Toast Congrats Mick

• Thread starter Thread starter jmac70

Congrats to Brad Hardie.

When he was on, he was some player.

Those early days particularly he was such a good defender.

Odd at times, but really staunch when he was playing well.

I was at a celebrity memorabilia auction for a charity (in 1990 I think). Hardie was playing with the bears at the time but was down in melbourne for a game the same weekend.

Part way through the auction he walks in dropping off his playing gear all signed. He was never asked to contribute by the organisers, but had heard about it from someone and wanted to help out anyway.

Decent human being.

Hahaha seriously?? Think you betting on the wrong horse mate. I’d take Malthouse and the Rat Pack in the trenches ever day of the week over Bucks and the poncey Pendles brigade.

My god how short the memories are of Nathan.

He’s Mr “I signed with north Melbourne first and then screwed the bears, and then burnt all my team mates carrying about how awesome I am, and then pinged my hammies cause I over train like an idiot, and then white anted the coach as soon as I retired even though I had no coaching experience and then took 7 years to figure out what the hell im supposed to do (well actually just decided to hire Maxwell to fix all the major problems for me)”.

Oh and remember when it looked like he wouldn’t get reappointed in 2017 - the media leaks saying he might not coach the club cause “Collingwood” hadn’t treated him well over the journey???

Yet somehow his ascension to head coach was all about the good of Collingwood. And now he’s on radio saying he’s just another one of the bodies Mick left on the side of the road? Good lord, play the victim much Nathan? How many bodies you on the side road mate? How’s Paul Williams going? How’s the Rat Pack going? No wonder none of your team mates like ya, no wonder you got the nickname FIGJAM. Good lord, what a ******* ego.

I’ll take a premiership coach all day over this Buckley ego manic.

giphy.gif

Full time bf flogs celebrating mediocrity in the coaching ranks fail to hit the target
Saw some one chirping.

Didn’t bother reading.

There is 100 souv shops in Oakleigh run by greeks... and the best souv is sold by the Charcoal Chicken in Atherton Street next to the pizza shop which is run by a nice Asian dude.
Chips in a souvlaki are a no no. who thought up this monstrocity

Clearly you have not been to Greece
. that's the norm re.. they're f great re.

Hahaha seriously? That’s what you take from me calling out Nathan’s BS? Wow.

This thread is meant to be appreciation for the effort, achievement and great career of Mick Malthouse. He did great things for Richmond, Footscray, West Coast, Collingwood and Carlton. Won finals with all four clubs he coached.

Now for Collingwood, Malthouse took us to finals what 8 seasons outta 12. That phenomenal. Instead of praising his hard work and skill in this thread, those with a bais toward Buckley come on here to be negative.

Then when I counter your negative attitudes on malthouse, giving you a different perspective on Buckley’s tenure (and actually a more accurate account) and don’t toe the party line, you all claim foul and play the victim. Just like Nathan did on radio today.

Trust me mate Collingwood since I was born. And when people, ungrateful supporters, take their venom out on Malthouse - the guy who dragged us up from a wooden spoon and carry on like Buckley is Jesus - I call out the BS. You can’t take a tunnel visioned approach to MM and then not use the same criteria to asssess Nathan.

What Nathan said this morning was selfish, egotistical and not in the best interests of Collingwood. You can’t sugar coat it. The day after MM is inducted in the hall of fame he decides to unload? Wtf?

Nathan’s focus should be 100% on winning the 2019 premiership. And today took his eye massively off the prize. How bout ya spend more time implementing a red time strategy and less time talking drivel on the radio Nathan... cause that would be in the best interests of Collingwood ... thanks babe!

You're just a contrarian, you get a giddy thrill out of going against common beliefs. In MM's heyday you would have been all over him. Nothing you have ever said has been at all popular or agreed with. Therefore i think you just go out of your way to wind people up and even you don't believe all the crap you dribble.

You are unloading all the horseshit you would expect of a non-Pies fan on bay 13.

I was there in 2002 and left the ground extremely proud - thanks Mick.
I was there in 2003 and left the ground shattered.
I was there in 2010 and left the ground over-joyed - thanks Mick.
I was there in 2011 and left the ground wondering "what if" - thanks Mick :huh:
I was there in 2018 and left the ground extremely proud - thanks Bucks.

You left the ground in 2018 extremely proud? One of many emotions you felt after the game.. or just extremely proud.. that override every other emotion you felt after the game re?

Ade re.

just an observation here... from memory Brisbane kicked quite a few "red time" goals in the 2002 GF - just before half time I think and in red time / time on in other quarters... I was there
That may yso, but they weren't red time goals, because the stupid term wasnt used until 2012. Thus in his whole coaching career, Mick did not concede a single red time goal. That's how he explained it to me anyway.

But yeah under Mick we played a really high energy style and often tired late in quarters and thus copped goals late in quarters

Three-time AFL premiership coach Mick Malthouse has revealed he tried to reach out to Nathan Buckley two years ago when his AFL coaching career was in jeopardy, but said he never received a response.

Who would blame bucks, at the time, Malthouse the narcissist thought he was dancing on bucks coaching grave....
What bucks needed Salthouse was you reaching out to him when he needed it the most,and that was the beginning of the succession plan, the plan that you endorsed before you allowed your massive ego go first an the club second....
All through it bucks has handled the Salthouse digs and hidden agenda with utmost class and I so hope bucks gets his and our flag for the ultimate dancing on his grave....
Yes you did win a flag Salty but you turned on the club and for me that’s unforgivable

Really??

Ask Eddie about how well loved Mick is after Eddie saved his coaching career only to have Mick trash him and the club in the media at every opportunity.

The phrase 'rose coloured glasses' applies here I believe.

Did l mention loved by Eddie or Bucks? I am sure as members, supporters, past players have alot of respect, even love for Mick, in terms of bringing a premiership to the club, and basically brought the club from cellar dwellers to play in 4 grand finals. I don't like as a bloke, but l love what he did for the footy club.

One of those scenarios where a dual approach is required - talk for the daughter and flowers 💐 for the mother - take the long view - 10 years to win both over - Pie fans good at long term view :(

The mother in law will still give you the evil eye after 10 yrs re..

I'm Greek.. just letting yas know if youz dont know already and that re.. but how does one it their souvs with tsatsiki re.. when the paws open up.. ksehaseta re.. smell like an aplito re.. even Creed Aventus won't save ya re.
Are you Greek? :eek:

Really?

Since when re?

:p:p:p

The mother in law will still give you the evil eye after 10 yrs re..
Probably because you’re giving her daughter the evil eye even after 10 years.

And she loves it.