Collingwood's performance is just History repeating

• Thread starter Thread starter DNine

I don't think so.. at the beggining of a wsop play a conservative approach.. but when the whips get cracking.. throw caution to the wind.. if it means replacing brown and frost and gambling on someone else.. then im all for that.. as opposed to playing brown and frost and hoping for a good finals series.. i just cant see a premiership with frost and brown down back. I see an admirable 6th finish.. but its not what i want.
Agree we probably won't win a flag with both Brown and Frost. One of your key defenders has to be creative and win possession (e.g. Thompson, Reid, Gibson, Taylor, etc.) and not struggle to crack 8 disposals in a game.

I'm not knocking their defensive capabilities because they're both very good and I think for the stage we are at then we can definitely afford to have both. Hopefully either Reid can come back and take the second tall forward and be that intercept mark/rebounder or Marsh continues to develop into that role.

Agree we probably won't win a flag with both Brown and Frost. One of your key defenders has to be creative and win possession (e.g. Thompson, Reid, Gibson, Taylor, etc.) and not struggle to crack 8 disposals in a game.

I'm not knocking their defensive capabilities because they're both very good and I think for the stage we are at then we can definitely afford to have both. Hopefully either Reid can come back and take the second tall forward and be that intercept mark/rebounder or Marsh continues to develop into that role.
I'd gamble on Reid.. ahead of Brown and Frost.. I would also like Collingwood to gamble on Marsh.. I understand he is a developing player.. but he might be one of those types who just comes in and makes an immediate impact.. and there has been quite a few lately across all clubs.. Marsh will definetely give as more rebound and he has beautiful skills for a big man. Tough and quick.

Whats the point of comparing oursleves to Hawthorn? Its pretty much set in stone that they are the benchmark. As it currently stands we have both played only one team in common. They couldnt beat Essendon and we could!!

Time will tell how good the teams are that Hawthorn have beaten. They havent played any legitmate flag contenders and neither have Collingwood. Cats and Roos have lost to other teams (not just Hawthorn) so are off the pace from last year. Dogs are full of beans but are a young list so like the Pies and a few other teams will find it a long season.
Old mate bought up Hawthorn, I was just replying.

I'd gamble on Reid.. ahead of Brown and Frost.. I would also like Collingwood to gamble on Marsh.. I understand he is a developing player.. but he might be one of those types who just comes in and makes an immediate impact.. and there has been quite a few lately across all clubs.. Marsh will definetely give as more rebound and he has beautiful skills for a big man. Tough and quick.

Theres no rush and no need to gamble.

Personally I'd prefer Reid forward. Swing him back if you need.

I believe the defence has done extremely well.. Are we developing a defence that is premiership material that's my major concern. Every move we make should be a step towards winning a premiership.. will the combination of frost and brown work long term? Perhaps not. If i had a crystal ball.. and if i was targeting a premiership i see replacements for these 2. I hope I'm wrong here.. but to be that 1 in 18 to win a premiership you need special talent.. don't quite think we will ever be there with brown and frost. might be enough to get us top 6 or top 4 but a premiership mmmmmmmm dunno.
Frost may be susceptible in the one-on-one contest against a monster, but every defender has their weaknesses and the guy's positives far outweigh the negatives, especially when the back 6 is working in unison with one another, which is the case at the moment.

If I've learnt anything over the years watching the footy, its that you can have the best defender in the AFL, but if the back 6 aren't working as a team, and you're performing, especially with two-way runners in the midfield, you will get shown up.

Re Nate Brown, I similiar to Frost, can be shown up, but is currently in career best form, and I'm loving seeing him up the ground more, it has worked wonders for him personally.

H
Mate you can only play against the opposition ont he day.

Prior to the season we were tipped to be well outside the 8, with some tipping us to be bottom 4. All of Adelaide, Essendon and Brisbane were tipped to be around, or ahead of, us before the season... We have 2-1 in those games and I am pretty happy with that. (as others have said, the Bombers made the 8 last year, the Crows were just outside, and were tipped to make it this year, and the Lions were expected to make a big jump this year). Of those 2 wins, we were pretty convincing against the Bombers, and were very convincing for almost 3 quarters against the lions.

Our other 2 wins were both very, very comfortable. And in both those games we started slower than the opposition. Young teams often struggle after a poor start (as we did often last year) but our boys stuck to their guns and quite quickly ended up well ahead.

I'm still not convinced that we will make the 8, because its still a long season ahead and we have a very young list, but i am very pleased with how we have started, and it should be clear to everyone that our rebuild is going nicely and we arent going to completely bottom out like many of the naysayers were predicting.
how are the pies going ???? Cats look like a top 2 team

Mate how many times has it been pointed out to you that Essendon played finals last year. Why do you keep posting this stupid comment over and over when we have beaten a top 8 side from last year and you have been reminded of this a million times be different posters
The CATS say hello

Mate how many times has it been pointed out to you that Essendon played finals last year. Why do you keep posting this stupid comment over and over when we have beaten a top 8 side from last year and you have been reminded of this a million times be different posters
Cats say hello

1ipie you're a flog of the highest order. No seriously. You are. Take a chill pill. Nobody enjoys your posting.

the only tick I'd give for hawks would be Dogs based on form. Geelong are has beens and I suspect that we will win by 40+. and Nth are pretenders. I hear what your saying but with that said you can only play who your drawn to play. I mean GWS play hawks this weekend. no one would predict GWS to win but all of a sudden with lewis / Hodge / Frawley / Lake etc out. that GWS are a sneaky chance. so a lot also comes down to luck of injury etc when you play teams also .
Will you review your opinion mate? Hopefully last night was a one off, and not a true indication of where we are at. The style of footy we play is very taxing and it will hard to keep up all year.

Cats say hello

Don't recall you making any prediction on this game, after your massive fail leading into round 1 that's completely understandable. I also don't recall that I said we'd win this or any other game. And as I check the ladder it appears we're still top 4. All of which begs the question, your point?

Oh I see, you thought this proved you were right....

Hmmmmm, yep, irrelevant troll of highest order

Will you review your opinion mate? Hopefully last night was a one off, and not a true indication of where we are at. The style of footy we play is very taxing and it will hard to keep up all year.
not really. I actually think that we outplayed them overall. they kicked 5 goals in the first 8 min. and 3 goals in a 30 second burst. I know that is a simplistic view in looking at it but I'm not discouraged.

my point exactly . and still finished lower then hawks last year. !
Yes your point is that Buckle has taken the pies to bottom 6 ...... The Cats had 100 kicks and hand passes more just like bulldogs last year and many other teams... Bucks zoning game plan is out of date just like Micks ..Buckley gameplan cost the members and supporters many games ..

Don't recall you making any prediction on this game, after your massive fail leading into round 1 that's completely understandable. I also don't recall that I said we'd win this or any other game. And as I check the ladder it appears we're still top 4. All of which begs the question, your point?

Oh I see, you thought this proved you were right....

Hmmmmm, yep, irrelevant troll of highest order
I got many right against last year GC , Bulldogs , Lions , bombers (last year gooseness) ..It's easy beating bottom 4 teams Buckley is a gun

Not if you're a bottom 6 team like you're claiming we are.
Only bottom 6 because of Buckleys out of date slow MM game plan ..Cats had 100 kicks , hand passes more not the first time teams get easy possies .. The zoning game plan is finished like MM ...Buckley has no clue as a coach from top 4 to the bottom ... Football is simple play man on man an direct to the forwards ..

Look who's back, back again, 1ipie's back, tell a friend.

not really. I actually think that we outplayed them overall. they kicked 5 goals in the first 8 min. and 3 goals in a 30 second burst. I know that is a simplistic view in looking at it but I'm not discouraged.
I'm pretty sure they wont jump us next time and Brown will start on Hawkins. I'm fairly pessimistic about our chances this year which in some ways makes wins so much enjoyable. With our draw we just might make the eight. It will be a huge plus if we can get Reid back and firing, it will change our chances immensely imo.

Yes your point is that Buckle has taken the pies to bottom 6 ...... The Cats had 100 kicks and hand passes more just like bulldogs last year and many other teams... Bucks zoning game plan is out of date just like Micks ..Buckley gameplan cost the members and supporters many games ..
your perhaps discussing something completely separate there. I'm simply responding to that of previous comments by other members that Collingwood has not beaten anyone above us. to which my response is that technically neither have Hawthorn. you can only beat the teams that are put before you.. as to your point that geelong had 100 touches. perhaps they had 100 touches because we pressured them into that. if you look at the game in isolation they kicked 5 goals in 8 min. and 3 goals in 2 min. out side of that we actually outplayed them.