FlamingDon

Apr 3, 2007
Essendon,Fremantle,India
Some of the players who are having stand out seasons this year and that have helped Collingwood to 5-2, also have improved from last year?

- Harry O'Brien
- Tarkyn Lockyer
- Scott Pendlebury
- Travis Cloke
- Heath Shaw
- Nick Maxwell
- Scott Burns
- Rhyce Shaw

I think most of the young guns are the reason were doing so well. Most players are doing really well but I picked our best players thus far.

Harry O'Brien for mine. If you asked me last year a word to describe Harry, I would have said: Trier. He has improved out of sight, never thought he could comprehensively beat talls as well as smalls, may be an AA defender in a few years time. The sky's the limit.

Tarkyn Lockyer's improvement has come from nowhere, but Harry's improvement has been a bigger shock. Don't tell Mick that though!

It's Rhyce Shaw for mine......

I and many of my fellow pie fans used to describe Rhyce as someone who sleeps with the light on. Soft. Poor skills by foot. Poor overhead but could run.

I believe that with Heath's ability shining through now Rhyce has grown a leg with him. He is a lot harder. Doesn't miss targets like he used to. Can compete with Half-forward overhead to at least kill the contest and is running up and down the ground like never before.

At the start of the year probably Rhyce wouldn't have been in my top 22. He's in the top 8 picked now I reckon.

Another one who I believe has improved heaps - might surprise some with this comment- O'Bree. Playing much more direct - running straight at the goals. not stuffing around with it so much. Seems a bit tougher in the contest too.

Honorable mentions - O'Brien, Lockyer.

Agree with all those guys including O'Bree. I like how he's gone about it this year. He doesn't have to run, carry and dispose under pressure as much this year, as the younger guys are doing it.

Also, really liked Josh Frasers' last 2 weeks. He appears over his pre-season knee injury and here's hoping he continues to build this year into the player we know he can be. Having Bryan give him a chop out, seems to have really assisted his game.

Harry O is a stand out in this department this year though. If he plays on Brad Johnson and can keep him to 3 or less goals, that will go a long way to us winning.

Tarks, OB and harry have all been awesome, but in terms of team structure and importance i think travis cloke has been the best. He has taken over from taz and take 9-13 marks a game in our attacking end. Once he gets his kicking confidence back, he will kick bags of 4-6 goals. Has his doubters but i belive he will be a star for the pies. Remember hes only 19!!

Harry has come from no where, dont think even the biggest Harry fan would have thought he was going to come on this quickly

T.Cloke has also grown into his bigger role very well

R.Shaw is back to the footy he showed before doing his knee

H.Shaw, Swan, D.Thomas have carried on from their 06 form

Lockyer, Burns have revitalised themselves and are brilliant players this year

very encouraging signs for the woods when u consider that our 'best' players

Didak, Fraser, Clement, B.Johnson, Buckley have all had very slow injury interupted starts to the season

and Rocca is yet to hit his straps for a full game

Holland will take a while to warm up too

The team should continue to improve as the season goes on as the experienced players come back into the team and get some miles into their legs! Very promising signs!

Another one who I believe has improved heaps - might surprise some with this comment- O'Bree. Playing much more direct - running straight at the goals. not stuffing around with it so much. Seems a bit tougher in the contest too.

O'Bree hasn't improved - he has fallen under the radar, yes, but is still winning the ball from the centre. Neither has Josh Fraser. Baby Pie, we already know his best is very good and he is one of the best ruckman in the competition at full flight, Josh needs to be more consistent that has been his downfall up to date.

No need to leave Dale Thomas off the list. He is having a huge impact on games this season after cameo's last year.

Pendlebury has shown the most improvement, after him Harry O'Brien. Lockyer has always been very capable and consistant

No need to leave Dale Thomas off the list. He is having a huge impact on games this season after cameo's last year.

Pendlebury has shown the most improvement, after him Harry O'Brien. Lockyer has always been very capable and consistant

Lockyer has always been consistant, but consistantly doing the minimal to get selected. Now he is ultra dynamic and a real key to our side.

I agree with Thomas and was going to post the exact same thing. :thumbsu: Last year he played a cameo role, coming off the bench to lift the team, now he is doing it on the ground for most of the game and averaging around 18 disposals and also helping us win alot of clearences in the middle.

Last year Pendlebury drew alot of raps from everyone last year on his glimpses, but with his pre-season he has just about delivered on expectations we placed on him last year. Definately an improved player.

Collingwood's most improved