List Mgmt. Contracts/Trade/Draft Thread - 2025 Edition Vol 2

Quick links

Harley Reid extends to 2028

List Changes - 2025
  • Oscar Allen advises intention to explore Free Agency
  • Jayden Hunt announces retirement
  • Jack Petruccelle, Callum Jamieson and Loch Rawlinson not offered new contracts
  • Liam Ryan has requested a trade to St Kilda but is contracted for 2026
  • Campbell Chesser (uncontracted) has requested a trade to Carlton
  • List would be 37 (31 main, 4 rookie, 2 Cat B)

Players out of Contract 2025 (5)
  • Oscar Allen (19/3/99) - Signed a 3 year extension (2023-25) on an existing contract due to expire 2022 in May 2021
  • Campbell Chesser (27/4/03) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) on an existing contract due to expire 2023 in May 2022
  • Jamie Cripps (23/4/92) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) in August 2023
  • (R-B) Coen Livingstone (25/5/05) - Signed a 1 year extension (2025) in September 2024
  • (R-B) Malakai Champion (17/5/06) - Automatic 1 year contract (2025) when added as a Cat B Rookie in November 2024

Provisional 2025 Draft order

Key Offseason Dates
Fri Oct 3 - Fri Oct 10: 2025 Free Agency Period
Mon Oct 6 - Wed Oct 15: 2025 AFL Trade Period
Wed Nov 19 - Thu Nov 20: 2025 AFL Draft

Essendon have picks 4 & 5.
This will likely turn into 5 & 6 after OA compo.

Then when the bids for Uwland and Annable come they will AT LEAST turn into 7 & 8 (with the chance of being 9 & 10 if bids for Dean & Patterson come in early)

This means that "picks 5 & 6" actually net us the 9th and 10th best players in the draft, traded for pick one...

That's an awful trade no matter your busted logic.

The point Barrybran is making is that whether you call it pick 5 & 6 or 9 & 10, you have access to the exact same players given that you never had access to the F/S and Academy players. Saying you had access to those players is misrepresenting the nature of the current F/S & Academy bidding rules.

The only time that slide matters is if you're relying on those picks carrying points to match bids, then you're getting screwed.

The point Barrybran is making is that whether you call it pick 5 & 6 or 9 & 10, you have access to the exact same players given that you never had access to the F/S and Academy players.

The only time that slide matters is if you're relying on those picks carrying points to match bids, then you're getting screwed.
Without getting into semantics, you're right.
Picks 5 and 6 would give us access to the 8th and 9th best players in the draft.

I would not trade pick 1 for the 8th and 9th best players in the draft.

Here's a thought experiment for you.

If I ban the Eagles from participating in the 1st round - does that mean we get the best player in the draft with pick 19?
Absolutely not - we get the 19th best player in the draft.
The players we "don't have access to" don't magically disappear from the AFL and opposition teams.

Jack Nicholson Yes GIF

Tbf even Twomeys latest rankings had Sharp at 6 behind..

1. Uwland
2. CDT
3. Durrsma
4. Patterson
5. Annable

So basically ranked 3 in the open pool. Take out gumby CDT and you've got Durrsma and Sharp ranked exactly where our picks land, hence why I'm happy just pulling the trigger.

Unless... some flog team turns our head with a pick split offer that is in our favour. As I've said before, if this means ponying up pick 1 (Durrsma) and landing Cumming and Schubert Instead, I'm doing it.

Twomey has him at 6 overall ------- Uwland, CDT, Duursma, Patterson, Annable, Sharp

ESPN have him at 3 overall -------- Duursma, Annable, Sharp, Uwland, CDT, Cumming

RookiemeCentral have him at 6 overall --------- Duursma, Uwland, CDT, Patterson, Annable, Sharp

Zero hanger have him at 12 overall --------- Duursma, CDT, Annable, Patterson, Uwland, Lindsay, Greeves, Dean, Cumming, Marsh, Schubert, Marsh

A few things stand out here.

Duursma is seen as the number 1 pick on average by the rankings. Would love to know how all the recruiters perceive him.

The rest of the top 6-7 are fairly close and no one really agrees with anyone else but 3 out of 4 times the three best in the open pool are Duursma, CDT & Sharp.

If the talent is all considered to be of similar potential then it makes sense to take best available based on needs.

I could see a three way deal between the Eagles, Bombers and Suns working.

Bombers
get: pick 1
Give: 5, 22 & 25

Eagles
Get: pick 5 & 6
Give: Pick 1 & 31

Suns
Give: pick 6
Get: Pick 22, 25 & 31 to Suns for 1705
points.

No bids from Bombers or Eagles on academy kids. Suns can do another deal with the Tigers to get there kids through to pick 8 before a bid is made.
Best scenario out forward yet. Like it.

Without getting into semantics, you're right.
Picks 5 and 6 would give us access to the 8th and 9th best players in the draft.

I would not trade pick 1 for the 8th and 9th best players in the draft.

Here's a thought experiment for you.

If I ban the Eagles from participating in the 1st round - does that mean we get the best player in the draft with pick 19?
Absolutely not - we get the 19th best player in the draft.
The players we "don't have access to" don't magically disappear from the AFL and opposition teams.

That "thought experiment" doesn't work as well as you think. If the eagles come into the draft with the 19th pick, we have access to the 19th best player in the open pool.

Look at it this way, we currently have pick 1 and we bid on Annable. Brisbane matches, so we draft Duursma at pick 2.
OR
We don't bother with bidding for Annable, we just draft Duursma at pick 1.

Got the same player, whether you call it pick 1 or 2, because Annable wasn't ever coming to us.

Same reason why Barrybran called out your post. Because regardless of what draft pick number it is, you have access to the exact same pool of players to pick from.

I’m not against splitting pick 2, I think that’s the smart move, but I’m not giving away Willem Duursma for 2 prospects significantly inferior. Willem is the best player in this cohort with the highest upside, just get him in.

If you can get Sharp and still split pick 2, that’d be the best outcome, I still think it’s likely he slides a bit - I can’t see Richmond or Essendon picking him.

I think Lindsay slides too, hasn’t shown any scope to play midfield and pure half backs don’t typically go top 3-5.

I’m not a CDT fan, but I wouldn’t be shocked if we pick him along with Duursma at 1 and 2 so we get the best player + best tall in the draft, then we’ll still be able to get another midfielder with one of our other picks.

New ruck rules suit CDT, so I’m not as strongly against him as I once was, but would still prefer to avoid that gamble.

I’m not against splitting pick 2, I think that’s the smart move, but I’m not giving away Willem Duursma for 2 prospects significantly inferior. Willem is the best player in this cohort with the highest upside, just get him in.

If you can get Sharp and still split pick 2, that’d be the best outcome, I still think it’s likely he slides a bit - I can’t see Richmond or Essendon picking him.

I think Lindsay slides too, hasn’t shown any scope to play midfield and pure half backs don’t typically go top 3-5.

I’m not a CDT fan, but I wouldn’t be shocked if we pick him along with Duursma at 1 and 2 so we get the best player + best tall in the draft, then we’ll still be able to get another midfielder with one of our other picks.

New ruck rules suit CDT, so I’m not as strongly against him as I once was, but would still prefer to avoid that gamble.

I think you're missing how/why splitting is going to happen. Fair to say nobody is going to care about pick 2.

It's an option BECAUSE clubs are potentially into Durrsma, if anyone. You're not splitting it for fun, there needs to be a reason the opposition club does it.

Unless some silly w***er has a hard on for CDT, you're not keeping Durrsma in a split pick situation. It's either take Durrsma or split the pick for 2x of the others in the top 8.

That "thought experiment" doesn't work as well as you think. If the eagles come into the draft with the 19th pick, we have access to the 19th best player in the open pool.

Look at it this way, we currently have pick 1 and we bid on Annable. Brisbane matches, so we draft Duursma at pick 2.
OR
We don't bother with bidding for Annable, we just draft Duursma at pick 1.

Got the same player, whether you call it pick 1 or 2, because Annable wasn't ever coming to us.

Same reason why Barrybran called out your post. Because regardless of what draft pick number it is, you have access to the exact same pool of players to pick from.
Your logic is right, now apply it to picks 5 & 6.
I'm not interested in swapping Duursma for the 8th and 9th best player in the draft.

Others might disagree.

Neale will fit right in with Harley.

Drew Jones who works for Fox Footy dropped casually on his Nest Podcast that Neale has it in his head he wants to finish up out west for his playing career. While not a noted news breaker he would have a good contract with those who are.

So if we don't go CDT, what are our ruck options?
Who will we have to service our new midfielders and HR9 - and change the last couple of years of centrefield misery?

The ideal outcome would be if someone wants to trade up for CDT, we slide down a handful of picks and get a future first for our troubles.

We then draft Duursma at 1/2 and then Sharp with pick 5/6.

I don’t think this is particularly likely but I could see Essendon wanting to jump ahead of Richmond, especially if they end up with surplus picks because of Draper and Merrett. Essendon need CDT to replace Cox as their resident unicorn.

This boards obsession with wanting to trade pick 1 just for the sake of it is hilarious
Normally, you’d never, but if you have pick 1 and 2, then absolutely it should be on the table unless there are two standout top choices that also meet your needs. If you can retain one of them and land another two top 10 picks, that can be astute.

Who will we have to service our new midfielders and HR9 - and change the last couple of years of centrefield misery?
So we don't want an undersized ruck who is average at ruck craft and average at KFD.
I definitely think we need a competitive ruck for that next 3 years, but doesn't look anywhere near happening soon despite our best attempts.
I also don't think WC will sit on their hands if there is a decent mature prospect gettable.

So its Flynn with backup from BW and Archer Reid for the foreseeable future.

A Reid will develop quicker than many think because he will be forced to play some game time when we probably don't want too. Still 3 years away from being our number 1 ruck.

If we get a competent ruck BW will be out the door quicker than we think, he is a tryer but is neither a 1st ruck or KPF.
I think we are more likely to draft B Van Rooyen in 2026 or A Walsh in 2027 as our next ruck prospect drafted in.
If this happens Livingstone will be gone to open a list spot, maybe retained in WAFL.

So which scenario would most prefer here?

1. Duurp (Duursma, Sharp)

2. Sharp & Cumbert (Sharp, Cumming, Schubert)

If we can make option 2 happen, you've gotta go that way surely. Still soooo many spanners to be thrown into the works over the coming weeks though. Do our non-draft aquisitions change our draft board rankings? If so, how? Really excited for this off-season, and despite what a few doomsdayers on the board might think...I reckon we'll mostly be satisfied with the end result. Strongest position we've been in for a long, long time. Remember, nothing has actually happened yet.

Steve Allen

@ScubaStv
·
8m

Joe Brierty
@freodockers
has ruled out a reunion with Lachie Neale for next season. JB says he had no shortage of players requesting more midfield time during exit meetings
@10SportAU

So we don't want an undersized ruck who is average at ruck craft and average at KFD.
I definitely think we need a competitive ruck for that next 3 years, but doesn't look anywhere near happening soon despite our best attempts.
I also don't think WC will sit on their hands if there is a decent mature prospect gettable.

So its Flynn with backup from BW and Archer Reid for the foreseeable future.

A Reid will develop quicker than many think because he will be forced to play some game time when we probably don't want too. Still 3 years away from being our number 1 ruck.

If we get a competent ruck BW will be out the door quicker than we think, he is a tryer but is neither a 1st ruck or KPF.
I think we are more likely to draft B Van Rooyen in 2026 or A Walsh in 2027 as our next ruck prospect drafted in.
If this happens Livingstone will be gone to open a list spot, maybe retained in WAFL.
Disagree, CDT is projecting 1 or 2 on most rankings for sound reasons. He would be a great selection at 1 or 2 by WC.

Even if we DO go for CDT it's not going to help our ruck situation one bit.

Firstly he's undersized, in both height and weight so he's not going to be playing ruck for years. He'll be WAFL bound for the forseeable future and playing forward at that..

Secondly he's an actual shit ruckman. Don't be expecting him to win the hitouts or bustle around the ground like Gawn. He's not the best ruckman in this draft at all, he's just an oversized player with good skills the media is trying to turn into a poor man's unicorn.

Short answer we're stuck with Flynn and Williams regardless unless another option prevents itself. Hopefully that option is Archer Reid. I'm hoping McQualter let's him know in his exit meeting he'll be playing ruck next year and to go bulk up in the offseason.

I'm sure a lot of it depends on whether we draft another KPF to develop. If we don't, I think it's a fair chance Reid remains up forward going into 2026.

Steve Allen
@ScubaStv
·
8m

Joe Brierty
@freodockers
has ruled out a reunion with Lachie Neale for next season. JB says he had no shortage of players requesting more midfield time during exit meetings
@10SportAU
This is bloody good news, not only for the obvious reason but mostly because Freo are giving the rumour legitimacy.

Smoke = Fire

actual video of Lachie Neale arriving at the club

Baby Boomer Movie GIF

Steve Allen
@ScubaStv
·
8m

Joe Brierty
@freodockers
@10SportAU

"Yeah nah, both Matt Taberner and Jack Anthony have expressed a desire to get more centre bounce attendances next year, we don't want a dual Brownlow medallist midfielder to get in the way. Oi Freddy, sign this 5 year extension!"

List Mgmt. Contracts/Trade/Draft Thread - 2025 Edition Vol 2