Roast Congratulations SEN, you finally broke me.

Who would you like to see return?

• KB

Votes: 33 55.9%
  • Marko and the Ox

Votes: 17 28.8%
  • Finey

Votes: 27 45.8%
  • Hutchy is Jabba the huts body double

Votes: 5 8.5%
  • All of the above.

Votes: 4 6.8%

I agree and put Maher in that category, knows a lot about different sports. It’s embarrassing listening to Garry and Tim for example.
Yep and this is what I hated about Mark Allen and David Schwarz. They may have had chemistry, but their knowledge of anything outside their own one personal passion was absurd.
Allen was clueless about anything other than golf and it showed.
Watson and Lyon are horrendous.
At least with KB, he can hold his own in most conversations.

Nov 23, 2000
Country Victoria
I understand the dislike of Maher, but there's far worse out there. I can tolerate him quite easily.
With KB, at least he shows a knowledge of sports other than footy.
He's very good with racing, boxing, athletics an a heap of other sports. The same can't be said of many, many others.
I think Gerard Wankly takes the prize.
Its like that every opinion he has he thinks his audience is hanging onto everything that comes out of his mouth.
He's even worse on 360 with his half sober co-wanka.

Its like that every opinion he has he thinks his audience is hanging onto everything that comes out of his mouth.
With Whateley, the thing I can handle about him is he has a decent knowledge of more than one sport.
But I do agree. He was insufferable on 360 this year and is fast becoming that on radio as well.

May 17, 2004
Punt Rd ‘17? ‘19?
I understand the dislike of Maher, but there's far worse out there. I can tolerate him quite easily.
He's very good with racing, boxing, athletics an a heap of other sports. The same can't be said of many, many others.
Yea I don’t mind Maher and seem to be crusoe in not minding whatley. I actually reckon they’re close to getting it right with whately , specialist broadcaster that has a wide range of knowledge on sports without the boofhead element that pretends to know about tennis or racing for example when he really knows nothing and is kidding no one
He does hold onto fairly conservative views which clearly agaitate , the polar opposite would prob agaitate even more so not sure what the answer is

May 17, 2004
Punt Rd ‘17? ‘19?
SEN struggling. Ironically a lot of people pot Andy Maher but he’s one of the only shining lights.
His raw almost schoolboy like passion for sport and it’s participants makes his style work , he makes his show about the subject and guests which is why front bar works too. He knows he’s a bit of a dork and doesn’t pretend not to be and let’s guests or co hosts go their merry way whilst just giving a little steer here or there. Basically he doesn’t make it about him.
KB has a great way of interacting with his different co hosts too but they’ve taken that from him the idiots.
Good post , not sure where kB has gone wrong , prob past it , the producer has a lot to answer for whoever the hell that is. it is such a mindless few hours of radio, painful to listen too

Yea I don’t mind Maher and seem to be crusoe in not minding whatley. I actually reckon they’re close to getting it right with whately , specialist broadcaster that has a wide range of knowledge on sports without the boofhead element that pretends to know about tennis or racing for example when he really knows nothing and is kidding no one
He does hold onto fairly conservative views which clearly agaitate , the polar opposite would prob agaitate even more so not sure what the answer is
Not sure he is conservative Bo.
Unless you mean he is fairly left of centre?

Nov 23, 2000
Country Victoria
With Whateley, the thing I can handle about him is he has a decent knowledge of more than one sport.
But I do agree. He was insufferable on 360 this year and is fast becoming that on radio as well.
Most of them do have a pretty good knowledge of most mainstream sports,I grant most of them that.

guruisatiger

Grand Poohbah of Ganymede
Oct 25, 2006
from the hinterlands of sri lanka and tibet
B.S.C youngboys.. Borussia Dortmund
Always end up back on ABC FM Classical...I'd listen to jazz but try and find an Australian station totally focused on jazz...no hope...
3AW or ABC in the footy season...
Sbs chill world music ,, is the best station going
Download the app, or listen via digital radio
Trust me you will love chill

May 17, 2004
Punt Rd ‘17? ‘19?
Not sure he is conservative Bo.
Unless you mean he is fairly left of centre?
His view on the game is that we have drifted too far from the game he knew as a kid , more one on one contests free flowing . Imho He’s not being progressive ,and it grates on me as I appreciate the modern game for what it is , an absorbing contest as opposed to a downhill ski race. I dunno , I call his view a conservative one

Drofder

Nov 18, 2014
37.8265° S, 145.0069° E
Red Sox, Bruins, Celtics, Niners
The 30 minutes of ads per hour is compounded by the repeat and rinse news and weather every 30 minutes as well. You're really only getting 20 to 25 minutes of content per hour on some shows.

SMS them that there's too many ads, that I'm switching off, and then actually switch off. You gotta hit their ratings.

CMOOOON RED SOX !!!!

At least Andy Maher is genuine, he might be a genuine twat but he doesn’t go out of his way to give his opinion.
I dig that, I reckon that’s a journalism thing.
For me things started to sour when they brought in G.Lyon, not because of the bullshit with his partner being Billy’s ex wife,
I just think he’s a sh.t talker and Watson is the same a seasoned media personality...he must love footy Watson, playing then coming back from retirement and then his son is stripped of the brownlow. I’ve never once heard him dog the AFL or Essendon.
If somebody affected my kids life that much I’d go looking for trouble.
He’s a sh.t talker too, they might know the industry but they’re w***ers.
At least I get a laugh driving home on 1278.

tigernsw

Jun 29, 2017
KB is great as he appears to research the topic and isn't afraid to give his opinion , Dr Turf's knowledge on most things is limited , whilst he is just goes along with what he thinks is the most popular view.

Dr Turd as I call him is like a grumpy Uncle. Why would you want to listen to him? That and being a Melbourne flog make him the shady racing guy you're best to avoid.

Infamy

🐯🏆🏆🏆🏆🏆🏆🏆🏆🏆🏆🏆🏆🏆
Oct 1, 2004
Melbourne, VIC
Yep and this is what I hated about Mark Allen and David Schwarz. They may have had chemistry, but their knowledge of anything outside their own one personal passion was absurd.
Allen was clueless about anything other than golf and it showed.
Watson and Lyon are horrendous.
At least with KB, he can hold his own in most conversations.
This is the thing that drives me the most mad about SEN in general, they know very little outside AFL, horse racing and golf.
KB may have some knowledge of other sports, but its still nowhere near good enough for someone on a sports radio station.

Its not even my paid employment and I know more about other sports than the SEN hosts combined, the least the could do is make an effort.
They shouldn't have to get a specialist in to discuss certain sports

JAKLAUGHING

🏆🏆🏆🏆🏆🏆🏆🏆🏆🏆🏆🏆🏆
Nov 20, 2008
Vilnius
TASMANIAN DEBILS!!!
What about soccer...soccer...soccer...gridiron...vfl...interstate vfl...under 18 footy...for a sports station sen are sheet...
Sen generate no interest or excitment other than noisy ads...

BBC1967

Aug 9, 2015
If I hear the word nomination one more time.....I switch off - because I know it will be followed by best dogs or horses in film, greatest comebacks of all time yada yada yada best hit of all time!!!!

His view on the game is that we have drifted too far from the game he knew as a kid , more one on one contests free flowing . Imho He’s not being progressive ,and it grates on me as I appreciate the modern game for what it is , an absorbing contest as opposed to a downhill ski race. I dunno , I call his view a conservative one
Yep that's fair enough. He's tows the AFL line something chronic.

Tiger Claw

Nov 19, 2011
To be fair I listened to mcquarrie radio for a day and they have the same ads that everyone seems to hate on SEN.

That said I did like their content especially given the AFL off season.

Early days and I might find them just as repetitive if I listened longer but have to say so far the listening has been good.

Normally I switch to summer podcasts running the best of the year from other stations I don't listen to in footy season.

On [device_name] using BigFooty.com mobile app

Dec 5, 2012
Knicks, Giants
Yer i was a fan of Gerard before this year.
He is now Eddie Everywhere and he pushes his opinion way to much eg the state of the game.
He is very old school and needs to move with the times and he has no idea on how the game is played tactically and to make the opinions he has he needs to understand the game more.

Maher is a great interviewer but is annoying otherwise. I like how his show talks about other sports.
Gary and Tim are horrible.
KB is a laugh but i can understand that if you werent a tiger you would hate him. Dr Turff sounds disinterested and like he reads off a script

Fair to say..I've tuned out.