Changamagic

Storm, THFC, Dallas Cowboys
Ok, what if anything can we take out of Collingwoods gameplan tonight into next weeks match vs Swannies?

It is interesting how the Pies seem to do so well against the Pies, it obviously isn't coincidence...

They went man on man in defence, and Sydney held it up trying to find a free player, but there wasn't any. And they played on at all costs in attack to try and get ahead of Sydney flooding back, even if that meant kicking to a contest.

Sydney could have gone very close if they'd actually kicked straight in that last quarter when they remembered how to play.

Ok, what if anything can we take out of Collingwoods gameplan tonight into next weeks match vs Swannies?

It is interesting how the Pies seem to do so well against the Pies, it obviously isn't coincidence...

Well you saw how successful this ploy was with Adelaide copying Collingwood's gameplan v Geelong.

I would like to think that we are a little bit ahead of Adelaide at this stage, I don't see the relevance of comparing us and Adelaide?

They went man on man in defence, and Sydney held it up trying to find a free player, but there wasn't any. And they played on at all costs in attack to try and get ahead of Sydney flooding back, even if that meant kicking to a contest.

Sydney could have gone very close if they'd actually kicked straight in that last quarter when they remembered how to play.
As much as I respect Sydney (due to their record against us) it is amazing how often they wait until 3/4 time before playing an attacking, flowing, higher scoring brand of footy!

That is possibly the worst part of being a Swans fan because we have to knowledge that if Paul Roos lets them of the leash the players can play some attacking and free flowing football. Unfortunately he doesnt usually let them of the leash until we are so far behind that it doesnt matter.

The game will be a completely different game to the game last night.

We don't play the one on one football that Collingwood use to defeat Sydney and stifle their attack.

Adam Goodes will be a massive inclusion for the Swans as well.

Will the weather play a role?

Sydney love the ball in tight with plenty of players covering the ball and breaking from the packs in numbers, we like to switch the ball around a bit and play open, if the ground is damp under foot it'll play into their hands.

Instead of playing like Collingwood, which we failed to execute in 2005 and 2006, we need to play to our strengths and play the game on our terms instead of theirs.

Sydney love the ball in tight with plenty of players covering the ball and breaking from the packs in numbers, we like to switch the ball around a bit and play open, if the ground is damp under foot it'll play into their hands.

Instead of playing like Collingwood, which we failed to execute in 2005 and 2006, we need to play to our strengths and play the game on our terms instead of theirs.

What is the forecast as a matter of interest?

That is possibly the worst part of being a Swans fan because we have to knowledge that if Paul Roos lets them of the leash the players can play some attacking and free flowing football. Unfortunately he doesnt usually let them of the leash until we are so far behind that it doesnt matter.
And here is our problem. Last year in round 22 Roos let them off the leash & they pounded us. I'd be very surprised if he didn't do so again. I don't think we should copy Collingwood's gameplan. We should copy the way we played against Collingwood.

I would like to think that we are a little bit ahead of Adelaide at this stage, I don't see the relevance of comparing us and Adelaide?

My point was that copying Collingwood's gameplan is easier said than done.

Exactly, we keep trying to use the swans game plan to beat them and it back fires,
if we play our game plan and dont get sucked in like we always do then we should win

My point was that copying Collingwood's gameplan is easier said than done.

No worries mate, not sure if we should copy it, just some parts of it may be worth noting....