Rumour Conca?

• Thread starter Thread starter Ghost Pig

Theres a little part of me, by little i mean tiny that thinks maybe, just maybe we're still into that.

Its a very Ross Lyon, Steve Rosich, Chris Bond thing to do by nab him while eveyone is distracted by other things.

Can you imagine if we beat them in the GF and then days later he announces hes coming to Freo. :eek:

I think the right thing to do for him would be to play for us in the GF ;)

Theres a little part of me, by little i mean tiny that thinks maybe, just maybe we're still into that.

Its a very Ross Lyon, Steve Rosich, Chris Bond thing to do by nab him while eveyone is distracted by other things.

Can you imagine if we beat them in the GF and then days later he announces hes coming to Freo. :eek:

RTB said we wouldnt, I can not see why he would categorically say he was not interested. I am going with Mitch Thorp.

Right well your comparing Sutcliffe and michie to Conca? He has the potential to be a lot better than those two. On exposed form he is better than a lot of our young midfielders that he would be competing with
Well we already have our solid in & unders sorted, he'd be pushing out the guys that pinch hit in there, your Neale's & Clancees etc, Another hard in & under player just isn't high on our priority list, especially for the trade value he'd warrant.

A minor bugbear of mine, just because he can play a rebounding role doesn't actually make Conca a defender, will be a gun mid for whoever he plays for and I'd love him at Freo.

For an inside mid he also has very neat skills, I don't like the prospect of what we'd need to give up to make a trade work out though. Richmond will be throwing big bucks at him now that Martin's ****ing off to secure his services and they won't want to part with another highly valued top 10 pick.

Ross didn't say we wouldn't chase Buddy. He told Clarkson it wasn't us chasing him at that point in time. I think it was Chris Bond who said that Buddy didn't fit our salary cap plans.

That's a polite way of saying "We don't have a COLA (looking at you Sydney/GWS) and we don't cheat the cap (looking at you Adelaide/Carlton)"

As far as the current AFL CEO goes, he would have Chris.Bond@fremantlefc.com.au go straight to junk mail.

That's a guess at his email address, please don't spam the man if it's his actual address.

Is it just me or do others feel that the posters who are pushing for a KPF or KPD above anybody else & won't even consider any other option are the kinds of fans who yell at the players to "kick it long"?

Surely you need to look at Conca and go through due process if he has indicated he's keen to head home. If doesn't happen so be it but if it can be done at the right price you'd be a fool not to consider.

Is it just me or do others feel that the posters who are pushing for a KPF or KPD above anybody else & won't even consider any other option are the kinds of fans who yell at the players to "kick it long"?
Reggie's an self-professed "kick it long" believer and I don't see him bogarting this idea. Just as i'm not in the same category and I am knocking the idea of going after Conca, not sure where you draw the correlations to this thought process mate.

I would think that IF it's true we have offered Conca 4 years on decent money, then I reckon we must have some tall guy locked away on FA, and there will be an announcement a la Danyle Pearce quite early on in trade week.

I can't see how we would otherwise be chasing a smallish midfielder that we will have to trade for (possibly our first rounder + player), unless we have already addressed our key need for height through other means... ie Free Agency.

Makes things very interesting indeed (if it's true).
Was thinking the same thing. Wonder if it could be Aaron Black.

A really left-field thought; Perhaps Mundy has already indicated that when he becomes eligible for FA then he wants to pursue it. Probably unlikely as Mundy has been a loyal servant for us, but it is the only type of reason I could see us going hard for him. Good player mind you.

The other thought regarding this rumour is that he seems a perfect fit for WC in terms of their needs, and only a "bonus" to us, meaning I would be surprised if we would win out in a bidding war for his services.

A really left-field thought; Perhaps Mundy has already indicated that when he becomes eligible for FA then he wants to pursue it. Probably unlikely as Mundy has been a loyal servant for us, but it is the only type of reason I could see us going hard for him. Good player mind you.

Mundy is married to a WA girl now though and they just had a bub didn't they?

Even if he wanted to leave I can't see him managing to drag a new, first-time Mum away from her support network like that.

hey if we snag Black and Conca (and why not throw buddy in there) I will build a shrine to Bondy in my backyard and name my first child after him...

.. although Bond would be an odd first name

Incidentally - Black is contracted to end 2014..

hey if we snag Black and Conca (and why not throw buddy in there) I will build a shrine to Bondy in my backyard and name my first child after him...

Give it to your son as a last name then.

I think you know what the first name has to be.

Mundy is married to a WA girl now though and they just had a bub didn't they?

Even if he wanted to leave I can't see him managing to drag a new, first-time Mum away from her support network like that.
Man, we gotta get those WA gals cracking. Next stop, Nate The Knife Fyfe girls! :hearts: :hearts: :hearts: :hearts: :hearts:

Incidentally - Black is contracted to end 2014..
You could call it Bondy's Building.