Congratulations Cats

Don't get me wrong mate. I came here and started this thread offering nothing other than congratulations.

When someone makes some ill-informed judgements about Hawthorn not being contenders after having been beaten by the reigning premiers by nine points after being infront all day, you'll have to excuse me if I do respond with a few remarks. As you've flagged yourself, they're all valid points.

If you don't think they belong in this thread, no worries. Just delete them with the comment they resonded to and leave the thread in place because some of us enlightened supporters need a thread in which to offer the better team on the day due respect.

I hope that clears things up.

I don't think 538catattack ment any harm. Just talking sense to some is worse than talking to a brick wall and expecting an answer.

Yes the Hawks are contenders this year, as are the cats, Saints, Doggies and Lions.

Sewell is a gun yes. Bugoyne hasn't played well for 2 years. He had no pre season so I wouldn't expect a huge impact again.

If you can't see the impact Max Rooke has on Geelong you don't understand football. Was a major reason they won the flag last season.

Milburn is an AA backman who is important for the Geelong structure.

Varcoe coming off a good 09 had an awesome pre season and will be more than handy coming back.

Geelongs outs hurt their structure more than yours. The Hawks pairing may be better individual players but can be covered.

Disagree, our outs hurt us as much as the Cats did today. Sewell is tough nut bal winning midfeilder. Young breaks the lines, runs all days and delievers into the 50 with his long accurate left foot kick. Our ruck, well renouf is not yet a full time ruckman fitness wise and a second ruckman would of preserved him for burst in the ruck.

As for Burgoyne, cant miss something we never had, i believe given he has not played for so long i think we paid way too much for him.

Disagree, our outs hurt us as much as the Cats did today. Sewell is tough nut bal winning midfeilder. Young breaks the lines, runs all days and delievers into the 50 with his long accurate left foot kick. Our ruck, well renouf is not yet a full time ruckman fitness wise and a second ruckman would of preserved him for burst in the ruck.

As for Burgoyne, cant miss something we never had, i believe given he has not played for so long i think we paid way too much for him.

Of course you disagree.

Injuries are part of football and Geelongs depth is obviously superior.

Haha come on will ya. You can't genuinely claim injuries as an excuse and then dismiss the other team's.
was originally responding to a a richmond fan saying we should of taken jolly over burgoyne.........but threw in sewell for good measure.........they responded with 3 geelong players listed above,.....hardly like for like.....could throw in young and all our other ruckmen if i wanted to blame injuries.....i know geelong are are a great side......lost my train of thought now.....oh yeah,hate losing.

well done today...another great game between our 2 fine clubs

was happy with our pressure..and competitiveness....and thought u missed a few more easy shots that kept it close...you guys look a touch underdone with the short preseason and all....but still good enough to get the job done

look fwd to anothr contest later in the season when we are (hopefully) both up and running....

sewell would have been handy today...as would have rooke im sure

all the best

Of course you disagree.

Injuries are part of football and Geelongs depth is obviously superior.

Duh, of course injuries are a part of footy. I never used them as an excuses, please show me where i have in this thread.

Simply pointing out that just like the cats, we have injured players out equally important to us. I know im talking to a tiger fan, surely you can appriciate that fact.

Thanks to the OP very classy after what was again a finals like atmosphere was an amazingly intense second half given its the first week of April. From a Geelong point of view brilliant to get this one we couldve easily been 0-2 but instead its 2-0 and on paper couldnt have been a better start. We will improve no doubt from round 7-8 onwards and really looking at the draw it has the potential to open up for us if we beat the teams we should through to the Brisbane game up there.

Also wanted to comment on the Hawthorn situation. I no its hard after a tough loss like that one but for mine i was puzzled as to why they gave away a top draft pick for a player like Burgoyne who hasnt played his best footy in the last couple of years when they are clearly screaming out for a top quality ruckman. IMO Jolly or to a lesser extent Mumford would have a far greater impact on the Hawks team then Burgoyne will.

Dont attack me for saying that but IMO Port got Burgoyne at just about the peak of his value, for mine it wont increase from here.

Either way Hawthorn will be there again at the end their list is to damn good. Great game!!

Have to give your boys credit, guys like Duncan and Bartel really stepped up when required. The rematch will be fantastic when we have Burgoyne and Sewell and you have Johnson and Ablett!

Don't get me wrong mate. I came here and started this thread offering nothing other than congratulations.

When someone makes some ill-informed judgements about Hawthorn not being contenders after having been beaten by the reigning premiers by nine points after being infront all day, you'll have to excuse me if I do respond with a few remarks. As you've flagged yourself, they're all valid points.

If you don't think they belong in this thread, no worries. Just delete them with the comment they resonded to and leave the thread in place because some of us enlightened supporters need a thread in which to offer the better team on the day due respect.

I hope that clears things up.

Probably took it a wee bit the wrong way mate. Though there is a bit of that going around. Good points. Good discussion and level headed supporters are welcome here :thumbsu:

Fantastic game. Ok, yes both sides butchered the ball at times so it wasn't a spectacle in that sense, but the pressure and competitiveness, felt like a finals game and I always love playing the Hawks and really rate them.

Thanks to the Hawks who've come here and been gracious, it makes a change from the radio all the way home listening to vitriol about umpires winning us the game and being on the take and all that crap. While the umpiring wasn't great and we probably got the better end of that crapness, the level of anti umpire vitriol on days like today is so over the top, and takes away from what we should be talking about-great efforts from players on both sides.

As for the ruck thing, well done to Renouf to keep going after his dislocated finger, and I thought he battled manfully all day. Clearly he was buggered by the last quarter, and that was one of, although not the only reason, we got control. Personally, I would have traded for a ruckman over Burgoyne, but I can understand why they got him. Besides, they've had a shocking run of injuries. To have even Wayde Skipper, just as relief in there today, would have been great, but you have to make do with what you have, and right now they don't even have him. That's not their fault. Bring on round 15!

Good win, Cats. The class, experience and composure of your backline is something to behold. Where did Duncan spring from?

The composure and class of the backline had us done in the first quarter and a half due to your amazing forwardline pressure aswell as some dumb overhandling of the ball on our part.

Duncan has been brilliant so far..i for one didnt no alot about him when we picked him up but has been pure class since the first NAB cup game..brilliant to see a young feller come in and step up the way he has especially today!

Another quick question regarding the umpires. I no as always is the case each supporters may say they got the rough end of the stick i believed at the game that at halftime we were getting killed by mostly non-calls going Hathorns way resulting in a couple goals.

Whilst in the second half we perhaps started to get more free kicks which obviously stuck in the minds of Hawthorn fans who perhaps forget the first half. Either way i dont like to make arguments about how the umpires cost us the gamr rah rah..happens to everyteam at some point you get some calls you dont like. IMO we were stiff in the first half and in the second they were proabably stiff which i was more then happy to accept as were you guys in the first half.

Just my opinion.

I'm here to pass on the congrats too....another cracker of a game between two of the most attacking teams in the comp....

well done catters, as the men in the know stated....your big men, just never got smaller and were too much for us in the end...

for a round 2 game, certainly got my $20 worth....fantastic and wish i could watch games of this quality all the time...

bloody jimmy does it again...a gun that fella!

Duh, of course injuries are a part of footy. I never used them as an excuses, please show me where i have in this thread.

Simply pointing out that just like the cats, we have injured players out equally important to us. I know im talking to a tiger fan, surely you can appriciate that fact.

A smug Hawk supporter, what are the odds!

Firstly, I wasn't talking to you at any stage, you decided to interject.

I was responding to Feather who claimed the Hawks injuries were far more important that the Cats.

I'm aware the Hawks had injuries, your post was unnecessary.

Today was a great contest given it is only round two.

When one plays unsocialable football, free against will be awarded.

The Hawks today started well, and seemed primed. Rioli is a gem, and showed his lack of match fitness. But was amazing in bursts, and will win a brownlow if he plays a full season. Patterson is a freak for a rookie, looked like he fitted in. Buddy today wanted to do the impossible, but clearly showed why he is not an elite footballer. If you compare his running to reiwolt's, you see the difference in team orientated football.

Lack of ruck strength. It is only Hawthorn's fault that they entered the season with a lack of depth. Blake did not assert an influence on the game. This was a game where he should have, given the lack of depth in the Hawk line-up. However the Hawks having another ruck would have limited their mid rotations given another ruck on the bench. Ottens showed his class. He positions himself so well, and gives the mids a clear advantage.

Ablett, if he was not Ablett would have received 3 votes from many. He tried hard, but was not sharp and was caught out. The support was not where it normally is for him. He also needs to learn he cant do everything, and when facing quick players he will not win. But major contributor.

Mitch got better as he got into the game. He will be stiff when he is dropped. Gamble should look at his efforts and learn, otherwise he will have regrets.

Moons, was awesome. He positioned well, and took great marks. Looks so comfortable 50 out.

Johnson, you are either injured or need to be honest with yourself. Today was a petulant display. Present, and kick the blasted ball. Playing for frees is total crap.

Interchange moves, were pathetic, cost us position and goals. There was a general lack of awareness.

Selwood, will need to lose a head to get free kicks. The opposition have convinced the umps he doesn't deserve frees.

Ling needs help, it feels like his last year as a full time stopper. Seems like he needs to move to a defensive forward role. There is a gap for someone to assist.

Tackles need to stick, our tackling needs to improve.

Taylor looks great, and will get better.

Byrnes, continues to amaze. His poise and position is awesome, particularly given his previous form. Looks like he belongs.

Need another defender. Lonergan was gone when buddy was on a lead. Ok with the one on one stuff. But can not go on a quick leading forward.

Wojac is playing every game like it is his last. He needs to feel settled, to play at capacity.

He miss a Varcoe type. Explosive mid forward. Stokes or Varcoe are a welcome addition to this squad.

Mackie was not himself.

Wafl. Pick 28 (I think) in 2009 draft.

That was my major gripe with Ablett today. Wasnt in my top 6 or 7 becuase he simply has got to the point where he tries to do to much sometimes. Last week it thought he was brilliant today it didnt happen for him. I think sometimes he is to predictable aswell trying to sell candy to the opposition and they just no its coming which caught him out a few times today. Still managed to rack up the possies but for mine wasnt one of his better games.

I agree...he will always get heaps of touches but this wasn't a game where they were damaging. Rioli is a great player but Ablett still tried to do too much at times and needs to sometimes not bite off so much, and give the ball to teammates.

I also think Mackie played like a man who was in doubt with a calf injury and on reflection probably should not have played (and no, I'm not saying that just coz I love Pods)

Otto was just fantastic...I love how he steps up in big games...we will really miss him when he's gone, and I reckon ruckmen that good are rare as hen's teeth.

Congrats Cats, too good when it counted, two weeks in a row.

These contests since 2007 have been absolutely enthralling and today was no different, finals like crowd and atmosphere and hard, brutal footy which wouldn't look out of place in late Sept.

The maturity and composure of your veterans under pressure, late in these tight contests all across the park has killed us the last couple of times. I guess our younger blokes will learn from this and we'll get one back on you some day (hopefully soon) until then however, enjoy the chocolates!!

im happy with moons running around like a very fit 30 year old and that diving mark just sensational not slowing down just yet