND ANDY D IS PLAYING OFF IN A DEAD RUBBER!
For me anyway. Go on get into it , have a shot???????????????????????????????????????????
The Grand Final this year doesn’t feature Hawthorn which is a victory for all sports fans

Watched the last 4 minutes and football lost today.

Giants as I said played that foul crap on the ground scrounging like rugby , no skill just totally swamp the ground get it down, and hold it in, Now I really hope this win in any way you can even if you scrounge around in packs is not footy.

But football, and Gil's little TV team gets a shot , I hope and pray that the Tigers annihilate them , next week, no umpires will make any difference next week because Richmond hunt an kill.

But I have to say commercialism won that game, and its any wonder we who come from traditional states hate these ring ins with bought players and advice from the CEO, PLAY RUGBY , HAVE THE UMPIRES MISS MORE THAN THEY SEE, AND WONDER HOW WHEN THE GAME IS PLAYED IN A ROLLING PACK.
VERY VERY DISAPPOINTED, IF IT HAD HAVE BEEN SYDNEY SWANS I WOULDN'T CARE MUCH ,AT LEAST THEY HAVE A PAST.
BUT HOW COLLINGWOOD CAME BACK I DON'T KNOW AND THE GIANTS TO WIN LIKE THAT IN A S**t MANNER SCROUNGING ON THE GROUND, WELL I NEVER SAW FINALS LIKE THAT IN THE PAST.
WHAT CRAP, AND TO THINK ITS ONE OF THESE BLEEDING NEW THINGS THAT DON'T BELONG THAT DID IT!
GILS COMMERCIALISATION OF AUSSIE FOOTBALL, AND MONEY BUYING SUCCESS , ALL I CAN HOPE FOR IS THAT THIS CRUD TEAM, GET WIPED OFF THE FACE OF THE MCG,
But who gives a toss now, the real weekend of the GF will be a crap week, and I'm going over, I was hoping for a real Melbourne grand final feeling, but no the paid for non club is in .
Well one of them has made it to the only game worth going to. A bleeding fake team, versus a real club, and s**t if the Giants win it , it'll be a dead season for me.
No one who is not Victorian or lived most of their life there, or is from a traditional FOOTY state has no idea of the week before, all footy states know it the SANFL and the WAFL Tassie, NT , and of course the home of our game VIC !

When they were stateS main competitions they all have the feeling that September feeling.

I felt it for many years, played amateur footy in it wonderful, it is dead today, (imagine a Collingwood v Richmond GF , )my September feeling just went out the door, can't help it . Thats me!

But the Giants are not an AFL team they are not a club and they were built as was GC17 for money , nothing more and nothing less TV rights!!!.

And we see manufactured teams being invented happening, the umpiring is abominable , (to every team even the fakes) the 50 m rule is an obscenity, and not needed , Free kicks rule the roost in the AFL and umpires run the show, its almost not worth following , because a blind man can see that one of these frauds has to have success, and Gil Mclachlan has no conception of football tribal and fanatic following, and we have two many clubs , and a nothing will play off in the best game of the year, which will be ruined by rules and umpires who miscall and misinterpret, like they did last year when a bloock was put on and the mark was paid. Bad luck Collinwood but if Brisbane had have beaten you, I would not worry at least they too, like Soth Melbourne have history , where as these GWS is just pure plastic.
Footy is definately losing something for me, didn't matter who played in the last day of September, even the Eagles or the Adelaide clubs THEY WERE REAL MADE FROM THEIR TRAD STATES , the Giants v Richmond means nothing if the giants win, If Richmond win , it is not a big day for real Australian Rules traditionalists.
My football is dead or dying right now, THAT GAME WAS TERRIBLE TO WATCH! AND I AM FURIOUS WITH COLLINGWOODS PISS WEAK ATTEMPT AND TO LET THOSE PLASTICS GET AHEAD!

GO AHEAD SAY WHAT YOU LIKE.

YOU KNOW ME I SAY THESE THINGS ABOUT THESE NEW MONEY CLUBS BUT I'M READY TO SAY IT, AND I NEVER CHANGE HOW I THINK, AND I SAY THE SAME THING AND HAVE FOR YEARS.

I HATE WHAT OUR GAME HAS BECOME , it is not football , after today I don't know what it is, and I don't even follow effing Collingwood.

NOW DO YOUR BEST BOYS & GIRLS!

A STRAY FROM SOMEWHERE ELSE THAT IS NOT AFL TERRITORY, THAT HAS BEEN BUILT BY GIL AND ANDY D IS PLAYING OFF IN A DEAD RUBBER!
For me anyway. Go on get into it , have a shot???????????????????????????????????????????
Every team starts somewhere. There’s nothing fake about this team. They’ve worked incredibly hard and developed over time.

Get over the VFL attitude mate, it’s a national competition. If you don’t like it or can’t understand it then get yourself a Box Hill Hawks membership and save us all your prehistoric ranting.

I agree with you wholeheartedly re Collingwood in the eighties, I think you’ve been fair in your replies, but I don’t I know about the AFL giving unfair advantage to GWS. The AFL isn’t going to create a brand in the largest growing municipalities in GWS and not look to provide serious start up investments and resources.

As I’ve said to others, the draft is not the answer. It’s helpful, but not the answer. Creation of strong club culture is paramount, as Richmond, Collingwood, Hawthorn, WC and Geelong have done for so long.
Unfortunately there is no ideal or fair way to create a new club or franchise in the AFL.
The new venture needs to be competitive and financially viable going forward so it needs to be given a good side as as starting point.

I wonder if Travis Varcoe will get any interest from other clubs, you’d think he’d be spewing being left out