Opinion Commentary & Media IV

Geez a question specifically about North and it's players would have been nice??????
It seems to be a trend with these sort of interviews, very broad questions and not much North Melbourne specific content.
The interviewer probably didn't know many player names.

I can see the Paul Roos influence already.

Geez a question specifically about North and it's players would have been nice??????
It seems to be a trend with these sort of interviews, very broad questions and not much North Melbourne specific content.
The interviewer probably didn't know many player names.
I feel like the majority of Noble interviews have been about Brisbane, Paul Roos and his career trajectory. Noble needs to understand that at North we need our people to be spruiking the club at all times, if he lets the interviewer run the interview very little time will be spent talking about North.

You nailed it. I'm hearing far too much horsehit and I was far from impressed by what I saw last week.

We're basically starting from square one again in terms of players and an entire coaching staff. Things will take time to gel. I think we'll be doing the two steps forward, one step back routine for a bit because of what went down last year and as far as I'm concerned no one at the club has proven themselves to be particularly great at anything. Done with the talk, ready for the footy.

Hey fellow North fans. Thank you for those that listened to our Marc McGowan episode on North last year.

In our latest podcast, we finish our 2020 club reviews, discussing North Melbourne.

From the 2.07min mark, we talk about the year the Roos had.

Give it a listen if you have a spare 20mins & wanting to consume some opinions on your club while you patiently wait for 2021 to kick-off.

Google Podcasts - Footy Focus Podcast

Recorded on 25 February 2021

- What worked, what failed, who deserves a pay rise & who needs a big 2021
- Plus, key list changes, our best 22, grade for 2020 & 2021 projection

North Melbourne @ 2.07min

- Avoids spoon, but only 1 win in last 15 games headlines disastrous year
- McDonald wins maiden BnF in breakout year going from whipping boy to fan fav
- Simpkin & Anderson thrive in Cunnington’s absence & old and new faces in top 10 BnF
- Off-field shake up a positive as highly credentialed David Noble leads new coaching team
- Corr, Stephenson & Paul Roos join North as favourites sons Ben Brown & Higgins depart
- CC gives his take on the practice match vs Saints despite big loss, but glass half full
- Game plan found wanting in most areas & most games lost to injuries concerning
- Pay day for McKay & Josh Walker stand up in key back roles
- Whilst the other Walker & Tyson need to produce to remain on list in 2022
- Shez wraps up the draftees & gives his best 22 for Round 1 with Atley missing out & youth prioritised

North Melbourne coach David Noble has backed his midfield group to impact the scoreboard in 2021.

In recent years, North have been reliant on its tall marking targets inside 50, but Noble is keen to implement a change in philosophy throughout the group.

“We need to be able to be efficient when we go forward,” he told SEN.

“It’s going to be a combination of some of our talls being able to mark it, and some on the run goals with our speedy guys through on ground work.

“Whether it’s a Jack Mahony or a Tarryn Thomas or a Jaidyn Stephenson … even Ben Cunnington going forward out of the midfield … midfield goals will be important for us.”

There will be a focus on the team playing an instinctive style of football this season, and Noble believes speed is key to success.

“We want our guys to feel like they they’ve got the capacity to move the ball with urgency to try to score,” he said.

“We’ll make some errors along the way and we’ve got to learn from them … we’re encouraging our guys to take risks.

“Sometimes, you do have to take your medicine and just put the hail mary in there and hope [the forwards] can compete enough to bring it to ground … but we’re not in a capacity to play shootout footy.”

Noble also believes there were some positives against St Kilda last week, despite the defeat.

“We liked a lot of areas of our game, albeit in small doses,” he said.

“We thought our competitiveness around the ball from a contested ball perspective was good.

“Some of our younger guys … they’re just invaluable experiences to give those guys a look at what AFL football looks like”.

North Melbourne coach David Noble has backed his midfield group to impact the scoreboard in 2021.

In recent years, North have been reliant on its tall marking targets inside 50, but Noble is keen to implement a change in philosophy throughout the group.

“We need to be able to be efficient when we go forward,” he told SEN.

“It’s going to be a combination of some of our talls being able to mark it, and some on the run goals with our speedy guys through on ground work.

“Whether it’s a Jack Mahony or a Tarryn Thomas or a Jaidyn Stephenson … even Ben Cunnington going forward out of the midfield … midfield goals will be important for us.”

There will be a focus on the team playing an instinctive style of football this season, and Noble believes speed is key to success.

“We want our guys to feel like they they’ve got the capacity to move the ball with urgency to try to score,” he said.

“We’ll make some errors along the way and we’ve got to learn from them … we’re encouraging our guys to take risks.

“Sometimes, you do have to take your medicine and just put the hail mary in there and hope [the forwards] can compete enough to bring it to ground … but we’re not in a capacity to play shootout footy.”

Noble also believes there were some positives against St Kilda last week, despite the defeat.

“We liked a lot of areas of our game, albeit in small doses,” he said.

“We thought our competitiveness around the ball from a contested ball perspective was good.

“Some of our younger guys … they’re just invaluable experiences to give those guys a look at what AFL football looks like”.

That was an... odd answer to injury prevention. All but said we were rubbish previously.

Hey fellow North fans. Thank you for those that listened to our Marc McGowan episode on North last year.

In our latest podcast, we finish our 2020 club reviews, discussing North Melbourne.

From the 2.07min mark, we talk about the year the Roos had.

Give it a listen if you have a spare 20mins & wanting to consume some opinions on your club while you patiently wait for 2021 to kick-off.

Google Podcasts - Footy Focus Podcast

Recorded on 25 February 2021

- What worked, what failed, who deserves a pay rise & who needs a big 2021
- Plus, key list changes, our best 22, grade for 2020 & 2021 projection

North Melbourne @ 2.07min

- Avoids spoon, but only 1 win in last 15 games headlines disastrous year
- McDonald wins maiden BnF in breakout year going from whipping boy to fan fav
- Simpkin & Anderson thrive in Cunnington’s absence & old and new faces in top 10 BnF
- Off-field shake up a positive as highly credentialed David Noble leads new coaching team
- Corr, Stephenson & Paul Roos join North as favourites sons Ben Brown & Higgins depart
- CC gives his take on the practice match vs Saints despite big loss, but glass half full
- Game plan found wanting in most areas & most games lost to injuries concerning
- Pay day for McKay & Josh Walker stand up in key back roles
- Whilst the other Walker & Tyson need to produce to remain on list in 2022
- Shez wraps up the draftees & gives his best 22 for Round 1 with Atley missing out & youth prioritised

If someone talks about 2020 AGAIN I will do a 1996 Terry Wallace

33960604_2104203303198707_2969042979701915648_n.jpg

"Dr Gary Unglik is an Allergy Specialist & Immunologist"

COVID?
Is Dr Gary related to our board member Dr Harry? Part of me hopes there's a third Dr Unglik out there somewhere called Barry. Maybe with an Uncle Clarry who is assumably a retired Doctor, or maybe he became the black sheep of the family when he chose to become an Accountant.

That was an... odd answer to injury prevention. All but said we were rubbish previously.

Yep.
In previous years our strength & conditioning team would have the final say on a players availability, rather than the medicos, which was an incredibly dumb way to do it. But it goes a long way to explaining why we would get so many injuries and setbacks.

Got a feeling Lazz will play round 1. There’s just too much positive internal chat about him. It seems to be consistent too.

I haven’t been able to get out to any training myself, given the hours I’m working ‘post-Covid’ but, I’ve loved reading all the reports & have been pleasantly surprised with what I’ve heard about how Chaz is travelling.
#ChazLaz

Also loving Ford (from the vision I’ve seen & what I’ve read from you guys that have been fortunate enough to get to some live training). Looks like a Shinboner.

Could be a ripper draft to look back on in a few years.