Congratulations 200 games Brad Ottens

• Thread starter Thread starter CF

as stated, we need to get him up to 100 GFC games so we get a crack at his offspring should they be in the system. I doubt he would recommend to his son(s) to go to the tigers after all the bullshit he went through there.

Great work CatmanForever.

Love the top pic.

I could be wrong but i thought Otto did win mark of the year in 2006 against sydney?

Correct. It was a ripper too - taken over Jolly. One ruckman over the top of another is something to behold!

It's interesting cos if you look at the photo Timmy Callan is going the spoil. Doh!

He is an unlikely type to produce the memories that he has.

Unique player, one of our most important. He was robbed of All-Australian selection last year, not that I care - but it just would have been nice to get rid of the whole 'he was only AA at teh TIGES!'.

Absolutely. I'm willing to wear Cox but Lade got in on reputation only. Their performance head to head in the GF proved it.

Perhaps not, but he does enjoy rice. One night before a GFC game, I was having dinner in local Sushi joint Fujisan, and in walks the big sea Otter, goes up to the counter, and collects the biggest box of sushi you have ever seen in your life.

yeah well ask him and I bet he'd say he's happy to be a non-AA premiership player for Geelong :D

[youtube]nNbrd4MuZ4U[/youtube]

That was one of my favourite Otto plays.
Just showed how much he fights for the ball on the deck, which is so uncommon for ruckmen.

This picture is my favourite Otto moment.

BradOttens6916.jpg

First game for Geelong which happened to also be against his former club, whose supporters spent four months building up their hatred to unleash on Brad in this game.
He was getting booed unmercifully, but despite it, he lays a great tackle, wins the free kick and as the boos echoed around the MCG, Brad goes back and calmly slots the goal.
He then gets swamped by his teammates.

I just exploded when Otto tackled the Richmond player, and when he kicked the goal i just smiled, both at the show of affection and camaraderie from our entire team but also because i knew right then that Brad would be great for our football club.

To this day it's one of my more memorable moments as a Geelong supporter.

The bottom line with Brad is that without him we wouldn't be the reigning premiers.
You can't get a bigger compliment than that.

His name is Otto, he likes to eat Risotto and drink Chinotto, then play Tattslotto while listening to Domo Arigato Mr Roboto in his Grotto!

Well done Bradley.
The man with the largest mitts (hands) at the club. A mate and I have had this milestone bookmarked since the start of the year and are looking forward to making a large banner/sign as a mark of respect to the great man.
Otto, we salute you!

I don't think I've ever seen such a maligned player at their original club turn it around to be such a loved individual at their new one. That in itself is an unbelievable effort. Not to mention winning that new club a premiership almost by himself in a Prelim Final.

Thank you very much Brad Ottens. Champion of the Geelong footy club.:thumbsu:

Thank God for the big fella. Player of the 2007 finals series without a doubt.

My Favourite Ottens moment is right after the siren (prelim final 07) and Boris giving Otto a big bear as the players embrace after a hard fought and emotional victory. The boys had to earn it and you can see the relief on their faces.

"The Difference"

I would have thought he was "The missing link". When we originally recruited him it was of course as an additional forward to team up with Benny Graham who promptly joined the NFL the year Otto came to the club.

A few injuries later and Richmond fans were in raptures. They never did forgive Otto for joining the Catters. In 2007 Otto fulfilled 'the prophecy' and became the missing link in the ruck and his efforts particularly against Collingwood in the Prelim Final will go down in Cat history.

I think that it is no surprise either that our best form has happened since Otto has returned to the side. Mooney in particular seems to benefit from the improved delievery as our A grade ruck duo provides our gun midfield with an armchair ride more often than not. He is the most important Cat and deserves a mighty welcome when he runs out at Cat Park this week

Congratulations Otto. Cat champion! :thumbsu:

regards,

REB