Congrats...

• Thread starter Thread starter Jade

Jade

Smug lives here.
Chess Club Tournament Winner 10k Posts 30k Posts Essendon Player Sponsor 2018 - Colyer, Fantasia, McDonald-Tipungwuti and McKernan BeanCoiNFT Investor Essendon Player Sponsor 2017 Essendon Player Sponsor 2016 Essendon Player Sponsor 2014 Essendon Player Sponsor 2013 Essendon Player Sponsor 2012 Essendon Player Sponsor 2011 Podcaster Essendon Player Sponsor 2015 Meet-Up Master
That was an ass kicking of the highest order. Two different classes of teams out there.

Whilst I wouldn't go as far as to say I hope you go all the way (;)) I can certainly see a team that is absolutely gunning for the premiership.

Well done.

Thanks mate, keep your chin up, once you get rid of that arrogant, grumpy twat that sits in the coaches box, things will turn around, all be it slowly.

You had some promising kids out there tonight, but you just need to get your coaching staff right, having 2 assistants quit in the same week doesn't say a lot for the senior coach.

Come watch us in September, if anything, we will be entertaining.

Bombers have a lot to look forward too if theyre managed the right way and Mattys is right, it all starts in the coaches box and on the selection table.

How players like prismall get dropped is beyond me. Houli after two weeks, give is a rest

Good luck for the rest of 2010 and see you on Anzac day :thumbsu:

Well done. Gun team. Been to every game this year and boys it's been a hell of a ride.

As jade said, you're a hell of a chance of taking out the flag, but just gotta hope the Colliwobbles don't show up.

Thanks mate, keep your chin up, once you get rid of that arrogant, grumpy twat that sits in the coaches box, things will turn around, all be it slowly.

You had some promising kids out there tonight, but you just need to get your coaching staff right, having 2 assistants quit in the same week doesn't say a lot for the senior coach.

Come watch us in September, if anything, we will be entertaining.

Funny thing is, I don't think it will be slow. If we get rid of the coach that seems to act contrary to popular opinion, I think we'll do ok.

No offense mate, but you are kidding yourself if you think things will turn around quickly for the Bombers with the list they have. Knights isn't much chop, but that team would have got beaten by ~100 regardless of who they had sitting in the box tonight.

But yeah, don't mean to turn this into a fight because it's a thread made in good spirits. Just think Bombers supporters are putting far too much blame on one bloke, when really the problem lies with the players that were drafted by the previous administration.
Knights shot himself in the foot by over-achieving in his first year and getting a team that clearly wasn't finals material, into the top eight. He set an expectation with the fans from that point, when really you would have been better off bottoming out last year and cleaning out some of the rabble, giving Knights an opportunity to build from the ground up (although supposedly he won the job by spruiking the list and stating he could have them challenging within a few years, clearly an oversight on his behalf).

Anyway that's probably all for another thread...

The thing that struck me is the low turnout of Essendon supporters. I rocked up with about 20 minutes to the start, no issues getting my normal seat in the MCC on the 2nd level.

Essendon's major issue is their midfield is close to the worst in the AFL. Jobe Watson is a good player, he is no star though. I rate Stanton but he cannot handle a tag. Apart from that, Micheal Hurley is extremely overrated (KPP stocks).

Essendon supporters are wrong in blaming Knights. Sheedy is responsible for this mess.

The thing that struck me is the low turnout of Essendon supporters. I rocked up with about 20 minutes to the start, no issues getting my normal seat in the MCC on the 2nd level.

Essendon's major issue is their midfield is close to the worst in the AFL. Jobe Watson is a good player, he is no star though. I rate Stanton but he cannot handle a tag. Apart from that, Micheal Hurley is extremely overrated (KPP stocks).

Essendon supporters are wrong in blaming Knights. Sheedy is responsible for this mess.

Have to disagree with you there, mate. Hurley is young and shows plenty. He is Essendon's Ben Reid. Watch out for him in a couple of years - and watch out, for the next several years, his battles with Dawes (ala Carey v Jackovich). Reckon that'll be fun to watch as it develops.

Thanks Guys, appreciate the comments.

Don't think Essendon is a bad team at all. I really like some of your players, Zaharakis, Melkshim, Slattery last night and think you have a good lot of talls when they are injured.

Think it will turn quickly, you have to go through the bad to enjoy the good.....

Thanks Guys, appreciate the comments.

Don't think Essendon is a bad team at all. I really like some of your players, Zaharakis, Melkshim, Slattery last night and think you have a good lot of talls when they are injured.

Think it will turn quickly, you have to go through the bad to enjoy the good.....
I wish our supporters could see that. Very underrated out our club. Most people want him out the door which is a shame.

No offense mate, but you are kidding yourself if you think things will turn around quickly for the Bombers with the list they have. Knights isn't much chop, but that team would have got beaten by ~100 regardless of who they had sitting in the box tonight.

Team =/= List

The young talls they have drafted have shown heaps, in spurts. Bit of experience and consistency may see Essendon have a quality spine very soon. And theres been a lot to like with many of the young players brought in this year

Of course, it takes the right coach to turn potential into success...

I rate Hurley myself but this is much in line with my thinking. As well as what Invig was also saying above.

Knights is not a bad coach and he deserves little blame if any. Essendon's playing list is really, really aweful. Watson is quality, then a few others are "solid" players but the list really needs a pretty serious revamp. A fresh slate of KPPs is needed as well as some quality inside mids to complement your fast outside runners.

I love watching the Bombers play and their style of play is fun to watch, but there is a very long way to go.

I'm with Jade

I was totally in awe of the Collingwood game plan, the fact that they work for each other, the fact that they know there role, the foot skills of all the players, the way they work when they don't have possession.

All class and certainly one to watch come September..

The fact that you have guys like Beams, Wellingham, Blair, Reid, Sidebottom. All young players keeping older players out of the side and doing a very, very good job..

I was in awe, like I said earlier, just a quick note: Dayne Beams will become one of the top 5 players in the comp in a few years time, I rate him that highly..

Well done Pies :thumbsu: good luck for September (till the Grand Final of course :p)

I watch a fair bit of the Bombers owing to my lil bro who is a supporter and I have to say that last night was easily the worst game I have seen him play. He'll be a gun KP at either end. All young KPP's take time to develop and are bound to have some stinkers early on.

I wish our supporters could see that. Very underrated out our club. Most people want him out the door which is a shame.

I see him in a very similar way to Toovey. Much maligned BP whose value not many people appreciate. In fact with your small defensive stocks you'd be stupid to get rid of him. He's one of the few that is actually accountable.

I want to HFF's list. Brent Macaffer looks like a very promising player. He has shown alot the last couple of weeks. I still remember him kicking an early goal during Anzac Day last year and doing nothing for the rest of the game, but he has really improved. :thumbsu:

The Bombers obviously know they are deficient in quality midfielders and have rumoured to be chasing them pretty hard off field.

For the future, they have good rucks in Hille and Ryder, both can also play forward. A good young spine with Pears, Hurley and Gumbleton. If Hurley doesn't become a top 20 AFL player within 3 years, I will be very surprised. So they have valuable building blocks to build a side around.

What they do lack however, as Tim Watson pointed out last night, is defensive pressure. They just do not put enough pressure on the opposition. And IMO this comes back to the coach. If you are deficient in this area at the Pies, you don't get a game.

Defensive pressure is one of the easier skills to teach and has a lot to do with both tactics and mindset. So I can understand Bomber's fans targetting the coach. The Bombers are great to watch when they are up and about, but all good football teams are very good defensively. That's where the Bombers struggle.

IMO it's quite possible that if you added 2 very good midfielders and improve the Bomber's defensive skills they could improve dramatically over the next few years.