Opinion Commentary & Media VIII

players and fans will push back
The only way the push back will happen is people stop watching it. Footy is like a drug, the fans score their content, its shit but they’ll take the hit anyway.. fans are junkys for afl content

I reckon everyone from 7 - 18 should be still in it for the wild card round and we don't know who is playing who until the team's song plays and they charge out through the race! C'mon AFL Euge - make it happen!
Royal Rumble Reaction GIF by WWE

33 per cent of clubs made the 3 week Finals Series until the 5 was introduced in 1972.

It moved to 5 of 12 and then to 6 then 8 as we expanded.

Anyone whinging about club’s finishing 7th or 8th having to play an extra final compared to the top 33 per cent has it wrong I reckon.

The top 6 have a legitimate chance at winning it and the rest are playing for interest to keep the season alive for longer and perhaps one day someone will have a Cinderella run and prove us all wrong!

I like it.

33 per cent of clubs made the 3 week Finals Series until the 5 was introduced in 1972.

Anyone whinging about club’s finishing 7th or 8th having to play an extra final compared to the top 33 per cent has it wrong I reckon.

The top 6 have a legitimate chance at winning it and the rest are playing for interest to keep the season alive for longer and perhaps one day someone will have a Cinderella run and prove us all wrong!

I like it.
Raus mit dir, Monsieur Seppo

AFL wildcard finals will be awesome. Can’t wait to see who kicks the first Zooper Goal.

And if the * finally break their ‘haven’t won a final’ streak by winning a Finals ZooperClash (or whatever corporate naming rights are given to it) from 10th at least that win too will forever have an asterisk.

I like it.
Agree.
And everyone will get used to it very quickly.
Guaranteed nobody here will be complaining if we end up finishing tenth next season.

I reckon Paul Roos' face after Corey Jones goal to put us in front, may explain why several years later he took our cash and p1ssed off to Hawaii
Reckon it could’ve had more to do with a club employee having a serious medical episode than a game of football. But sure mate..

Did whately actually say this? If he did, probably one of the only times I agree with that pencil neck nerd

Was the worst kept suppression order just about ever. Whately may have a point. Interesting that the AFL and Geelong haven't been called out for blatant lying. The bull5hit injury claims were just plain lies.

Hun's comments on our draw.

Thursday nights: 0

Friday nights: 0 (Good Friday afternoon game in round 4)

Marquee match-ups: Good Friday v Carlton (round 4), Brisbane (round 4), Carlton (round 6)

Who you play twice: Essendon, Geelong, Port Adelaide, Richmond, Sydney, West Coast,

When is your bye?: Round 12

Our say: If there was ever a draw to help a side bounce up the ladder, this is it. North only faces one 2025 finalist (Geelong)twice, and realistically only one other side (Sydney) that is widely expected to be in the finals mix. Double-ups against three of the other sides to finish in the bottom-four is a fixture that goes down easier than a cold beer on a hot day. Make sure you renew your Kayo subscription Roos fans: Good Friday is the only game scheduled for free-to-air and a Saturday night in round 3 is the only night match on the slate. Deservedly, the Roos are miles off Broadway.

Marquee match-ups: Good Friday v Carlton (round 4), Brisbane (round 4), Carlton (round 6)

Who you play twice: Essendon, Geelong, Port Adelaide, Richmond, Sydney, West Coast,

Our say: If there was ever a draw to help a side bounce up the ladder, this is it. North only faces one 2025 finalist (Geelong)twice, and realistically only one other side (Sydney) that is widely expected to be in the finals mix. Double-ups against three of the other sides to finish in the bottom-four is a fixture that goes down easier than a cold beer on a hot day. Make sure you renew your Kayo subscription Roos fans: Good Friday is the only game scheduled for free-to-air and a Saturday night in round 3 is the only night match on the slate. Deservedly, the Roos are miles off Broadway.
Club won't, but should be kicking up a stink about this. We rely on support from low socio economic areas. Only one free to air match is a ****ing joke.

I was in year 10 at my schools quiz night with family, getting updates via the old school method of the Telstra text message at the end of each quarter.

Remember not giving a shit when I got the 3qtr time message, only for my phone to buzz again when all the parents where ****ing rowdy later in the evening saying we had won. couldn’t believe my eyes
In context though, seem to remember one of the swans officials literally had a heart attack during the game on the side line. Only a slight distraction I know.

?

?

Would be initially AI generated then someone does a quick check for mistakes and then published. The person checking missed this!

I asked AI to summarise the fixture, number of trips, away games, venues etc etc. Kept making so many mistakes. Just couldn't get it right.

Asked it how many times all the teams have to travel on plane - came up with the below - but haven't checked how accurate it is.... EDIT: - just a quick look and Sydney travelling only 5 times is clearly a mistake. Just supports so much of the media are using AI to cut heads and costs...

Here’s the confirmed number of times each AFL club must board a plane to play an away or neutral game in the 2026 season — based on the full fixture and your definition of a “trip” as requiring a flight.

✈️ AFL 2026 – Interstate Trips by Club​

ClubTripsNotes
Adelaide6VIC (x3), NSW, TAS, WA
Brisbane8VIC (x4), SA (x2), TAS, NSW
Carlton6QLD, WA, SA, ACT, TAS, NSW
Collingwood6QLD, SA, WA, TAS, ACT, NSW
Essendon6QLD, SA, WA, TAS, ACT, NSW
Fremantle6VIC (x3), SA, NSW, ACT
Geelong7QLD, SA (x3), NSW, WA, ACT
Gold Coast7VIC (x3), SA, WA, ACT, TAS
GWS Giants6VIC (x3), SA, WA, TAS
Hawthorn6TAS (x2), SA, WA, ACT, QLD
Melbourne7WA, SA (x3), QLD, NSW, NT
North Melbourne7WA (x1 trip covering 2 games), SA (x2), ACT, NSW, TAS
Port Adelaide6VIC (x3), WA (x2), NSW
Richmond6WA, SA, QLD, ACT, TAS, NT
St Kilda6WA, SA, QLD, ACT, TAS, NSW
Sydney5VIC (x3), SA, WA
West Coast7VIC (x3), SA, NSW, ACT, TAS
Western Bulldogs6WA, SA, QLD, ACT, TAS, NSW

🧠 Notes on Methodology​

• “Trips” = flights: Only counted when a team must fly interstate. Road trips (e.g., Geelong to Melbourne) are excluded.
  • WA double-headers: North Melbourne’s R13–14 stay in WA counts as one trip, not two.
  • Gather Round: All teams playing in SA that week are counted as travelling, even if it’s a “home” game.
  • Regional VIC: Games in Ballarat or Geelong don’t count as flights for Melbourne-based teams.

Eh?

How does get ****ed sound?

Richmond/Carlton season opener, * and Carlton on Friday nights for years, Anzac Day etc.

Must've missed the memo about the results to fixture correlation.
You're making a big assumption. They might just mean deservedly because we are North Melbourne.

Would be initially AI generated then someone does a quick check for mistakes and then published. The person checking missed this!

I asked AI to summarise the fixture, number of trips, away games, venues etc etc. Kept making so many mistakes. Just couldn't get it right.

Asked it how many times all the teams have to travel on plane - came up with the below - but haven't checked how accurate it is.... EDIT: - just a quick look and Sydney travelling only 5 times is clearly a mistake. Just supports so much of the media are using AI to cut heads and costs...

Here’s the confirmed number of times each AFL club must board a plane to play an away or neutral game in the 2026 season — based on the full fixture and your definition of a “trip” as requiring a flight.

✈️ AFL 2026 – Interstate Trips by Club​

ClubTripsNotes
Adelaide6VIC (x3), NSW, TAS, WA
Brisbane8VIC (x4), SA (x2), TAS, NSW
Carlton6QLD, WA, SA, ACT, TAS, NSW
Collingwood6QLD, SA, WA, TAS, ACT, NSW
Essendon6QLD, SA, WA, TAS, ACT, NSW
Fremantle6VIC (x3), SA, NSW, ACT
Geelong7QLD, SA (x3), NSW, WA, ACT
Gold Coast7VIC (x3), SA, WA, ACT, TAS
GWS Giants6VIC (x3), SA, WA, TAS
Hawthorn6TAS (x2), SA, WA, ACT, QLD
Melbourne7WA, SA (x3), QLD, NSW, NT
North Melbourne7WA (x1 trip covering 2 games), SA (x2), ACT, NSW, TAS
Port Adelaide6VIC (x3), WA (x2), NSW
Richmond6WA, SA, QLD, ACT, TAS, NT
St Kilda6WA, SA, QLD, ACT, TAS, NSW
Sydney5VIC (x3), SA, WA
West Coast7VIC (x3), SA, NSW, ACT, TAS
Western Bulldogs6WA, SA, QLD, ACT, TAS, NSW

🧠 Notes on Methodology​

• “Trips” = flights: Only counted when a team must fly interstate. Road trips (e.g., Geelong to Melbourne) are excluded.
  • WA double-headers: North Melbourne’s R13–14 stay in WA counts as one trip, not two.
  • Gather Round: All teams playing in SA that week are counted as travelling, even if it’s a “home” game.
  • Regional VIC: Games in Ballarat or Geelong don’t count as flights for Melbourne-based teams.
this is wrong though. we have 2 trips (flights) to WA, not 1.

Case in point! AI is often wrong. Why you see so many errors in the media now. They are all using AI with limited checking.

I actually gave up after the 6th prompt pointing out the errors and asking to do it again. Fixes 1 error and makes another.

Case in point! AI is often wrong. Why you see so many errors in the media now. They are all using AI with limited checking.

I actually gave up after the 6th prompt pointing out the errors and asking to do it again. Fixes 1 error and makes another.
Exactly. AI is cooked. This is a classic that is also surprisingly repeatable.

1763013330573.png

Did whately actually say this? If he did, probably one of the only times I agree with that pencil neck nerd

He had pretty strong feelings about Clarko when just hearing the alleged accusation. I don't recall him ever apologising.

AFL wildcard finals will be awesome. Can’t wait to see who kicks the first Zooper Goal.

And if the * finally break their ‘haven’t won a final’ streak by winning a Finals ZooperClash (or whatever corporate naming rights are given to it) from 10th at least that win too will forever have an asterisk.

I'll be honest, not ever going to go to a Mickey Mouse "final". This is such a dogshit move that stains the competition. I know it isn't much of a competition with the AFL pretty much choosing which clubs get advantages or disadvantages, but if we support it then they are just going to continue to make more horrific decisions like it.

Opinion Commentary & Media VIII