News Contract Discussion

MEMBER-FIRST ANNOUNCEMENT
You are among the first to hear that Harley Bennell has joined a growing list of young Gold Coast SUNS stars, putting pen to paper and re-signing with the Club.
Bennell reaffirmed his commitment to the GC SUNS until the end of the 2014 season.
The 19-year-old former West Australian said he was pleased to re-sign with the GC SUNS and to continue the journey he and some of the countries brightest young talent began back in 2010.
"I'm rapt to re-sign with the SUNS. I have got a lot of mates here, I'm enjoying my footy and I believe we are building something pretty special."
General Manager – Football Operations, Marcus Ashcroft said although Bennell's potential had been evident over the past couple of matches, the Gold Coast SUNS had been well aware of the youngster's talent and enormous potential prior recruiting him with the Club's second selection in the 2010 draft.
"Harley is an extremely talented young player and we are thrilled that he will continue his playing career with the Gold Coast Football Club."
"We believe Harley has the ability to play a major role in the growth and development of our Club and we look forward to him continuing to development both on and off the field over the coming years," Ashcroft said.
Bennell joins team mates David Swallow, Sam Day, Tom Lynch, Brandon Matera, Jeremy Taylor, Luke Russell, Jaeger O'Meara and Alex Sexton on the Gold Coast SUNS list until the end of the 2014 season.
"A number of our players are displaying real commitment to the Club, that in turn gives us great confidence that the players believe in our program and are determined to deliver success for the Gold Coast Football Club and our fans," Ashcroft said.

SUNS TV Bennell Recommits

Amazing news for us, love having Harley signed up to 2014, hopefully by then we are pushing top 8 on the way up, which will keep the guys around who want to win a premiership. This sounds good

O'Mera, Swallow, Bennell, Prestia, Russell, Horsley, Caddy then add some bloke called Gary Ablett and another handy bloke in Rischatelli and that is starting to look quite punishing.

Also on his form are we thinking Dixon is a sure thing to put his name on the dotted line?

Thats made my day , great signing , this time last year who would of thought he would extend his contract , well done Suns , now onto Caddy.:thumbsu:

Would love to hear if there are any whispers about Caddy.

I'm also tipping, McKenna to get 2 year extension next week after we beat the Giants.

Personally I think he should have got it before this particular game to take the pressure and heat off, just in case that it is a loss.

Would love to hear if there are any whispers about Caddy.

I'm also tipping, McKenna to get 2 year extension next week after we beat the Giants.

Personally I think he should have got it before this particular game to take the pressure and heat off, just in case that it is a loss.

I don't think we will get Caddy. Just a hunch though :cool:

I do agree, McKenna should have been signed before this game. I just feel really bad about the match too. Something is not sitting right with me. I hope we win and I expect we should, but geez, I'm nervous.

Let's hope the boys remember Arizona when they run out in the sweltering 12 degrees :eek:

Kudos to Nick Smart for letting us in on this information weeks ago. His sources were right on the money.

Harley -- what a gun he will be. I love screaming out his name in the stands. It's probably the only player who I scream out via his first name. Rolls off the toungue much easier than Bennell. :D

HAARRRRLEEEYYYYY!

AWESOME :thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu: did that come across as loud as I wanted it to?:D

I am not as hung up on Caddy re-signing as I was previously, I still hope he re-signs but if we have to lose a young gun I would prefer him to Bennell, Swallow or O'Meara. Caddy has a developed body (the others are still growing) so I don't see as big of an upside. Also if he does go perhaps we can arrange a 3 way trade, Tippet to Suns, Caddy to a vic team and a player from the vic team to the Crows.

I know you still have Caddy to sign up and who else do you want to re-signed and out of the young guys which ones will be gone next year?

I reckon the ones the Suns don't want will be delisted or traded.

I know you still have Caddy to sign up and who else do you want to re-signed and out of the young guys which ones will be gone next year?

I reckon the ones the Suns don't want will be delisted or traded.

I believe we have a list somewhere on this thread... probably needs to be updated. Let me see if I can scrounge around.

...here we are.

Ok updated list (correct me if I'm wrong somewhere).

Recruited senior players
Gary Ablett - 2015
Nathan Bock - 2013
Campbell Brown - 2013
Jared Brennan - 2013
M Rischitelli - 2013
Jarrod Harbrow - 2013

Josh Fraser - 2012

Players with contract extentions
David Swallow - 2014
Zac Smith - 2013
Dion Prestia - 2013
Dan Gorringe - 2013

Charlie Dixon - 2012
Rory Thompson- 2013
Sam Day - 2014
Seb Tape - 2013
Harley Bennell - 2014
Tom Lynch - 2014

Jacob Gilbee - 2013
Trent McKenzie- 2013

Karmichael Hunt - 2014
Jaeger O'Meara - 2014 (can't play until 2013)
Luke Russell - 2014
Brandon Matera- 2014

Danny Stanley- 2012(?)
Sam Iles - 2012(?)

'10 Draftees still on standard 2 years
Josh Caddy - 2012
Jeremy Taylor - 2012
Josh Toy - 2012

The rest (some are unverified)
Maverick Weller - 2012
Lewis Moss - 2012
Hayden Jolly- 2012
Piers Flanagan- 2012
Tom Nicholls- 2012
Matt Shaw- 2012
Taylor Hine- 2012
Jack Hutchins - 2012
Joel Wilkinson - 2012
Tom Hickey - 2012
Liam Patrick - 2012
Steven May - 2012

Out of those who are still left, I would expect Stanley, Iles, Shaw, Dixon, Hutchins, Taylor Wilkinson, Hickey, May and Weller to get extensions based on the form they have showed. Shaw is an auto-22 lock, for example. Caddy and Toy are our only real question marks at this stage.

Patrick, Hine, Nicholls, Flanagan, Jolly and Moss could be in trouble.

Fraser to retire I would think.

Keep in mind some of those red players may have already re-signed. We aren't told about some of them. IE: Stanley or Iles. They were up at the end of last year but are still playing. I can only guess they re-signed for some period of time. :D

Some of them have really saved themselves by adding more strings to the bow. IE: Dixon, who is now a very serviceable second ruck option. Or Weller or Wilkinson, who have turned into very good defensive tagging players. I would have said they would be in danger at the end of last year (maybe not Weller), but all three would now all be considered required players.

Nicholls is a good prospect, look for him to be traded seeking more opportunity. He holds currency to quite a few vic clubs.

Only issue with him is he is a pure ruck and struggles to play other positions eg defence/attack.

MEMBER-FIRST ANNOUNCEMENT
You are among the first to hear that Harley Bennell has joined a growing list of young Gold Coast SUNS stars, putting pen to paper and re-signing with the Club.
Bennell reaffirmed his commitment to the GC SUNS until the end of the 2014 season.
The 19-year-old former West Australian said he was pleased to re-sign with the GC SUNS and to continue the journey he and some of the countries brightest young talent began back in 2010.
"I'm rapt to re-sign with the SUNS. I have got a lot of mates here, I'm enjoying my footy and I believe we are building something pretty special."
General Manager – Football Operations, Marcus Ashcroft said although Bennell's potential had been evident over the past couple of matches, the Gold Coast SUNS had been well aware of the youngster's talent and enormous potential prior recruiting him with the Club's second selection in the 2010 draft.
"Harley is an extremely talented young player and we are thrilled that he will continue his playing career with the Gold Coast Football Club."
"We believe Harley has the ability to play a major role in the growth and development of our Club and we look forward to him continuing to development both on and off the field over the coming years," Ashcroft said.
Bennell joins team mates David Swallow, Sam Day, Tom Lynch, Brandon Matera, Jeremy Taylor, Luke Russell, Jaeger O'Meara and Alex Sexton on the Gold Coast SUNS list until the end of the 2014 season.
"A number of our players are displaying real commitment to the Club, that in turn gives us great confidence that the players believe in our program and are determined to deliver success for the Gold Coast Football Club and our fans," Ashcroft said.

SUNS TV Bennell Recommits

Really stoked to read this early this morning SK. After reading your post I knew work could throw whatever it wanted at me today and I'd still be happy this evening. Harley re-committing to the club is a huge sign we are heading in the right direction. After seeing the video on the club website, kudos to K for being a great mentor to Harley and taking him in, and kudos to Harley's mum for bringing up a fine young man. Harley Bennell YOU STAR!!!

Josh Caddy - 2012
Josh Toy - 2012

Maverick Weller - 2012

Hayden Jolly- 2012

Patrick, Hine, Nicholls, Flanagan, Jolly and Moss could be in trouble.

some vic clubs would be in the ear of a few of those guys like toy and caddy. i dont see what they can send you though, ild imagine compo picks would be welcome..

but more importantly whats up with jolly??

- how has his form been in the neafl

- is he close to getting into your 22

- you guys have to clear list space and will be bringing more kids in this draft/ zone, is jolly a delist, trade or likely keep??

some vic clubs would be in the ear of a few of those guys like toy and caddy. i dont see what they can send you though, ild imagine compo picks would be welcome..

but more importantly whats up with jolly??

- how has his form been in the neafl

- is he close to getting into your 22

- you guys have to clear list space and will be bringing more kids in this draft/ zone, is jolly a delist, trade or likely keep??

Jolly is no-where near it. He's not in the starting 18 for the NEAFL team right now. A couple of weeks ago was listed in the emergencies for the NEAFL team, so has heaps of space to catch up on.

In real danger of being delisted. Might get some value from him at the trade table, but not sure how much.

Jolly is no-where near it. He's not in the starting 18 for the NEAFL team right now. A couple of weeks ago was listed in the emergencies for the NEAFL team, so has heaps of space to catch up on.

In real danger of being delisted. Might get some value from him at the trade table, but not sure how much.

wait so he isnt even in the reserves??

is he playing in the neafl seconds???

The way I see it keeping in mind a minimum 7 need to be moved on:

Definite Ins: O'Meara, Horsley + draftees and maybe 1 or 2 trade pickups.

Definite delistees:

Patrick
Moss
Krakouer
Fraser

Possible Delistees:

Jolly
Hutchins
Hine
Magin
Warnock
Flanagan

Hold trade value:

Nicholls
Toy
Caddy
Tape
Taylor

Of the rookie list horse will be promoted, mcqualter yet to be decided, coad probably to leave, and Hall to be extended 1 more year on rookie list. Will open up spots for a few qlders hopefully both teenaged/mature age.

News Contract Discussion