Game Day Collingwood v GWS Giants - Preliminary Finals — Sat 21 Sep, 4:35PM AEST, MCG

Who will Win?

• Collingwood by 30+ pts

Votes: 35 27.1%
  • Collingwood 10-30

Votes: 48 37.2%
  • Collingwood by <10

Votes: 9 7.0%
  • GWS Giants by <10

Votes: 12 9.3%
  • GWS Giants by 10-30

Votes: 14 10.9%
  • GWS Giants by 30+

Votes: 11 8.5%

Demontim275

Sep 13, 2019
Yep, i really think it was the conditions yesterday, that is the real stat IMO, GWS have played in wet, slippery, greasy conditions, Collingwood probably haven't and forgot how to play them.
Didn’t Richmond tear Collingwood up in the wet? I think Collingwood just struggle in those conditions

Dec 29, 2000
2015 and 2016 were the only two flags won by teams who played all three games.

It’s generally won by a winner from week one.

True but if all the teams are relatively equal (which is becoming the norm) then it will happen more often.

It can't be understated that this was a massive win by GWS - playing a big Vic team in front of 77k fans on the MCG with 3 of your best players out.

They are a real chance next week.

Islanda22

Feb 11, 2014
Australia
Ive read a few Collingwood supporters being proud of the players effort.

If i was a fan id be livid letting an opportunity like that going begging.

Exactly what i was thinking going through the Facebook page seeing how proud they were LOL

They lost at home to a team without arguably there 3 best players

Aug 15, 2009
What is west coast's problem with Richmond?
Should we hate all Vic teams Equally?

Collingwood were quite honourable in their GF loss last year, Richmond won the year before, so naturally most eagles fans would prefer a Collingwood win, ahead of Richmond winning twice.

That, and you are the sucks.

Les Malone

Jul 28, 2019
GWS
Didn’t Richmond tear Collingwood up in the wet? I think Collingwood just struggle in those conditions

Yep, wet conditions calls for all 'scientific' skill based game plans to be thrown out the window and the game becomes a game of rugby put your body on the line force the ball forward at all costs.

Les Malone

Jul 28, 2019
GWS
Not sure of how many actual NSW boys played yesterday but there was a few from the Giants academy and that has been a huge help for GWS, as good as the many first round draft picks they got during their start up, so it cant be denied that GWS has actually benefited the game rather than taken from it.

Eagleboy68

Jun 11, 2015
What is west coast's problem with Richmond?

All i ever see is you blokes talking s**t on here, while most Richmond supporters don't even think about the eagles.

I like Richmond

Good coach. Great game style to watch.

Torn between them and gws winning the flag to be honest.

And I hate Victorian team mostly

Not sure of how many actual NSW boys played yesterday but there was a few from the Giants academy and that has been a huge help for GWS, as good as the many first round draft picks they got during their start up, so it cant be denied that GWS has actually benefited the game rather than taken from it.

Because you had a few academy blokes? Some of whom would have been top 10 picks?
They would have been swans academy if gws didn't exist or gone into the draft.

This post has some weird reasoning

Demontim275

Sep 13, 2019
True but if all the teams are relatively equal (which is becoming the norm) then it will happen more often.

It can't be understated that this was a massive win by GWS - playing a big Vic team in front of 77k fans on the MCG with 3 of your best players out.

They are a real chance next week.
Is it? There was three beltings in the first week of finals this year alone.

Les Malone

Jul 28, 2019
GWS
I like Richmond

Good coach. Great game style to watch.

Torn between them and gws winning the flag to be honest.

And I hate Victorian team mostly

Don't mind Richmond either, but the coach is a good bloke and more relaxed because he has the monkey off his back.

We know what sort of a party happens in Richmond after a premiership, similar to down at Vic Park after Collingwood in 1990 :)

But i wonder what will happen in WS or more precisely to GWS, will it be ho hum in WS or will this really propel the club to mainstream ?.

Les Malone

Jul 28, 2019
GWS
Because you had a few academy blokes? Some of whom would have been top 10 picks?
They would have been swans academy if gws didn't exist or gone into the draft.

This post has some weird reasoning

Incorrect, prior to the academies bugger all NSW and ACT boys compared to now were making it through, the Riverina in particular had dried up.

The two NSW academies means that more Vic boys can sample mums home cooking.

I would have thought that a win/win

sounda

Apr 29, 2016
Get your facts right matey.

Facts ... you say?

Seriously, do some of you people in Victoria have selective memory for everything or just football?

Facts ... you guys have been walking past the facts for so long that you have no idea what they are anymore.

Try reading this and then get back to me with some facts!!

Demontim275

Sep 13, 2019
Facts ... you say?

Seriously, do some of you people in Victoria have selective memory for everything or just football?

Facts ... you guys have been walking past the facts for so long that you have no idea what they are anymore.

Try reading this and then get back to me with some facts!!

He’s talking about the pies mate. They weren’t in financial trouble and the licences didn’t save them.
The VFL was ****ed but the pies were solvent.

The Filth

Feb 18, 2009
And the frees missed to the Giants in goal scoring positions?
That's not including the clear touch that was ruled a goal.

If you listen to the commentary, the review actually didn't look at the footage of the touched ball as it was kicked.
They were just looking at the goaline footage.
There is also some comment (not sure if true) that they had different footage than the Ch7 feed which was from a different angle.

What this incident has highlighted is a need to 'review the review'
How far back from the goaline do you take a review?
The goal umpire is the one calling for the review for what has occurred at the goaline to help with his decision - not what has occurred upfield as the ball was kicked, that is under the direct supervision of the field umpire.
What about the other shots on goal that the goal umpire has not called a review on - maybe they are touched as well?
Why don't you review all shots? - obviously because it takes too long.

I'm amused that you argued in your defense of Toby Green about the use of 2 dimensional images in determining whether contact was made.
Yet now you say you can tell by a 2 dimensional image that a ball has been touched (but not someones face by Greene)?
Unless you have a multitude of angles is is difficult to tell if a player has laid a finger on the ball or not as it is being kicked.
Even then it is almost impossible to tell if a player has placed a fingernail on it.

As for the goal.
If you didn't have the review, Maynes goal would have been given and Pendleburys as well.
Pendlebury was unlucky - if the goal umpire didn't ask, the field umpires decision re the kick not being touched would have stood.

Unless you are going to review all shots on goal as they come off the boot the review should really be limited only to the decisions of the goaline umpire who is asking for the clarification. He is not asking for a clarification of the field umpires decision as to whether or not the ball was touched in play.

I mean how far do you take it?
Why not have reviews on marks in the goalsquare - was the kick touched off the boot?
Why not review a step further - say a dubious handpass in play that leads to a winning goal...

Mar 5, 2015
West of Woop Woop
Marconi, Arsenal, GreenEdge
[QUOTE="Les Malone, post: 62969267, member: 198401]

But i wonder what will happen in WS or more precisely to GWS, will it be ho hum in WS or will this really propel the club to mainstream ?.
[/QUOTE]
Won’t cause a ripple

Watched the last 4 minutes and football lost today.

Giants as I said played that foul crap on the ground scrounging like rugby , no skill just totally swamp the ground get it down, and hold it in, Now I really hope this win in any way you can even if you scrounge around in packs is not footy.

But football, and Gil's little TV team gets a shot , I hope and pray that the Tigers annihilate them , next week, no umpires will make any difference next week because Richmond hunt an kill.

But I have to say commercialism won that game, and its any wonder we who come from traditional states hate these ring ins with bought players and advice from the CEO, PLAY RUGBY , HAVE THE UMPIRES MISS MORE THAN THEY SEE, AND WONDER HOW WHEN THE GAME IS PLAYED IN A ROLLING PACK.
VERY VERY DISAPPOINTED, IF IT HAD HAVE BEEN SYDNEY SWANS I WOULDN'T CARE MUCH ,AT LEAST THEY HAVE A PAST.
BUT HOW COLLINGWOOD CAME BACK I DON'T KNOW AND THE GIANTS TO WIN LIKE THAT IN A S**t MANNER SCROUNGING ON THE GROUND, WELL I NEVER SAW FINALS LIKE THAT IN THE PAST.
WHAT CRAP, AND TO THINK ITS ONE OF THESE BLEEDING NEW THINGS THAT DON'T BELONG THAT DID IT!
GILS COMMERCIALISATION OF AUSSIE FOOTBALL, AND MONEY BUYING SUCCESS , ALL I CAN HOPE FOR IS THAT THIS CRUD TEAM, GET WIPED OFF THE FACE OF THE MCG,
But who gives a toss now, the real weekend of the GF will be a crap week, and I'm going over, I was hoping for a real Melbourne grand final feeling, but no the paid for non club is in .
Well one of them has made it to the only game worth going to. A bleeding fake team, versus a real club, and s**t if the Giants win it , it'll be a dead season for me.
No one who is not Victorian or lived most of their life there, or is from a traditional FOOTY state has no idea of the week before, all footy states know it the SANFL and the WAFL Tassie, NT , and of course the home of our game VIC !

When they were stateS main competitions they all have the feeling that September feeling.

I felt it for many years, played amateur footy in it wonderful, it is dead today, (imagine a Collingwood v Richmond GF , )my September feeling just went out the door, can't help it . Thats me!

But the Giants are not an AFL team they are not a club and they were built as was GC17 for money , nothing more and nothing less TV rights!!!.

And we see manufactured teams being invented happening, the umpiring is abominable , (to every team even the fakes) the 50 m rule is an obscenity, and not needed , Free kicks rule the roost in the AFL and umpires run the show, its almost not worth following , because a blind man can see that one of these frauds has to have success, and Gil Mclachlan has no conception of football tribal and fanatic following, and we have two many clubs , and a nothing will play off in the best game of the year, which will be ruined by rules and umpires who miscall and misinterpret, like they did last year when a bloock was put on and the mark was paid. Bad luck Collinwood but if Brisbane had have beaten you, I would not worry at least they too, like Soth Melbourne have history , where as these GWS is just pure plastic.
Footy is definately losing something for me, didn't matter who played in the last day of September, even the Eagles or the Adelaide clubs THEY WERE REAL MADE FROM THEIR TRAD STATES , the Giants v Richmond means nothing if the giants win, If Richmond win , it is not a big day for real Australian Rules traditionalists.
My football is dead or dying right now, THAT GAME WAS TERRIBLE TO WATCH! AND I AM FURIOUS WITH COLLINGWOODS PISS WEAK ATTEMPT AND TO LET THOSE PLASTICS GET AHEAD!

GO AHEAD SAY WHAT YOU LIKE.

YOU KNOW ME I SAY THESE THINGS ABOUT THESE NEW MONEY CLUBS BUT I'M READY TO SAY IT, AND I NEVER CHANGE HOW I THINK, AND I SAY THE SAME THING AND HAVE FOR YEARS.

I HATE WHAT OUR GAME HAS BECOME , it is not football , after today I don't know what it is, and I don't even follow effing Collingwood.

NOW DO YOUR BEST BOYS & GIRLS!

A STRAY FROM SOMEWHERE ELSE THAT IS NOT AFL TERRITORY, THAT HAS BEEN BUILT BY GIL AND ANDY D IS PLAYING OFF IN A DEAD RUBBER!
For me anyway. Go on get into it , have a shot???????????????????????????????????????????
I haven’t used ignore function before but you are sorely tempting me...

sounda

Apr 29, 2016
He’s talking about the pies mate. They weren’t in financial trouble and the licences didn’t save them.
The VFL was f’ed but the pies were solvent.

You didn't read this part of the article then? This is exactly what I was saying Vic people just walk straight past the facts and have an alternative footy universe happening.

"Of the 11 Victorian Club companies it appears that seven of them are technically insolvent. These clubs are Fitzroy, Geelong, Footscray, Collingwood, Melbourne, North Melbourne and Richmond," he wrote on August 8, 1986."

I know it's hard to accept that even the Pies were staring down the barrel but staring down the barrel they were!!

And ... yes the licences fees from Brisbane and WCE did save their busted broke miserable arses!

INSOLVENT = can't pay your debts if called due.

Mar 2, 2003
West Tigers. G.S.W
No it's not. Considering many goals are directly influenced by wrong decisions throughout the course of a 120 minute contest.
Delusional.
It wasn't a wrong decision anyone viewing that couldn't would tell you the ball was clearly touched. It goes way deeper than being a wrong decision that one it was blatant cheating.
I was hoping for Collingwood to win by under a goal for the fall out from it all.
It would have been massive