Connolly's contract extended.

• Thread starter Thread starter doppo

I think CC has done a good job since moving here by taking a basket-case wooden spoon side into a positive winning record over the past three years, but still think the decision was a bit premature. Hopefully the board has been smart with their decision and the contract has an out clause if we don't do as well as expected this year.

festivus said:
Sure CC is under the pump, but only because the West Australian newspaper says he is :confused:

Pull your head out of the sand. CC is under pressure because he failed to lift a good team into the top half of the competition after it seemed a certainty half way through the years. Even CC acknowledged at the end of last year he would be under pressure to make the 8 this year. Thats a given.

Plenty of your fellow supporters arent happy with what has happened with the resigning yet you seem to lay blame on the West for reporting on what many find an odd scenario in re-appointing him prior to the season. He might do a good job, nobody knows, but what is the harm in delaying a decisision for 9 months to find out whether he is capable of turning a potential finals team into a finals team. he wasnt going to go anywhere. There are barely any reputable coaches on the market at the moment as there were last year with Wallace and Eade in the market for a senior coaching position thus putting added pressure on him.

Stop accepting and condoning mediocrity and face the fact of the matter. Fremantle needs to have a good season to keep the wolves at bay. Stop being so pathetic as to bring the WCE into a discussion that is purely Fremantle orientated.

If you are happy with the decision good for you but to intimate that there is some sort of conspiracy in the WA media is fanciful. You want respect from the media and others then earn it through on field performances because you are not going to get it bleating at every turn about the Eagles and other factors outside of your control.

FWIW I think CC is a decent coach, maybe not a premiership coach, and should have his contract renewed at the end of the year . I fail to see the haste on appointing him on the basis of perceived media pressure 2 weeks before the season proper starts. If he needs pressure alleviated from his shoulders then perhaps he is in the wrong caper.

Dutchey said:
The WAFC are happy now that the Toast are back in business and freo are turning a quid, so what do they have to worry about ? Any sign of disdain and they simply cut of the grog or drop the video feed from the wuss of a coach . Simple politics really.

I don't normally go in for conspiracy theories but I suspect there might be more than a grain of truth in that.

Eagles have probably always been viewed as the "preferred team" and as long as they're a success on and off the field, most people in the power structures seem to be happy. The fact that Freo are now fiancially viable is obviously a huge bonus but I don't get the same feeling about views of their on-field success.

It's almost as if the Eagles success is deemed essential whereas the Dockers succeeding is desirable but not really that important while the Eagles are up there.

festivus said:
Grant Thomas, Dean Laidley and Mark Thompson all have worse coaching records over their times with their respective clubs, and John Worsfold has only coached his 'highly rated' team to one more win over his three years than CC.
Sure CC is under the pump, but only because the West Australian newspaper says he is :confused:

Excellent post puts it all into perspective

what the! said:
If you are happy with the decision good for you but to intimate that there is some sort of conspiracy in the WA media is fanciful.

Mate, you obviously dont know WA, or your sharing the same hole in the sand that mine heads apperently in. Wake up early one morning, read the West Australian, then tune into whatever radio station takes your fancy - the lead articles are taken directly from the mornings papers - it sets the agenda for the day (the evening news then follows suit). No conspiracy theory unfortunately, just a lazy 'mediocre' media town.

Bob Hawke said recently that the West is '"...the most biased pro-Liberal/Coalition paper in the country - a disgrace". The same seems to hold true for the pro Eagles stance (hence my reference to them).

Given the shock at CC's appointment by The West and its football expert Robert Walls, I was amused to see there wasnt much of an outcry about the re-appointment of Laidly who is in a situation that mirrors CC.

Perhaps not reaching the finals last year was a sin amongst the football world, but considering the side we took in to the last few games, surely CC can be given a bit of slack. I mean after all he cant be going to badly, we just reached record membership numbers this season, which is proberbly a better reflection of the status of the clubs success rather than the views of an outspoken freelancer and his non thinking believers.

festivus said:
Mate, you obviously dont know WA, or your sharing the same hole in the sand that mine heads apperently in. Wake up early one morning, read the West Australian, then tune into whatever radio station takes your fancy - the lead articles are taken directly from the mornings papers - it sets the agenda for the day (the evening news then follows suit). No conspiracy theory unfortunately, just a lazy 'mediocre' media town.

Not that i'm sticking up for the Worst, but biased or not, CC is under the pump. Justifiably so. To try and suggest that it's the fault of the media is utter garbage. Last year the supporters were p*ssed off. Another season like that and we'll be ropeable.

Rob said:
He's not the worlds worst, it's just that no-one knows whether or not he can coach, and this was going to be the year in which we find out either way. What if we find out he's really just a sh*t coach? We're stuck with him for another 2 years.

The only positive I can see is that we got him much cheaper now than if he has a miracle season and wants to sign on for $700k a year at the end of the season. But that's assuming he can actually coach.

Thats about the size of it although I don't think he is in danger of demanding 700k in the forseable future.:D

I must say it's refreshing to read so many supporters who are capable of speaking frankly when they perceive their club have been a little hasty.

It's in such contrast to North supporters who seemed so united behind an even worse premature re-signing at their club.

For whats it's worth,I reckon it's a moot point at Dockerland anyway.You guys will make the finals and probably an even money chance of winning at least 1 final.

A few comments that will fuel certain ppls criticism.

CC didnt come out and say he would change his approach this year or be tougher on players.

Still hedging his bets on winning a final.

Admitted the risk of unemployment was gone. On a strict read of it, yes it has but suggests theres no "finals in 2005" clause.

A good read, would have liked perhaps Rick Hart to tell Digby to perhaps focus on the positive aspects of the club once in awhile instead of the negatives continually.

Whichever way you look at it, nearly all coaches need at least 3 years to make the changes they want and get the team playing the way they want.

So if you replace Connolly and get another untried coach, you will have them making the same mistakes that every other rookie coach makes. Even Williams learnt from them after a few years and got his side the premiership. The likes of Pagan, Malthouse (not that I would want him) or Matthews wouldn't come over and you would have to go with an untried coach. Simply you would be going back another 2-3 years while that coach got the players it wanted and players changed to suit their style. Even Pagan is only just starting to see the benefits at Carlton although that was an extreme case.

Connolly does need to make the 8 this year, no doubt and I think it was a little early but putting up the speculation after each loss would be worse for the side. They club asked him to reach a set of goals which he did and gave him an extension. I will wait till the end of the season before jumping up and down.

FreoRules said:
Whichever way you look at it, nearly all coaches need at least 3 years to make the changes they want and get the team playing the way they want.

So if you replace Connolly and get another untried coach, you will have them making the same mistakes that every other rookie coach makes. Even Williams learnt from them after a few years and got his side the premiership. The likes of Pagan, Malthouse (not that I would want him) or Matthews wouldn't come over and you would have to go with an untried coach. Simply you would be going back another 2-3 years while that coach got the players it wanted and players changed to suit their style. Even Pagan is only just starting to see the benefits at Carlton although that was an extreme case.

Connolly does need to make the 8 this year, no doubt and I think it was a little early but putting up the speculation after each loss would be worse for the side. They club asked him to reach a set of goals which he did and gave him an extension. I will wait till the end of the season before jumping up and down.

nicely said, i totally agree

Freo Shark said:
A good read, would have liked perhaps Rick Hart to tell Digby to perhaps focus on the positive aspects of the club once in awhile instead of the negatives continually.
Maybe he did, but Dogby didn't think it was worth publishing... space constraints, you see.

festivus said:

Bob Hawke said recently that the West is '"...the most biased pro-Liberal/Coalition paper in the country - a disgrace". The same seems to hold true for the pro Eagles stance (hence my reference to them).

Given the shock at CC's appointment by The West and its football expert Robert Walls, I was amused to see there wasnt much of an outcry about the re-appointment of Laidly who is in a situation that mirrors CC.

Perhaps not reaching the finals last year was a sin amongst the football world, but considering the side we took in to the last few games, surely CC can be given a bit of slack. I mean after all he cant be going to badly, we just reached record membership numbers this season, which is proberbly a better reflection of the status of the clubs success rather than the views of an outspoken freelancer and his non thinking believers.

Mate. I have lived in WA all my life and listen to plenty of talk back radio and read all the WA papers and I still fail to seee your point.

The media was clearly taken aback about CC's re-appointment, along with many others I might add, and hence the interest that generated in a 2 team town. The response may have been negative however thats becasue it was an extremely unusual board decision to make at this stage of the season. Many Fremantle fans acknowledged this. What would you have them do? The media's job is too question, and if necessary criticise, moves made by football clubs.

Of course there wasnt a focus on Laidleys re-appointment because 99.9% of West Australians couldnt give a stuff. A two team town brings attention to every little thing that goes on in those clubs. That was a stupid comparison to make because of course the press arent going to focus as much on the re-appointment of a Victorian clubs coach. They can leave that to The Age and The Herald.

I dont see what Bob Hawke's views on The West have to do with this argument but clearly you believe it backs your argument up so I will let you run with it. I would however be interested to see how often he reads the paper given he hasnt lived in WA for decades.

I fail to see how a clubs membership defines its success. Sure you have signed up a lot more numbers and well done for that but this needs to be translated into on field success. Having members on the books pumping money into your club is of course vital but I wouldnt have thought that would be CC's mandate. His job is to win games of footy and make the finals. Whilst you can sit back and feel all nice and warm and fuzzy about increased membership numbers the fact of the matter is that without on field success those 'swinging'/'bandwagon' members will drop off and you will be left with what you had before.

Your finish to the year wasnt easy in terms of the draw you had however your losses to North and Collingwood at home are what put the pressure on CC and rightly so. Your gallant loss to StKilda wasnt what attracted widespread cricticism it was the losses preceeding that.

You can keep that chip on your shoulder for all I care but if you want to pretend everything at Fremantle is rosy then good for you. Fact of the matter is CC needs to take the team from being potentially good to actually good and soon otherwise there will be plenty of disenfranchised supporters and a divided board on your hands.

Now if you will excuse me I need to go and put my head back into my plot of sand ;)

festivus said:
Mate, you obviously dont know WA, or your sharing the same hole in the sand that mine heads apperently in. Wake up early one morning, read the West Australian

Why waste your time doing that? it only repeats what was on the TV news the previous night, not to mention all the stories both sporting and others that they plagiarize from papers in the East and around the World!
The Worst is a second rate parochial rag with journo's that would struggle to get a job on a good paper.

Agree with festivus re the worst. The best thing a dockers fan can do is ignore it and the talkback radio. You get better info out of dockerland and their half serious game reviews.

Now if we can just get the players to stop reading the paper as well.

Well said "what the".

The whole objective is to play footy and win games. Win the games and everything else falls into place.

I just do not see what is going to change this year and we are going to struggle to make the 8. The verbal garbage from CC will just go on.

You're only as good as your last match.

Blighty was a very good coach, but his stint at the Saints was below par. Who's to say he wouldn't bring that to Freo if he came? Records are meaningless because he's not the same coach (unless he rediscovered that form i guess)