Looking for a cloud to yell at
Oct 11, 2006
Bengals
Link to contract status of all players

Link to Lore ’s excellent draft order thread that is updated to reflect current ladder positions

ArdentEagle

The Baron of Bourbon
Feb 12, 2008
Saw that. Personally hope it’s not true, reckon he’s exactly the type of player that would complement Reid, Ginbey and Hewett and is far better than a late draft pick. But good for him if he wants to stay with his mates and try and stay in contention.
If we were to go that way, I would probably prefer Brodie myself.

stallon

Feb 7, 2013
Suggestions that people would rather keep a late 30s pick over dev seem crazy to me. More than likely whoever we take at pick would be worse than dev, at least dev is a known quantity and could come in and play a full year in the CBAs to take pressure off Kelly and let the kids develop and rotate around.
Hes a fine player who gets used completely wrong by Brisbane, you cant really use ANY of his AFL stats to justify taking/not taking him, but he has shown hes capable at AFL level, and has a few years of development that he wont need to be rested and can at least somewhat physically match with the bigger midfielders
If we can get with a late 30s or f3 pick seems like an easy win

dinnaz

Dec 26, 2011
People here be smoking crack. Want a 25 possie gun mid like McLuggage. That's just not what he is and will ever be.
Deven can rack it up if given a chance 20+ every week consistently if in the middle. More inside with a bit of burst so he's no one trick pony. Is better than Gaff in there and with Shuey out there's a permanent spot up for grabs.

FKASC

Reid’s Like Copium
May 28, 2017
Have been offline for a while - have we actually offered Devan a contract or is it just ITKs on BigFooty reporting it?

Eddie_Sandbrah

Sep 6, 2023
Have been offline for a while - have we actually offered Devan a contract or is it just ITKs on BigFooty reporting it?
Apparently Lions offered him 2, we offered him 3. This was on Fox Footy during the week. Late reports last night on here, say he has signed with Brisbane.

Lions want him, they're in a flag window, he's probably going to back himself in.

Wooshaaaa

Oct 12, 2014
People here be smoking crack. Want a 25 possie gun mid like McLuggage. That's just not what he is and will ever be.
Firstly mccluggage was take with pick 3. So that what we will get with pick one.

Dev pick 21. And we will only give up around pick 40 to get him. You ain't getting a mccluggage type at pick 40 anyway.

Secondly, MCC and Dev are complete opposite types of players. In the VFL Dev plays the Neale role and gets 30 most weeks. In the AFL Fagan plays him high half forward off the ball. Even yesterday when the lion mids weren't cutting it, he still refused to put Dev in the middle to have a crack.

On Pixel 6 Pro using BigFooty.com mobile app

Wooshaaaa

Oct 12, 2014
Can’t see past the paywall but I presume Dons are keen on Yeo? I don’t want to trade him, only offer I’d take is pick 10 for Yeo and pick 20 and even writing that makes me shudder. Would have been top 10 Eagles in history if he’d stayed fit.
Couldve been....wasn't.

Isn't fit.

Won't get pick 10.

Take whatever we can get or play him exclusively off half back.

shooshka

Oct 7, 2011
Apparently Lions offered him 2, we offered him 3. This was on Fox Footy during the week. Late reports last night on here, say he has signed with Brisbane.

Lions want him, they're in a flag window, he's probably going to back himself in.

I’d be surprised if he plays in another GF with Brisbane.

Not suggesting they can’t make it, but with Ashcroft x1 returning next year plus Ashcroft x2 the following year he will be in an uphill battle to keep his spot.

As much as that indicates to us he may not be that great, it’s obviously quite different when you look at the depth the lions have in the middle (and our lack of depth especially in the 22-27 age range).

We all want 30 superstars to take us to the next premiership, but the reality is we need some of those to be role players. Dev has proven at worst he can be that in a good side.

Wooshaaaa

Oct 12, 2014
I’d be surprised if he plays in another GF with Brisbane.

Not suggesting they can’t make it, but with Ashcroft x1 returning next year plus Ashcroft x2 the following year he will be in an uphill battle to keep his spot.

As much as that indicates to us he may not be that great, it’s obviously quite different when you look at the depth the lions have in the middle (and our lack of depth especially in the 22-27 age range).

We all want 30 superstars to take us to the next premiership, but the reality is we need some of those to be role players. Dev has proven at worst he can be that in a good side.

Ashcroft 1 won't play much next year. He is coming off an ACL reco that's 12 months from day of surgery. He had surgery round 20.

And then, they'll wrap him cotton wool everytime he gets sore.

He might get back for the same round next year, but will he be match fit for the pointy end of the season and finals....not likely. They won't risk him and the next 10yrs if he isn't ready.

InTheWings

Premium Gold
Jan 9, 2013
Perth Scorchers, South Fremantle
Can’t see past the paywall but I presume Dons are keen on Yeo? I don’t want to trade him, only offer I’d take is pick 10 for Yeo and pick 20 and even writing that makes me shudder. Would have been top 10 Eagles in history if he’d stayed fit.
They also say we have to take Curtin at pick 2. :rolleyes:

Moneyball 2023: Your club’s biggest contract and list dilemmas​

Essendon has emerged as one of the leading suitors for an Eagles star, while a young ruckman could be in line to replace Brodie Grundy at Melbourne. See every club’s biggest list, contract issues here.

Jon Ralph, Jay Clark and Glenn McFarlane

"The Eagles need as many early picks as they can get to help accelerate a rebuild which has gone wildly off the tracks at times this year. Reuben Ginbey and Elijah Hewett look like stars, but which other young kids can West Coast fans hitch their caravans too? Veteran wingman Andrew Gaff is up for grabs, Tom Barrass says he is staying, and the Herald Sun revealed Essendon is among the clubs chasing Elliot Yeo. They have to take WA key defender Daniel Curtin with pick two. Interested in Brisbane’s Deven Robertson."

eaglevision

Jul 27, 2023

Essendon has emerged as one of the leading suitors for an Eagles star, while a young ruckman could be in line to replace Brodie Grundy at Melbourne. See every club’s biggest list, contract issues here.

"The Eagles need as many early picks as they can get to help accelerate a rebuild which has gone wildly off the tracks at times this year. Reuben Ginbey and Elijah Hewett look like stars, but which other young kids can West Coast fans hitch their caravans too? Veteran wingman Andrew Gaff is up for grabs, Tom Barrass says he is staying, and the Herald Sun revealed Essendon is among the clubs chasing Elliot Yeo. They have to take WA key defender Daniel Curtin with pick two. Interested in Brisbane’s Deven Robertson."
Haha what a s**t article! Thanks for the post though.

bzparkes

Harley Reid doesn't want to play for North
May 2, 2006
Brisbane
East Fremantle

Jon Ralph mate.

Tugga27

Jun 19, 2017

The same Jon Ralph.

"Adam Simpson has given his finger to the West Coast Eagles on the way out by making sure the Eagles don't get pick 1".

Dark Sharks

Premium Kent
Feb 21, 2011
Maynard was blocked
Why are we talking over a subpar player in Devon Robertson ?

He offers nothing to our club doesn't even have a position on ground.

Just stick with draft picks and develop them

Because he's been linked with our club previously? Because it was reported we have an offer for him and he toured our facilities?

Would you rather we talk about Matt Crouch instead? Or 4 pages of discussion each time a vic media flog writes a hypothetical scenario of us splitting our first pick?

Until it's announced Robertson has properly re-signed with Brisbane, he will be discussed.

Get_The_Gaff

Apr 4, 2021
Dev is loyal as it is. Now they've lost the GF, they (he) will want redemption.

I'd be very surprised if he leaves now.
I know someone who knows Prior . The young guys love it up their in brissy to the point Prior said if he was not given a contract he would probably stay and play for their VFL side rather than come back to WA

archiemoses

Sep 15, 2007
Liverpool
I know someone who knows Prior . The young guys love it up their in brissy to the point Prior said if he was not given a contract he would probably stay and play for their VFL side rather than come back to WA
If Dev has that sort of 'ambition' then we probably should pass on him anyway

Keys

Oct 11, 2006
Bengals
Our current mids :

Kelly
Hewett
Ginbey
Sheed
Chesser
LEdwards
Gaff
Trew

Some or all of Yeo, Duggan, Hough, Hunt, Culley and Petruccelle might also be rolled through the midfield pending fitness, form and/or team balance

Robertson would comfortably be a starting mid for us

He’s borderline best 22 at Brisbane but only gets squeezed out if they have full availability. Even with Ashcroft back he’s still probably the sub instead of Lyons from that side yesterday

Hard to make a case for him to shift tbh even with an extra year of security

eaglevision

Jul 27, 2023
Not doubting that your mate gave you that mail but that’s like saying your 400k a year job is now 50k and you’re going to have to look for a new career path instead of doing the thing you love and you’ve worked your whole life for at the elite level. Surely not?

Keys

Oct 11, 2006
Bengals
If Prior gets cut by Brisbane he’s no certainty to get a contract elsewhere anyway. Out of contract next year