Congratulations Cats

Thanks mate.

We did enough to loose it today but boy do our boys hate the idea of that.
Hawthorn seem to save it up for these games , I think both side respect the other.
I just wonder if they had of got Mumford or Jolly etc in the preseason rather than another on baller (which I don't think they really need) would they have won today?

Thanks for the win cats, I won the head to head betting, sweet :D

Lost on the eagles though... :cool:

It was a very poor standard today. Constant mistakes and poor decisions. Hawks are not contenders.

Thanks for putting on a great game and well done on a win against the odds. After watching North on the weekend it was good to see a real game of football today:o

Good match. The Hawks always rise against us. Could be the rivalry of the new decade.

Buggers, Cats too good at the death.

In saying that I do (as a one eyed wally) believe some decisions brought you into the game, but the umpires didnt direct Schoey to kick 35m across the face of goal instead of pumping 60m down the line. From there the writing appeared to be on the wall.

The thing that really sh1tted me off with the game is Huddo and his call. He is more one sided in his call than just about any supporter would ever dare to be. Must have some serious shares in channel 10 to allow him anywhere near a Geelong game. The call at the end of the telecast got me over the line and brought me to the computer in a minor hissy. 'Thats all from the MCG, Geelong commanding victors over Hawthorn'. The time in front stat clearly indicates the Cats have done well to be in front when in counted.. geez a little humility required ya wanka.

Both our clubs have some work to do on the attitudes of important forwards. I thought Franklin and Johnson played similar games today.. both well held and frustrated both would have been happy to receive a free kick rather than work hard for a touch.

Overall though a good game of contested footy, with Lings job on Mitch in the last crucial.

Goodluck this year and as with all Hawk supporters (and hopefully the players) I look forward to getting another crack at you guys later in the year.

Thanks mate.

We did enough to loose it today but boy do our boys hate the idea of that.
Hawthorn seem to save it up for these games , I think both side respect the other.
I just wonder if they had of got Mumford or Jolly etc in the preseason rather than another on baller (which I don't think they really need) would they have won today?
burgoyne will make make a difference,as will sewell

It was a very poor standard today. Constant mistakes and poor decisions. Hawks are not contenders.

Thanks for the insight. Stunning really.

You're right of course. Not may sides win flags in April.

I thought Geelong won it in the last quarter with ruck dominance and quality midfield possessions. Hawks ran out of run completely and took risky options rebound-50 that blew up.

Will Hawthorn play all year with only one ruckman? No.

Will S. Burgoyne, B. Sewell, C. Young bring anything to our midfield run? You obviously think not. Not sure many here would agree with you.

Do you reckon have two on the bench makes any difference in a match like that one? You obviously think it doesn't. Not sure many here would agree with you about that either.

Do you reckon J. Lewis would have added anything to Hawthorn's midfield rotations in that last quarter? You obviously think not. Plenty would argue with you.

What was the final margin? 9 points huh?

If the Hawks aren't contenders, neither are the Cats. Me, I think they're both in with a good show this year. Wouldn't surprise me to see them both deep into September.

No offence meant to the other Cats' fans. Most that I know are pretty knowledgeable and a fair bit more respectful than the fella I quoted here. Good luck to the rest of you.

Neither sides played their best football for the whole game but both teams played at about the same level. It really did take some time for us to start reaping the advantage from the ruck but in the 3rd and 4th quarters it became obvious that would be the deciding factor. Was a good game that had my heart pumping.

Thanks for the insight. Stunning really.

You're right of course. Not may sides win flags in April.

I thought Geelong won it in the last quarter with ruck dominance and quality midfield possessions. Hawks ran out of run completely and took risky options rebound-50 that blew up.

Will Hawthorn play all year with only one ruckman? No.

Will S. Burgoyne, B. Sewell, C. Young bring anything to our midfield run? You obviously think not. Not sure many here would agree with you.

Do you reckon have two on the bench makes any difference in a match like that one? You obviously think it doesn't. Not sure many here would agree with you about that either.

Do you reckon J. Lewis would have added anything to Hawthorn's midfield rotations in that last quarter? You obviously think not. Plenty would argue with you.

What was the final margin? 9 points huh?

If the Hawks aren't contenders, neither are the Cats. Me, I think they're both in with a good show this year. Wouldn't surprise me to see them both deep into September.

No offence meant to the other Cats' fans. Most that I know are pretty knowledgeable and a fair bit more respectful than the fella I quoted here. Good luck to the rest of you.

All Valid points. Though I question what value you seek to gain in our board. the same as if I were to question some of the outrageous statements currently circulating your team's board. There are counter arguments for our side as well, the big one for me is that your side had a full month more preseason than ours, plus our veterans were even more underdone. All in all good game and sides are evenly matched.

Ever since 'The Mouth' said the Hawks had us mentally beaten they haven't defeated us. Thanks Jeff:thumbsu:

Although we've started badly in both games I'm happy where we're at. As Lappin said the late start by so many will mean we won't be at our best until rounds 4/5.

Always a good tussle with the Hawks though. But their rucks (even with Taylor -can't play - and Renouf) must be of concern as must their back half.

sewell,burgoyne-rooke,milburne,varcoe..........cough......get real.

It's never a good look going to opposition boards and carrying on like a child, I notice the thread you started about paying the umpires was deleted. Grow up and maybe it's best you log out until you learn to handle losing.

Congrats Cats. I'm getting sick of these last minute, come from behind victories.

Happy to concede the H&A games as long as we win all the finals :)

I know what the last three were doing in September, 09.

.....and I don't know if I'd be singing the praises of Burgoyne just yet if I was a hawks follower. So far all he has done is signed on and taken the $'s.

It's never a good look going to opposition boards and carrying on like a child, I notice the thread you started about paying the umpires was deleted. Grow up and maybe it's best you log out until you learn to handle losing.
do you disagree with my comment?how so?twas a richmond fan i was replying to.lol

Congratulations Cat's on winning a fantastic game. No excuses from this Hawk, Im a PROUD HAWKA great effort from our boys. Until next time and another fantastic game.

All Valid points. Though I question what value you seek to gain in our board.

Don't get me wrong mate. I came here and started this thread offering nothing other than congratulations.

When someone makes some ill-informed judgements about Hawthorn not being contenders after having been beaten by the reigning premiers by nine points after being infront all day, you'll have to excuse me if I do respond with a few remarks. As you've flagged yourself, they're all valid points.

If you don't think they belong in this thread, no worries. Just delete them with the comment they resonded to and leave the thread in place because some of us enlightened supporters need a thread in which to offer the better team on the day due respect.

I hope that clears things up.

Sewell is a gun yes. Bugoyne hasn't played well for 2 years. He had no pre season so I wouldn't expect a huge impact again.

If you can't see the impact Max Rooke has on Geelong you don't understand football. Was a major reason they won the flag last season.

Milburn is an AA backman who is important for the Geelong structure.

Varcoe coming off a good 09 had an awesome pre season and will be more than handy coming back.

Geelongs outs hurt their structure more than yours. The Hawks pairing may be better individual players but can be covered.