Toast Congrats Mick

• Thread starter Thread starter jmac70

Micks comments about Bucks not wanting him in the box or talking to his coaches makes zero sense. Mick quit on the day of the 2011 GF.

I find it difficult to believe they would’ve been talking about the following years coaching set up with comments like that while 2011 season was happening.

He is the definition of cutting off your nose to spite your face. Was willing to self destruct our 2011 season because he wasn’t getting what he wanted.

Instead of having the sense to know the best revenge was to win a flag he couldn’t help himself and chose the childish path. To this day he still continues to behave like a spoiled 14yr old girl.
Even worse, a spoilt 14 year old boy

Well done Malthouse, a passionate and successful coach. His players mostly loved him, and even the ones who didn't could usually work with him (Heath Scotland, someone I admire deeply was a rare exception).

At Richmond he kept massive egos in check as the leader of the backline after leaving the tragically flawed St Kilda.

At Footscray he got good footy from a poor list and helped Hardy to an undeserved Brownlow.

At West Coast he turned a talented bunch of gutless showponies into a murderous machine that probably should've won more flags.

At Collingwood he put the heart back into a proud club and after a generous contract extension won a brave flag with a mix of class and insanity.

At Carlton he was given no chance.

He may be the kind of guy that does toss people aside at times: Bucks is dead honest, and if he says Mick burned him it happened. No doubt Mick has his side of the story too, but it seems undeniable he could and did toss blokes under the bus. If you can drag yourself out of the self indulgent muck of Moorabbin and succeed at the selfish maelstrom of Richmond, if you can survive the pressure of a one club town in Perth and the pressure of the biggest club of all then you have character and ability. He must have flaws, but this is a Football Hall of Fame and he earned his spot as a coach who could get good football out of head cases as well as champs, and given a great list he produced great football.

Beautifully written.

I just wanna take this time to celebrate the greatness of Mick Malthouse.

What a phenomenal Collingwood man. Barracked for us as a kid. Then live the dream coaching us. Coaching us to the most dominate period since McHale.

I could go on forever. Never in my life has Collingwood had such a successful period than under Mighty Mick. You sir, are an immortal. You and McHale are peas in a pod

Well done Malthouse, a passionate and successful coach. His players mostly loved him, and even the ones who didn't could usually work with him (Heath Scotland, someone I admire deeply was a rare exception).

At Richmond he kept massive egos in check as the leader of the backline after leaving the tragically flawed St Kilda.

At Footscray he got good footy from a poor list and helped Hardy to an undeserved Brownlow.

At West Coast he turned a talented bunch of gutless showponies into a murderous machine that probably should've won more flags.

At Collingwood he put the heart back into a proud club and after a generous contract extension won a brave flag with a mix of class and insanity.

At Carlton he was given no chance.

He may be the kind of guy that does toss people aside at times: Bucks is dead honest, and if he says Mick burned him it happened. No doubt Mick has his side of the story too, but it seems undeniable he could and did toss blokes under the bus. If you can drag yourself out of the self indulgent muck of Moorabbin and succeed at the selfish maelstrom of Richmond, if you can survive the pressure of a one club town in Perth and the pressure of the biggest club of all then you have character and ability. He must have flaws, but this is a Football Hall of Fame and he earned his spot as a coach who could get good football out of head cases as well as champs, and given a great list he produced great football.

That’s the ****ing thing though, every coach has to “leave people on the side of the road”. It’s part of the job. And for Nathan to carry on and say “Malthouse wanted it his way, he was dogmatic... and I as captain instructed the other with his orders...” like seriously. WTF. That’s what coaches do. And that’s what captains do, implement what the coach wants.

Isn’t that what Pendlebury does for Nathan? And if not, wtf? Actually, that kind of explains the last 9 years...

Worsfold and Maxwell love Malthouse. Premiership captains. Why is that? There is like two people that don’t like Malthouse, Hardie and Buckley.... doesn’t that tell you everything you need to know?

Yes Malthouse had ego, but every football person does. The difference is Malthouse ultimately only gave a shit for winning a flag, where as Nathan just wants to secure his job as Coach for the next 5 years and be adored as a Collingwood hero.

We ain’t winning shit under Buckley. Never gonna happen. A fraud is a fraud is a fraud. Take that to the bank

That’s the ******* thing though, every coach has to “leave people on the side of the road”. It’s part of the job. And for Nathan to carry on and say “Malthouse wanted it his way, he was dogmatic... and I as captain instructed the other with his orders...” like seriously. WTF. That’s what coaches do. And that’s what captains do, implement what the coach wants.

Isn’t that what Pendlebury does for Nathan? And if not, wtf? Actually, that kind of explains the last 9 years...

Worsfold and Maxwell love Malthouse. Premiership captains. Why is that? There is like two people that don’t like Malthouse, Hardie and Buckley.... doesn’t that tell you everything you need to know?

Yes Malthouse had ego, but every football person does. The difference is Malthouse ultimately only gave a **** for winning a flag, where as Nathan just wants to secure his job as Coach for the next 5 years and be adored as a Collingwood hero.

We ain’t winning **** under Buckley. Never gonna happen. A fraud is a fraud is a fraud. Take that to the bank

First, it's the other way round, it is Malthouse who doesn't like Buckley.

Second, if Malthouse put the club above himself then we would of won in 2011.

And Finally, you just showed the kind of character that you really are, preferring Buckley to fail than Collingwood winning another premiership under him.

He is the definition of cutting off your nose to spite your face. Was willing to self destruct our 2011 season because he wasn’t getting what he wanted.

Instead of having the sense to know the best revenge was to win a flag he couldn’t help himself and chose the childish path. To this day he still continues to behave like a spoiled 14yr old girl.
Nailed it reg - therein lies the core of his abject failure to behave with justice and dignity at the Pies.

Self indulgent and totally immoral.

Mick first, last and alwa

And Finally, you just showed the kind of character that you really are, preferring Buckley to fail than Collingwood winning another premiership under him.
Some of the so called supporters who post here are simply total tossers mate just ignore them.

Reckon Bucks has taken a leaf out off MM books and playing us with a big diversion from all the Beams rumors and **** trade out there. And it worked he took the back page and Beams will be safely tucked away in Tasmania soon!! No rush to surgery I see. There are too many rumors swirling about Beams, bikie gangs, AFL players and gambling to dismiss. A play out of MM books by Bucks. Not sure I like it. Tim Watson says Brisbane must be very very very happy right now. Thought Tim's reporting of the Tasmanian surgery was less than straight too. Time for the AFL to tackle problem gambling and AFL players with greater ferocity. Gambling and AFL have become interwoven.
It hasn't slipped past you that betting agencies are major sponsors of the AFL???

Talk about hypocritical.

Clearly the surgery is needed and I hope Beams comes back healthy of body and mind. As to the gambling we will find out down the track if the rumors are true and by then it will be old history. Go Maggies.

I'm an MM fan. My take is that he was a truly great coach. A master mentor who knew how to pull the strings to get the best out of people beneath him. He became the role and the role became him. And it became him to such a degree that he is now incapable of not being above others. Thus he can't have peers; they are threats who undermine his position of authority. He devoted himself so much to the role that he ihas become incapable of stepping out of the role. He's the equivalent of one those old extremely dedicated pre-school teachers who talks to everyone as though they are 5 years old.

Sorry SR total disagreement on MM - I watched that f@cker play and I know where he lives - he lives in the sovereign state of 'I'm Michael Malthouse and I'll screw you every which way just because I can'.

He did it on the field every time the umps backs were turned, he did it to the journos every time they asked a difficult question and he did it to each and every sorry player that wasn't one of his 'favorites'.

Most of all he did it to his 'favorites' - allowing them to trash their lives off the field without any attempt at mentoring them to be better people.

A coach who could get results yes . .

But a total scumbag of a human being - if the term human even applies.

Sorry SR total disagreement on MM - I watched that f@cker play and I know where he lives - he lives in the sovereign state of 'I'm Michael Malthouse and I'll screw you every which way just because I can'.

He did it on the field every time the umps backs were turned, he did it to the journos every time they asked a difficult question and he did it to each and every sorry player that wasn't one of his 'favorites'.

Most of all he did it to his 'favorites' - allowing them to trash their lives off the field without any attempt at mentoring them to be better people.

A coach who could get results yes . .

But a total scumbag of a human being - if the term human even applies.
But other that that he’s a good bloke :eek: :D

Lol Saintly I am grateful for the flag but it has come at quite a cost as any of the premiership winning players at both Coasters and Magpies would admit in private.

Look at the stories coming out regularly about ex West Coast players regularly splashed across the headlines - this is directly because of the culture he allowed to flourish and the damage it has done to those young men will hound them for the rest of their lives.

Look at the dramas that plagued our club under his watch with players going off the rails left, right and center.

So in answer now to all of those 'winning is the only thing' people.

GROW UP

It's how you win that determines your worth as a person.

I'm an MM fan. My take is that he was a truly great coach. A master mentor who knew how to pull the strings to get the best out of people beneath him. He became the role and the role became him. And it became him to such a degree that he is now incapable of not being above others. Thus he can't have peers; they are threats who undermine his position of authority. He devoted himself so much to the role that he ihas become incapable of stepping out of the role. He's the equivalent of one those old extremely dedicated pre-school teachers who talks to everyone as though they are 5 years old.
I wonder if you would change your opinion if you knew
* he only ever spoke to 5 players (when he spoke about his boys, it was this group to which he was referring)
* he would never discuss with players (outside the blessed 5) the performance of player, even at end of the year
* he would never speak personally to a player that was dropped (left it to Assistant Coaches)
* he never discussed coaching with Bucks, even after he agreed to the hand over
* he requested that Bucks not be allowed into the box on game days

I just wanna take this time to celebrate the greatness of Mick Malthouse.

What a phenomenal Collingwood man. Barracked for us as a kid. Then live the dream coaching us. Coaching us to the most dominate period since McHale.

I could go on forever. Never in my life has Collingwood had such a successful period than under Mighty Mick. You sir, are an immortal. You and McHale are peas in a pod

One bloke coached 714 games for 8 flags, the other 718 for 3... one bloke coached the Pies for 46 years for 8 flags, the other 11 years for 1... seems to me one of those peas is considerably smaller than the other...
There was this fellow, Phonse Kyne.

Coach:

in 14 seasons.

272 games coached with 161 wins and TWO Premierships

Our second most successful coach.

But non supporters wouldn’t really know that.

(Not you Mukesh)

That’s the ******* thing though, every coach has to “leave people on the side of the road”. It’s part of the job. And for Nathan to carry on and say “Malthouse wanted it his way, he was dogmatic... and I as captain instructed the other with his orders...” like seriously. WTF. That’s what coaches do. And that’s what captains do, implement what the coach wants.

Yes Malthouse had ego, but every football person does. The difference is Malthouse ultimately only gave a **** for winning a flag, where as Nathan just wants to secure his job as Coach for the next 5 years and be adored as a Collingwood hero.

We ain’t winning **** under Buckley. Never gonna happen. A fraud is a fraud is a fraud. Take that to the bank

You spin a good yarn, pity it's all horseshit.

It's deeply satisfying when the quality of the responses to an abrasive post is such that moderating is redundant. I tip my hat to you all, you know who you are. :thumbsu:

I think he is mm trolling us ha

Who do you really barrack for, it’s not collingwood that’s proven by this post.
You must live a sad live if you do