compare EPL clubs to AFL clubs

Re: compare AFL clubs to football clubs

I reckon Richmond is a better fit for Newcastle, Tottenham for Geelong.

Newcastle always start the season in disarray, get their s**t together (usually after sacking the manager) and come home strongly for a mid table finish - ninthmond. Both have clowns in charge, perpetually a circus off field. Newcastle burn money on rubbish recruits, Richmond piss away draft picks.

Tottenham and Geelong both start seasons well (August/March Champions) before falling back to mid table mediocrity. Generally quiet and stable off field. Supporters lap up "false dawns" over and over again and believe this time they are really going to break into the top 4 on the back of the great new batch of kids only to be dissapointed once again. Geelong haven't finished in the bottom 4 in my lifetime, Tottenham haven't been relegated in my memory either.

Explain to me how Adelaide = Everton first. Terrible. Your list was a shocker. Don't take it personally, deal with it.

I mentioned the Celtic/Port Adelaide comparison because football does exist outside of England and it actually made sense - sorry to burst your bubble.

I am aware soccer exists out of england but it doesnt matter that wasnt the criteria, i obviously made adelaide everton because i was running out of teams to choose from. if i said compare AFL clubs to any soccer clubs i wouldnt have made that comparison. how about you make another list where you compare AFL clubs to EPL clubs and youll find out how hard it is

how about you make another list where you compare AFL clubs to EPL clubs and youll find out how hard it is

9 of the 16 AFL clubs I did in fact compare to EPL clubs.

Your list sucked. Get over it. :)

Arsenal - Geelong
Chelsea - West Coast
Liverpool - Sydney
Man Utd - Essendon
Blackburn - Port Adeaide
Tottenham - Collingwood
Newcastle - Fremantle
Aston Villa - Bulldogs
Portsmouth - Hawthorn
West Ham - Brisbane
Reading - Kangaroos
Fulham - Richmond
Wigan - Melbourne
Bolton - Adelaide
Everton - St.Kilda
Charlton - Carlton

Liverpool - Sydney, inconsistant but play well in the big matches

Surely it's Liverpool and Collingwood?

Both clubs live largely on past glories, although both fluked major wins (Liverpool CL in 2005, Collingwood flag in 1990).

Both sets of fans are seen as part of an uneducated criminal underclass where nothing is ever their fault.

Both sets of fans constantly feel hard done by.

Both sets of fans happily dish it out but sook like crazy if it's given back.

Both clubs feel that the only reason why other clubs win things is because the other teams had some unfair advantage.

great list by dyertribe
i know its EPL, but had this argument with a mate yesterday about who you would compare leeds too, i was sort of leaning towards carlton of 12 months ago, he thought richmond
thoughts?

I still don't get why we're Geelong.

* we don't play in a regional town
* our fans aren't country bogans
* we don't wear blue
* we have won the league multiple times in the last forty years
* when we've made cup finals (grand finals) we've won most of them

Explain it to me.

Update
Wondering what it looks like now?

Hawthorn - Man U most successful club since afl/epl era. Coaches very opinionated.

Other teams that fill in the gap for recent success

Geel- Chelsea

Syd- man city

richmond- Liverpool Rowdy fans historically successful clubs who had droughts but are now back. Champions league gf\ premiership

Carl- everton the blues last bit of silverware 95.

Essendon- Arsenal one can’t win a final, the other Europe. Traditional coaches who’s game style doesn’t work. Wenger now out, other under the pump

Dogs- lec city I guess

Coll- bit of a gap filler Tottenham maybe?

Arsenal - Geelong, can play extremley attrative footy at times.
giphy.gif

Geel- Chelsea
giphy.gif

i hope this hasn't been done before, probably has, but oh well

Arsenal - Geelong, can play extremley attrative footy at times.
Chelsea - Collingwood, ####loads of money.
Liverpool - Sydney, inconsistant but play well in the big matches
Man Utd - West coast, premiers
Blackburn - Port Adeaide, dirty sides
Tottenham - W. Bulldogs, classy outfit, breaking into comp.
Newcastle - Fremantle, always showing good signs never producing the goods
Aston Villa - Melbourne, shown good signs in the past have struggled of late
Portsmouth - Hawthorn, starting to come good
West Ham - Essendon, big names not producing
Sheffield Utd - Kangaroos, battlers.
Middlesbrough - Richmond, years of mediocrity
Wigan - Brisbane, some good talent
Bolton - St kilda, trying to step up to next level
Everton - Adelaide
Charlton - Carlton, have some good young talent but still s**t.

hard to do given the even nature of the AFL compared to the dominance of four teams in the EPL
q
Nostradamus