Consolidated Draft Profiles

Ashley Smith - (SD) 21 July 1990, 185cm 84kg. VicM/Dandenong Stingrays/Berwick

"???: Ashley Smith. Berwick FC. Running Half Back / Wingman. 185 cm tall. Ashley was part of the AIS AFL Academy in 2007 and showed in patches in 07 that he has the attributes to be a very good TAC cup player. Very quick with great balance, awareness and a long, strong kick, Ashley is in the Vic Metro U18 squad and sure to excite AFL staff."

"Nicko4: Smith played five games across half back for Dandenong in the 2007 TAC Cup, averaging 21 disposals. He had an elite disposal efficiency of 79% and produced impressive averages of four rebound 50s and three marks from opposition kicks per game."

"VinnieVegas69: Ashley Smith (Dandenong Stingrays) - Good sized, outside midfielder/utility, lacks a bit of X-Factor."

"TheBigUnit: Ashley Smith - has a lot of class about him - smooth mover and very penetrating/damaging footskills."

"Artful Dodger: Ashley Smith from Dandenong will be right up there. Yeats reckons he is the best player to ever come from the Stingrays.
Quick, explosive and an excellent kick he will surely go top 5."

Lance Daly - (F) 26 April 1991, 191cm 78kg. WA/Swan Districts

"Jason McCartney: Lance Daly - He showed a little bit and kicked five goals. I hadn't come across Lance before, but he played predominantly as a key forward and at 191cm, he presented really well. He looked like a good forward and played the percentages all of the time. It will be good to see how he progresses through the carnival. Lance showed natural goalkicking instincts and he really looked the part."

"ravadongon: Daly – Played as a lead-up FF. Kicked a tidy amount of goals (5). Hard to judge accurately how good any of the big forwards were as WA had a ridiculous amount of forward entries."

"HFF 07: LANCE DALY 191cm 78kg FF/CHF/FP Swan Districts F.C (WA)
A KP player, may not have to size to play KP at the next level, but certainly looks a prospext, was always on the move and really impressed a few people with his work ethic and presented well.
PROS: - Smart forward, Size, Goal kicking instincts,
CONS: - none that i have seen
PREDICTION: 70+"

"stu: Lance Daly - Started playing at 10yrs with MidvaleJFC. played almost all of his football at full forward. He has won the goal kicking at Swans Junior Development Council for the last 4 years and is leading the Colts Comp this year. ( only played 14 games ). He is 6ft 4in. Strong body (doesn’t always use it though ). Has a kick thats very, very good up to 55 metres. Played State 18’s this year at full forward. Does not get allot of kicks but the ones he gets are all usually goals. When he puts his mind to it he can really mark. some say he is a lazy player. He Isn’t, its his style.. bit like Yarran.. can really turn it on."

"TheBigUnit: Lance Daly - Bottom aged and a very similar type to Aaron Cornelius - not athletic, but very good forward nous - timing leads, positioning and judging the ball in flight. Much better set shot than Aaron though - very accurate. Leading goal kicker for WA U18s and in WAFL Colts too - despite missing games for both."

Dylan McNeil - (IM) 20 March 1991, 178cm 77kg. NSW/ACT RAMS/Murry Bushrangers

"Jason McCartney: Dylan McNeil – A midfielder, Dylan is very good at the stoppages. He uses the ball well and he had 17 disposals and seven hard-ball gets. The big one was his clearance work – he finished with nine for the match. He also got four inside 50s. He's very creative in tight and when he does find space, he uses it quite well."

"Jason McCartney: Dylan McNeil - Playing through the midfield, he provided great ball use and I was really impressed with his work in close. He gained 18 disposals and had seven hard-ball gets. His ability to get in there and win the hard-ball was impressive, so he can hold his head high with his performance."

"Kirky8865: Dylan McNeil is a very good player who gets a lot of footy. Named All-Austrialian last year."

"one 4 the road: Dylan McNeil (is eligible this year).
Had a very consistent carnival and was right up there in clearances. Plays for the Bushies, so is exposed to the best week in week out. Size may be only factor to count against, realisticly wont go first round but second or third is not out of the question."

"Hunch: Dylan Mcneil is a ripper for NSW. Very nice player well balnced good through traffic great user of the ball . Has been playing some great footy for bushies . He's a small kid but moves like arron davey he's a bit light on now but he's got a heap of upside to him . Hes a real chance for the draft as a lot of people like him"

"TheBigUnit: Dylan McNeill - pick of the NSW/ACT bunch for mine - prefer him to Klemke, Ranga and Reed. Love his creativity and vision inside traffic. Another bottom ager too - so still a lot of scope for physical development."

Liam Jones - (KPF / KPD) 24 February 1991, 192cm 84kg. Tas/North Hobart

"Dream come true for a Tassie tyro SEAN STEVENSON
April 09, 2008 12:00am
HE might be just 17, but football has already provided Liam Jones with experiences most teenagers can only dream about.
Liam returned from a tour of South Africa with the AIS team last week, just in time to play a curtain-raiser to "the Derby" clash between Fremantle and West Coast at Subiaco Oval in Perth.
He was a solid contributor at full-back in the AIS team's 30-point victory over West Perth, despite suffering a broken nose in a marking contest in the opening two minutes of the game.
Later this year Liam will play in a curtain-raiser to another AFL game, the Geelong versus Melbourne clash in round 19, on the hallowed turf of the MCG.
That will not be a result of his involvement with the AIS program though.
Liam will be representing Scotch College against Melbourne Grammar, after joining the school on a football scholarship this year.
It is the 150th anniversary game at the MCG, so it will be pretty exciting, he said.
The son of former North Hobart and St Kilda star Bob Jones, Liam said the scholarship to Scotch was too good an opportunity to pass up despite some initial reservations about leaving the family home in Hobart.
At first I wasn't too keen, but I changed my mind after visiting the school, he said.
Liam said he had no regrets after spending his first term at the school.
He has already established some firm friendships with fellow scholarship holders; even a young AFL star.
Cyril Rioli's cousin Jack Long (nephew of former Essendon great Michael Long) is at the school and he visits quite often, so it has been good to get to know him, Liam said.
Rioli is one of many AFL footballers to have come through the Scotch College program, and Liam is hoping he can add his name to the list.
He has been working hard in the gym on adding some muscle to his slender 195cm, 84kg frame.
Kevin Sheedy came on the tour of South Africa with us and told me I needed to have more muscle come draft time, Liam said.
Following a quick visit back home Liam returns to Melbourne today, and will play his first game for Scotch this weekend."

"Liam eager to grab chance ADAM SMITH
September 05, 2007 12:00am
WHILE there are never guarantees in sport, teenager Liam Jones is certainly on the right path in the football world.
The 16-year-old was part of Tasmania's under-16 side which played at the national carnival earlier this year, impressing so much he gained selection in the AIS team.
A centre half-forward for North Hobart, Jones is not only preparing himself for the finals with his club side, but also for one of a number camps in Canberra beginning in December.
He will train with an AFL club in January before flying to South Africa next Easter.
Jones was surprised when he found out about his selection three weeks ago.
I couldn't believe it when I first found out, the Dominic College student said.
I thought I played fairly well during the carnival, but mainly the (guys picked) came from division one, so I didn't feel too confident of getting in.
It will be good to see what it's like and compare myself to other guys who are the best players in Australia."
Jones is following in the footsteps of Devils player Aaron Cornelius, who was selected in the AIS team last year.
Before heading to South Africa, the Australian side clashes with teams from the WAFL in Perth.
AIS/AFL high-performance coach Alan McConnell said Jones's selection was based on his performance at the national carnival, with this opportunity giving him an indication of what to expect further down the track.
He said while on average only 75 per cent of players picked in underage sides went on to the AFL, the AIS program was about giving them the best possible platform to do so.
When the guys go to Canberra for the week, they take part in a variety of camps, while we make a program for his needs for outside the camps, McConnell said.
The intention is to get them to play their best footy in the under-18 nationals.
He (Jones) has a natural good judgment and can influence the play when he is involved.
There is a great deal of talent and he is very skilful but obviously there is still a fair way to go.
He is a natural forward but also has the ability to play in defence. He is a nice size and shape for the position he currently plays in."

"Future Star: A Player i believe will go high in the 2009 draft is Liam Jones from Tasmania. He is a AIS scholarship holder who is not eligible for this year. He is around 195 cm i believe and plays as a CHF/CHB and has wonderful hands and running ability. I watched him play against my school in the APS before he injured his knee meaning he missed the carnival. Anyone else know of him? thoughts?
Can tell you he has opted to nominate for this years draft in an attempt to avoid going to the Gold Coast next year. Will be a huge steal for any club that can get him with a third round selection or later as he would be in the first round next year.
Saints should be interested. His father Bob played for them. Did'nt make it to 100 games though."

"glory man: In the next 2 years i will only think 2 or 3 players would be a chance of getting drafted.
2009 Liam Jones- Son of former st kilda player, Bob Jones. liam is a member of the AIS team and got awarded a scholarship to a school in melbourne. He is quick, very tall, Has the best set of hands for set of hands in the state for a young kid behind Cornelius ofcourse, but if he was still down in Tassie he would have been a nice player to have in the SFL team. Could get drafted stil this year but has had knee troubles and he had to pull out of the under 18s team, so that would have hurten his chances."

Caleb Tiller - (OM) 6 February 1991, 187cm 77kg. VicC/Murry Bushrangers/Thornton

"ant555: Caleb Tiller – 187cm, 77kg – Murray Bushrangers.
Tallish skinny half forward/half back/winger. Has ok pace and knows where to run to receive the footy. Takes a few marks in space but will also get in and find his own ball if he has to. Kicking has a bit to improve on. He can miss targets or kick to contests. Has had a few good games where he has kicked multiple goals. His defence has been pretty good when used on the half back line and he likes to run.
Bottom aged player who has had a good season. Chance later on in the draft."

"Supect1: Caleb tiller wasnt given much game time to prove himself . The short time he got i thought he did very well . in the u16's carnival in qld he didnt play much at all . In the metro game he came on and kicked a nice goal at a very handy time in the game . He's got really good skills and a good head on his shoulders. They percieve him as a bit soft but i think you will find he just lacks a bit of confidence in himself . As soon as he gets a bit of arrogance and confidence you will see the real player come out . If he is given a good run and strings a few games together he will be terriffic."

"TheBigUnit: Caleb Tiller - Bottom aged, rangy utility type - fair bit of upside physically - his clean hands and evasive skills really impressed me. Could develop into a very handy bench type player."

Adam Varcoe - (SF) 31 December 1990, 175cm 60kg. Central Districts/Smithfield*

"???: Adam Varcoe: He is either 16 or 17 as he can still play U17's. I agree when he is on fire he is great and once he gets a little more bulk on him he will be better than his brother. His brother came to a 19's game and gave Adam a few words of wisdom during the game, good to see he is watching Adam closely and keen to see him do well. Adam has had some very good games and just like everybody some when you don't seem to notice him, but for such a small guy he goes in hard and not afraid of the bigger bodies. Best thing they ever did taking up the grades as he has improved out of sight and will be a person to watch in the future."

"Zac Milbank: Adam Varcoe - younger brother of Geelong's Travis"

"mickey: Adam suffered a serious knee injury in the pre season trial against North Adelaide and had to undergo a full reconstruction"

Tyson Slattery - (F) 3 December 1990, 189cm 81kg. SA/West Adelaide/Edwardstownt

"loopy cam: Tyson Slattery did well for a period in the 3rd quarter. He had a bit of a scuffle with Aaron Purves and they were both sent to the goalsquare. Slattery proceded to pants Purves for the next ten minutes but I didn't see him for the rest of the match."

"redandblack: Tyson Slattery is the son of former South player Wayne Slattery and is no relation to Henry."

"aldo russian: Tyson Slattery is another draft possibility. Does anyone know if Adelaide or Port can claim him under the father-son rule? I'm not sure of the criteria (I think it's 200 games) nor of how many games Wayne played (though I know he'd played 100 with South when he was 19) and whether both the clubs he played for are allotted to the same AFL club. (Or in fact whether that matters.)"

Rhys Stanley - (R) 1 December 1990, 199cm 84kg. SA/West Adelaide/Berri

"ant555: Rhys Stanley -199cm, 84kg – West Adelaide.
Ruckman from South Australia. Has a good leap in the ruck and his tap work was ok without being outstanding. Pace looks ok. Did find do a lot around the ground in the couple of games I saw him play.
Have not seen a lot of him so it is hard for me to rate where he will go. Back end of the ND or rookie draft possibly."

"blueinblood: Rhys Stanley- Looked quite good in the games that i saw. Quite athletic for a big guy. What are his chances of getting drafted."
"electrobeets: Stanley after the 18s championship injured himself and didnt play again for the year, which probaly killed his draft chances, id say rookie for him now."

"Local Paper: Berri's young ruckman Rhys Stanley had the better in the hit-out department but it does not end there. His agility and second efforts were highlighted when he applied a tackle on Martinson. This created another goal-scoring chance to which Nathan Flynn obliged by kicking the first of his five for the afternoon.
Stanley had a hand in Jennings first after the ruckman smothered an attempted Renmark clearing kick from defence."

"Local Paper: Berri were more competitive during the second term and 15-year-old, 199 centimetre Rhys Stanley showed his mobility when he
picked the ball up and snapped truly after a Peter Safralidis clearance."

"?? Phillips: Rhys Stanley (West Adelaide):
“Rhys is a tall ruckman who has been playing under-19s and is progressing nicely.
“He will be among our first ruck options along with Jarrad Redden and Rhys Clinton.”"

Taylor Hunt - (U) 5 November 1990, 183cm 79kg. VicM/Sandringham Dragons/Beaumaris

"foj1:: 36. Taylor Hunt 183cm 79kg Vic Metro
Powerful utility type who is a strong customer. Penetrating kick who has an athletics background before commiting himself to his footy. Able to play through the midfield but I see him more as a half back in the mould of Mark Chaffey. A bit more development in this kid I think."

"ant555: Taylor Hunt -183cm, 79kg –Sandringham Dragons.
Another utility small who can play back ,forward or on the ball. Has above average pace and reasonable skills. Has had a few games where his kicking was very ordinary in the TAC Cup but he generally gets the job done. Was used as a small defender for Metro during the champs and his run from behind was really good. Has kicked goals this year when playing forward in the TAC Cup. His work in the midfield at the same level has been pretty handy and he is creative by hand.
Could be an option later in the draft or as a rookie."

"smilingassassain6: Pick 44: North Melbourne: Taylor Hunt: Can play half back and can switch into the midfield. Had a reasonably good Championship and is quite good by foot."

Ben Bucovaz - (F / D) 2 November 1990, 188cm 88kg. VicC/Geelong Falcons/Geelong Amateur

"Mr Catt: Bucovaz- Falcons. Super CHB. Athletic, great defender. Most likely 2nd/ 3rd Tall at AFL level and will probably only be screened but i like him 30+ for some value."

"Ben in footy showcase
July 16th, 2008

TALENTED 17-year-old footballer Ben Bucovaz was one of five Geelong-based footballers to play for Victoria Country in the under-18 national championships.
The competition showcases the nation's best young footballers against each other in front of the watchful eye of AFL club recruiters.
The rise up the ranks has been quick for Bucovaz, earning selection in the squad after just his second year in the system.
His selection led him to debut for the Big V against Western Australia at Subiaco oval.
I was really nervous at the start, Bucovaz said.
But once you get to meet the guys and realise that we are all there to win, the nervousness went away.
It was a fantastic experience, and my football will be better for it."
While Bucovaz was rotated on and off quite a bit, he still managed to kick a goal in Victoria Country's upset win over the powerful Western Australia.
The modest Bucovaz said that while it was an honour, he's taking his football one step at a time.
I don't have any real expectations of myself, he said.
I just want to go out and have a bit of my fun with my mates and play a bit of footy.
I'll let my football do the talking, and if something comes of that then that would be great."
Juggling VCE and football has become a major part of Bucovaz's life with both taking up a lot of his spare time.
The week days are pretty full, Bucovaz said.
I have football three times a week, which means I go directly from school to Falcons and I won't be home until eight or nine o'clock at night.
If I am not doing something to do with school or footy, then I like to sit down and watch a bit of TV."
While a groin injury forced Bucovaz out of the carnival early, his sights are now firmly on helping the Falcons to the grand final.
I can't wait to go back and play some footy with the guys, he said.
Hopefully we can knock off some of the top teams and make our way into the finals.
That is all that matters to me right now."
By Ryan Reynolds"

Phil Davis - (KPF / KPD) 30 August 1990, 192cm 83kg. SA/North Adelaide/St Peter's College

"thesaint: phil davis at st peters is one of the best players in the competition, his ability to play in any position is better than any other, his athletic ability is fantastic for someone that is around 6'5."

"Footballman: phil davis is a fair gun, 2 bad he did his shoulder and is out for 6 months."

"albyplus: The injured Phil Davis from SA would have to be a serious consideration"
"Anonymous: Great call!
Has slipped under the radar which is very understandable as he only played about a half of footy in the Champs against Vic Metro with a shoulder injury. Looked the goods against Watts early in that game as a defender but can certainly be used up forward and even through the midfield even though he stands at about 192cms.
Given his shoulder injury and the strength of this years draft, Id say he might slip to a 2nd round pick but mark my words whoever takes him will have a gem."

"DJ75: Wait for Phil Davis. He will get drafted and due to shoulder injury this year may slip a bit. Before that was a lock for CHB in the State U18 team. Played two reserves games for North and kicked a bag of goals in each game."

"Robbo PAFC: Also SA Forward Phil Davis re-did his shoulder in the game yesterday."

"?? Phillips: Phil Davis (North Adelaide):
“At 193cm he’s very versatile, we can play him in key positions or through the midfield.
“He’s a St Peters boy so will play a bit of college footy as well this year.”"

Alistair Smith - (OM) 8 August 1990, 183cm 80kg. WA/Perth

"jgb99: Alistair Smith ….skilfull, speedy, line-breaking wingman."

"Dunn - Well Dunn: He plays for Perth colts and played PSA football for Wesley College where he won the Best and Fairest. He is fairly quick and ran about 11.4 secs for the 100 metres and got 15.2 for beep test. He has a massive tank and speed and his left foot skills are sometimes great aswell but under pressure ive seen him struggle. Can play HBF,Wing and as an onballer. Has been selcted for the national draft camp where I feel Sydney, Freo and Eagles will lead the chase for his honours. Averaged 27 disposals in first 5 or 6 games for colts where he was then selected for state 18's where he didnt play his best footy but still displayed his talent in the 2 games. Is injured and will struggle to do his best at the draft camp if he does actually go. Should be drafted from 30 - 50."

"TheBigUnit: Alistair Smith - not on the BF radar as he didn't play in the VM/WA game, but DC invite and definitely looked the goods when I saw him - although I don't have much notes on him, remember him as a compulsive lightning quick outside dasher with neat skills."

Tom Simkin - (D) 7 August 1990, 190cm 81kg. VicC/Geelong Falcons/Colac

"ant555: Tom Simpkin – 190cm, 81kg –Geelong Falcons.
Mobile defender with good defensive skills. He is prepared to back himself and run from half back and his skills are pretty good. Kicks mainly right foot and he is a good long kick on that side. His pace is reasonably good.
He is what clubs like in today’s game as far as running half backs go but half backs don’t generally go all that high in the draft. Good chance later in the draft."

"TheBigUnit: Tom Simpkin - seemed very sound defensively and rebounded well too. His spoiling really stood out from what I've seen - reminds me of a shorter Will Schofield."

Will Young - (U) 3 August 1990, 192cm 83kg. VicC/North Ballarat Rebels/North Ballarat Jnr

"foj1:: 33. Will Young 192cm 83kg Vic Country
Tallish athletic utility who attacks the footy with a bit of dash. Has an AFL type body size and relishes the contest. May not have enough pizzazz for AFL recruiters but he reminds me of Stephen Gilham at a similar age and I like blokes at Young’s size who are competitive in the air and on the ground."

"HFF 07: WILL YOUNG 192cm 83kg UTILITY North Ballarat Rebels
Tall athletic utility who loves the contest, runs in straight lines and is both good in the air and on the ground.
PROS: - Competitive, Size/Shape, 1%,
CONS: - only does whats needed, not that little extra
PREDICTION: 45 - 70"

"ant555: Will Young -192cm, 83kg –North Ballarat.
Forward who is good overhead and has reasonably good pace. Skills by hand are pretty good but his kicking can be a concern at times. Has a lot of ineffective kicks. Has had a reasonably consistent year in the TAC Cup playing mainly half forward. Was ok in defence for Country when used there for some quarters during the champ series.
Another project tall for late in the draft or the rookie draft."

"north city!!!: Will Young imparticular was very impressive and dominated with clean hands and disposal throughout a cold, wet and windy game. His high marking, attack on the ball, skill on both sides and creative use of the ball for a bloke 6' 4" make him a potential come draft day."

Michael Gugliotta - (KPD) 26 June 1990, 194cm 87kg. NT/Nightcliff*

"Quigley: This is a guy to watch out for. He is not eligible this year but is one I will be keen to see how he looks at next year’s carnival. He was easily the best key position prospect form the Territory for me. He has good height, is agile and gets around the ground well. He also has a great pair of hands and took some really nice marks. His confidence in his marking ability may be a bit of a downfall at the moment as playing in the backline he tries to mark everything and does not often do the disciplined things. That being said he pulled down a couple of screamers which will put him on the radar for next year. He has also got a big kick on him although at the moment he could use it better."

"Quigley: Gugliotta – this is a guy who I was quietly excited about last year and I was expecting him to tear things up this year. He has excellent key position height (over 195), runs well, has a good leap, is agile and just looks like a footballer. Unfortunately he showed bugger all as far as onfield ability this year. He faded in and out of the game playing at HF and FF and rarely got the ball in scoring position. The disposals he got were usually up the ground but he did show that can take a mark and pick out a man with his kicks. I reckon someone is going to fall in love with the package rather than the performance and will take a punt on him. There will be worse prospects drafted."

Bryce Carroll - (SF) 25 June 1990, 184cm 72kg. Western Jets/Doutta Stars*

"Western Jets: Profile: Bryce comes to the Jets from the Doutta Stars football club seeking an opportunity to play TAC Cup Football. He has impressed with his skills, ability to read the game and has the athleticism to be successful at this level."

"ant555: Bryce Carroll – 184cm, 72kg –Western Jets.
Used mainly as a small forward with a few stints in defence Bryce has had a solid year for the Jets. His work rate is very good and he has played at half forward he has been prepared to work up the wing and even to half back to provide a target or help out.
He has good pace and his use by hand is very good. His kicking is not always fantastic and he has had games where he has missed gettable goals and targets by foot. Has kicked multiple goals in 9 games this year.
Certainly one to look at later in the draft."

"Ford Dealer: Good overhead and very quick. Wouldn't be suprised to see him run near 2.9 at draft camp. A lot of upside to him"

"cruming: Carroll very good player when his up and going good for him to be going to draft camp after not getting a pre-season at calder."

Tom Allwright - (OM) 15 June 1990, 185cm 83kg. Tas/North Hobart

"Jason McCartney: Tom Allwright - He's a strong body-type at 185cm and 83kg. He played wing and through the midfield and was fantastically hard at it. He won 22 disposals and was really instrumental. He had a good division two series and continued it on this match."

"HFF 07: TOM ALWRIGHT 185cm 83kg MID North Hobart/Tasmania (VFL)
Nice size for an AFL player, makes good decisions and uses it well, the Tasmanian Captain could be a bargain in the 3rd or fourth round, has good clean hands and is a good mark. Has played some senior footy with Tasmania in the VFL.
PROS: - Tough, Hard, Run, Vision, Hands, Reads play well,
CONS: - Not sure if he is the quickest bloke, none really to note,
PREDICTION: 30 - 50"

"ant555: Tom Allwright – 185cm, 83kg – North Hobart/Tasmania.
Midfielder/defender from Tasmania with reasonably good pace. Good reader of the play and is very composed under pressure. Nice right foot kick and a good mark. Good hands in close and his overall vision of play is very good. Gave good run out of defence while playing there.
I think this kid would prove to be a good late round pick up."

"[U}GhostofJimJess:[/U] A young bloke I saw playing for Tassie in the Aust Championships, I think he was No.3. Tom Allright? Moved well, won most contests he got to, used the ball well and made good decisions. Might be a goer for a later pick"
"pheonix rise: Yep, Tom Allwright, I think he might have even been captain for Tassie but don't quote me on that.
Wouldn't be a bad late pick. Has a good mark and skills generally, and as you say gets to a lot of contests, from what I've seen of him. Not sure about his leg speed though but I'd agree, if we use our pick 58 I'd have him as in the mix. Maybe stretching it to give him pick 42 but I'm interested in his draft screening results, I assume he's been invited to, to get a good gauge on his pace"

"TheBigUnit: Tom Allwright - Seems like he has a very good all-round game without any standout ability - good overhead marking, composure, sound skills and strong bodied."

Zacchary Ledin - (IM / OM) 2 May 1990, 180cm 71kg. Geelong Falcons/North Warrnambool

"hazzap: if your looking for someone to take a strong mark i was watching the geelong falcons and one man stood out for me, Zac Ledin.He is a fantastic midfielder and for his size can take a very strong mark. keep an eye on him."

Sam McGarry - (OM) 21 April 1990, 186cm 77kg. VicM/Sandringham Dragons/St Peter's

"ant555: Sam McGarry -186cm, 77kg – Sandringham Dragons.
Consistent TAC Cup performer who generally finds a lot of the ball. Plays mainly on the ball or as a small forward. Has pretty good pace and his clearance work is ok. Skills by foot are ok and his handball is very good. Can get in and get the hard ball but has looked better in the receiving role. Does manage to kick a goal most weeks when he is playing forward.
Because he has a bit more height than some of the other mids going around he is probably a better chance late in the draft than most."

"digdaddy: 22- McGarry; Very quiet today. Started well with his first attack on the ball but faded badly. Has some habits watching him play TAC but his pace is very good, just needs a bit of coaching."

"???: Sam McGarry describes the experience “as very daunting and quiet surreal”.
“As we walked out onto the MCG, it was empty yet still very big, the ground was big and the game was too,” said McGarry post match.
Sam started at half-back and believed it took him a while to adjust and get into the game. As Sam was moved into the centre he found a lot more of the ball and scored an important goal.
McGarry said the Vic Metro coaching staff, post-match, were “very happy with the win as we were the better side on the day. We do have a lot to take away from the game and to work on. There is a fair bit of improvement to be made as most of Country’s goals were scored from turn-overs and free kicks”.
It was Sam’s second game on the MCG (Auskick game was his first) and says his highlight for the day was “simply running out there”, closely followed by Watts’ game winning goal in the final moments of the game."

Matthew Martin - (KPD) 23 February 1990, 196cm 100kg. SA/West Adelaide/Flagstaff Hill

"Jason McCartney: Matthew Martin - He is a 196cm key position player and the ball didn't get past him really at centre half-back or full-back. He was really strong overhead and for his size showed excellent agility. He handballed more than kicked - I don't know if he's got a heap of confidence in his kicking - but he was the rock South Australia built its defence around. I hadn't seen him before, so it was good to come across him."

"HFF 07: MATTHEW MARTIN 196cm 100kg FB/CHB West Adelaide (SA)
'The Rock' in the SA defence, Martin played predominantly at FB and was super impressive, is really strong overhead and is mobile for a big man, has some issues with his kicking as he handballed more than kicking.
PROS: - Agile, 1%, Marking, Spoiling,
CONS: - Kicking, Pace,

"Reece Homfray: AT 195cm and 102kg, Matthew Martin’s sheer size makes him a tantalising AFL draft prospect.
And having manned the post at full back for West Adelaide most of this season, he has developed into a tough, key position defender.
But his journey from under-19 forward to League full back has been a steep ``learning curve’’.
``I played on Brant Chambers against Sturt and he kicked five on me in the first half,’’ Martin said.
``And I played on Daniel Schell against Centrals and he kicked five on me as well.
``But I played on (Luke) Cowan on the weekend and kept him quiet, so it has been a big learning curve.’’
The 18-year-old was named the round-22 Coca Cola Star Search nominee this week.
``I walked into training and (Damian) Cupdio said `Mr Coca Cola’ and I didn’t know what he was on about,’’ Martin said.
``I found out later and it was nice to get that award.’’
Martin has spoken to ``a few’’ AFL clubs about his draft chances in November and is one of four West Adelaide players invited to the AFL’s Draft Camp in Canberra this month.
``I wanted this year to be make-or-break for me trying to get into the AFL,’’ he said.
``But I didn’t want it getting into my head so I’ve been trying to concentrate on playing good footy, one week at a time.
``And I feel privileged Andy (Collins) has given me a chance to play this year and have a crack at senior level.
``That’s what this year has been about young guys having a crack.’’
Martin started the season in the under-19s and made his League debut against Woodville-West Torrens in round five.
He has only missed three games since and two of those were due to SA under-18 commitments.
``Full back has been new to me this year. I played most of my juniors up forward and in the ruck.
``So I’ve been doing a fair bit of work with Andy (Collins) during the week and extra defensive work after Wednesday night training with Fergie (former Melbourne defender Ryan Ferguson) and he’s been great.’’..."

Matthew Martin - (KPD) 23 February 1990, 196cm 100kg. SA/West Adelaide/Flagstaff Hill

"Jason McCartney: Matthew Martin - He is a 196cm key position player and the ball didn't get past him really at centre half-back or full-back. He was really strong overhead and for his size showed excellent agility. He handballed more than kicked - I don't know if he's got a heap of confidence in his kicking - but he was the rock South Australia built its defence around. I hadn't seen him before, so it was good to come across him."

"HFF 07: MATTHEW MARTIN 196cm 100kg FB/CHB West Adelaide (SA)
'The Rock' in the SA defence, Martin played predominantly at FB and was super impressive, is really strong overhead and is mobile for a big man, has some issues with his kicking as he handballed more than kicking.
PROS: - Agile, 1%, Marking, Spoiling,
CONS: - Kicking, Pace,

"Reece Homfray: AT 195cm and 102kg, Matthew Martin’s sheer size makes him a tantalising AFL draft prospect.
And having manned the post at full back for West Adelaide most of this season, he has developed into a tough, key position defender.
But his journey from under-19 forward to League full back has been a steep ``learning curve’’.
``I played on Brant Chambers against Sturt and he kicked five on me in the first half,’’ Martin said.
``And I played on Daniel Schell against Centrals and he kicked five on me as well.
``But I played on (Luke) Cowan on the weekend and kept him quiet, so it has been a big learning curve.’’
The 18-year-old was named the round-22 Coca Cola Star Search nominee this week.
``I walked into training and (Damian) Cupdio said `Mr Coca Cola’ and I didn’t know what he was on about,’’ Martin said.
``I found out later and it was nice to get that award.’’
Martin has spoken to ``a few’’ AFL clubs about his draft chances in November and is one of four West Adelaide players invited to the AFL’s Draft Camp in Canberra this month.
``I wanted this year to be make-or-break for me trying to get into the AFL,’’ he said.
``But I didn’t want it getting into my head so I’ve been trying to concentrate on playing good footy, one week at a time.
``And I feel privileged Andy (Collins) has given me a chance to play this year and have a crack at senior level.
``That’s what this year has been about young guys having a crack.’’
Martin started the season in the under-19s and made his League debut against Woodville-West Torrens in round five.
He has only missed three games since and two of those were due to SA under-18 commitments.
``Full back has been new to me this year. I played most of my juniors up forward and in the ruck.
``So I’ve been doing a fair bit of work with Andy (Collins) during the week and extra defensive work after Wednesday night training with Fergie (former Melbourne defender Ryan Ferguson) and he’s been great.’’..."

Dayne Beams - (IM) 12 February 1990, 184cm 81kg. QLD/Southport Sharks

"ant555: Dayne Beams – 184cm, 81kg – Queensland / Southport.
Midfielder with reasonably good skills on both sides of the body. Runs pretty hard and his work rate is pretty good. In saying this he could work a bit smarter by pushing to space a bit more at various times. Can kick the ball a long way but does kick to contests a bit. Is also a reasonably good mark. Pace is pretty good but he is not exceptionally quick. Clearance work is pretty good.
Definitely worth a look at, fourth round or later."

"Quigley: Beams – had a huge game against NT but was only ordinary against NSW. He did not run to get open enough when playing through the middle. He is a long kick (will carry over 50) and can stab it nicely but he doesn’t make his possessions count, turns the ball over and tends to kick to contests too much. He took a few reasonable grabs and showed he is pretty solid overhead. He was moved onto Williams from NSW when he was getting away and managed to do a nice job quietening him down. In the last game he showed he can get a lot of the ball which is definitely something to build on and get people’s attention."

"thoselionslads: Beams - from what quigly said beams was good in patches. Personally i rate this guy as probably the best top age qld player. Although i did not see the carnival, from what i have seen of him up here he shows brilliant composure with the footy and like all good players he always seems to have time with the football in his hands. His disposal does lack at times but a well rounded player who has put some size on in the last few years."

Zach Sengstock - (KPD) 31 July 1989, 191cm 85kg. Sandringham Dragons/Caulfield Grammarians

"ant555: Zach Sengstock -191cm, 85kg – Sandringham Dragons.
Has come on really well after a bit of a late start to his TAC Cup career. Over age kid who has played mainly as a defender with a few stints as a forward. He has a good defensive presence and reads the ball coming in very well. Has pretty good pace and is prepared to back himself and run of his man to make the play. Skills are pretty good and he is a reliable kick. Finds a lot of the ball for a KP defender.
Good prospect for third round or later."

"sportz1: SENGSTOCK big bloke lumbering type that can take a grab good honest player"

Ian Richardson - (SF/OM) 14 October 1987, 179cm 74kg. Claremont*

"Ian Richardson enhances growing reputation Chris Pike:
June 09, 2008 11:30am
YOUNG Claremont forward Ian Richardson further enhanced his growing reputation by walking away from the State Game with five-goal haul and a Simpson Medal.
It capped off a big week for the 20-year-old, who kicked seven goals in Claremont's loss to Subiaco on Foundation Day.
It is hard to believe that Richardson, the 2006 Jack Clarke medallist in the Colts competition, never played for his State at underage level - but he made the most of his opportunity and is certainly enjoying the way things are going for him this season.
"I'm ecstatic with my form, to play State footy and to get a win. I'll certainly be enjoying the Townsville night life and to celebrate with the boys," Richardson said.
"It was an awesome day. I haven’t had a win for about seven weeks, so just that was good and it was good to be part of such a good quality team."
Queensland got off to a fast start, but Richardson and Hayden Ballantyne were instrumental in helping WA get on top in the second quarter and he was just happy to capitalise on the good work of the midfielders, especially Jarrod Kayler-Thomson and Phil Read.
"I don’t know what happened early, but we came back after that and played great in the last three quarters," he said.
"Personally I was obviously happy with my second quarter (four goals), but I can't take all the credit. The delivery to me was awesome and I just had to finish off their good work."
Coming into the game Richardson was excited to play alongside Ballantyne and the two small, yet strong marking, forwards proved to be the difference with eight goals between them.
"It was a pretty easy for job for myself, Ballas and Merro down deep with the delivery we were getting and we just had to lead up and we knew they'd hit us," he said.
"I was looking forward to playing with him (Ballantyne) coming into the game as we are similar sorts of players and have been in good form. It was exciting to be out there with him and I guess their defence wasn’t quite up to stopping us and we were pretty happy to kick a few goals."
Richardson certainly enjoyed his first taste of State football and everything that came with it, including the hectic travel schedule.
"It was a long way as we came to Brisbane two days before, then Townsville on Friday and had flights and buses here, there and everywhere, but it's all worth it in the end now that we got a win on the board," he said.
"I had never played interstate before so didn’t really know what to expect coming into the game, but it wasn’t too bad at all and it all went well.
"It was a bit more serious in the preparation as we had the two days together to prepare instead of the usual one training session leading into a WAFL game each week. Instead of going home, you stick with the boys and we had more meetings and things than for our usual WAFL game, but it was all enjoyable."
Richardson's full focus now returns to Claremont and trying to snap a six-game losing streak against Swan Districts this Sunday at Claremont Oval.
"We haven’t had a win for a long time, so that's the aim now once I get back," he said.
"We feel that we are getting there and we will be working hard on winning next weekend."
Perthnow"

"WA Today: Ian Richardson (Claremont)
Had a reasonably quiet day with just two goals in Claremont's win over South Fremantle but did a good job with Chad Jones stealing the show.
Had never played a league match before this year but is now a proven quality forward who despite being just 175cm, is equally adept on the ground as in the air. Finishes the season with 62 goals and the Simpson Medal from the State game against Queensland in Townsville."

"Sico 17: Ian Richardson (Claremont): 14 October 1987 - 179cm 74kg
More of a HFF than a FP Richardson has had some big goal hauls this year including 7 last week. Very accurate at goal having a 63% rate this year.
Season so far: 10 League games, 28 goals."

"TheBigUnit: Ian Richardson (Claremont) - clever, small FP/HFF - good overhead, on the lead and crumbing. 3rd in the WAFL for goals kicked this year."

Steven Motlop - (SF/OM) 12 March 1991, 181cm 68kg. Waratahs*

"JDC: Steven Motlop has been reasonable at senior level in a terrible side but definately not as good as what Marlon was. It is a stronger draft this year so I can't see Motlop getting picked before selection 60 but he is the type that could make it at AFL level. He tied in the NTFL U16 Hickman Medal (competition best and fairest) with Robbie Hale and Michael Gugliotta - two other players who are chances to get drafted."

"*PAFC*13: I’ll give you a bit of a run down on him. I’ll just start off by saying how good of a bloke he is. Absolute champ and a funny fella.
Steven would be about 182cms tall roughly and would weight around 70kgs. The way he moves around the field reminds me a hell of a lot of Daniel, especially his ‘striding’ running style. His kicking in field play and on goal is fairly precise.
Two of Steven’s main flaws at the moment are his marking, which is nowhere near the standard of Daniels and the fact he tends to abuse his team mates and the umpires a lot. The abuse is one thing he defiantly needs to get out of his game. He’s more of a midfielder at the moment because he does have a reasonable engine.
At this moment I wouldn’t say he’s shown enough to make him draft worthy, only maybe as a rookie list option. I have a lot of faith that Steven will continue to improve and hopefully one day be drafted."

"tbomber: Went and watched a lead up game to Under 18s Nationals between NT & Wst Jet's, first time i'd heard of him but steven unfortunatly got an injury in the dieing stages of the 3rd quarter & missed the last (He had kicked 3) and NT were in front. Easy to say, if he hadn't of rested the last qtr NT would of had it in the bag, but they lost. He was NT's best player aswell."