Quick links

Harley Reid extends to 2028

List Changes - 2025
  • Oscar Allen advises intention to explore Free Agency
  • Jayden Hunt announces retirement
  • Jack Petruccelle, Callum Jamieson and Loch Rawlinson not offered new contracts
  • Liam Ryan has requested a trade to St Kilda but is contracted for 2026
  • Campbell Chesser (uncontracted) has requested a trade to Carlton
  • List would be 37 (31 main, 4 rookie, 2 Cat B)

Players out of Contract 2025 (5)
  • Oscar Allen (19/3/99) - Signed a 3 year extension (2023-25) on an existing contract due to expire 2022 in May 2021
  • Campbell Chesser (27/4/03) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) on an existing contract due to expire 2023 in May 2022
  • Jamie Cripps (23/4/92) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) in August 2023
  • (R-B) Coen Livingstone (25/5/05) - Signed a 1 year extension (2025) in September 2024
  • (R-B) Malakai Champion (17/5/06) - Automatic 1 year contract (2025) when added as a Cat B Rookie in November 2024

Provisional 2025 Draft order

Key Offseason Dates
Fri Oct 3 - Fri Oct 10: 2025 Free Agency Period
Mon Oct 6 - Wed Oct 15: 2025 AFL Trade Period
Wed Nov 19 - Thu Nov 20: 2025 AFL Draft

I suppose where we see Starcevich playing would be a consideration.

He’s never been one to shirk a contest at all at HB. A bit like Gov in that respect, a bit too brave for his own good.

But if we see him through the midfield less likely to be involved in these type of collisions I can see why we might be inclined to take the gamble.
I was thinking the opposite. Playing in the midfield, he may be more vulnerable to a head knock. He would be in the play more, head over the ball regularly with a crowd around him. Tackled a lot more

sadly I was right

An offer to a Restricted Free Agent may be matched by their Club. Should their original Club match the offer, and the Restricted Free Agent Player does not wish to remain with their original Club, they must enter the National Draft or seek a trade. Compensation in the form of AFL allocated draft picks will apply to clubs with a net loss of Free Agents, based on the formula determined by the AFL.

Brisbane putting an offer and us not gives them equal protection as if there was a bid to match.

View attachment 2441262
This only relates to him using his free agency rights. As he will be traded for, Starc will be foregoing his free agency rights, he will turn into an uncontracted player.

Neither will a retired player we've potentially burnt an end of first round pick on.

Do you really need this spoon fed to you?

🥄
Oh, I can see where you're coming from now.

A really good player in a premiership side won't be a good fit for us.

Let's get Dev and his mates who can't get a game.
FMD mate.

If we offered that end of first pick for Buss, reckon they'd might accept.
They're looking at Steven May. Perhaps the biggest digg'ead in the AFL.

I'd be in Bussy's ear. "Soooo, looks like the dogs want Stephen May. They just expect you to cool your jets in the VFL for 2 years. Did you see what happened to Dev Robbo? They made him hang around for 2 years in the VFL, and then didn't offer him another contract."

"All you have to do is say you're homesick and stale, and need a change of scenery. We'll play you round 1."

Was told today cam McKenzie is in play. Dons want for the Merrett trade. Id give Hawks 1st pick back to them for McKenzie. Throw a dart.
Is in play for West Coast or in play to get traded? Saints are very keen apparently, Essendon would just take him in the Merrett trade.

Unless he wants out of the shit show that is Melbourne city atm I can’t see how we would be in play at all.

I really really really hope they offer Starcevich a heavily conditional contract on 3 years (max) with triggers. And I say 3 years because any cap relief is limited to that.

He may not have been knocked out cold, but it was a somewhat normal blow to the head that happens often enough in the AFL. What followed was significant concern for his future/wellbeing and essentially being subbed out right away.
Yes, some have said he "couldv'e" gone back on and he passed a medical the next day, but I would take that with a grain of salt given:
1. the club reaction when it happened,
2. how long he was hunched over on the ground with medicos, and
3. their actual response immediately after (not allowing him to play on in the premiership quarter of a GF that was still being very hotly contest, and he was blanketing the opposition's most dangerous player).

This is a player who, if he cops 1 more head knock, the club could not in good conscience keep playing him without sending him to the AFL concussion panel.

Add to that the self-interest of both club and player to now say he's fine in order to get him a new long contract and the compensation attached.

All of the above are massive red flags and I hope the club sees the danger signs and responds appropriately in their offer to him. The money and contract length being talked about is giving me, and many others here, significant concerns about the risks.

He's a good player. But does having a good defender move the needle a great deal when the ball goes into the D50 a hundred times a game? Now consider whether having a good defender on $900kp.a. over 6 years, who could be medically retired in year 1, and then having that on the books a good idea?
In 2 years Chad Warner comes out of contract again, as does H Reid.
No blow to the head is normal , to be fair.

Peter Ladhams
Jed Busslinger
Dev Robbo for a late late pick, or Hobbs (these are speculative picks, so no kitchen sinks need be involved). Just give one of these guys an extended run and see if they come good.

Starcevich is one knock away from retirement. 5+1 at 900k is the rumour. He's not worth that had he had 0 concussions. The deal has to be a bit better than that

If we offered that end of first pick for Buss, reckon they'd might accept.
End of first round for busslinger?? I'd rather just draft a tall backman with that pick who has the potential to fill out, grow, and be an afl backman,.
So far Buss hasn't done any of those things

With the end of Round 1 assistance package pick we could have five picks in top 20 of the draft ......

1-2-15-19-20 ...

But take Starcevich as a free agent would dilute pick 2 so ....

1-15-19-20-21 + Starcevich free agent addition .

With pick 2 dropped to 21 with free agency devaluing via Starcevich FA .

Just my guess of our picks either way , both options aren't too bad .

They're looking at Steven May. Perhaps the biggest digg'ead in the AFL.

I'd be in Bussy's ear. "Soooo, looks like the dogs want Stephen May. They just expect you to cool your jets in the VFL for 2 years. Did you see what happened to Dev Robbo? They made him hang around for 2 years in the VFL, and then didn't offer him another contract."

"All you have to do is say you're homesick and stale, and need a change of scenery. We'll play you round 1."
Buss must really not be very good if that's the case

End of first round for busslinger?? I'd rather just draft a tall backman with that pick who has the potential to fill out, grow, and be an afl backman,.
So far Buss hasn't done any of those things

Saw Busslinger live in the last round game Vs Fremantle & he was terrible. Way to lose and just didn't want to defend & wasn't accountable at all. Can see why he hasn't been getting games

There's a ton I think we should target.

Davies
Boxhall
Walter
Neale
Rivers
McKenzie
Garcia
Phillips
Steele
Dev
ZZ
Moir
Buss
Moyle
Viney

Who's to say or know who we have or haven't approached. I have no doubt we have put irons in the fire everywhere.

Throwin darts at the board to see where they land is all well and good provided we did that a year ago. Not much chance of turning heads in the next week if we haven't already had conversations.

Terrific list. Add Barrat and Dodson.

So you'd rather us target 3 spuds?
I'm not advocated paying the same coin and draft capital for lesser players.

I don't see the rush to go out and get good players. I think Warner to Eagles in 2 years is very realistic. There will be other good options when we're in a better position.

In the mean time, I don't mind taking a crack on a ruckman who is 27 and not getting a game because Man Bun Man is #1 ruck. He just strikes me as a Rockingham type guy. Set him up down in Rocko, and he'll probably play his best footy. I'm sure there is a dog track down there, somewhere.

As for the other 2 spuds - I don't mind taking one of them for f-all to take on the Redden type role.

With the end of Round 1 assistance package pick we could have five picks in top 20 of the draft ......

1-2-15-19-20 ...

But take Starcevich as a free agent would dilute pick 2 so ....

1-15-19-20-21 + Starcevich free agent addition .

With pick 2 dropped to 21 with free agency devaluing via Starcevich FA .

Just my guess of our picks either way , both options aren't too bad .

Both options not too bad? Surely this is a joke. Pick 2 everyday of the week & its not even close.

Oh, I can see where you're coming from now.

A really good player in a premiership side won't be a good fit for us.

Let's get Dev and his mates who can't get a game.
FMD mate.

It doesn't matter if he's Polly Farmer..

🥄

The bloke is one head knock away from wasting everyone's time and being medically retired. That knock on grand final day legitimately could've been it.

🥄

Do you get it now?

But you have Starcevich also with picks 1-15-19-20-21

You would be better off going something like this.

Taking pick 2 & then trading back down the order with Essendon for say for example 5 & 23 then sending the end of first comp to Brisbane for Starc

End up with 1,5,15,20,23 plus Starc

Well that's where it's at. Dogs think he's a bit shit. So he'd be cheap. And with being cheap, comes being a bit shit.

You're really just hoping that a change of scenery allows him to come on.
Unless he's free probably wouldn't bother. We've got enough average talls to see us through til we draft a keeper

It doesn't matter if he's Polly Farmer..

🥄

The bloke is one head knock away from wasting everyone's time and being medically retired. That knock on grand final day legitimately could've been it.

🥄

Do you get it now?
DS, get a grip mate, just because he doesn't agree with you, doesn't mean he's wrong, doesn't mean he right either.