Conspiracies against North

While it was the brillance and foresight of a North Melbourne Legend (Allen Aylett) that took Australian Rules from a provincial football competition that was threatened with mediority to the most dominiate National competition we have today, the AFL and inparticular a couple of Victorian clubs are still trying to eliminate us from the league.

Here is a list of some of the conspiracies I've uncovered so far:

1895 - Essendon and Carlton with the assistance of St. Kilda and Collingwood stop North Melbourne from entering the break away VFL competition even though the finished high up on the ladder than half of the break away clubs.

1907 - Essendon and Carlton again stop North Melbourne from entering the VFL competition by assisting University with their proposal for entry. They then have North kick out the VFA.

1921 - North are again thwarted by Carlton and Essendon when the try and enter the VFL by merging with a less powerful VFL club.

1925 - Carlton and Essendon allow North into the VFL but only under tough sanctions that almost end the club in the early thirties.

1965 - Alex Jesaulenko is dicovered by North, but the VFL disallows North's attempts to sign him. They allow Carlton to sign him up the next season.

1972 - 11 Teams conspire against North by creating the infamous 10-year rule. North gets wind of this, and after careful consideration, planning and negotiations, makes the other 11 clubs looks like morons by using the 10-year rule to their advantage. If look back at the records North was the only clubs not to vote in favour of this rule.

1995 - Carlton conspire with God (or the Groundsmen) to make the MCG a mud heap.

1996 - North Melbourne's merger attempt with Fitzroy is halted by Carlton, Essendon and Richmond because they felt North Melbourne would become the superpower of the AFL and effect their position within the league.

1996 - The AFL commission conspire against the greatest fullback of all time by name Steven Silvagni as the fullback of the century instead of David Dench. It is beleived the reason behind this attack on Dench is because he continually turned down large offers to play for Carlton.

1998 - Adelaide supporters drug North players at half time of the Grand Final with poisoned oranges (I have no proof of this one at this stage)

1999-2000 - Sydney Swans sabotage North's attempts to play home games in the Harbour City.

DEVO
The truth is out there

Conspiracies or paranoid delusions?
biggrin.gif

Sorry DEVO

North have nobody to blame but themselves for failing in Sydney.

1) It was a dumb idea in the first place.

Flying and flying out with only a vague plan to partailly base yourselves up here was not going to achieve anything. Instead you alienated large sections of your Melbourne supporter base and failed comprehensively to attract Sydney supporters.

2) It was badly handled from the start.

Unsolicited mail-outs, Roos people dressed in Red and White handing out leaflets at the SCG, Millers increasingly shrill outbursts, poor attendances at all games. It just didn't work out DEVO and from the club that has given the games some of its most capable administrators - it was a remarkably clumsy and ham-fisted performance.

I agree with you - look back over the history of the VFA / VFL / AFL and yes, you can see North Melbourne have been 'dudded' a number of times.

But you are way wide of the mark on this one.

cheers

judging by the sydney experiment, they couldnt organise a chook raffle ! BLAME NO ONE ELSE BUT YOURSELF !

------------------
Essendon - The greatest club with the greatest coach in the league ! Carlton- absolute hypocrites who accuse others of being cheats only for it to be found later that carlton are the "serial salary cap breachers" as quoted by our president, haha

DEVO whipped it up:
1996 - North Melbourne's merger attempt with Fitzroy is halted by Carlton, Essendon and Richmond because they felt North Melbourne would become the superpower of the AFL and effect their position within the league.

You mean North-Fitzroy would become the superpower, don't you?
rolleyes.gif

Mr Ripper

I mean North Kangaroos. We are a heartless bunch just like every other team in the comp, and I'm sure that after a couple of seasons we would have shafted the Fitzroy name. I think the sabotaged merger just expediated the move to Sydney and the name change.

Who's to blame for no support?
Who's to blame for the loss?
Who's to blame for not paying your players?
Who's to blame.... (not us..they did it!!)

Boo Bloody whoo

Dons-R-Us, why don't you actually think up an intelligent comeback all by yourself instead of referring to old posts.

Moron.

Mr Ripper,

Richmond's Leon Daphne was paranoid about North becoming a super-club and so instigated a meeting.
All club presidents were aware of the what the AFL was offering for the first 2 clubs to merge and therefore ANY 2 clubs could have merged. Only when 2 clubs (read North - professional on and of the field) looked set to merge, did those same presidents try to alter the previously agreed in-principle offer.

Which colour marshmallow was ROSS OAKLEY, or did his name slip your mind!!

ROYLION

I didn't reply to your long and passionate post on another thread, but you made some good points. I agreed with some of the points made by you, but not necessarily in that order.
Whenever (if ever) will make for interesting reading to compare a book written from North's perspective to Dyson Hore Lacey's book.

Michele

Originally posted by Melbourne:
Dons-R-Us, why don't you actually think up an intelligent comeback all by yourself instead of referring to old posts.

Moron.

That post wasn't an old post, it was written on the 3rd of January, 2001.

So much for your comeback.

Originally posted by Bloodstained Angel:
North have nobody to blame but themselves for failing in Sydney.

Sorry BSA... normally agree with your thinking... but some biassed administrator by the name of Collis may have some blame to answer for... considering he is suppose to be promoting Australian Rules in NSW... He should have been sacked for his actions... too many fingers in too many pies if you ask me...

Thanks for raising Dick Collis there RooBoy96

He has a conflict of interest in this, no doubt about it and I have said in earlier threads it probably would have been better for all concerned if he had stood aside from his position at the NSW AFL Commission (or whatever it was called)

But what did Collis actually do apart from pointing out the bleeding obvious.

Namely - it was a poorly thought out idea that was badly executed. Blind Freddy could have seen that. I agree it was not the right thing for somebody in Collis' position to have said, but all he was doing was stating the obvious I reckon.

Also, Collis or anyone in the Swans for that matter is not to blame for the poor attendances at your Sydney games or indeed the rather er, ham-fisted attempts by your club to sign up new memebers in Sydney.

Like I said it was a dumb idea poorly executed and buck stops at Millers desk, nowhere else.

cheers

Did anyone read the Crackers stuff in the latest Inside Footy.

North are in dire trouble. Unable to pay all staff for one week in November.Another November week they paid half in cash and half by cheque.They owe one of their creditors a large amount of money. One of their committeemen went cap in hand to a Hawthorn person ( named ) , asking for help on a new revenue stream.
Like it or not, their is trouble big time ahead. Unless they get money quick, they could become insolvent.

How could a club which had had such recent & sustained success during the last 5 years or so be in such a mess off the paddock?

(Please! no paranoid conspiracy replies, the AFL is not to blame for everything)

of course the AFL is to blame!

the purpose of a merger is to reduce the number of melbourne teams, by taking two weaker ones and making them stronger

north melbourne AND fitzroy

the brisbane bears were established and in 1996 were one game away of playing in a grand final!

WHY SEND FITZROY UP THERE!

so i blame the AFL for the fact that poor fitzroy people no longer have a MELBOURNE team to support in the AFL

and for the fact that the kangaroos are travelling interstate in an effort to improve their financial situation.

instead of converting two weaker melbourne clubs into one stronger one,

the afl killed fitzroy off and now the kangaroos are at risk!

OPEN YOUR EYES!

and it wont stop with north either!

Ever since Sydney entered the competition in 82, the VFL/AFL commission has been trying to reduce the number of clubs in Melbourne. While Allen Aylett was the head of the Commision, North was safe (to the detriment of Footscray and Fitzroy), but as soon as he retired, North was the number one target for the commissioners and the other Presidents because of it's geographic location - its in the between the two biggest clubs in Melbourne, Essendon and Carlton. The commission thought that if they throw their weight behind the Essendon/Carlton cause, then North would die with 5-10 years. But thanks to the foresight and ingenuity of Ron Casey and his board we survived while another club in a similar situation to ours (Fitzroy's between Carlton and Collingwood) meet their fate.

I personally don't think either merger option was good for Fitzroy, because in both cases it was a take over. The Brisbane deal was probably the better one because Brisbane didn't have the history of North and therefore the loss of the Bears logo and colours wasn't going to cause the stink it would at North, but once again it the work of the commision and the other club Presidents stabbing one of the struggling melbourne clubs in the back.

DEVO
The truth is out there

So whats that all got to do with the mess North have been in off the field for a number of years.
In 2001, have they secured any more sponsors and members that will be enough to wipe out their debt, plus continue to meet their ongoing debt . No .
Thus
If one of Norths creditors decide that they want their money, then its bankruptcy for North.
Then who will whinge the loudest.

James

Part of the merger deal was an $8million payment to help "establish" the new club. North wouldn't be in the financial mess they are in now if the $8m went to them instead of Brisbane.

James,

I heard the Geelong's president today on the radio re the #5 jumper and the website.

When asked about the club in general he replied (paraphrasing) "after the bad situation (the Cats) were in 2 years ago, a $1.5 mill loss, things had been turned around to make a modest profit (I think he said 170,000).

Many clubs have previously or are currently in some financial difficulty. Geelong, Richmond, Collingwood, Sydney, WB, St Kilda, Carlton, (but I believe only the Legends stand)Melbourne and Hawthorn etc.
Where was the same amount of hype surrounding these clubs?

Everyone, media and supporters from other clubs seem ready to write North off, or ship
them off. Why? Do other teams want our players? Carlton already tried that trick!

It annoys me and I am sure every other North supporter.

Losing the VicHealth sponsorship was a setback and another hurdle the administration has to overcome. (Thanks G. Healy) Without the loss of our president, Ron Casey, that situation may not have occurred.

North are survivors - read an excellent book, "The North Story."

Michele

Conspiracies against North