Roast Commentators

• Thread starter Thread starter 332docker

Due to some conflicting games coverage at my local, I had the fairly unique experience of watching the Fox coverage of our game against Port while also listening to the racing commentary from the horses, trots and dogs in rural NSW.

Increased my enjoyment of the Freo game no end I must say.

There is a certain unique pleasure in watching Fyfe run on a bouncing thrust along the wing to goal (which sadly he missed) while at the same time hearing the call of the 6th at the greyhounds in Dubbo ("Sleek is running on hard and fast {Fyfe's first bounce}, not biting the other dogs {Fyfe's third bounce}, bounding ahead striding out {Fyfe's fourth bounce} and bouncing free it is sleek so close yet he just misses on the line {as Fyfe's kick goes wide}"). Heaps of noise from the punters following each race too, which was a change from the lack of noise at AFL arvo games in Canberra...

Was a very strange yet rewarding way to watch footy, and was good to be spared the Adelaide locals commentary too..

^^^ Ha Ha! Beautiful!

Just watched After The Bounce on Fox and they are all (bar 1) tipping Saints to beat us next week at Subi! I know they don't pay a lot of attention but seriously, what could that be based on?

Nick Lower kicks a goal and the margin is like 50 points. Wayne Schwass yells out: "Port Adelaide are running away with it!". ******.

Commentry was at an all time low today. Absoulutely shocking display. Freo get to 50 points up and Wayne Shwass is still "Port are still in the, they can sense something". Were barricking hard for port all day

You obviously didn't watch the ninthmond game...

^^^ Ha Ha! Beautiful!

Just watched After The Bounce on Fox and they are all (bar 1) tipping Saints to beat us next week at Subi! I know they don't pay a lot of attention but seriously, what could that be based on?

As they dont have benefits of knowing the teams on a Sunday, they did it different and put in their tips for the whole year before round 1.

Been in a few tipping comps like good fun in hindsight

^^^ Ha Ha! Beautiful!

It wasn't Wayne Schwass was it? Was their reasoning that Freo lost to Port by 52 points whilst Saints continue their good form with a smashing of premiership contenders Melbourne?

Honestly Victorian media figures are all hopeless with the exception of Gerard Healey (cue Victorian telling me my post is merely the Sandgroper inferiority complex :rolleyes:).

It's like it's still 1989 or something.

As they dont have benefits of knowing the teams on a Sunday, they did it different and put in their tips for the whole year before round 1.

Been in a few tipping comps like good fun in hindsight

Ah well that makes sense then. I think they would probably change it now, not that we are certainties but on displayed form we should at least go in favourites.

Due to some conflicting games coverage at my local, I had the fairly unique experience of watching the Fox coverage of our game against Port while also listening to the racing commentary from the horses, trots and dogs in rural NSW.

Increased my enjoyment of the Freo game no end I must say.

There is a certain unique pleasure in watching Fyfe run on a bouncing thrust along the wing to goal (which sadly he missed) while at the same time hearing the call of the 6th at the greyhounds in Dubbo ("Sleek is running on hard and fast {Fyfe's first bounce}, not biting the other dogs {Fyfe's third bounce}, bounding ahead striding out {Fyfe's fourth bounce} and bouncing free it is sleek so close yet he just misses on the line {as Fyfe's kick goes wide}"). Heaps of noise from the punters following each race too, which was a change from the lack of noise at AFL arvo games in Canberra...

Was a very strange yet rewarding way to watch footy, and was good to be spared the Adelaide locals commentary too..

good post.:thumbsu: Greyhounds and Dockers. ;)

Nick Lower kicks a goal and the margin is like 50 points. Wayne Schwass yells out: "Port Adelaide are running away with it!". ******.

I thought I misheard him when he said that, but looks like Schwass is out of his depth as a colour commentator.

Easily the most frustrating game in terms of commentary that I've seen for a long time. Couldn't believe the flog commentator trying to sell memberships for that basketcase.

Never thought we could find a commentator that makes Dwayne Russel sound like a genius.. but Wayne Schwass.. my god

I have never seen so many blatant mistakes made in a call, most have already been listed here.. another one of my favourites was "Keplee Bradley" .. and everytime he says something moronic he never corrects himself, nor does someone call him out.. this is probly due to no one listening to him. Half the time he asks Gerard something, and Gerard has to re-check what he was asking, a clear sign he is blocking him out.

How do we keep ending up with these clowns :rolleyes:

Easily the most frustrating game in terms of commentary that I've seen for a long time. Couldn't believe the flog commentator trying to sell memberships for that basketcase.

Yeah mate, i thought it was the most biased "commentary" i can remember, especially when he was having a bat over Martin doing SFA the whole game while Fyfe was busy tearing it up...

I did in fact watch the richmond game, that too was horrific, i just thought i'd wait till it happened again before posting. Something really needs to be done about this. Schwass is an absolute joke. Russell not far behind.

The scariest thing is, with Foxtel getting a larger slice of the pie in future years its just going to get worse and worse unless they go on a massive recruitment drive.. Surely there a reasonable callers out there?? AFL in general is so far behind the professionalism of other sports when it comes to commentary its not funny.

Bring back Sandy Roberts :D

For such a great sport AFL footy has an amazing lack of decent TV commentators.

We need to go down the American route and get more professional sports broadcasters and less inarticulate brain dead former players.

Better yet, go down the path of having multiple broadcasts like the NBA. Teams have dedicated commentators who generally love and live the team, so each local market gets commentary that is actually knowledgeable about their team. Makes watching a loss way more enjoyable at least. Then the nationally broad-casted games have real callers, who do a great job.

Regarding the weekends call...biased..yes, but toughen up. Who cares? My issue is just the sheer number of errors and misconceptions...e.g. trotting out the Sandi can't take contested marks old-faithful (currently equal 2nd in the league), getting a large number of names wrong etc. So inept it was painful and generally pretty embarrassing for all involved.

This problem sounds familiar....

Supporters over here have been saying the same things as you guys for years... We can't even turn to a simulcast on radio due to the brain dead one sided media... it has gotten better though with a few club men managing to get a spot on our games...

Having heard absolutely zero of WA local commentary is there a bias toward your cross town rivals like here or is it pretty even?

What was wrong with the foxtel commentary on the weekend?

It was great!

"PORT ADELAIDE ARE RUNNING AWAY WITH IT" - (after Fremantle extended their lead to 50 points)

and

"IT DOESN'T MATTER BECAUSE IBBITON KICKS THE GOAL" - (as Broughton kicks the goal)

This problem sounds familiar....

Supporters over here have been saying the same things as you guys for years... We can't even turn to a simulcast on radio due to the brain dead one sided media... it has gotten better though with a few club men managing to get a spot on our games...

Having heard absolutely zero of WA local commentary is there a bias toward your cross town rivals like here or is it pretty even?

Yeah pretty much all the commentary is biased towards the Eagles over here. ABC is ok but barely.