RedmanWasHere
Rarely in kitchens at parties.
- Aug 23, 2010
- AFL Club
- Essendon
- Other Teams
- Exers, Gryffindor, Rich+Ess AFLW, Tassie
In VFL/AFL history, there have been 255 100 point wins.
Due to a number of factors, support for the current BigFooty mobile app has been discontinued. Your BigFooty login will no longer work on the Tapatalk or the BigFooty App - which is based on Tapatalk.
Apologies for any inconvenience. We will try to find a replacement.
LIVE: Sydney v Carlton - 7:40PM Fri
Squiggle tips Swans at 60% chance -- What's your tip? -- Injury Lists »
Due to a number of factors, support for the current BigFooty mobile app has been discontinued. Your BigFooty login will no longer work on the Tapatalk or the BigFooty App - which is based on Tapatalk.
Apologies for any inconvenience. We will try to find a replacement.
LIVE: Sydney v Carlton - 7:40PM Fri
Squiggle tips Swans at 60% chance -- What's your tip? -- Injury Lists »
It's just a common phrase that gets bandied about all too often in AFL circles. Heard it again on Saturday night when they were discussing record numbers of inside 50s. But "world record"? No. Competition record. VFL/AFL record.
Yeah a lot of Geelong's historical data is surprisingly good. Always reminds me that the Cats should probably have more than eight flags though.
World records are when a record is set across the sport, not across the competition.AFL records are "world records" because the AFL is the premier Australian Football competition in the world. Also the AFL is a world unto itself, as well as having global aspirations.
As for the 'World Series' baseball series championship - from Spalding's Base Ball Guide for 1890 explaining the 'World Series' concept:
..the base ball championship of the United States necessarily includes that of the entire world, though the time will come when Australia will step in as a rival, and after that country will come Great Britain; but all that is for the future.
Didn't happen but the AFL has similar ambitions.
In VFL/AFL history, there have been 255 100 point wins.
World records are when a record is set across the sport, not across the competition.
239 isn't a world record Australian rules score, but it is a VFL/AFL record.
It's just a common phrase that gets bandied about all too often in AFL circles. Heard it again on Saturday night when they were discussing record numbers of inside 50s. But "world record"? No. Competition record. VFL/AFL record.
Yeah a lot of Geelong's historical data is surprisingly good. Always reminds me that the Cats should probably have more than eight flags though.
Couldn't agree more. The neverending insecurity of Australian sports commentators - especially footy ones.
A "world" record? A sport that's played in one country, and isn't even the main sport in every state? Ridiculous.
It's a VFL/AFL record, which is quite enough of an achievement.
Up to that pair of wins in 1981, I think Geelong had less than ten 100+ point wins in it's history. Born in '68, I've been alive for all bar about seven of them.Consecutive 100+ point wins.
Geelong (1981)
• Round 12 vs St Kilda (H) = +100
• Round 13 vs North Melbourne (H) = +114
Sydney (1987)
• Round 16 vs West Coast (H) = +130
• Round 17 vs Essendon (H) = +163
Geelong (1989)
• Round 7 vs St Kilda (H) = +119
• Round 8 vs Brisbane Bears (H) = +129
• Round 9 vs Richmond (A) = +134
Geelong (1992)
• Round 7 vs Brisbane Bears (A) = +164
• Round 8 vs Adelaide (H) = +123
St Kilda (2004)
• Round 9 vs West Coast (H) = +101
• Round 10 vs Carlton (A) = +108
Geelong (2011)
• Round 19 vs Melbourne (H) = +186
• Round 20 vs Gold Coast (H) = +150
Geelong (2018)
• Round 22 vs Fremantle (H) = +133
• Round 23 vs Gold Coast (H) = +102
Thanks for that comprehensive break-down of those wins. I forgot about the pair of St.Kilda efforts in 1899. And perhaps like the 1930's and 2010's, the Cats were quick to take advantage of the new sides that came in, albeit the Dogs, Hawks and Roos all joined in 1925.View attachment 2152855
Geelong had ten wins by 100+ points prior to the two in a row in 1981:
View attachment 2152852
I remember the Sydney couple - they were back when the Sydney game was the only match on Sunday TV, so everyone watched them.
Sydney had scored 200+ points in both those games (both at the SCG), and the next game was also ot the SCG - against the bottom-of-the-ladder Tigers. (Friday night prime time! Oh, crap, this is going to be baaaaad). But we held them to 'merely' 198, and a margin of only 91. Their 'failure' and Richmond's 'gallantry' made all the commentary and the papers, too.
And as a Richmond fan in the grim middle-late 80s (god knows who's turn it was to be coach that day), - I thought it was at least something. Yeah, overall, we took it as a positive.
Looking back, I reckon Tommy Hafey must have felt sorry for us.