List Mgmt. Contracts/Trade/Draft Thread - 2025 Edition

Quick links
Players out of Contract 2025 (12)
  • Oscar Allen (19/3/99) - Signed a 3 year extension (2023-25) on an existing contract due to expire 2022 in May 2021
  • Campbell Chesser (27/4/03) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) on an existing contract due to expire 2023 in May 2022
  • Tom Cole (28/5/97) - Signed a 3 year extension (2023-25) in May 2022
  • Rhett Bazzo (17/10/03) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) on an existing contract due to expire 2023 in September 2022
  • Jayden Hunt (3/4/95) - Signed a 3 year contract (2023-25) in October 2022
  • Callum Jamieson (31/7/00) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) in March 2023
  • Jamie Cripps (23/4/92) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) in August 2023
  • Jack Petruccelle (12/4/99) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) in August 2023
  • (R) Loch Rawlinson (1/6/05) - Signed a 1 year extension (2025) in September 2024
  • (R-B) Coen Livingstone (25/5/05) - Signed a 1 year extension (2025) in September 2024
  • (R-B) Malakai Champion (17/5/06) - Automatic 1 year contract (2025) when added as a Cat B Rookie in November 2024
  • (R) Jacob Newton (20/3/06/) - Automatic 6 month contract (2025) when drafted in May 2025

Provisional 2025 Draft order

Isn't it the club's fault for making him a co-captain in free agency year with no assurances he will sign on.
If he leaves we will have to put up with all the garbage about how our captain is leaving.
I'll take the top 3 draft pick, though. Choosing ego over best case outcomes is for the weak.

Contract amount and contract length. Age is not really applicable. If age is a factor, it's reflected in the contract length. No one is offering a 32 year old a 6 year deal. If a 26 year old get s a 6 year deal, he's a good player. If a 26 year old gets a 2 year deal, he's not that good. If a player is getting a 2 year deal, it doesn't matter if he's 26 and not that good, or 32 and an absolute gun. Neither are going to get high compensation based on the contract length.
Age is a huge part of the compo formula.

Isn't it the club's fault for making him a co-captain in free agency year with no assurances he will sign on.
If he leaves we will have to put up with all the garbage about how our captain is leaving.

This is why I think Oscar is toxic.

Players put themselves forward for the player vote.

Oscar has put himself forward, while out of contract, and is now looking more likely to leave.

These are choices he made. It just adds to what a shocking leader he is.

We're possibly offering something around $800k per. Similar to Geelong, we keep to a set pay structure. Ashcroft will possibly be our first $1m player. Neale has been our highest paid player to date, and he was on $900k.

However our interest may be cooling somewhat.
How would your interest be cooling? You're right in the flag window and just lost your main KPF. Jamarra and Oscar are available. I'd say you're looking at these two guys. Jamarra has more goal kicking upside, but also more digg'ead upside. Other clubs will be in the mix so it will price will be a factor. You can't offer a player $800 when other clubs will be offering $1 - 1.2.

If Oscar is meeting other clubs, wouldn't that go against what he stands for as a club captain?

How can he effectively inspire and lead our players when he has a foot in another camp?
You have to allow players to talk to other clubs, captain or not. I have no issue if he wants to leave. I don't think that is a slight on him as a person. We also have to play him. As much as I would rather get games into Archer and Shanahan, we won't know for sure if he is leaving, and that is a good thing. We can't get mad and emotional because people are doing what is best for themselves.

How would your interest be cooling? You're right in the flag window and just lost your main KPF. Jamarra and Oscar are available. I'd say you're looking at these two guys. Jamarra has more goal kicking upside, but also more digg'ead upside. Other clubs will be in the mix so it will price will be a factor. You can't offer a player $800 when other clubs will be offering $1 - 1.2.
Perhaps they watch the footy

You have to allow players to talk to other clubs, captain or not. I have no issue if he wants to leave. I don't think that is a slight on him as a person. We also have to play him. As much as I would rather get games into Archer and Shanahan, we won't know for sure if he is leaving, and that is a good thing. We can't get mad and emotional because people are doing what is best for themselves.
We could adopt merit based selection. He is a passenger at the moment.

The ****wit (Allen) can GTFO.. today... See ya mate, not even a captain's arseh*le

A first for Mitch Lewis isn’t laughable considering we had an offer from Brisbane for their first round pick.
Well that's the best offer they will receive and are stupid for not taking it.

Can't see any team offering that high a pick for a injury riddled KPF who hasn't kicked more than 36 goals in a season

Not saying the Harley thing is true ( I honestly think it’s media bs) but we definitely would have the capital as the afl is allowing clubs to trade 3 years into the future. On top of that if we signed Allen I wouldn’t be shocked to see Mitch Lewis on the trade table which would generate another late 1st allowing us to trade potentially 4 first rounders.
2 of those first are projected to be very average picks and likely only points to match our NGAs.

One of those first is in a Tassie draft so pretty much useless as it will be projected in the 40s.

Next years is projected to be on the 30s with all these FS, Academy and NGA kids.

Only chance is if the Blues finish bottom 4 this year and wouldn’t that be funny as we picked the other pick.

Even that, Harley won’t ask for a trade to the hawks in contract unless he knows the Eagles will pull the trigger.

It is very much likely to be the Dons next year if he leaves.

Agree with this

And if we're getting a top 2 pick for him, I'm not sure what the angst is about. I wouldn't have any 2nd thoughts throwing him down back or into the ruck any more though.

Complete win win

Purely coincidental that he targets blokes from a club in the state where his alleged mistress still lives…

“Just on another recruiting mission to Perth Lyndall”

“Keep it in your pants Sam or I’ll cut it off this time!”

Such a smug and arrogant campaigner.

Hence why she’s over here with him, she’s not stupid!! 😂

Don’t know why but the link to the tweet wasn’t working.

Doesn’t sound like Sam was in town to make a play for Harley

According to Tom Morris, for what it’s worth, Mitchell did not meet with Harley. He only met with Oscar.

Are we the supporters been taken for mugs?..he is the captain of the football club and is looking at jumping ship come round three. It's a terrible look for the club and for Oscar himself.

Media speculation or not ..Pyke should get him in first thing..demand to know what is going on....you either stay or go..and if so..strip him of his captaincy ...and Pyke should give the supporters some clarification of what is going on .This constant speculation is just bad for the club

You can't have your captain jumping ship at round bloody three sorry the club is a shambles ..if that is the case and it looks like it is...where there is smoke there is fire

Are we the supporters been taken for mugs?..he is the captain of the football club and is looking at jumping ship come round three. It's a terrible look for the club and for Oscar himself.

Media speculation or not ..Pyke should get him in first thing..demand to know what is going on....you either stay or go..and if so..strip him of his captaincy ...and Pyke should give the supporters some clarification of what is going on .This constant speculation is just bad for the club

You can't have your captain jumping ship at round bloody three sorry the club is a shambles ..if that is the case and it looks like it is...where there is smoke there is fire

I think you'd be unsurprised to find out that Pyke would already know.

I'm also not sure he's in a position where he can demand answers from Oscar, considering he plays golf with Warner every time he's in Perth...

Not saying the Harley thing is true ( I honestly think it’s media bs) but we definitely would have the capital as the afl is allowing clubs to trade 3 years into the future. On top of that if we signed Allen I wouldn’t be shocked to see Mitch Lewis on the trade table which would generate another late 1st allowing us to trade potentially 4 first rounders.
Future picks are already valued lower than current picks, let alone picks 2 years in the future.

We'll ask for at least 3x top 10 picks this year, with 2 of those top 5.

It's all about whose fault it is? What an odd way to look at things.

Perhaps club is looking to correct things. Not looking to issue long contracts, not looking to be easily rolled over. all those things we asked club to do.

Lets not kid ourselves, we have worst captains in AFL. they put out, at best, mid tier performances. When Harley Reid had issues, the captains didn't come out. Liam f*cking Baker did. shows you who the true captain is. Baker was nearly in tears after the GC game. where were our so-called captains?

World will not stop if both Oscar and Harley leave. everyone is replaceable.

Allen leaving will galvanise the club.

Captain that didn’t want to be here to do the hard stuff etc. boys will buy in

This is the moment we need.

It's very much a line in the sand moment. Losing a captain will hurt, but we can use that as motivation, and develop a hard edge.

Good times, lead to weak men, which lead to hard times.

This is a circuit breaker for us.

This is why I think Oscar is toxic.

Players put themselves forward for the player vote.

Oscar has put himself forward, while out of contract, and is now looking more likely to leave.

These are choices he made. It just adds to what a shocking leader he is.
He should stand down for captaincy just leave it to Duggan now