Congratulations

• Thread starter Thread starter Hawkk

Just finished watching the game in Singapore... think it's a bit delayed... anyway, well done Cats. You guys were very good. I can only hope we play off in the Grand Final and improve our performance. :thumbsu:

The Hawks were terrific tonight and they have showed they are the true no 2 team in the comp. Thanks for your congrats and see you in september. We are allowed to be arrogant on our board so just remember Hawks supporters that you are visitors here.

Great post.

Geelong were too good, too strong, too skillful and most importantly too experienced on the big stage.

What's the point of congratulating when the supporters of the opposition are going to be arrogant... and not admit that they were tested by a great young team on the up...

I think Geelong is the best team at the moment. But I came here to congratulate, and find some of the responses to those genuine Hawthorn fans congratulating on the win to be so low and lame.

Congrats on the win, shame you lack humility.

lighten up sweetheart. :o

Just so good to get hold of that Beyond Blue cup, I've been eyeing that off for 3 years.
Thanks for the congrats and good wishes hawkers. There are 2 breeds of hawk supporter on big footy... for a country boy it can get a bit confusing :rolleyes:

Just so good to get hold of that Beyond Blue cup, I've been eyeing that off for 3 years.
Thanks for the congrats and good wishes hawkers. There are 2 breeds of hawk supporter on big footy... for a country boy it can get a bit confusing :rolleyes:

We're good at giving it, fortunately most of us are good at taking it back as well ;)

FWIW, tonight was only the 6th time in VFL/AFL history that Hawthorn and Geelong have played at the MCG, after such an epic game and drawing a lazy 86,000 (sellout) crowd on a winters night, it wouldn't surprise me if it wasn't the last :thumbsu:

Well done Catta's....too good overall and a team we can learn heaps from...Would love to see us get the opportunity to play the Cats in the GF...feel sure you guys will be there, just hope we can make it too!

Intense ripper game tonight, no excuses from us. Well done.:thumbsu:

Great post.

Geelong were too good, too strong, too skillful and most importantly too experienced on the big stage.

I actually thought the Hawks were fantastic and took it right up to the Cats. Both teams were great in hard, tense football and with a little bit of luck it could have easily gone the other way.

See you in the big one.

But honestly, despite the missing players it was a top game of footy to watch. I hope we meet in the finals, sure to better competion than North or Port.

Watching it again, Hawks missed plenty of easy shots but they also ran through a heap of rushed behinds for us, something you just don't see tha Cats do. I think thats a tactic that came from south Australia... dont know if its such a good tactic in a close game :confused:

I love to hate you guys, but I can't help but respect what a fantastic team Mark Thompson has built.

We had our chances - but failed to capitalise. You had your chances - and like a very, very good team - you made the most of them when they really mattered.

Hope we meet you guys again in the finals. :thumbsu:

I love to hate you guys, but I can't help but respect what a fantastic team Mark Thompson has built.

We had our chances - but failed to capitalise. You had your chances - and like a very, very good team - you made the most of them when they really mattered.

Hope we meet you guys again in the finals. :thumbsu:
Cheers mate , & all your guys. Hawks are the one team to really get to me , mainly because of the way they handle us all the time. But its great to get a win over you finally. the best game of the year to watch for me. Good to know we have big names still to come back and help us when we meet you again.
Top came by both teams.....

I thank the Hawks fans offering sincere congratulations. You have a terrific team whose core players are on the up, I reckon you're one prelim from winning the big one.

Typical to see the usual hawk trolls nowhere to be seen, I hope this calls a truce to the bullshit that has been happening lately, I respect the hawks and what they've done to build their team.

Lastly I would like to congratulate the Geelong boys who despite being challenged hard responded well relying on many young kids to get them over the line, absolutely fantastic effort:thumbsu:

Jimmy Bartel you are an absolute star:thumbsu:

Im happy we won ofcourse.
The Hawks certainly did teach us something.Pressure,Pressure how to excecute immense skill under pressure.Now we are ready to face Collingwood again.
Hawthorn's only weakness is that they have a full forward that misses as many as he kicks as compared to our goal kicking midfield.

Top match. To be honest I am really glad the hawks had that kind of game against the Cats. Me and my brother (cats man) really enjoyed it, what a game. Probably will go down as the hawks best game in terms of a contest all year. The best team won? Yeah, you guys were just the bit too good, cream rises as they say!

Cheers guys.

One word, CLASS

That's what it came down to. That and big game pressure. We had you on toast in the last qtr, and just couldn't finish it. You blokes are the best running around and we tested you. Yes you have Ablett etc to come back, but hey, I am proud of our guys, they way they played. Just need to find that level every week now.

Well done.

Oh, and to Kardina Park, mate you are a f$%k wit. Not all Hawks supporters hung shite on you guys all week, and those coming on here are doing so sincerely.

Top match. To be honest I am really glad the hawks had that kind of game against the Cats. Me and my brother (cats man) really enjoyed it, what a game. Probably will go down as the hawks best game in terms of a contest all year. The best team won? Yeah, you guys were just the bit too good, cream rises as they say!

Cheers guys.

Agree

and the 2 goals we gave away for not rushing a behind and resetting???

You'd have to talk to Bomba about that Darren but it's clear that our game is based on attack - at ALL times. They play a high risk game that seems to be paying off, I wouldn't question it. We might have given 2 goals away but we won by 2. I'll take it. We've almost managed to dispose of the old school pessimism, don't hold us back.

Well done Cats. More composed when it mattered. Look forward to a September rematch. :thumbsu:

Well done on the win. You guys made the most of your opportunities where we probably didn't. With ablett, ling and milburn to come back i really can't see who is good enough to beat you.

No shame in going down to the best team in the comp by 2 kicks. Good luck for the rest of the year. It's a real pleasure to watch the way your team goes about it.

Well done Catters.

I expect we didn't learn too much about either side's September plans for each other, if we're lucky enough to meet again this year. Definitely a few things we probably won't see repeated, but it was a good hit-out and an exciting match.

Cats definitely made more of their opportunities. Two goals is two goals ... and it doesn't matter how they happened now the siren has gone. A few lucky breaks your way tonight, but it's a funny old game like that.

No excuses just admiration for the way that a few of yours go about it. Selwood ... how good is this kid ?

See ya soon.