List Mgmt. Contracts/Trade/Draft Thread - 2025 Edition

Quick links
Players out of Contract 2025 (12)
  • Oscar Allen (19/3/99) - Signed a 3 year extension (2023-25) on an existing contract due to expire 2022 in May 2021
  • Campbell Chesser (27/4/03) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) on an existing contract due to expire 2023 in May 2022
  • Tom Cole (28/5/97) - Signed a 3 year extension (2023-25) in May 2022
  • Rhett Bazzo (17/10/03) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) on an existing contract due to expire 2023 in September 2022
  • Jayden Hunt (3/4/95) - Signed a 3 year contract (2023-25) in October 2022
  • Callum Jamieson (31/7/00) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) in March 2023
  • Jamie Cripps (23/4/92) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) in August 2023
  • Jack Petruccelle (12/4/99) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) in August 2023
  • (R) Loch Rawlinson (1/6/05) - Signed a 1 year extension (2025) in September 2024
  • (R-B) Coen Livingstone (25/5/05) - Signed a 1 year extension (2025) in September 2024
  • (R-B) Malakai Champion (17/5/06) - Automatic 1 year contract (2025) when added as a Cat B Rookie in November 2024
  • (R) Jacob Newton (20/3/06/) - Automatic 6 month contract (2025) when drafted in May 2025

Provisional 2025 Draft order

Does trying to protect pick 2 for OA stop us from attacking free agency ourselves?

Is it better to either sign and try to trade Oscar for a later first round pick, or just keep him? Allowing us to proactively pursue players who can come in and make a difference?

If we did miss out on pick 2, would that strengthen our case for an assistance package anyway?

Not saying I don’t want pick 2 (obviously) but worrying about how diluted it might get if we do try to attract ready made midfielders isn’t great

Honestly, we can't be trading Bailey Williams. If Cameron comes he has to replace Flynn. But if we were smart, we'd save the money and the draft picks and back Bailey in as our first ruck, he just needs a competent midfield around him.

His last 5 games:
View attachment 2373676

View attachment 2373677

At the end of the day he is still 25. These numbers should be encouraging but like Jake Waterman in 2023 and Harry Edwards in 2024 people just inexplicably hate him and insist he's a bust. His combination of win % and hits to advantage % probably has him sitting in the top 3 most effective rucks in the comp recently. We'll regret swapping him for a 30 year old. If we want Cameron he'd for sure improve us as a Cameron/Bailey ruck duo would be one of the strongest going around but that sugar hit means eating Flynn and Barnetts contracts and wasting considerable draft capital. Not sure it's worth it really.
So you want us to go back to the guy who was the worst rated regular ruckman in the league last year……. Interesting move

Well a pretty average / shallow article with Kane and King on who we should target to help the midfield.

The best suggestions were Steele and Wines. Steele for silly money might, Wines no way.

So looking at players OOC we could target relatively cheaply to help carry the load.

Mitch Knevitt would be one, 193cm mid, Geelong.
James Tunstill 187cm mid / forward we have been keen on for some time.
Sheldrick. Most obvious choice.
Fiorini Suns
O'Halloran GWS silly money needed.
Will Phillips Norf
Ashton Moir Blues (starting to play fit / kick goals) good Cripps replacement and gettable IMO. Nice rotation with Hewett and Harley.

Mature players
M Crouch
B Starcevich
Dev Robertson
Alex Davies Suns ****

Best of the state league mids.

IMO those options dont need our top picks to be involved.

I find it hard to believe any club would be willing to pay a first round pick for Liam Ryan.

Really?

Lions
Gold Coast

Depends on the pick and if they want to move it on due to bids on players linked to them.

A contending club would as their 1st would slide to live pick 25 to 29.

The penultimate act, before a club fold’s completely, is to fracture into two groups. One that can hold onto some sort of reality, and the other group, who says we should persist with Bailey…..he is ‘only’ 25.

I don’t want to lose Jamieson right now.

I think he’s a skilled footballer that might finally have his body where it needs to be.

He came to the club significantly underweight and needing to bulk. Precisely the type of player that requires patience.

He’s now 25 yoa which is prime KPD age, so can offer us 5 years of good footy. Depending on his ceiling, he could be anything from reliable injury coverage to solid starting role player.

I’m sure he’d stay for minimum contract and cost us bugger all aside from a list spot, of course.

It seems to me like we’d be getting rid of him at exactly the wrong time.

Give him 1 more year I reckon. If he breaks down, so be it.
Give big Fraser McInnes a run for his money eh
Jamieson should have been gone 3 years ago.

Does trying to protect pick 2 for OA stop us from attacking free agency ourselves?

Is it better to either sign and try to trade Oscar for a later first round pick, or just keep him? Allowing us to proactively pursue players who can come in and make a difference?

If we did miss out on pick 2, would that strengthen our case for an assistance package anyway?

Not saying I don’t want pick 2 (obviously) but worrying about how diluted it might get if we do try to attract ready made midfielders isn’t great
I don't see us getting anyone above Graham/Baker level. Would rather keep 2.
But i'm still in the 80/20 boat that OA stays (and resigns in like two weeks)

If we were afforded easier access and/or more list spots for our NGAs I could see pick 2 (that should be coming to us if all goes to plan) used to trade in a top quality mid, just need to turn the right ones head with a very big paycheck.
How much do you think someone like the Bont would cost us?

Just remembered Tim Kelly will be playing two more years in the west coast midfield

For those of you melting about what Swann and Dillon said in reference to a PP, what do you expect them to say to the media at this time of year? Yeh we will give them heaps of picks?

These things happen when they can sneak them through under the radar without the media and teams around, probably the day after GF or something.

Really?

Lions
Gold Coast

Depends on the pick and if they want to move it on due to bids on players linked to them.

A contending club would as their 1st would slide to live pick 25 to 29.
You have seen Liam Ryan play this year? And sorry to tell you the sins and lions last year said they weren’t interested. Pray tell
Who he would replace on the lions team?

You have seen Liam Ryan play this year? And sorry to tell you the sins and lions last year said they weren’t interested.

Someone who he hasn’t blocked, please ask him for the source on this.

Yeah agree. Not to mention the only other club that has been as shit as us over the few years has received assistance.
Yes, where was all this noise with North Melbourne? They threw endless picks at North, but now its Eagles just two years later & they can't spare a scrap & they're citing much older examples of teams who didn't get it:
  • Crows (weren't nearly as bad, or for as long)
  • Brisbane, who did actually get a PP (& are now cashing in with father son & academy as well)

They're falling over themselves thinking of reasons why Eagles shouldn't get them.
If we don't get them, they should scrap PP forever because I doubt we're going to see a team more 'qualified' to receive them.

The argument that pisses me off the most though is that because we're well resourced we should be able to extract ourselves from it. Blatant favouritism if we now only give PPs to financially struggling clubs (& would mean Haw, Coll, Rich, Freo, Adelaide, Geelong & prob a couple others should never receive too, but of course someone will rethink this approach by then).

I'm not actually that invested in getting the pick/s, as I don't think one end of rd 1 compo pick will make much difference, the Vic bias just irks me incredibly.

(Also the argument we bought it on ourselves is bullshit too, as all clubs in this position have themselves to blame)

This whole discussion and debate about PP, Academies etc is symptomatic of AFL and its many herbs and spices decision making processes.

AFL needs to get their sh..... together.
100%
They are not transparent at all in any aspect of the game, there's subjective judgement applied to everything & surprise surprise terrible inconsistencies results. Just breeds resentment towards the game & administrators. How the clowns running the show justify their $1m+ salaries is beyond me.
For a league that bangs on about integrity, it possesses none of it.
Set rules that are clear & transparent, & stick to them

Who do you propose asks these questions?

I’m not disagreeing with any of them, but where in the process of a journo going on air or penning an article do you think someone gets the opportunity to push back?
A lot of these comments come on the panel type footy shows. I saw another one tonight with Hird saying we shouldn't get any help. His excuse was we have lots of money. Nobody says to him that there is a salary cap and a soft cap in the AFL and you can't just go out and buy players. You would think that there would be at least one reasonable minded person the panel to play devil's advocate for comments like that and get the people making those comments defend them.

They are saying on Fox Sports that HR has made it clear he doesn't want to be traded to another struggling club if he goes back to Victoria. But he is asking for a lot of money. If he wants to go to a successfull club he would have to take less. What will he choose when and if he decided to go and it became clear to him that he would have to choose?

They suggest Hawthorn are the most enthusiastic suitor. But what are Hawthorn going to trade to us for him? Surely if you want to get involved in a serious way for a top shelf commodity you need to have some actual trading capital to play with. And be prepared to part with it.

A lot of these comments come on the panel type footy shows. I saw another one tonight with Hird saying we shouldn't get any help. His excuse was we have lots of money. Nobody says to him that there is a salary cap and a soft cap in the AFL and you can't just go out and buy players. You would think that there would be at least one reasonable minded person the panel to play devil's advocate for comments like that and get the people making those comments defend them.
Hird didn't know there were rules against experimenting on your players, of course he doesn't know there's salary caps.

Yes, where was all this noise with North Melbourne? They threw endless picks at North, but now its Eagles just two years later & they can't spare a scrap & they're citing much older examples of teams who didn't get it:
  • Crows (weren't nearly as bad, or for as long)
  • Brisbane, who did actually get a PP (& are now cashing in with father son & academy as well)

They're falling over themselves thinking of reasons why Eagles shouldn't get them.
If we don't get them, they should scrap PP forever because I doubt we're going to see a team more 'qualified' to receive them.

The argument that pisses me off the most though is that because we're well resourced we should be able to extract ourselves from it. Blatant favouritism if we now only give PPs to financially struggling clubs (& would mean Haw, Coll, Rich, Freo, Adelaide, Geelong & prob a couple others should never receive too, but of course someone will rethink this approach by then).

I'm not actually that invested in getting the pick/s, as I don't think one end of rd 1 compo pick will make much difference, the Vic bias just irks me incredibly.

(Also the argument we bought it on ourselves is bullshit too, as all clubs in this position have themselves to blame)

Cal tomey on footy classified outlined clearly that wce have a case to ask for priority picks.

They are saying on Fox Sports that HR has made it clear he doesn't want to be traded to another struggling club if he goes back to Victoria. But he is asking for a lot of money. If he wants to go to a successfull club he would have to take less. What will he choose when and if he decided to go and it became clear to him that he would have to choose?

They suggest Hawthorn are the most enthusiastic suitor. But what are Hawthorn going to trade to us for him? Surely if you want to get involved in a serious way for a top shelf commodity you need to have some actual trading capital to play with. And be prepared to part with itit.
Every club has draft capital in waiting. They just need to trade out some of their existing stars for draft picks. If Collingwood want Reid for example - they can trade out Daicos or De Goey. Straight away they have high end draft picks ready to use.