List Mgmt. Contracts/Trade/Draft Thread - 2025 Edition

Quick links
Players out of Contract 2025 (12)
  • Oscar Allen (19/3/99) - Signed a 3 year extension (2023-25) on an existing contract due to expire 2022 in May 2021
  • Campbell Chesser (27/4/03) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) on an existing contract due to expire 2023 in May 2022
  • Tom Cole (28/5/97) - Signed a 3 year extension (2023-25) in May 2022
  • Rhett Bazzo (17/10/03) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) on an existing contract due to expire 2023 in September 2022
  • Jayden Hunt (3/4/95) - Signed a 3 year contract (2023-25) in October 2022
  • Callum Jamieson (31/7/00) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) in March 2023
  • Jamie Cripps (23/4/92) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) in August 2023
  • Jack Petruccelle (12/4/99) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) in August 2023
  • (R) Loch Rawlinson (1/6/05) - Signed a 1 year extension (2025) in September 2024
  • (R-B) Coen Livingstone (25/5/05) - Signed a 1 year extension (2025) in September 2024
  • (R-B) Malakai Champion (17/5/06) - Automatic 1 year contract (2025) when added as a Cat B Rookie in November 2024
  • (R) Jacob Newton (20/3/06/) - Automatic 6 month contract (2025) when drafted in May 2025

Provisional 2025 Draft order

I was just trying to give a different perspective from someone who most likely knows a bit more about the suns needs and goals for the off season

Thanks mate, we appreciate friendly visitors coming to the board to share knowledge and chat about their team.

For better or worse we are an exceptionally sarcastic lot that talk a heap of shit (and some want to eat it too) too so don't take any remarks too personally. 🙂

Suns fan, zero chance Walter leaves unless we get a forward that would make us contend now, and even then is unlikely.

We also almost certainly don’t need/ really want a high draft pick this trade season. Sure it’d be nice, but I’d bet our only goals are get enough points for Patterson and Uwland + hopefully an experienced small or key forward
But as a Suns fan, how do you feel about Bombard eating his own shit? Is that not tantilising enough for you to accept pick 2 as steak knives?

Yep. Not interested in pick 2 in any circumstances.

They have no need for such picks. Even to take another gun before bids on their academy kids and the drafts are about to be gutted by Tasmania. Not to mention the next two years looking thin on academy talent (from the Suns board not my opinion, I wouldn't know)

Must be bliss being a Suns fan. They need for nothing. ;) :rolleyes:
Yeah I probably worded that wrong, I obviously I’d love pick 2. However, right now we should focus on getting talent that can immediately make us contenders rather than kids that can help us in 5 years time. This is the first time in our history we are looking very able to win something soonish, and I’d prefer to capitalise on it while we can. So obviously I’d like pick 2, I just also think there are other priorities

How do you feel about Walter v Curnow if that news has any merit?

Well I’ll start by saying I think that curnow is what’s missing in our team, a dangerous target so that king is not the only option. I think he should be a must for the off season

we have 3 round one draft picks this draft (ours, Collingwood, ports) + 2026 and 2027 to play with. So id assume that it’s possible to get Zeke Uwland and Dylan Patterson plus still get curnow. I’d throw whatever Carlton wants pick wise for him without question. Especially bc our academy isn’t looking very strong for those next two years.

If for some reason we cannot get him with just our picks, I’m not sure how I’d feel about Walter for curnow. I think that if walter is necessary to get curnow, and dimma thinks that we can very strongly contend with curnow in our team, then I’d be willing to let Walter go. I’d try a lot of things before that though

This doesn’t make any sense. Which players realistically available at pick 32 and 48 do you think would add more to the list than Cameron after taking picks 1,2 and 12ish as well as 3-4 NGA kids/FS? That’s also assuming picks 32 and 48 don’t get eaten by bids that would otherwise require little or no points to match.
Not sure, and don't need to name them. It's like saying "we know we may stuff up and not get a good player so why don't we just give away our picks to that poorly run club called Collingwood"
Im sure there will be players like Stumpf from last year that we can take a gamble on so let's back ourselves to do well rather than surrendering in advance.

Lots of other options besides the guaranteed bad option of Cameron. We need to aim higher and not be sucked into this deal. Its also highly likely that we are just being used for leverage in contract negotiations.

I also expect 2 of our NGAs to get bids that may chew these picks up, so keep them and don't risk going into deficit next year.

Walter is too good a talent to just fob off and be like "Yeah nah, not really required in our team right now".

When a player of his calibre and potential nominates you, you quickly look if it's possible to get done. Elite 20yo's don't grow on trees, even if he's still developing.

If that means punting Archer Reid into defense/ruck or getting rid of Bailey/Jilliams then you do it.

I reckon he's got a bit of hothead Harley about him. Throws a few tanties and is still immature as a forward, but athletically and for power, he's already there. Hardwick dropping him from their team going into finals is a nice time to be making the enquiry.

Also having the top end picks and being in a position to bid on Fold coast academy players is a boon we should lean on.

We'll find out come trade period if there's any truth to it or not. I've always had a sneaky suspicion with him funnily enough, remember him being big on West Coast and some of his body language doesn't look like he's fully engaged over east IMO.

Not sure, and don't need to name them. It's like saying "we know we may stuff up and not get a good player so why don't we just give away our picks to that poorly run club called Collingwood"
Im sure there will be players like Stumpf from last year that we can take a gamble on so let's back ourselves to do well rather than surrendering in advance.

Lots of other options besides the guaranteed bad option of Cameron. We need to aim higher and not be sucked into this deal. Its also highly likely that we are just being used for leverage in contract negotiations.

I also expect 2 of our NGAs to get bids that may chew these picks up, so keep them and don't risk going into deficit next year.
How can you compare using the picks vs taking an established player when you don’t even have an idea of which draftees you’d want with the picks?

Cameron is not a guaranteed bad option whatsoever and next year and 2027 would actually be great years to go into points deficit.

Walter is too good a talent to just fob off and be like "Yeah nah, not really required in our team right now".

When a player of his calibre and potential nominates you, you quickly look if it's possible to get done. Elite 20yo's don't grow on trees, even if he's still developing.

If that means punting Archer Reid into defense/ruck or getting rid of Bailey/Jilliams then you do it.

I reckon he's got a bit of hothead Harley about him. Throws a few tanties and is still immature as a forward, but athletically and for power, he's already there. Hardwick dropping him from their team going into finals is a nice time to be making the enquiry.

Also having the top end picks and being in a position to bid on Fold coast academy players is a boon we should lean on.

We'll find out come trade period if there's any truth to it or not. I've always had a sneaky suspicion with him funnily enough, remember him being big on West Coast and some of his body language doesn't look like he's fully engaged over east IMO.
Walter and Shanahan would set our forward line up (with the older head of Waterman of course), if we could get him for pick 2 that would be great, the suns would want another first rounder too and that's just for them to come to the table.

You mean like we did in 2019-2020 where we got in Kelly and are now heading towards a wooden spoon.

I don’t really know much about your list situation in 2019, but we do have a lot of young talent. Also, I feel like we need to contend soon. As we are a feeder club it’s a miracle we’ve kept our good players for a while now, and even then king and Rowell are heavily rumoured to leave after their contract. Our premiership opportunities are likely to be very scarce and I’d like to capitalise

Also, I’d very happily take a few wooden spoons on the chin if it means we win a premiership

I don’t really know much about your list situation in 2019, but we do have a lot of young talent. Also, I feel like we need to contend soon. As we are a feeder club it’s a miracle we’ve kept our good players for a while now, and even then king and Rowell are heavily rumoured to leave after their contract. Our premiership opportunities are likely to be very scarce and I’d like to capitalise

Also, I’d very happily take a few wooden spoons on the chin if it means we win a premiership
I guess Spoons would be ok for the suns, there wouldn't be a running commentary around whether they should receive help from the AFL