List Mgmt. Contracts/Trade/Draft Thread - 2025 Edition

Quick links
Players out of Contract 2025 (12)
  • Oscar Allen (19/3/99) - Signed a 3 year extension (2023-25) on an existing contract due to expire 2022 in May 2021
  • Campbell Chesser (27/4/03) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) on an existing contract due to expire 2023 in May 2022
  • Tom Cole (28/5/97) - Signed a 3 year extension (2023-25) in May 2022
  • Rhett Bazzo (17/10/03) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) on an existing contract due to expire 2023 in September 2022
  • Jayden Hunt (3/4/95) - Signed a 3 year contract (2023-25) in October 2022
  • Callum Jamieson (31/7/00) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) in March 2023
  • Jamie Cripps (23/4/92) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) in August 2023
  • Jack Petruccelle (12/4/99) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) in August 2023
  • (R) Loch Rawlinson (1/6/05) - Signed a 1 year extension (2025) in September 2024
  • (R-B) Coen Livingstone (25/5/05) - Signed a 1 year extension (2025) in September 2024
  • (R-B) Malakai Champion (17/5/06) - Automatic 1 year contract (2025) when added as a Cat B Rookie in November 2024
  • (R) Jacob Newton (20/3/06/) - Automatic 6 month contract (2025) when drafted in May 2025

Provisional 2025 Draft order

Likely we would have used pick 3 on Jagga Smith who looks to be an absolute dud. Small body that relied on athleticism, but now he's done a ACL.

Drafting is a lottery and I'm incredibly happy with our 2024 draft overall. 2 debuts already who looked good yesterday, Shannhahan showing alot in the WAFL and Allan knows how to win the ball (but needs to tidy up disposal).
Jagga Smith looks to be a dud after zero games?

I've heard of going early, but seriously?

And hasn't even played a game yet

Interestingly Langford (who we supposedly wouldve take with 3) had 11 touches at 55% efficiency on the weekend. Some on this board wouldve written his career off already if he was playing for us
Lol they really would. They'd be calling him the next Patrick McGinnity probably. Jagga Smith they would probably be calling a poor man's Chris Masten

Reckon right now you would take Darcy Jones ahead of Ginbey as much as Ginbey has captaincy material written over him.

And comfortably ahead of E Hewett even though its still very much early days.
Darcy Jones would be doing very little at WC.

He's surrounded by elite players making his job as an outside player a hell of a lot easier.

Saw him play against a superior team in Hawthorn and he really struggled

Reckon right now you would take Darcy Jones ahead of Ginbey as much as Ginbey has captaincy material written over him.

And comfortably ahead of E Hewett even though its still very much early days.

Yep his output thus far would put him up there….but pre-draft, Jones wasn’t really in the frame of Ginbey and Hewett in terms of where they were expected to be drafted, so it’s really by the by - nobody was taking Jones that high.

Quite easy as we used pick 23 on Barnett and Darcy Jones was pick 21.

All we needed to do was improve our draft hand by trading pick 23 and a third round for a pick higher up. Say pick 18.
Would have been very easy but we obviously wasn't interested in recruiting Darcy Jones.
Usually takes a second round pick or future second round pick as an add on to your original pick to move up at that point in the draft. Even just one or two spots.

And as others have mentioned, you need a seller as well.

As we saw last year, North were offering their future first, a guaranteed top 5 pick, to clubs right through the first round last year, and couldn’t find a buyer. Even teams with picks in the 20’s were turning North down.

We (Lions) had to pay a future second round pick just to move up one spot, from pick 24, to pick 23 a couple of years ago to get the player we wanted, as other teams were trying to trade in to pick 23 to get the same player we wanted.

1R picks 2011-2020 - Brander, Venables, Duggan, Sheed.

Boom.
Highly doubt he would be a bust if things went differently.

Would be 26/27 and was looking like a clone of Shuey. He’s the exact type of in the guts player we are screaming out for right now to help the kids.

Zero football IQ, was a complete bust.

I never saw him do anything that made me think, fellow is a playa.

We've played 2 top 4 teams (pushed the lions) and 2 top 8 teams, rough start, im assessing from here
People going the early panic. Look how good Ginbey and Hough are looking after 40 and 56 games. That's where we need to get Harley and Hewett, Gross and A.Reid etc. It's gonna look like an impossible mountain to climb until it doesn't.

I like Darcy Jones - he’s got a lot of talent.

But he is very much a ‘cream’ player who enjoys playing in a good team with a stacked midfield and a number of goal kicking smalls.
Either way, guys like Jones should be on a big whiteboard with their contract and 24 months out, so start letting their manager and them know we are interested. Jones could be great to come back home in 2028 and could be the time we need to add some cream.

Also, Tassie will be right in the thick of any draft, so focusing on the player recruitment would probably take precedence then, I would assume.

Quite easy as we used pick 23 on Barnett and Darcy Jones was pick 21.

All we needed to do was improve our draft hand by trading pick 23 and a third round for a pick higher up. Say pick 18.
Would of been very easy but we obviously wasn't interested in recruiting Darcy Jones.
Easier said than done I would say as other Clubs would need to come to the party and that’s not as easy as it sounds.

People going the early panic. Look how good Ginbey and Hough are looking after 40 and 56 games. That's where we need to get Harley and Hewett, Gross and A.Reid etc. It's gonna look like an impossible mountain to climb until it doesn't.
I can remember at the start of the 2018 season many in the media saying we would never win a flag with the list we had - and you know what happened next lol - so think we all need to just let it all unfold as Rome wasn’t built in a day!

There was a lot too like today from the U22 age group and it highlights some really nice quality players we have coming along, unfortunately it exposed a group that are not up to the quality of AFL standard and there will be some real hard decisions on list management over the next 2-3 years.
The immediate issue is our midfield which we all know, A grade draftee needed and Warner and B grade mid traded in 2025, KDEF which is a work in progress to replace another couple of great players for our club in Barrass(traded) and Gov who has maybe this year and next.

List Management:
2025:
Jamieson - delist
Chesser - delist/trade
Sheed - retire
Petch - trade RFA
Rawlinson - delist
Kelly - if form continues it will be hard for Kelly to get anything more than a 1 year contract, depending on Warner trade and ability to get another B+ mid through trade 2025.
Brockman - survives getting a 1 or 2 year deal until SF players go past him
Cripps - deserves a 1 year contract

2026:
Hunt - delist
Barnett - delist
Brockman - probably gets another short term contract
Flynn - delist if Ruck can be traded in
Cripps - depending on form 1 year extension
Gov - depending on injuries 1 year extension
Livingstone - depending on form and and list need a 1 year extension

Can we pump the brakes on Cripps having done enough to deserve another contract, its round 4. If you want to look at form he is continuing to trend downwards in all metrics except his goal kicking accuracy, which is usually quite poor but this year so far he's at about 3x his mean. Let's see how this looks after the bye.

Screenshot 2025-04-07 at 12.52.34 pm.png

He has gone from career low accuracy last year off 69 shots on goal [1 off his career best] to so far returning plus 50% for the first time in the 2020's, and actually going at career high accuracy. So far he's taken 7 shots on goal so he's down 30% on his average shots on goal but has kicked 2-3 he usually would of missed which makes him look a million bucks at the moment. Let's just see if he returns to the mean.
Screenshot 2025-04-07 at 12.58.14 pm.png

Edit: there's so much wrong with this picture showing that Cripps 2024 was nested between his previous highest shot on goal seasons of 2015 and 2018. We're now relying on him more as someone who kicks our goals instead of supporting our better forwards. Goal assists, score involvements and score launches all way down [as are his tackles and possession stats] but shots on goal the same- yet had career low conversion. His role has become less about doing the work and more about doing the finishing. If Jamie Cripps went at 60% accuracy last year instead of 40% we would have looked a lot better as a side. A forwards job is to convert, if we are going to persist with using Cripps as our second most important avenue to goal then he simply has to keep converting the way he has started his 2025.
Screenshot 2025-04-07 at 1.19.49 pm.png

At the end of the day, no one that played in our last premiership will play in our next. Cripps still contributes and gives his all, but his best is in the rear view mirror.
Gov will continue to get injured until he’s stuffed. Duggan and Cole pffffffttttt.
Yeo can’t stay on the park.
we Must get games into the kids quickly and move these players on.
Kelly too.

Can we pump the brakes on Cripps having done enough to deserve another contract, its round 4. If you want to look at form he is continuing to trend downwards in all metrics except his goal kicking accuracy, which is usually quite poor but this year so far he's at about 3x his mean. Let's see how this looks after the bye.

View attachment 2275511

He has gone from career low accuracy last year off 69 shots on goal [1 off his career best] to so far returning plus 50% for the first time in the 2020's, and actually going at career high accuracy. So far he's taken 7 shots on goal so he's down 30% on his average shots on goal but has kicked 2-3 he usually would of missed which makes him look a million bucks at the moment. Let's just see if he returns to the mean.
View attachment 2275535

Edit: there's so much wrong with this picture showing that Cripps 2024 was nested between his previous highest shot on goal seasons of 2015 and 2018. We're now relying on him more as someone who kicks our goals instead of supporting our better forwards. Goal assists, score involvements and score launches all way down [as are his tackles and possession stats] but shots on goal the same- yet had career low conversion. His role has become less about doing the work and more about doing the finishing. If Jamie Cripps went at 60% accuracy last year instead of 40% we would have looked a lot better as a side. A forwards job is to convert, if we are going to persist with using Cripps as our second most important avenue to goal then he simply has to keep converting the way he has started his 2025.
View attachment 2275567
Stats can tell you whatever you want them to.

He currently buys and sells our other small forwards Owies, Long, Brockman.

Long has missed a fair bit of footy granted.

This should've been the year where Cripps played some wafl games as the other took over.
That he is outperforming the others is damning.

All players with 2025 contract expiry dates can move on for mine.

We will get something good for Allen and something average for Kelly.

The time has come to load up further on kids and play them.

All players with 2025 contract expiry dates can move on for mine.

We will get something good for Allen and something average for Kelly.

The time has come to load up further on kids and play them.

We won't get anything for Kelly. Where is he going to go?

Darcy Jones would be doing very little at WC.

He's surrounded by elite players making his job as an outside player a hell of a lot easier.

Saw him play against a superior team in Hawthorn and he really struggled

More than likely, but look at his running patterns.

He kicked the first goal of the game because he outworked Liam Duggan from the back flank to forward pocket.