Opinion Commentary & Media II

He admitted on Twitter that he knows nothing about our list outside of the guys I the seniors

Reads bigfooty, knows nothing about our list outside the senior blokes. Writes we're no closer to a premiership. Sounds like a * supporter.

p.s. Ischenko was correct.

https://www.theroar.com.au/2018/05/...-closer-next-afl-premiership/#comment-6340252

What a tool. I hope he is good at accounting, because he is a s**t-full writer and would be hopeless as a judge of capability.
"...stout back-six that has played a lot of football together." - Hah what a joke, he doesn't know that Wright has been injured for last 2 years and Majak only just moved into the backline? He must've just saw the player's age and said yep, good enough.

In a way he's not completely incorrect, just a horrendously worded piece.

With our list as it stands today we are not winning a premiership.

What is not mentioned however, is that every single one of the older players on the list has a replacement being developed in the VFL, to the point where our key position stocks are the least concerning of the lot.

Larkey, Preuss/Xerri, Durdin, McKay would be close to starting on many AFL lists.

Add Taryn, Ahern, free agent cash and I find it hard to believe the claim that 2018 NM is no closer to winning than 2017 NM.

Buckland if you are reading this perhaps a deeper look into our list structure is needed before writing off our long term strategy.

We have a truckload of 'unexposed' depth.

And with our injury run of this year combined with the form of the younger guys it becomes difficult to expose those 1,2,3 year players to AFL footy.

I reckon that'll come if we nestle a safe spot in the 8 in the backend of the season and we can give a few guys just a rest and slot in those players safely.

"...stout back-six that has played a lot of football together." - Hah what a joke, he doesn't know that Wright has been injured for last 2 years and Majak only just moved into the backline? He must've just saw the player's age and said yep, good enough.

That is a ******* putrid article that lacks generosity - talk about damn with faint praise. GAGF mate!!!

His complete inability to say anything good about us smacks of a bitter * supporter

https://www.theroar.com.au/2018/05/...-closer-next-afl-premiership/#comment-6340252

What a tool. I hope he is good at accounting, because he is a s**t-full writer and would be hopeless as a judge of capability.

To begin by saying the article isn't meant to be inflammatory with that headline is just idiocy.

If however the article was posed as a question and he then took the 5 minutes to do some research it may have been ok.

He would have been able to discuss and understand the full list strategy that illustrates the next gen Waite, Goldy and Tartant etc with a raft of top top 20 draft picks on top of that now playing in our own VFL team under the same strategy.

He could have discussed salary cap space and upcoming draft opportunities as well as highlighting the great successs that Carlton and others have had 'bottoming out' - fantastic strategies! All those amazing 'rising stars!!' - now over valued hacks.

We can't expect him to understand being a Shinboner! where bottoming out and tanking aren't valued!

Yes there are risks to our strategy, yes good players retire, yes we have a healthy lost so we haven't used many players!

We are playing at Avalon Ovsl at 2pm on Saturday if you would like to come down and see what our next Tarrant looks like! Tarrant is usually watching and helping develop him if you want an autograph!

At the end of it all, he basically says that North won't succeed unless they manage to do that thing that they've been threatening to do and will almost certainly do this year and next year, which is bring in two or three more top tier players. So North can't possibly succeed unless they succeed in doing that thing they are successfully doing. Cheers, thanks for that.

In a way he's not completely incorrect, just a horrendously worded piece.

With our list as it stands today we are not winning a premiership.
Look, I don't think we're winning a flag but this is the Bulldogs 2016 Round 9 side. They were 6-3, having beaten Fremantle, St Kilda, Carlton, Brisbane, Adelaide and Melbourne - only one of those played finals. At that point, conventional wisdom would say that was not a premiership list.

44 Adcock, Jed
24 Biggs, Shane
4 Bontempelli, Marcus
15 Campbell, Tom
32 Collins, Kieran
6 Dahlhaus, Luke
35 Daniel, Caleb
29 Dickson, Tory
7 Hunter, Lachie
46 Jong, Lin
21 Liberatore, Tom
11 Macrae, Jack
16 McLean, Toby
38 Morris, Dale
42 Picken, Liam
18 Roberts, Fletcher
23 Roughead, Jordan
25 Stevens, Koby
9 Stringer, Jake
3 Wallis, Mitch
34 Williams, Bailey
10 Wood, Easton

For comparison's sake, here's the Richmond 2017 Round 9 side:

12 Astbury, David
29 Bolton, Shai
46 Castagna, Jason
9 Cotchin, Trent
10 Edwards, Shane
5 Ellis, Brandon
6 Grigg, Shaun
2 Grimes, Dylan
14 Houli, Bachar
23 Lambert, Kane
27 Lloyd, Sam
4 Martin, Dustin
33 McIntosh, Kamdyn
37 Menadue, Connor
26 Miles, Anthony
25 Nankervis, Toby
3 Prestia, Dion
18 Rance, Alex
8 Riewoldt, Jack
17 Rioli, Daniel
15 Short, Jayden
47 Soldo, Ivan

Having beaten Carlton, Collingwood, West Coast, Brisbane, Melbourne and Fremantle (again, only one of those played finals), and being 5-4, no-one would say they were a chance for a flag.

My point is that what constitutes a premiership list is completely unknown - indeed, the concept itself is bollocks - unless you are talking in hindsight.

Look, I don't think we're winning a flag but this is the Bulldogs 2016 Round 9 side. They were 6-3, having beaten Fremantle, St Kilda, Carlton, Brisbane, Adelaide and Melbourne - only one of those played finals. At that point, conventional wisdom would say that was not a premiership list.

44 Adcock, Jed
24 Biggs, Shane
4 Bontempelli, Marcus
15 Campbell, Tom
32 Collins, Kieran
6 Dahlhaus, Luke
35 Daniel, Caleb
29 Dickson, Tory
7 Hunter, Lachie
46 Jong, Lin
21 Liberatore, Tom
11 Macrae, Jack
16 McLean, Toby
38 Morris, Dale
42 Picken, Liam
18 Roberts, Fletcher
23 Roughead, Jordan
25 Stevens, Koby
9 Stringer, Jake
3 Wallis, Mitch
34 Williams, Bailey
10 Wood, Easton

For comparison's sake, here's the Richmond 2017 Round 9 side:

12 Astbury, David
29 Bolton, Shai
46 Castagna, Jason
9 Cotchin, Trent
10 Edwards, Shane
5 Ellis, Brandon
6 Grigg, Shaun
2 Grimes, Dylan
14 Houli, Bachar
23 Lambert, Kane
27 Lloyd, Sam
4 Martin, Dustin
33 McIntosh, Kamdyn
37 Menadue, Connor
26 Miles, Anthony
25 Nankervis, Toby
3 Prestia, Dion
18 Rance, Alex
8 Riewoldt, Jack
17 Rioli, Daniel
15 Short, Jayden
47 Soldo, Ivan

Having beaten Carlton, Collingwood, West Coast, Brisbane, Melbourne and Fremantle (again, only one of those played finals), and being 5-4, no-one would say they were a chance for a flag.

My point is that what constitutes a premiership list is completely unknown - indeed, the concept itself is bollocks - unless you are talking in hindsight.

Stop making sense. You'll confuse the poor guy.