Colonial Stadium....

Anton Grbac

Jan 21, 2001
G'day all,
I'm new here and an Essendon person. I'm interested to know opposition supporters views on Colonial Stadium. We've had a year to settle into it as our home ground and have grown to like the place despite the problems it had in it's first year. What do you guys like/dislike about Colonial?

where's wally?

Well hello Wally
What is there to like about it?
It would have to be the greatest shithole man has ever made,The crowd attendances broke all records at this ground last year did it not(yeah friggin bullshit)Only one home and away game got close to being sold out and that was the c'wood and doggies game,but we all know the AFL were tellin fibs(shock horror not more lies)cause on the replay hundreds of seats were not filled.I tell you what this evil monster will start doing(AFL)they in an attempt to make it appear that colonial is winning over the fans
will start filling all seats deliberately opposite the television cameras'whats that you say never'well wait for it people cause it will happen,this evil self serving pack of modern day capitolist dont like being told by the ordinary supporter that(hey you dicks ha ha ha you got it all wrong)And really my views on this cold concrete shit of a joint is well shared.Its a temple built by the rich for the rich,its kind of a meeting place where they meet to show off how many medallions one can display on his suit.Or what color calvin klein undies one wears to the footy.And cop this they even sit back and divulge in 3 course meals with the odd bottle of chardonay(which would have to be the biggest bottled piss of all time)
Hey but who am i to critiscise im just a small time good for nothing ordinary supporter who buys a membership every year and will end up like thousands upon thousands of my bretheran will not get to see my team on grand final day,one suspects it is because i dont own a versaci suit.And because of my low working class appeaerance im shuffledlike those on the titanic(how ironic we all know what happened to her dont we)to the top deck with wait for it (a good view)another load of frog shit.In an attempt to win more upon more of our basketball loving middle class liberal voters this is a deliberate attempt,such an expensive ground suerely cannot be seen to welcome those supporters who like nothing better than to go ape shit at a footy game(so we are banished to the top level and out of sight)
But we have voice and we have opinions(yes for it is my belief if we all own an arseh*le)then i guess we all have an opinion.
But please dont tell these people that cause it will offend them to know that,the working class shit of society have an arseh*le much the same as their's i guess.So i hope this gives you an insight in how i feel about this bullshit of a stadium.But sadly those who have been brainwashed by the AFL at the expense of us waverly park loving people will come on here and say what a marvellous staduim this is, they have been fooled.

------------------
There are only two kinds of people in this world-COLLINGWOOD SUPPORTERS,and those who wish they were!
SHITE here comes COLLINGWOOD to kick your ass forever BLACK AND WHITE,ha ha ha jealousy will be the death of you,SHITE!!!!!

I luv Colonial
biggrin.gif
biggrin.gif
biggrin.gif

------------------
Blue is the colour of healing - Music is the crystallised emotion - Flow with the Force

Besides all the stuff ups in 2000, I don't mind Colonial, as a stadium it's great, doesn't match the MCG thou, but that would be hard to beat.

I'm sure over the years people will grow to love it.

------------------
If you see me getting mighty,
If you see me getting high,
Knock me down,
I'm not bigger than Life

R.H.C.P.

Surely you're not serious Malibu! Colonial has better hot dogs than the MCG and the beer is colder too. It is therefore a far superior venue to watch footy.
And its 15 minutes from my house by public transport, so yeah I'm kinda keen on it.

------------------
Blue is the colour of healing - Music is the crystallised emotion - Flow with the Force

i hate it. only been there once and that time was shocking. its dull has no atmosphere, the ground was full of papers and plastic bags that even after they cleaned it half time it was still dirty.
the chairs are alright and the toilets are cleaner but wait a few years and they will have the same smell as the MCG toilets.
MCG is the best ground, it gives people a real footy feeling... makes them wanna roar. i think that Colonial will never be able to do that not even in a million years.
i am sure that we will eventually grow to accept it but never love it.
SORRY!

------------------
there are certain things in this world that will make you angry. what i say might be one of them...
The Mighty Melbourne Demons- Legends of the game!

Onya Joffa u said it all!
smile.gif

The only reason I will ever go to Colonial is if the Collingwood Fc are playing footy games there, that is the only reason ill go.

I hate the piece of shit!

Colonial is the best viewing ground in Melbourne by a long chalk.

The atmos was sensational at most games I attended there, and you're so close to the action. Longest wait I had to get into the ground was about 2 minutes at the Dogs/Pies match.

In fact I like Colonial so much I'm even tempted to go to a Melbourne Storm match!
eek.gif
Nahh, just kidding, I haven't been in for the frontal lobotomy just yet!
biggrin.gif

Personally I don't mind it that much, but compared to the MCG it doesn't even rate a mention. However it is twice as good as Waverley ever was.

For me, it is a lot easier to get to the ground, but unlike at Waverley you have to pay for a seat which turns me off it a little bit.

I probably would have loved the ground in 2000 if Geelong had have won more than 1 game out of 7 there.

Hawthorn winning all but one game (we did as well as essendon there ! and the $2 beers at the locker room eased the transition for me. Many Hawks fans hate it but the players love it.

The downside was the 'lockout' against essendon (not widely publicised but there was more than one lockuot there this year) but they flogged us and essendon fans were particularly obnoxious this year. But we beat the doggies which the Bombers couldn't manage.

One thing they have to fix is trains from the east terminating at flinders st and no quick connections to Spencer st. Listening to the kick off on the radio waiting for a train to go 1km sucks big time.

Thanks for the replies folks. Interesting to read the differing opinions. Don't agree with some,but i do agree that you still can't beat a fullhouse at the MCG.
Cheers.

where's wally?

The positives:
* the roof closed makes for a better standard game, keeps the weather out and the atmosphere in.
* excellent bars and dining rooms for corporate entertaining
* new facilities
* easy access inside the ground

The negatives:
* expensive, elitist, plastic, soulless, afl sanitised ground developed for one purpose only, to make money.
* the expense will eventually freeze out the 'less wealthy' fans and create an environment of television watchers (where the a.f.l revenue is generated)

It is not and will never be close to the mighty mcg as a sporting venue.

I think it is a terrific stadium, the spectators facilities there, are a lot better than those offered at the G. They just need to sort out the playing surface, and the ticketing.

Colonial is a state of the art stadium, designed wonderfully for spectators, with a great atmosphere for those who embrace it with an open mind.

Once problems with the surface, ticketing and the like are sorted, the venue will be a wonderful place to watch football.

I present an example of this:

North v Brisbane

If this were at the G, with 25,000 people there, it would have been dull, almost listless despite it being a crackerjack game.

At colonial, the Stadium was half full, everyone felt close to the action and you could almsot hear Byron Pickett grimace as his outstretched arms dragged Luke Power to the ground.

Example No 2 - Western Bulldogs v Kangaroos.

Bullies hit the front and you could hear Brad Johnson grinning and laughing as he steered the Dogs to victory.

You could also see first hand McK****bag's incompetence as he spilt three crucial marks in the last quarter and then turned the ball over after he had remarkably won the footy.

But the atmosphere, I am sure Dog fans would agree, was electric.

The place is a god send and a wonderful alternative venue for those clubs that need a venue to cater for those games between 25-45,000 spectators.

It aint the G, but it serves a great purpose.

Go Colonial

Cheers

I am surprised that nobody has mentioned that if you sit in any of the first 5 rows at ground level, it is almost impossible to see to the other side of the ground. The centre of the ground is like a dome, which obscures your view to the other side.
As an enclosed stadium, it is no better and no worse than hundreds like it around the world, but as a footy venue, it sucks.
No parking, no atmosphere, arse-end of the city, and Wayne Jackson lives there.

------------------
Trample the Weak,
Hurdle the Dead.

Being a Dogs supporter, I've been to Colonial heaps. I think it's a great ground and i've had no real problems with it.

I agree, 20 000 at the Colonial is far better than 20 000 at the MCG. Sometimes, though, Colonial does lack atmosphere. It seems as though ppl don't cheer as much. The MCG has more history too. It will just take time.

The view is the best thing about Colonial in my opinion. At the Essendon game i sat in the second row from the back behind the goals on level 4 and it was still and excellent view. I've been in the top deck at the MCG and it's terrible. The players look like little ants lol
biggrin.gif

------------------
aka HahnPremium37
<A HREF="http://www.geocities.com/isdogisgood" TARGET=_blank>
http://www.geocities.com/isdogisgood
</A>

I have sat on the first level and at ground level, and I in fact found it wonderful to watch even at ground level.

CIK, if you remmeber when Carey took that one hander on Croft against the Bullies, I was sitting right in front of that, and I did not notice the slope you are referring to.

I have a feeling the traditionalist may be influencing your view on the stadium.

When one goes looking for fault one invariably finds it.

Just my opinion.

Cheers

kymhodgemansmo,
I know what you mean by Colonial's 'atmosphere'. Our Round 21 stoush v Bullies with 45,000 there was brilliant ( even though they beat us by flooding our forward line with their whole side, but that's another story!) The atmosphere (for us) and excitement (for them) in the last quarter when they pinched it was, as you say electric. I'll say it again, i like the place.

where's wally?

Colonial Stadium....